Rate My Design, Part 2, New design (56K beware)

TSsoggie
post Oct 14 2005, 02:04 PM, updated 21y ago

Braindead
3,872 posts

What do you think about this design? It is targeted for a floral company, or gift company and it is supposed to exhibit e-commerce styled behavior. It is only in its draft stages, so waht do you think?

Just in case you turned off images, here's the link:

http://www.rendervault.com/storage/images/preview.jpg

This post has been edited by soggie: Oct 14 2005, 02:05 PM
TSsoggie
post Oct 14 2005, 02:17 PM

Braindead
3,872 posts

I would greatly appreciate comments, both positive or negative are equally welcomed. Thanks!
HKNP
post Oct 14 2005, 02:19 PM

481 posts

F15 Fighting falcon --$10000.00..

I want 1... hehehehe + 2 dozen of AR-15 Assult rifle...

joking bro.. the inteface is clean and tidy. Should be ok if you provide a categorize menu for all the flower you have...
SUSchewxy
post Oct 14 2005, 02:20 PM

Flying Side By Side with my beloved Pretty Swallow
11,234 posts

I was laughing my head through... Singing Stopper???
TSsoggie
post Oct 14 2005, 02:23 PM

Braindead
3,872 posts

haha is it just me or what... i think pink + yellow would make it look sweeter and much more captivating.
valho
post Oct 14 2005, 02:34 PM

4,967 posts

blue and grey is not really suitable for a floral or gift company, something like pink, light green, or softer color will be more suitable,

the design is ok clean and simple, but u need to have the product category to be visible to the visitor right on the main page
it's oso redundant to have the same links on top and on the left side menu, i would suggest to change the left menu to products category
ikram_zidane
post Oct 14 2005, 03:15 PM

489 posts

design : nice
just what's with the flower.. you're a cooperate site.. put some buisnessman...or anything that's buisness related..

"welcome to company name" - dark grey maybe , instead of black..
also need a logo..
TSsoggie
post Oct 14 2005, 04:01 PM

Braindead
3,872 posts

Well its supposed to be for a floral selling site, or gift site like memory lane or something like that.

What u think?
ikram_zidane
post Oct 14 2005, 05:58 PM

489 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ Oct 14 2005, 04:01 PM)
Well its supposed to be for a floral selling site, or gift site like memory lane or something like that.

What u think?
opps.. my mistake..if for floral selling purpose.. try pink/orange..they look better.
and why there's 2 navigation menu ?? if you're to make 2 nav. menu , then one of them should be situated below the content..
etsuko
post Oct 14 2005, 07:42 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

The concept design looks a bit too high tech for me. It doesn't give me the feeling of flowers and gifts..or the type of feminine-ish feel to it.

I would also keep things more organized by placing Newest Products beneath Featured Products instead of putting things here and there.

Here are some better organized navigations for you. smile.gif

http://www.prettypetals.com.my/

http://www.noel.com.my/

Both are clean and simple but still makes you feel like you're at a flower & gifts website. smile.gif You could also borrow the idea of colors from there.

Cheers.
ikram_zidane
post Oct 14 2005, 09:58 PM

489 posts

QUOTE(etsuko @ Oct 14 2005, 07:42 PM)
The concept design looks a bit too high tech for me. It doesn't give me the feeling of flowers and gifts..or the type of feminine-ish feel to it.

I would also keep things more organized by placing Newest Products beneath Featured Products instead of putting things here and there.

Here are some better organized navigations for you. smile.gif

http://www.prettypetals.com.my/

http://www.noel.com.my/

Both are clean and simple but still makes you feel like you're at a flower & gifts website. smile.gif You could also borrow the idea of colors from there.

Cheers.
the second one doesn't look too organised.. the font's color/type look too childish.
jassicaskylpm
post Oct 14 2005, 10:22 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(soggie @ Oct 14 2005, 04:01 PM)

What u think?
depens on wat site n wat item or wat infomation u r putting it in..btw ur design is thumbup.gif not bad..try 2 change the white backgrd(just a thoughts) wink.gif
crynobone
post Oct 15 2005, 06:32 AM

1'm n0t @ n00b n0t y3t @ 1337
2,811 posts

1. Redundant main navigation. I don't think it necessary except it would be wise to make sure that it is noticable for first time viewer/visitor.

2. I can't seem to understand why the flower picture (pink flower) need to be blocked by a frame of some sort.

3. Why is the search frame so big?
etsuko
post Oct 15 2005, 11:38 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(ikram_zidane @ Oct 14 2005, 09:58 PM)
the second one doesn't look too organised.. the font's color/type look too childish.
I wasn't posting the examples based on it's organization or typeface, it was a guide of look and feel overall for soggie. If you compared the design of the two with her current design, it's obvious something is lacking because I don't feel what they other 2 has given me. Anyway, maybe you drop an email to Noel and let them know. smile.gif

Cheers.
Stranger
post Oct 15 2005, 11:54 AM

380 posts

The design looks too "inexperienced". Try different colour schemes, warm colour or romantic colour will be more suitable. The design is way too incomplete, even if it's a draft design, still you have to try making it look like you took a screenshot from somewhere. Fill in the company name and logo as well as all the products, not just "your company name" and some empty boxes around. Then you will have a better idea yourself how it will look in the end too. Oh, and work on the navigation system too! Cheers!
Stranger
post Oct 15 2005, 12:03 PM

380 posts

The colours suggested by valho is fitting too, pink, light green, the soft "pastelly", like your blog, soggie. smile.gif
TearDrop
post Oct 16 2005, 12:29 AM

thriller O_O
984 posts

It depends what site you are designing for. But overall for this, i would like to say its average only.

This post has been edited by TearDrop: Oct 16 2005, 12:34 AM
TSsoggie
post Oct 16 2005, 12:47 AM

Braindead
3,872 posts

Guys, I skimped through all your comments, and as expected, you guys give extremely useful comments. Thanks for spending the time to explain the fallacies of my design. Tomorrow I'll read thru it again in more detail... thanks again!

Yes I agree that the color scheme needs better work. Originally I used blue shades because the requirements for this web design states that no red, no pink, and only blue, white, gray and silver. Now taht this template has been on hold for approval, maybe I'll mod the color scheme and release it as a free tempalte with much more girly and sweeter colors.

Haha now brain not working... partay too much. Will continue tomorrow. Thanks guys (and girls)!
-MansoN-
post Oct 16 2005, 06:17 PM

78 posts

simple design and not too glaring. but i dun get y the rose?
it is totally out of the theme? unless its for a florist shop or sumthing
just my 2 cents smile.gif
TSsoggie
post Oct 16 2005, 10:57 PM

Braindead
3,872 posts

manson, it IS for a florist shop laugh.gif

0.0418sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:52 AM