Peugeot 508, Ford Mondeo or VW Passat?, 3 good cars, 1 choice

TScybermaster98
post Nov 3 2011, 02:55 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Nov 3 2011, 01:04 PM)
let me tell you why the placed the price at 190K, it is because they can, and it is because there will be people buying them.

Of course in VW you are buying the Engine and Gearbox, and in a 508, you buying luxury feeling. Anyway VW will probably hold a better value compare to Peugeot. Ford probably is the worst among the 3.

anyway there is practically nothing in the Passat, nothing special at all, just it is passat and it is a VW and it carries a DSG and TSI badge. And currently the hottest selling brand in malaysia, look at the amount of Golf TSI And GTI on the road. compare to 5 years ago. It is like it is everywhere.

But honestly, VW is really really pricy.

slowly study first, dont take the rush, how you know suddenly the second batch comes with updated GPS navigation.

Then you probably get more out of it. Maybe by then when the Camry is out, you can compare even more cars. Then you can choose your pick.
Yes those are my thoughts too. Peugeot has already started increasing the market penetration since the launch of the 308. But sadly models like the 207 were a real disappointment. Hopefully the 508 can re-ignite the Peugeot franchise in Malaysia.

Yes ill probably only decide when ive seen the Camry. That is afterall my 1st choice car for the past 2 years so might as well wait till then. Also interested to see the Kia Optima.

Many of the European and Korean cars are well known for adding on goodies later on to boost sales. So buying a new launch may not always be a good idea. Anyway my current ride is going strong and zero complaints so far. So am not really in a hurry actually.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Nov 3 2011, 02:56 PM
TScybermaster98
post Nov 3 2011, 04:51 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Nov 3 2011, 03:48 PM)
Unfortunately apa pun tarak. Just full tank of petrol upon delivery. Sigh, better than nothing la
If those who's company pay for their fuel, then what can they give? biggrin.gif

What color? Can you please take some pics and post here? Take the front, rear, side, dashboard and rear seats.
TScybermaster98
post Nov 3 2011, 04:52 PM

4,440 posts

New facelifted Passat CC to be launched soon:

http://paultan.org/2011/11/03/2012-volkswa...t-la-auto-show/

TScybermaster98
post Nov 8 2011, 07:53 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 3 2011, 08:50 PM)
err? but your initial enthusiasm was like over the roof wor.. why now like pull handbrake geh?  hmm.gif
Enthusiasm was always there and still is. But im not easily taken up by just looks and specs. The after sales service has always been a major concern.
TScybermaster98
post Nov 8 2011, 07:55 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Nov 3 2011, 05:10 PM)
Ok sure will do. Once I get the car. SA can't promise which day of next week. Just say next week. Btw mine is aluminium color.
I heard that Peugeot still cant register any cars pending approval from JPJ. Might take a week or two. By that time the plate would be WWB. My friend just collected her S40 with WWA plate last week.
TScybermaster98
post Nov 8 2011, 08:15 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Nov 8 2011, 08:12 AM)
If after sales service is your biggest concern, i think u should scrape off any idea of getting anything other than Toyota/Honda ( Major car seller here )... after sales service is not establish over the night  sad.gif
I said its a concern but doesnt mean its my only consideration. No such thing as perfect car. Depends on what ure willing to sacrifice i guess. Of course i dont expect Nasim's after sales to be even close to Toyota but if its at an acceptable level then i guess its alright. Im now trying to determine what that acceptable level is. biggrin.gif
TScybermaster98
post Nov 9 2011, 04:37 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Nov 9 2011, 04:21 PM)
Guys I got this feeling I'm not getting the car this week. As usual la, empty promises from SA. Now I'm hearing this AP thing.

