Peugeot 508, Ford Mondeo or VW Passat?, 3 good cars, 1 choice

sleepy
post Nov 25 2011, 10:48 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(spcx @ Nov 25 2011, 08:44 PM)
OMG I HATE YOU.

How was the FIRST drive? biggrin.gif what free gifts you got? my SA damn kedekut one la.

reason i have to wait till next week is because the number I want is only coming out next week =(
So far so good la. On the way home, I went through some pot holes and it wasnt as bumpy as i thought it would be despite the crazy sized wheels. Power is definitely there, in fact it feels more responsive than accord 2.4. Noise insulation, hmm i still think the old 2005 accord fare better (engine noise wise).

Oh, you're waiting number la? My number is quite old WWA. From what I know its already WWC now.

Free gifts includes umbrella, key chains, smart tag, t&g, air ionizer, tint voucher, and errm full tank petrol considered as free gift? laugh.gif
spcx
post Nov 26 2011, 02:08 AM

207 posts

haha i think the noise is probably the turbo engine....

yea im getting WWC 3XXX . hahahahaha so got to wait till next week. zz.

so what ur going to do next? tongue.gif im taking my 508 for a tint first to do list! going Jaya One for 3M tinting!~

This post has been edited by spcx: Nov 26 2011, 02:10 AM
DesmondMiles
post Nov 26 2011, 02:43 PM

377 posts

Reccomend Ford. Extreme Performance @ A Good Price.

VW Passat Has The BEST AUDIO SYSTEM among all 3 rclxms.gif
TScybermaster98
post Nov 26 2011, 02:57 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(DesmondMiles @ Nov 26 2011, 02:43 PM)
VW Passat Has The BEST AUDIO SYSTEM among all 3 rclxms.gif
But specs wise it looses heavily to the 508. Even exterior and interior design the Passat looses heavily. I would say it has better engine and gearbox.

sleepy
post Nov 27 2011, 10:00 AM

1,139 posts

Some experience on highway today. At 110kmh, the rpm is at 2500rpm, which is higher than the accord and lancer EX. FC-wise no matter what I try on the highway, the FC is nowhere near the advertised 7.1L/100km. The best I managed is 8.9L/100km.

The thing that I really like about this 508 is that, it feels so planted through the corners at high speed. From sungai besi exit to MRR2 (the circle exit), the car feels planted even at speeds of 80kmh (accord and lancer EX feels wobbly in comparison). No body-roll, no tyre screeching (this one is probably due to fatter tyres).
TScybermaster98
post Nov 27 2011, 04:04 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Nov 27 2011, 10:00 AM)
Some experience on highway today. At 110kmh, the rpm is at 2500rpm, which is higher than the accord and lancer EX. FC-wise no matter what I try on the highway, the FC is nowhere near the advertised 7.1L/100km. The best I managed is 8.9L/100km.

The thing that I really like about this 508 is that, it feels so planted through the corners at high speed. From sungai besi exit to MRR2 (the circle exit), the car feels planted even at speeds of 80kmh (accord and lancer EX feels wobbly in comparison). No body-roll, no tyre screeching (this one is probably due to fatter tyres).
Try these:

1) Drive above 130kmph and see hows the road noise & engine noise (alternate sitting in front & rear seats to compare)
2) Take some corners at 120kmph on highway and then see whether got body roll. 80kmph may be too slow for a heavy car to feel the difference.
3) Do a full tank test for mileage. Dont just depend on the readings.

Fuel consumption will usually be higher in the first 1000km. See how it is after that.

Whre's the photos?

Ambang2
post Nov 27 2011, 06:54 PM

267 posts

Hi all,

I have been comtemplating which D-segment car to go for in hte last 2 months. After going thru thorough review reading magazines, view these 3 cars as well as test drive all units and talking to friends, i can draw final conclusion that Ford Mondeo is best in class amongst these 3 units in terms of power and handling with ecoboost engine

Comes 2nd would be Passat, which provides top class gearbox (DSG) and engine (TSI).

No doubt 508 having the best interior car specs compared to others, i still won't go for it due to:

1) car reliability. You may check with driver who own 308 and they complaint problem such as gearbox, water pump, airbag indicators and etc in less than 3 years.

