Peugeot 508, Ford Mondeo or VW Passat?, 3 good cars, 1 choice

sleepy
post Apr 6 2012, 04:54 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(kopi ice @ Apr 6 2012, 04:26 PM)
Thanks. Thats very good mileage. 7.9 is close enough to 7.1.:-) My altis is about 10L/km. Btw you pump ron97 or is it good on ron95?
I've been using RON95 since day 1, coz my SA fill it up with RON95 when I got my car, so just carry on with what it has been fed since day 1. So far so good.
kopi ice
post Apr 6 2012, 08:36 PM

QUOTE(kopi ice @ Apr 6 2012, 04:26 PM)
Thanks. Thats very good mileage. 7.9 is close enough to 7.1.:-) My altis is about 10L/km. Btw you pump ron97 or is it good on ron95?
Ok. I think Ill join the 508 club. Your SA seems good and giving u so much free stuffs. Where did you get your car? I went to the one in TTDI and they kinda suck in terms of service.
sleepy
post Apr 6 2012, 08:47 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(kopi ice @ Apr 6 2012, 08:36 PM)
Ok. I think Ill join the 508 club. Your SA seems good and giving u so much free stuffs. Where did you get your car? I went to the one in TTDI and they kinda suck in terms of service.
Mine was purchased from kampung pandan branch smile.gif
lowpro
post Apr 8 2012, 03:57 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Apr 6 2012, 08:47 PM)
Mine was purchased from kampung pandan branch smile.gif
the kg pandan/desa pandan branch manager is pretty good. was formerly heading the bangsar branch.
williamhltdudu
post Apr 9 2012, 06:38 PM

Hey sleepy, I would like to know a few things, hope u can help me out..

I want to know, since 508 has keyless entry and push button start, if the engine of the car is on, kept in P gear, and the key has been taken out of the car, can you still drive the car?
sleepy
post Apr 9 2012, 09:09 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(williamhltdudu @ Apr 9 2012, 06:38 PM)
Hey sleepy, I would like to know a few things, hope u can help me out..

I want to know, since 508 has keyless entry and push button start, if the engine of the car is on, kept in P gear, and the key has been taken out of the car, can you still drive the car?
Never really try. But I remember there will be a chime to alert that the key is missing. Whether the car will shutdown after certain amount of time, I really don't know.
williamhltdudu
post Apr 9 2012, 09:33 PM

QUOTE(sleepy @ Apr 9 2012, 09:09 PM)
Never really try. But I remember there will be a chime to alert that the key is missing. Whether the car will shutdown after certain amount of time, I really don't know.
I see... can u help me to test it? like see if it shutsdown or just chime? cause I heard for some cars, u can drive till the next start or till the tank empties sweat.gif
carpathia
post Apr 10 2012, 12:20 PM

2,619 posts

Technically you should be able to drive even without the key - a failsafe procedure in case you have problem with the key. Thats my opinion anyways

williamhltdudu
post Apr 11 2012, 01:08 AM

okie... cauz it just got me thinkin the other day, if the driver left the car with the engine on and family in the back seat or even in front passenger seat, any strangers can easily climb in and drive it away... wouldnt it b nice if the gear gets locked in Park if lost detection of the key? smile.gif
kenso77
post Apr 11 2012, 08:52 PM

179 posts

Strangely, despite so much comments about the 508, it seems to score the lowest in terms of preference by those who participated in the poll
carpathia
post Apr 12 2012, 10:45 AM

2,619 posts

kenso77 - people who participated in the poll may not be even be in the market for a mpv or the right income to afford one.

to conduct a proper poll, you will first need to qualify the subjects in terms of income, age, intent and others.
lowpro
post Apr 12 2012, 12:38 PM

180 posts

Kenso77, it is possible that those who participated in the poll could also be 1) influenced by advertising 2) staff of the other makes ensuring that the other makes look good in this poll.
TScybermaster98
post Apr 12 2012, 12:48 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Apr 12 2012, 12:38 PM)
Kenso77, it is possible that those who participated in the poll could also be 1) influenced by advertising 2) staff of the other makes ensuring that the other makes look good in this poll.
Yea polls wont give u an accurate idea. Many of those who actually choose a particular make may not even intend to buy one even if they had the money.

More important are the comments.
carpathia
post Apr 12 2012, 02:22 PM

2,619 posts

i believe those who were looking for D class segment, a lot of people only went to see the camry, accord, passat, sonata and optima. A lot of people didnt even see the 508 due to the perception that french cars are unreliable.

case in point : my ex boss - he took the passat without even looking at the 508.

I for one, believe that those who have seen and test drove the 508, will definitely take it -
TScybermaster98
post Apr 12 2012, 02:47 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Apr 12 2012, 02:22 PM)
i believe those who were looking for D class segment, a lot of people only went to see the camry, accord, passat, sonata and optima. A lot of people didnt even see the 508 due to the perception that french cars are unreliable.

case in point : my ex boss - he took the passat without even looking at the 508.

I for one, believe that those who have seen and test drove the 508, will definitely take it -
Well i agree to a certain extent but i dont think its a given fact that those who have tested the 508 would surely buy one. I tested the 508 about 3 times and then decided not to buy. Test drives tell you alot about a car but it doesnt tell you everything.

The main problem with Peugeot is in its quality and durability especially in Malaysian weather. If the 308T was problem free then it would have boosted the sales of the 508 but 308 owners are still facing numerous issues. Yes most of it are minor ones but it doesnt give potential buyers alot of confidence when a car this new can have such problems.

The 508 is a great car to drive. Comfort, power and interior looks are top class but the French reputation for problematic cars still cloud these good points.

http://ahw308.blogspot.com/2012/02/world-should-know.html

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Apr 12 2012, 02:50 PM
carpathia
post Apr 12 2012, 05:31 PM

2,619 posts

i only know one guy that owns a 308 and he faced none of the problems from what ahw mentioned, except the engine fuel cap issue.

now i am keen to hear from 508, 3008, 5008 owners if they face the same problems also....
kenso77
post Apr 12 2012, 06:01 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Apr 12 2012, 05:31 PM)
i only know one guy that owns a 308 and he faced none of the problems from what ahw mentioned, except the engine fuel cap issue.

now i am keen to hear from 508, 3008, 5008 owners if they face the same problems also....
I know many who faced ahw's problems, your's truly being one of them.
TScybermaster98
post Apr 12 2012, 06:01 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Apr 12 2012, 05:31 PM)

1 person not facing problems hardly represents a worthy reference. biggrin.gif Ive personally read online blogs which have mentioned numerous issues with the 308. You can google it up im sure.
kenso77
post Apr 12 2012, 06:03 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Apr 12 2012, 02:22 PM)
I tested the 508 and Passat back to back together with a fellow colleague and both of us opt for the Passat.
carpathia
post Apr 14 2012, 07:23 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(kopi ice @ Apr 6 2012, 08:36 PM)
you are right mate. i was there today - no one bothered to tend to me and my family and they dont seem keen to even sell. went in there to test drive the 5008 as told by the naza hq but then was informed the car was not in ttdi.....

also...the 1.88% promotion was only meant for 308 and 207.....

29 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 >Top

0.0551sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:52 AM