Damn, should've opted for a recon E60 from naza as the price is similar to this. I hate waiting
I already told u Nasim cannot register any cars until they get clearance from JPJ. But it should be cleared by this week or early next week.
TScybermaster98
post Nov 10 2011, 08:16 AM

4,440 posts

A disturbing problem faced by some Peugeot 207 owners:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2051504

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2100407/+0#entry46609741

TScybermaster98
post Nov 10 2011, 08:41 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(chamelion @ Nov 10 2011, 08:25 AM)
Car wise, my pug is very good, only let dnw is the service center. And car wise, pug IS a level higher then jpn car.
What are the areas which you feel are lacking in Nasim's after sales service?
TScybermaster98
post Nov 10 2011, 06:05 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(m42 @ Nov 10 2011, 05:39 PM)
Hi, nice discussion!
I'm also looking at the passat, 508, and mondeo rite now..have tested the passat and mondeo ecoboost.. All are good cars, better than the japs. However, I can only choose one..sigh
In my observation, these are the major goods and bads about each car, which could be the decisive factors:

1. Passat
Good: it's a Volkswagen, 7 speed dsg, interior similar to passat cc (which costs at least 70k more), 5 year unlimited mileage warranty, service interval 15k
Bad: most expensive rm190k (including insurance, not 192k as stated in this thread),
No keyless, no navi, no DVD, no bluetooth

2. 508
Good: most exciting exterior, newest brand new model, most interior features, amazing sound system! (need to hear it, simply superb), true keyless, cheapest.
Bad: auto gearbox (not dual clutch), 3 year/100k km warranty, 10k service interval

3. Mondeo
Good: best ride and handling (try it, as good as BMW or nearly there), most powerful, fastest, dual clutch gearbox, largest (but boot space a bit shallow if I remember correctly), keyless, Bluetooth, voice control
Bad: not so new model (just a recent facelift), no paddle shifters, most thirsty, 3 years warranty, 10k service interval, no navi

There.. To me, based on the above, I would go for the passat.. The dsg is simply superb, interior quality as good as passat cc, and most importantly 5 years unlimited mileage warranty. You can drive all you want without worrying about the engine or gearbox breaking down, then you can sell after 4 years and the warranty is still valid so this will help in the resale value also.. For navi, or sound system, later can upgrade, although this will be expensive if need to use volkswagen system (to save the warranty).

Unless anyone can convince me otherwise..
Since when is the Passat 1.8TSI interior similar to the Passat CC? I think the CC has got a more luxurious interior and exterior albeit with a big increase in price.

Yes what uve said bout the Passat 1.8TSI is good. The gearbox, engine and warranty is great. But would you want to pay 190K for a boring car? Have you pictured yourself driving this car for the next 5-7yrs while other more modern and futuristic cars whizz by e.g Kia Optima, Hyundai Elantra, Hyundai Sonata, Peugeot 508, Toyota Camry, etc

The Passat has got an ugly rear (i think the worst among all VW cars at the moment). I think the Jetta looks better than the Passat except with much less features. The Passat TSI will not get any second looks on the road for sure unlike the attention the Golf, Sirocco and Passat CC enjoy. Even the interior seats on the Passat TSI is not that comfy for a 190K car.

Yes no doubt VW have great gearboxes and engines but how often will we be in a position to enjoy them? How often are we gonna be driving at high speeds? Most of the time we'll be stuck in bumper to bumper traffic in major cities i guess.

But what we would be experiencing most of the time is the specs, comfort and exterior/interior looks which the 508 has in abundance.

But in saying that, the after sales service and build quality of the Peugeot 508 is a worry for me. But i still have about 4-5 months more to decide.

TScybermaster98
post Nov 14 2011, 07:58 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Nov 13 2011, 11:19 PM)
Me, me, me. Having already bought the car, I cant help but to go there to get a taste of the car. I went there today at 1030am to test drive the car. Luckily not many ppl around 1030am. So just register and get the test drive immediately. But unfortunately the car is on trade plate, so cant drive out to open roads.

The test drive was only done in the car park area. There were 5 of us in the car, including the sales person. The car still feels powerful despite carrying 3x85kg+, 1x70kg+, and another 58kg passenger. Ride is quiet/smooth despite the 18" 235/45 tyres (but the car park pavement is still smooth). But the gearshifts isnt as smooth as i'd like it to be under hard acceleration (I'm comparing this to an accord 2.4's gearshift).

Sound insulation is pretty good. Can hardly hear the engine in the car. Steering is really light in tight corners. Feels like driving a much smaller car which is a plus point considering this car's bulky size. Overall, today's test drive has cleared some doubts I've always have before this. I'm relieved and confident to say my blind purchase (bought before test drive) has turn out to be a good one.

