Peugeot 508, Ford Mondeo or VW Passat?, 3 good cars, 1 choice
kopi ice
Apr 6 2012, 10:35 AM
I have the same dilemma now. I am considering the Passat and 508. Tested both and in terms of spec and design, 508 is the choice. But build quality in the Passat is definitely better than 508. It feels much more solidly built. But Im not saying 508 build quality is bad or anything. It good actually, only Passat better. Driving wise, I have to say 508 is better than the Passat. Maybe because of the extra weight, the Passat is a little but less nimble as compared to the 508.
Anyway, so far my decision in on the 508 but I do have my concerns. Its the reliability of the 508. I know the car is new, so not much info but based on the issues I heard about the 308 and 206, 207. Im concerned. I dun want to have the fear of the engine not cranking each time I push the start button. You know what I mean?
So please, anyone (especially 508) owners, please provide some info
kopi ice
Apr 6 2012, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(sleepy @ Apr 6 2012, 11:08 AM) Well you dont have to worry about the no-cranking part. If you can find my earlier posts, the engine issue has more to do with oil leaks, turbo leaks, premature timing chain wear and tear and the depollution system faulty. So far, I heard only 1 unit of 508 down with the DSF. Some 308's have their timing chain changed in 2-3 years, while some are still running till today without much issue. Thanks for the info. However, the ones I heard about the 308 is the gearbox. That one is scary
kopi ice
Apr 6 2012, 02:17 PM
QUOTE(sleepy @ Apr 6 2012, 11:08 AM) Well you dont have to worry about the no-cranking part. If you can find my earlier posts, the engine issue has more to do with oil leaks, turbo leaks, premature timing chain wear and tear and the depollution system faulty. So far, I heard only 1 unit of 508 down with the DSF. Some 308's have their timing chain changed in 2-3 years, while some are still running till today without much issue. One more thing i would like to ask. How is the fuel consumption like? I dun believe the 7.1L/100km thing. But im sure its good Added on April 6, 2012, 2:28 pmQUOTE(zftrans @ Dec 7 2011, 11:47 PM) This showed up today with a surprise  Beautifully made, drives like a charm, and well equipped within its price range. Is that colour haria grey? This post has been edited by kopi ice: Apr 6 2012, 02:28 PM
kopi ice
Apr 6 2012, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(sleepy @ Apr 6 2012, 02:42 PM) I travel to cyberjaya from ampang everyday. 50% of the time stuck in traffic in mrr2, and the other 50% cruising on mex hiway (110kmh-120kmh). 1 full tank can last me 2 weeks before the warning light goes off, around 700km (warning light goes off when there's 10L left in the tank). And the on-board computer shows around 7.9L/100km. During CNY, I travelled to Perlis, 120kmh all the way (short burst of rempit spirit to 170kmh in couple occasion  ). Managed to get 800km, and there's still quite alot of fuel left before it reaches the low-fuel zone, I'd say probably enough for another 100km/150km? But then it was pretty hard to find gas station there so I refuel at around 800km. Consumption was around 6.7L/100km, if memory serve me right Thanks. Thats very good mileage. 7.9 is close enough to 7.1.:-) My altis is about 10L/km. Btw you pump ron97 or is it good on ron95?
kopi ice
Apr 6 2012, 08:36 PM
QUOTE(kopi ice @ Apr 6 2012, 04:26 PM) Thanks. Thats very good mileage. 7.9 is close enough to 7.1.:-) My altis is about 10L/km. Btw you pump ron97 or is it good on ron95? Ok. I think Ill join the 508 club. Your SA seems good and giving u so much free stuffs. Where did you get your car? I went to the one in TTDI and they kinda suck in terms of service.