English Clubs Tottenham Hotspur F.C. - Audere est Facere, Dare, Dream, Do

Styrroyds
post May 16 2012, 05:30 PM

103 posts

just suddenly had the urge to write this:

during our first few months we were playing great and winning games. Parker was, to me, that final jigsaw piece that actually made us competitive for the league title. But as we all know, we had our March-April meltdown although there wasnt any drastic squad changes.

The question is; why? It would be easy to think that Harry really let the England post get to his head, but to me it's not enough to justify how we went from championship material to going a goal behind and chasing every game.

Was it tactics? Opponents finally figured us out?

Mental? Fatigue?

I'm still deeply dissatisfied with our run-in... and would like to discuss possible reasons why we ended up that way.

Styrroyds
post May 16 2012, 08:45 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(ihawk98 @ May 16 2012, 05:56 PM)
Oh where do I start. It all begins with the mood in the locker room. Uncertainty crept in when 'arry and chairman did not come out and say that 'arry was not interested in the England job.  'arry's head was obviously somewhere else as we became tactically poor.

On the pitch, our strength in offence comes with pace and width. The marauding runs of Bale and Lennon will draw the attention of at least 2 opposing players on each side (total of 4 players distracted). This gives Modric and vdV more space to move the ball around the inside and find space. 

And with Lennon out, we had either van der Vaart or Modric playing on the outside and hence out of their preferred positions. Bale then tries to cut in from the left as there is more space inside but he is most effective staying wide and drawing the attention of the wing back and another opposing player.

When we have no threat of attacking or counter attacking with pace on the wings, the opposing team can commit more players into their attack too.  And this will overrun our midfield.

The come from behind win by the Gunners took the confidence away from the team.  And the sudden realization that we were vulnerable make us tentative in many matches.  Watching the 13 pt gap evaporate also has a psychological impact on players mindset.
oh, nicely written. so it unraveled in large part to Lennon's absence? susah la like that, he always has injury issues one sad.gif

as for the confidence thing; i'm not too sure. We had a terrible run-in too last season right? I was thinking it could be tiredness accumulating from the first half. Admittedly most of our midfielders (heck, even our centrebacks) always had this "niggling injuries" where they play 2-3 games and then sit one out. Can we get some guys in to increase their conditioning?

btw, i'm pessimistic with our chances to keep Modric... i think M City will try to raid some of our squad players.... any idea who can replace Modric (just in case?) and the departing Ade?

Styrroyds
post May 16 2012, 08:54 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(SGSuser @ May 16 2012, 08:50 PM)
hazard  laugh.gif
dun wan laaaaaa

hazard is out and out winger mana boleh replace General Mod

i think MC will get him

yes, Modric AND Hazard sad.gif

Styrroyds
post May 18 2012, 01:07 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(spursfan @ May 17 2012, 06:42 AM)
flavor of the campaign, gylfi sigurdsson?
is he that good ah?

i was expecting a more world class name like Llorente or Lewandowski sweat.gif

i guess i'm being unrealistic laugh.gif
Styrroyds
post May 20 2012, 11:45 AM

103 posts

i try to put it into perspective

Chelsea has been unlikeable for the last 8 years, but Bayern has been for decades

so kudos Chelsea biggrin.gif

Karma for 00/01 CL brows.gif
Styrroyds
post May 20 2012, 12:13 PM

103 posts

i dun mind Europa. Why not? Still continental competition.

And no reason for Barcelona to buy Bale once Villa is back.

Bale cant retain the ball well so they wouldnt want him anyway lol
Styrroyds
post May 21 2012, 12:45 PM

103 posts

agree with lewmoker, we knew the rules when we started this season, so that draw with Villa was the clincher.

even though we had only 10 men then, we were in control..

and when i think about it, defeating Villa might cause them to get relegated whistling.gif

Styrroyds
post Jun 5 2012, 03:31 PM

103 posts

It's been a week without activity here...
Styrroyds
post Jun 6 2012, 03:00 AM

103 posts

Only got 10/11's jersey with Autonomy in front and my name printed at the back laugh.gif

ori from WHL brows.gif

Styrroyds
post Jun 6 2012, 11:17 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(ihawk98 @ Jun 6 2012, 10:06 AM)
you visited the Lane?!!!!

I only visited once, in Nov 2006.
NOOOOOOOOOO, never even been overseas

my Arsenal fan friend bought for me... he was present for that 3-2 game brows.gif
Styrroyds
post Jun 6 2012, 04:36 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(ihawk98 @ Jun 6 2012, 12:19 PM)
your friend is cool. wonder if he stepped into the Spurs shop in his arsenal kit heh heh. probably not.
Both of us dislike MU a lot more than each other laugh.gif
Styrroyds
post Jun 7 2012, 12:40 AM

103 posts

I'm a Holland national team fan... after Malaysia of course

and yes, Kranjcar was always going to leave. I admire his professionalism in handling his situation... if i was him (barely played, and when he does it's always in unfavorable positions/roles) I'd flip every table I see. Very unselfish.

Thanks Niko. Have a good career!
Styrroyds
post Jun 27 2012, 11:10 PM

103 posts

So Bale decides to stay.. before even knowing who the next manager is

thanks a lot Gareth smile.gif

but... i'll thank you even more if you know where you're planning to go BEFORE you start dribbling

stop running around like a headless chicken PLEASE

sincerely, Styrroyds
Styrroyds
post Jul 5 2012, 09:39 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(spursfan @ Jul 5 2012, 08:56 PM)
hugo laris, vertonghen & a big fwd pls

btw, it's rather sad arry wasn't given the license to spend like this ...
given this pile of cash, arry would probably just buy crouch again tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Styrroyds: Jul 5 2012, 09:40 PM
Styrroyds
post Jul 7 2012, 09:12 PM

103 posts

you know la when new manager masuk he want to revamp everything

i'm satisfied with friedel but if can get lloris then wokaaaaaay why not

as long as our finances can handle it, 10 goalkeepers also no prob lol
Styrroyds
post Jul 13 2012, 11:43 PM

103 posts

i hope (in fact i'll make it my birthday wish) Ade stays motivated all season. Giving him a gigantic lump sum early on makes me a bit uneasy tbh

Any more signings you guys anticipating? If Modric leaves I do think we should get Moutinho (if the rumor is true) or some midfield general. Lloris is alright but not essential, methinks
Styrroyds
post Jul 19 2012, 02:29 AM

103 posts

i laughed. biggrin.gif

And felt bad afterwards cry.gif
Styrroyds
post Jul 20 2012, 12:48 AM

103 posts

i always call him by his surname first

King Ledley

because he's our king...

thanks a lot, you'll be missed cry.gif
Styrroyds
post Jul 22 2012, 07:53 PM

103 posts

i see a few similarities between the Batman of Nolan trilogy and our Ledley laugh.gif
Styrroyds
post Aug 18 2012, 10:33 AM

103 posts

Let's hope for the best

I think Ade wont join... if he wanted to be at Spurs he early2 join d

better look elsewhere

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0239sec    1.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:05 AM