But then again, there's a final question mark which is the after sales service. Are nasim's service centers competent enough to maintain these cars? And also how durable/reliable will this car be in the long run?
Bro, driving a car around in a parking lot hardly constitutes as a test drive. No way u can judge sound insulation or power by at such low speeds. At that speed, even a Wira will sound quiet. Get a real test drive later before you say ure confident. In saying that, i sure hope everything turns out fine as im also interested in the car.
TScybermaster98
post Nov 14 2011, 11:04 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Nov 14 2011, 10:47 AM)
you are right, 240nm torque is comparable to 2.4liter car. only HP is lower, but i would assume you're not looking for topspeed kind of guy smile.gif as in over 220km/h
Yes the Peugeot's torque of 240Nm is more than the 2.4L Accord (222Nm) but the 158HP is slightly more than the 2.0L Accord only (154HP). But still good for a 1.6L Turbo engine.
TScybermaster98
post Nov 14 2011, 05:24 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Nov 14 2011, 05:02 PM)
Personally having paddle shifters in my car, I think I have used them around only like less than 10 times in my 1 year ownership. I used to think that its great and a must have but after a while, I hardly ever need to use it because the DSG gearbox is really good. Reads my driving style and when I want to be a bit more aggressive, I just switch to sports mode and its fantastics even up hill climbs at Ulu Yam.
Yes i agree. These paddle shifters are only an attraction in the early stages. More like eye candy. How many of the Honda City users still use their paddle shifters after say 3 yrs of use?
TScybermaster98
post Nov 14 2011, 11:29 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Lord of The Rabbits @ Nov 14 2011, 05:40 PM)
Besides the Technical considerations the feel/ ride of all 3 cars  should also be taken into consideration too.

On top of that  how one is perceived driving these cars may also sway judgements.

I have test driven all three. Truth be told the Passat has a better feel and ride with the 508 coming close second.

Someone posted earlier why not include the Alfa 159 and I tend to agree. Basically this is what the driver will be perceived when driving the cars :

Mondeo - Slightly older 45-55 years of age. Probably Desk Job definitely not an accountant.

Puegot 508 - Early 40 - 50 Just got promoted from Mid level Management.

Passat - Wanted the BMW 3 series but not willing to stretch the budget.
Alfa 159 - Marketing or Sales chances are former Player too  biggrin.gif

My two cents worth lah...
U tested all 3? Where did u test the 508?

Im much younger. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Nov 14 2011, 11:37 PM
TScybermaster98
post Nov 14 2011, 11:35 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Nov 14 2011, 11:11 PM)
I know, but the thing that I cant stand is empty promises. If they told me will get in couple months then I'm ok, probably I wont even have placed money on it at all. But what I've been told is not what I'm getting. What I mean is, they've misled me through false information and it has affected my buying decision.

What I heard now is, there are a couple of 508's already cleared duty. But I can say mine is not definitely one of them
Bro, cool it. Waiting a few extra weeks aint gonna hurt much. No car company is perfect. Did u hear about all the Ferrari 458 Italia's catching fire all over the world within a few months of being purchased? I heard they delivered the cars fast but got razed to the ground in double quick time too.

My point is, try not to make things sound worse than they actually are. To say u regret buying a car just cuz the delivery took a few weeks extra is a tad bit over the top dont ya think? It would show that u really didnt give the car much consideration in the first place since your judgement now is based solely on the delivery time.

Take it easy and dont sweat it. Many sales ppl at Nasim didnt even realise the delays they had to endure dealing with JPJ. It isnt entirely their fault. They promised you based on their best knowledge. But as u know dealing with Gov agencies can spring a few surprises.

TScybermaster98
post Nov 15 2011, 10:46 AM

4,440 posts

Top 10 Worst Cars of 2011:
http://autos.yahoo.com/news/worst-car-flop...011.html?page=2

VW Jetta
The 2011 redesign cost the Jetta much of what had made it a standout in the small car segment. Its responsive handling and sharp steering are long gone, Fisher says, and the high-quality interior has been replaced with hard plastics that don’t fit together well. The engines in the new Jetta are unimpressive with regard to both acceleration and fuel economy.

2012 Honda Civic
The 2012 redesign plummeted in Consumer Reports scores from one of the best small cars to one of the worst, Fisher says. Its nimble handling was replaced with a “soggy” suspension, and braking distances are too long. The interior quality also declined, with lots of hard plastics throughout the cabin.

