GetMePhones
post Aug 20 2014, 12:33 PM

163 posts

Wow I didn't know this existed!

thought I was the only one.

Eric Dier's debut goal was stunning, who knew we'd sign up
an attack-minded centre back

though the rumours on Holtby is kinda unpleasant since he did fluorish in the preseason matches...kinda sucks if he moves out of

COYS!
GetMePhones
post Aug 21 2014, 07:07 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(ihawk98 @ Aug 21 2014, 05:31 PM)
welcome! tell us how you started supporting Spurs.
I'm a late bloomer so to say...it was during the era of Gareth Bale that I started to notice spurs
more specifically during the London Derby Clash when Bale and Lennon scored with their lightning quick pace
too bad though he was sold to Real not too long after that...

that being said I've come to know the players bought with the Bale money..
flop or not, can't help much when you're in the midst of managerial crisis
hopefully Pochettino will be here to stay

really hoping Musacchio and Schneiderlin would enter Spurs too
GetMePhones
post Aug 22 2014, 12:01 AM

163 posts

QUOTE(ihawk98 @ Aug 21 2014, 07:19 PM)
Well, better late than never  tongue.gif

We do need another CB and having both Musacchio and Schneiderlin would be awesome but not sure if it is gonna happen. Regardless, I have to tell you that there is a great community of Spurs brothers (and sisters) at the official Malaysia Spurs Supporters Club (recognized by THFC).

Do drop by at Sid's Pub (Bangsar South) during any LIVE matches to meet them and sign up. With AIA on board, you never know what activities are in the pipeline  thumbup.gif

I don't go down often but I do try to make it at least twice a year to watch with them.
I'll be sure to drop by then, but seriously its pretty amazing to know that I can share more like scream out loud with the ball finds the net..
it'll be a memory I wouldn't wanna miss rclxm9.gif
GetMePhones
post Aug 22 2014, 12:03 AM

163 posts

QUOTE(spursfan @ Aug 21 2014, 09:36 PM)
gk - lloris, vorm, friedel
rb - walker, naughton, yedlin (2015)
lb - davies, rose, BAE
cd - vertonghen, chiriches, kaboul, dawson, dier
cm - capoue, sandro, dembele, paulinho, bentaleb, carroll
rm - lamela, townsend, lennon
lm - chadli
am - eriksen, holtby
fw - soldado, ade, kane

too many cd.
loved BAE, but he's past it.
dawson probably won't fit in the new system well.
rb will be crowded soon.
love all 6 of our midfield, but we can't fit everyone in.

development squad / fringe guys - fryers, ceballos, khumalo, veljkovic, ceballos, mason, coulibaly, bale jr

some of these guys have what it takes to move up.

we have a balanced squad as is but the problem is the quality is kinda meh. too many guys in the same position have roughly the same skill level. could use a little more quality.
i read that musacchio can pass a bit. we already have verts, chiri and dier with the same skill set. a tough guy who tackles well will be a better partner for verts.
schneiderlin is familiar with poch, but we already have too many cm.
Schneiderlin will be detrimental to the high line style as well...seeing as how he boasts a great deal of interceptions, plus a good pace.
though I do share your sentiment we have too many midfielder, I'd want to see them flourish under Poch
GetMePhones
post Aug 22 2014, 09:41 AM

163 posts

Highlights from AEL vs Spurs

GetMePhones
post Aug 24 2014, 09:18 PM

163 posts

Sensational 1st half could've beem more tho...lovin the way spurs play now COYSb
GetMePhones
post Aug 24 2014, 11:07 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(ihawk98 @ Aug 24 2014, 10:54 PM)
Let's savor the wonderful team football we saw today. Partly it was due to Hoddle's horrible 3 men Defense that gave our boys so much space.

Anyways, the true tests are coming up with Liverpool visiting next week and then the gunners the following.

Would be great to see how the hi-press style fare against good teams.

COYS!
It'll really put our defences to the test..as to how we'll counter liverpool fast attacking play and the gunners counterattack...but for now its all smiles laugh.gif rclxm9.gif
GetMePhones
post Aug 29 2014, 11:32 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(ihawk98 @ Aug 29 2014, 11:49 AM)
Thanks for the comments. This is the way Spurs used to play up until Harry Redknapp. AVB did win but not with attractive football.
Wow, I did not know that...my dad used to talk about spurs being the most interesting team back then...I guess he meant to say attractive football...its still new to the lads, expecting something even better when its fully implemented
GetMePhones
post Sep 1 2014, 02:36 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(spursfan @ Sep 1 2014, 10:18 AM)
welp. 5-0, 4-0 and now 3-0. i guess we'll be able to hold them to a 0-0 draw in the second match up next season.

early days for poch. as long as we play attractive attacking football and score heaps, we have reasons to be optimistic. COYS
Agreed. Its better to realize the flaws we have earlier than late...distribution was poor and little much can be said about the penalty decision too..the style is still at its infancy, its hard enough to keep up with the reds high tempo play, its still too soon to settle in for a 6th place. COYS
GetMePhones
post Sep 4 2014, 11:34 AM

163 posts

QUOTE(^chalaza^ @ Sep 3 2014, 10:46 PM)
Embrace for another horrid season ahead my fellow spurs fans.

The loss to Liverpool clear illustrates the gap spurs have compared to the 'bigger' teams.We had the 'poorest' record against the top teams last year.even the last placed team, Cardiff city did better! that must say a lot. So what if we score 4 goals (10 for that matter) against mediocre teams it's not gonna get spurs in the CL.

Look at all the signings the big 5 have made and who has spurs bought?! Fazio, stambouli, yedlin. You guys got to admit these players are almost unknown in the football scene. Let's face it -they are not gonna bring significant success to spurs.at very best a 6-8th placing.

I was hoping for a significant signing with the likes of Lukaku/Welbeck being available for a possible transfer. Not even a single striker we signed. We had the most scorers across the team last year. Yeah you might say teamwork etc, but the thing is you need a true centre forward to bang in the goals regularly for a team. Just look at out goal difference +4 from last season, Southampton +8! Next one +21.

The current first 11 feature the likes of chadli, lamela, capoue..all of which had poor poor season last year. Not to mention that our attacking options consist of adebayor, Kane, Carroll and haha soldado. Don't see many goals scored really.

I know lots of critics will come after this posting but this are my thoughts.so fire away on your constructive comments and happy to read them.
True, we are in dire need of a prolific striker though Spurs already showed glimpses of what they can do with MP style of play, remember how we struggled with the likes of QPR last season? the biggest problem though lies in incorporating that winning mentality against bigger teams. Credits to pool though, they played as a team and willingness to take one for the team...yellow cards came flying whenever a possible counter move emerges. Our defense needs a lot of work, Kaboul couldn't get a single tackle in as opposed to Limassol few days ago, our midfielders couldn't control the game and Sterling was left running all over the place. Its a huge blow to what could've been a dreamy start.

Soldado was a flop and he didn't get much of a service last season either, he's a proven goalscorer when we bought him...hopefully he'll flourish under MP

We're a team that just overcame managerial problems, with the sacking of managers being a trend these days. Levy still sticks to his 'buy cheap sell for a profit' mentality, so don't really expect another striker coming in.

0.0374sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:55 PM