2) The possibility of changing Peugeot to Naza Badge (happened to 207)

3) Engine & gearbox are no way near to Passat and Mondeo.
Neo_Y
post Nov 27 2011, 07:01 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(DesmondMiles @ Nov 26 2011, 02:43 PM)
Reccomend Ford. Extreme Performance @ A Good Price.

VW Passat Has The BEST AUDIO SYSTEM among all 3
Maybe you just haven't check out the 508 audio system, it is powered by JBL (by HARMAN) 10 speakers Hi-Fi system with 10 channel 500w surround sound amplifier, definitely win hand-down.
khchong81
post Nov 27 2011, 07:09 PM

443 posts

I only know Passat CC is powered by Dynaudio...perfect sound. Not sure for VW Passat. If Dynaudio then not bad.
sleepy
post Nov 27 2011, 09:41 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 27 2011, 04:04 PM)
Try these:

1) Drive above 130kmph and see hows the road noise & engine noise (alternate sitting in front & rear seats to compare)
2) Take some corners at 120kmph on highway and then see whether got body roll. 80kmph may be too slow for a heavy car to feel the difference.
3) Do a full tank test for mileage. Dont just depend on the readings.

Fuel consumption will usually be higher in the first 1000km. See how it is after that.

Whre's the photos?
1) I dont drive fast actually. Fastest I did so far is 120kmh. Road noise level is surprisingly low at 120kmh. Let's compare with accord 2.4. At 90kmh, the accord is quieter, but as the accord goes faster the noise be it wind/road goes louder as well. For the 508, 90kmh or 120kmh road noise level remains the same.

2) Erm, 120kmh at the bend that I'm talking is suicidal (sungai besi to mrr2 exit near technology park). So far, I'm just comparing other D-segment (2005 accord 2.4L & 2010 accord 2.0L). Both the accord's understeers and feels wobbly, while the 508 just grips on.

3) FC quite bad I guess. So far I've travelled 200km and there's only 2/3 tank left. Still nowhere near the advertised 7.1L/100km. But then, like you I do believe it will improve once it hit the 1000km+.

Photo? I'm too busy playing with the car. Anyway, I have posted one pic of it in my porch in my previous post laugh.gif
cdubliew
post Nov 28 2011, 12:49 AM

Hello all,

Have been keenly following this interesting thread, and think I should finally add my 2 cents to the discussion. Since I'm a newbie, lemme quickly introduce myself. Have been driving for >20 years; current cars are an MPV and 2009 Camry. Used to own a Honda, and had a few Protons in the past.

Have been looking for another D segment car for over a year (yes, really!) and have test-driven all the 3 cars in mentioned in this thread. My thoughts...

1) Ford Mondeo -- this face-lifted, 2011 version with 2.0 Ecoboost really had me salivating since it came out. Scoured the web for anything I could get my hands on, and eagerly awaited its arrival in Malaysia. What's there not to love? A kick-a** engine with more torque than you know what to do with. A legendary reputation of being rock-solid reliable (at least in UK and Europe), and a series of pictures that are awesome. The reviews I read sang praises, compared it against the Passat (and beat it mostly), and based on that, there was nothing much to not like!

The test-drive was an eye-opener. I'm not sure if its due to all the anticipation built up over the months... but the experience was a bit of let down. To be sure, there was plenty of torque and power on tap... but the drive, while feeling solid and assured, was surprisingly harsh. Bumpy even! In 'real-life', the car looked a lot less exclusive than in the photos. There was plenty of room both front and back, but lacked the exclusive overall feel. The boys loved the voice-control feature, but it felt more like a gimmick than anything to me.

Then came the reality check. This is Malaysia... other than the Fiesta, which recently did exceedingly well, nobody else is touching Ford's passenger cars with a ten-foot pole. This year so far, Paultan.org (Aug) reported only 22 Mondeo 2.3l version sold.... that's even lesser than the Cherry Tiggo, or Audi A8, or Beemer X5.... even the Freelander sold slightly better! The 'killer' happened when I asked the salesmen from VW and Peugeot, what they felt about the Mondeo. They gave me this puzzled look... like "why are you even comparing with that'?