TScybermaster98
post Nov 23 2011, 09:42 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Nov 23 2011, 07:14 PM)
SA say this Friday can get car. But I'm not putting up high hopes, coz been let down too many times. See how it goes la. Will post some pics if really got it
Please take front, rear, side, interior, rear legroom, engine, etc.
TScybermaster98
post Nov 26 2011, 02:57 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(DesmondMiles @ Nov 26 2011, 02:43 PM)
VW Passat Has The BEST AUDIO SYSTEM among all 3 rclxms.gif
But specs wise it looses heavily to the 508. Even exterior and interior design the Passat looses heavily. I would say it has better engine and gearbox.

TScybermaster98
post Nov 27 2011, 04:04 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Nov 27 2011, 10:00 AM)
Some experience on highway today. At 110kmh, the rpm is at 2500rpm, which is higher than the accord and lancer EX. FC-wise no matter what I try on the highway, the FC is nowhere near the advertised 7.1L/100km. The best I managed is 8.9L/100km.

The thing that I really like about this 508 is that, it feels so planted through the corners at high speed. From sungai besi exit to MRR2 (the circle exit), the car feels planted even at speeds of 80kmh (accord and lancer EX feels wobbly in comparison). No body-roll, no tyre screeching (this one is probably due to fatter tyres).
Try these:

1) Drive above 130kmph and see hows the road noise & engine noise (alternate sitting in front & rear seats to compare)
2) Take some corners at 120kmph on highway and then see whether got body roll. 80kmph may be too slow for a heavy car to feel the difference.
3) Do a full tank test for mileage. Dont just depend on the readings.

Fuel consumption will usually be higher in the first 1000km. See how it is after that.

Whre's the photos?

TScybermaster98
post Dec 5 2011, 10:19 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(DesmondMiles @ Dec 5 2011, 02:30 AM)
Some Car Prices Might Be Going Up Next Year. FORD MONDEO Price Comfirmed By Salesman That It Will Be Increased Around 7-12% For Next Year's Batch And The Car Will Be 99-100% Same As This Year's Batch. (Navigation Unit Package Might Come In As Optional)  hmm.gif

BTW so sorry to tell you guys that this year's batch of FORD MONDEO has left a few units. According to the salesman - Johor, Pinang and a few other states have sold out all their Mondeo's and Some are not even displaying it in their showroom after a few weeks of displaying.  blush.gif

As far as i know, 2 Days Ago KL Has Left Less Than 10 Units Of Mondeo.
Yesterday Noon, I went to showroom again, Mondeo's in KL Only Left 3 Units. 1 Silver, 2 Black. And Salesman Say Silver Might Have Been Sold Out - That Lefts 2 Black In Whole KL For Sale! And This Is Also Because Customers That Booked Cant Get Loan So Cancel Their Booking.  shocking.gif

The Engine Is Powerful! Test Drive Liao! Sound Prooving Quite Good Even Trottle Hard!  thumbup.gif According to salesman they only get 800 commision for a sale of Ford Mondeo as it is a very "EASY-TO-SELL" car. So dun expect much freebies. I manage to get Smart Tag, Full Tank, Secuirity 3M Tinting & Double 8 Number Plate for free. Its little but i think its a lot compared to the one i gone to yesterday didnt want to offer a single thing. vmad.gif  One thing good is you get free mantainance for 3 years including all spare parts, labour etc. not even a single cent u need when u sent ur car for service.
You really believe that salesman crap talk that the Mondeo has no stock cuz its selling so well ah? Common la bro. Open your eyes. How many Mondeo's do you see in the Klang Valley? So far ive only seen 3 and i drive around alot. That car is doing very badly. The only Ford doing well in Malaysia is the Fiesta. Ive seen much more Porsche's than the Mondeo for sure.

If that salesman says that 'its very easy to sell' then ask him to show you all the sales he has recorded in the last 1 year. Also ask him to show you how many sales his branch recorded. See if he dares to show! Mondeo not even among Top 50 models in Malaysia.

Dont be a fool. Salesmen will always feed rubbish to those who are willing to accept it. Or on hindsight, are you a Ford salesman yourself feeding us rubbish?

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Dec 5 2011, 10:24 PM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0621sec    0.13    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:35 PM