2) VW Passat -- test drove this the same week it was launched. Wow, imagine owning a German marque that's not a pocket rocket or little cream-puff on steroids, but a full fledged D-segment at below 200k!! Okay, granted the engine's smaller (than the Mondeo's), and with it, fewer horses, but this *is* VW... it has to be bullet-proof or awesome or something, right?!

Unfortunately, all the brushed aluminum inserts, the 7-speed DSG, or the classy analogue clock on the dash does not add up to much, if the overall body looks as exciting as mud. Passat CC this car aint!! The car accelerates effortlessly, drives like it's vacuumed to the road, but is just about as exciting as ..... a Camry!

I went in and out of the car... looked at it from all possible angles, far and near... and as much as I tried to like, want, love the car.... I couldn't. It just lacked that passion! Sorry, VW, I love your Toureg, think your Golf is amazing, but Passat? Boring, sigh!

3) Peugeot 508 -- had not really bothered much when I first heard about it. 1.6l engine woh, sure or not? That's just marginally better than the T&H's 2.4 liters... how fun can that be? A friend suggested I checked it out, and my first (biased) reaction was to scoff it off.

But since I was seriously looking at getting a car, I could not ignore all the hype and excitement the 508 had been generating. And I was pleasantly surprised to find how my original impression of it could be so wrong! The car looks amazing in the flesh. Okay, granted, the rear-end takes a bit of getting used to, but surely it still looks a WHOLE LOT better than Accord's ugly butt! The 17-inch rims look great, and the overall swooping lines just somehow works nicely.

Stepping into the drivers' seat felt like getting into space ship, or at a stretch, a Beemer 5-series. All the blinky lights, switches and fittings together with the head's up display come together nicely. Among the 3, this car really makes you feel like you're in an executive-class car, and justifies the price-tag it's getting. In Europe, reviewers are comparing it against the Mondeo (yes, its still the benchmark) and Passat, and in some cases is even mentioned in the same breath as the Audi!

I liked the drive -- a lot. It may not be as punchy as the Mondeo, but is certainly more fun than the Passat. Just a nice balance, I think, of technology, handling, performance and pricing! Its not stellar in any particular area, and will probably not do too well if you're always throwing your car into tight corners in b-roads. But the 95% of the time, I can imagine myself thoroughly enjoying this car. The only scary bit is Naza's after-sales. But my thinking... if I survived 10+ years of Proton (non) service, surely I can survive whatever Naza throws at me?!?

So my conclusion? If you're brand conscious and have a Toyota (i.e. Ah-pek) mentality, you'd probably want to go for the Passat. If you fancy yourself a closet racer and don't care two hoots about resale value, the Mondeo it has to be. And if you like a bit of everything, while attracting admiring looks when you drive by, you probably can't go wrong with the 508!

For me, its the 508. I've plonked down the booking fee, and should get it in the next week or so. Good choice? Dunno leh... only time will tell!

dstl1128
post Nov 28 2011, 09:31 AM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(cdubliew @ Nov 28 2011, 12:49 AM)
The only scary bit is Naza's after-sales.  But my thinking... if I survived 10+ years of Proton (non) service, surely I can survive whatever Naza throws at me?!?
You can survive with Proton all these years because it is easier to maintain a plain vanilla (less electronics) car: parts are easily available everywhere, a lot of alternative/cheap parts, a lot of after market parts, a lot of mechanic able to deal with it.

Anyway between the three, 508 looks like the the winner.
SUSkimsim
post Nov 28 2011, 09:40 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

Since you can afford over than 150k
And above better go for VW passat.
There is more better quality control.
If you can add much more can be think about Audi A6.

Peugeot don't look like better choice, even ford still better.

sookk
post Nov 28 2011, 11:34 AM

325 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Nov 28 2011, 09:40 AM)
Since you can afford over than 150k
And above better go for VW passat.
There is more better quality control
If you do want to get the passat .. you got to get it within the first 2 batches ... once it goes ckd ... not sure what will happen to the quality
baretta
post Nov 29 2011, 03:28 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Nov 15 2011, 12:17 PM)
you should just get T&H or VW

they never short of APs
Never short APs?....Vw got AP from sime darby maaaa.....now they already short AP

Added on November 29, 2011, 3:29 am
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Nov 15 2011, 01:55 PM)
naza salesman lo, dunno he con me or not la, lol.
haiyaaa got story from SA..read motor trader la...than u know VW or Peugeot sale better

This post has been edited by baretta: Nov 29 2011, 03:29 AM
huaren1978
post Nov 29 2011, 05:09 PM

QUOTE(cdubliew @ Nov 28 2011, 12:49 AM)
Hello all,

Have been keenly following this interesting thread, and think I should finally add my 2 cents to the discussion. Since I'm a newbie, lemme quickly introduce myself.  Have been driving for >20 years; current cars are an MPV and 2009 Camry.  Used to own a Honda, and had a few Protons in the past.

Have been looking for another D segment car for over a year (yes, really!) and have test-driven all the 3 cars in mentioned in this thread.  My thoughts...

1) Ford Mondeo -- this face-lifted, 2011 version with 2.0 Ecoboost really had me salivating since it came out.  Scoured the web for anything I could get my hands on, and eagerly awaited its arrival in Malaysia.  What's there not to love? A kick-a** engine with more torque than you know what to do with.  A legendary reputation of being rock-solid reliable (at least in UK and Europe), and a series of pictures that are awesome.  The reviews I read sang praises, compared it against the Passat (and beat it mostly), and based on that, there was nothing much to not like!

The test-drive was an eye-opener.  I'm not sure if its due to all the anticipation built up over the months... but the experience was a bit of let down.  To be sure, there was plenty of torque and power on tap... but the drive, while feeling solid and assured, was surprisingly harsh.  Bumpy even!  In 'real-life', the car looked a lot less exclusive than in the photos.  There was plenty of room both front and back, but lacked the exclusive overall feel.  The boys loved the voice-control feature, but it felt more like a gimmick than anything to me.

Then came the reality check.  This is Malaysia... other than the Fiesta, which recently did exceedingly well, nobody else is touching Ford's passenger cars with a ten-foot pole.  This year so far, Paultan.org (Aug) reported only 22 Mondeo 2.3l version sold.... that's even lesser than the Cherry Tiggo, or Audi A8, or Beemer X5....  even the Freelander sold slightly better!  The 'killer' happened when I asked the salesmen from VW and Peugeot, what they felt about the Mondeo.  They gave me this puzzled look... like "why are you even comparing with that'?
2) VW Passat -- test drove this the same week it was launched.  Wow, imagine owning a German marque that's not a pocket rocket or little cream-puff on steroids, but a full fledged D-segment at below 200k!! Okay, granted the engine's smaller (than the Mondeo's), and with it, fewer horses, but this *is* VW... it has to be bullet-proof or awesome or something, right?!

Unfortunately, all the brushed aluminum inserts, the 7-speed DSG, or the classy analogue clock on the dash does not add up to much, if the overall body looks as exciting as mud.  Passat CC this car aint!!  The car accelerates effortlessly, drives like it's vacuumed to the road, but is just about as exciting as ..... a Camry!

I went in and out of the car... looked at it from all possible angles, far and near... and as much as I tried to like, want, love the car.... I couldn't.  It just lacked that passion!  Sorry, VW, I love your Toureg, think your Golf is amazing, but Passat?  Boring, sigh!

3) Peugeot 508 -- had not really bothered much when I first heard about it.  1.6l engine woh, sure or not? That's just marginally better than the T&H's 2.4 liters... how fun can that be?  A friend suggested I checked it out, and my first (biased) reaction was to scoff it off. 

But since I was seriously looking at getting a car, I could not ignore all the hype and excitement the 508 had been generating.  And I was pleasantly surprised to find how my original impression of it could be so wrong!  The car looks amazing in the flesh.  Okay, granted, the rear-end takes a bit of getting used to, but surely it still looks a WHOLE LOT better than Accord's ugly butt!  The 17-inch rims look great, and the overall swooping lines just somehow works nicely.

Stepping into the drivers' seat felt like getting into space ship, or at a stretch, a Beemer 5-series.  All the blinky lights,  switches and fittings together with the head's up display come together nicely.  Among the 3, this car really makes you feel like you're in an executive-class car, and justifies the price-tag it's getting.  In Europe, reviewers are comparing it against the Mondeo (yes, its still the benchmark) and Passat, and in some cases is even mentioned in the same breath as the Audi!

I liked the drive -- a lot.  It may not be as punchy as the Mondeo, but is certainly more fun than the Passat.  Just a nice balance, I think, of technology, handling, performance and pricing!  Its not stellar in any particular area, and will probably not do too well if you're always throwing your car into tight corners in b-roads.  But the 95% of the time, I can imagine myself thoroughly enjoying this car.  The only scary bit is Naza's after-sales.  But my thinking... if I survived 10+ years of Proton (non) service, surely I can survive whatever Naza throws at me?!?

So my conclusion?  If you're brand conscious and have a Toyota (i.e. Ah-pek) mentality, you'd probably want to go for the Passat.  If you fancy yourself a closet racer and don't care two hoots about resale value, the Mondeo it has to be.  And if you like a bit of everything, while attracting admiring looks when you drive by, you probably can't go wrong with the 508!

For me, its the 508.  I've plonked down the booking fee, and should get it in the next week or so.  Good choice?  Dunno leh... only time will tell!
that's a good summary u got there!
DesmondMiles
post Nov 29 2011, 07:26 PM

377 posts

Lai Lai Time For A Change, How About We Wait For 2011 KIA OPTIMA Turbo & Compare This With FORD MONDEO Ecoboost.

2011 KIA OPTIMA Turbo vs. FORD MONDEO Ecoboost

0-100KM (Seconds)
2011 KIA OPTIMA Turbo - 6.5 Seconds! Amazing!
FORD MONDEO Ecoboost - 7.9 Seconds! Cool!

Btw, 2011 KIA OPTIMA Turbo Has A Very Similar Engine To V8!

This post has been edited by DesmondMiles: Nov 29 2011, 07:28 PM
cdubliew
post Nov 29 2011, 07:32 PM

QUOTE(spcx @ Nov 3 2011, 02:44 AM)
bangsar. =( nvm la.. wait wait! some booked 3 months before launch also can't get their 508 yet. zzz
SPCX, did you get the same bunch of freebies as Sleepy?
Trying to see if all branches practicing the same or different. rclxub.gif

TTDI seem to be very kedekut with their gifts, even the full fuel tank is being position as a super-duper-ultra-nice gesture that you should feel eternally grateful to them for it. hmm.gif
rcracer
post Nov 29 2011, 08:03 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(DesmondMiles @ Nov 29 2011, 12:26 PM)
Lai Lai Time For A Change, How About We Wait For 2011 KIA OPTIMA Turbo & Compare This With FORD MONDEO Ecoboost.

2011 KIA OPTIMA Turbo vs. FORD MONDEO Ecoboost

0-100KM (Seconds)
2011 KIA OPTIMA Turbo - 6.5 Seconds! Amazing!
FORD MONDEO Ecoboost - 7.9 Seconds! Cool!

Btw, 2011 KIA OPTIMA Turbo Has A Very Similar Engine To V8!
Kia already said they WILL NOT BRING IN good engines because of so-call 'Fuel Quality BS excuse'

Mondeo can bring the latest greatest EcoBoost, but KIA cannot

Kia like to treat malaysian like idiot, malaysian like being treated like idiot also
spcx
post Nov 29 2011, 11:11 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(cdubliew @ Nov 29 2011, 07:32 PM)
SPCX, did you get the same bunch of freebies as Sleepy?
Trying to see if all branches practicing the same or different.  rclxub.gif

TTDI seem to be very kedekut with their gifts, even the full fuel tank is being position as a super-duper-ultra-nice gesture that you should feel eternally grateful to them for it.    hmm.gif
Got to ask my SA only he gives, lol. Getting full tank + smart tag, asked me to choose between smart tag or umbrella lol. biggrin.gif

But 1 thing I like about my SA is that he's a no nonsense man, doesn't make empty promises or give you hopes of getting the car earlier. When I first booked, he told me the car will only arrive Dec / Jan, if I'm ok then I book. Haha guess what, he pushed me to the first batch of cars! Was a good surprise smile.gif Does his job properly and quick, even the 2nd hand car dealer he introduced was a good lad, although the price was a lil low.

If you don't like sweet talk, and want an honest opinion, look for Leong from Peugeot Bangsar!

29 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0473sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:55 AM