Asus Transformer Prime TF201 Official Thread V1, Update with GPS Solution: GPS over BT

ryanlaw.cs
post Jan 24 2012, 09:33 AM

150 posts

Hi All~

I am the new owner of TP biggrin.gif

The recent ICS update is great.. but I found some problem,
do anyone here have this game, "Dungeon Defender:Second Wave" or Sprinkle

Try to run at PERFORMANCE MODE, full speed. My transformer will just crash and shut down unexpectedly. Then i have to press the power button to boot up again.

But if run on BALANCE MODE, no issue, of course less performance.
Any clue??? Anyone can replicate my scenario?

Added on January 24, 2012, 11:21 amCould it be overheating issue? That cause shutdown...?

This post has been edited by ryanlaw.cs: Jan 24 2012, 11:21 AM
ryanlaw.cs
post Jan 24 2012, 03:17 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(zorex @ Jan 24 2012, 12:51 PM)
Do you feel the TP very hot when playing in hihg perf mode?

I think maybe the game not fully compatible wif ics

Btw, any1 know where can buy amethyst gray unit?
Ya, quite hot...will this cause shut down?
Can someone replicate my scenario?

Added on January 24, 2012, 3:21 pm
QUOTE(waja2002 @ Jan 24 2012, 11:54 AM)
Got it at discount .. RM2099  biggrin.gif last friday before CNY

Luckly i asked for it ...hehehe  rclxm9.gif

Probably the second last unit... most of the shop in LY sold out..
I bought it for RM2079
Lucky me icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by ryanlaw.cs: Jan 24 2012, 03:21 PM
ryanlaw.cs
post Jan 25 2012, 09:59 PM

150 posts

[quote=hseyrann00,Jan 25 2012, 11:55 AM]
Tested PERFORMANCE MODE with Sprinkle. It works with no problem.
Too bad for u sad.gif

Omg..... my unit is defect? I turn on performance mode for internet browsing... it shut down suddenly as well...
But could it be i dropped my tablet once? cry.gif
ryanlaw.cs
post Jan 27 2012, 03:59 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Jan 25 2012, 10:12 PM)
U dropped it b4 ?  shocking.gif  ... that could mean the cooling component used to keep the cpu temperature down is failed, malfunction or dislocated. Any sign on ur prime that shows u drop it ? If not, then better claim warranty.
I don't think is a hard dropped,was still in protective sleeve case. Is just 30cm dropped. But good enough for me to suspect.

But strange is, it only shut down when performance mode turn on.

Even my prime in cold boot, performance mode turn on... less then few minutes, it will just turn off

Added on January 27, 2012, 4:11 pm
QUOTE(ryanlaw.cs @ Jan 27 2012, 03:59 PM)
I don't think is a hard dropped,was still in protective sleeve case. Is just 30cm dropped. But good enough for me to suspect.

But strange is, it only shut down when performance mode turn on.

Even my prime in cold boot, performance mode turn on... less then few minutes, it will just turn off
But right now I am not sure whether is hardware malfunction or software bug. This problem haunt me for days

This post has been edited by ryanlaw.cs: Jan 27 2012, 04:11 PM
ryanlaw.cs
post Jan 28 2012, 01:49 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(upmost systems @ Jan 28 2012, 01:19 PM)
I though within certain period of time..u still can get 1 to 1 replacement
You know how long is the period of time to get 1 to 1 replacement?
I really suspect my Prime is defective when try to run on PERFORMANCE MODE and shut down unexpectedly.

Any of you guys know how to contact the Malaysia Asus official? So i can get a fast response from them? before i send it to the service centre.

Thanks...n:(

Added on January 28, 2012, 1:52 pm
QUOTE(hanhan @ Jan 28 2012, 11:04 AM)
have you all experience, when you charge ur TP using the power cable. did the charges feel hot after 1 hrs ??
The adapter is extremely hot tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ryanlaw.cs: Jan 28 2012, 01:52 PM
ryanlaw.cs
post Jan 29 2012, 10:39 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Jan 29 2012, 12:44 AM)
i suspect my unit is having a wifi problem

my year old laptop and my waifu 5 years old laptop can somehow receive a signal of a nearby wireless router but the prime having trouble connecting to any

might send it to the skudai parade service center
That goes same to my Galaxy S, weak Wifi.
My Wifi performance of my Prime seem to be similar to my Galaxy S.

So I am quite happy with it tongue.gif
ryanlaw.cs
post Jan 31 2012, 02:29 PM

150 posts

I saw Yoobao TF201 case too, found in Lelong
http://www.lelong.com.my/yoobao-genuine-le...7-01-Sale-I.htm
ryanlaw.cs
post Jan 31 2012, 03:10 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(cyruz13 @ Jan 27 2012, 12:29 PM)
You bought this one?
Is hard to estimate the thickness by looking at picture..
ryanlaw.cs
post Jan 31 2012, 03:31 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(cyruz13 @ Jan 31 2012, 03:11 PM)
nop.. i sapu this one liao..
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2203198&hl=TF201

type B  flex.gif
the keyboard can remove/ slot in easily..
so many layer.. will it make it very thick?
ryanlaw.cs
post Jan 31 2012, 03:39 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(cyruz13 @ Jan 31 2012, 03:33 PM)
the keyboard layer can remove....  tongue.gif better ask r47z for review.. he got it alrdy...
i saw some advert ... 2199.. same price.. if higher den 2199.. can ignore the shop liao..
haha.. when i go down.. lets have a small gathering.. okay?  thumbup.gif
tomorrow i only receive... ... i mean.. base on the picture.. laugh.gif
ya.. we need a real live review.. rather than product shot.. rclxms.gif

ryanlaw.cs
post Jan 31 2012, 04:02 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(cyruz13 @ Jan 31 2012, 03:57 PM)
y dont sapu TF201?  drool.gif
i think there's a typo... he means TF700 brows.gif
ryanlaw.cs
post Jan 31 2012, 05:25 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(r47z @ Jan 31 2012, 04:28 PM)
item B have to wait :S and you only can use it when you don't use the dock. Both have different usage IMHO

here's my review for http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2203198

it's a snug fit. quite snug actually. all ports and everything else is accessible. cause of how slim the tablet is, it feels like i'm carrying an organizer. material wise is nice. you need to readjust the position so that the camera is not covered my first time putting it requires some repositioning so that the camera is not blocked. The only issue i noticed is that the flip will block the camera so you need to hold the flip to take a picture. This is when using it without the keyboard dock. With the keyboard dock everything works fine altho it's quite difficult to slot the tablet into the dock cause the case slightly on the thicker side. Since TF201 is so new, it's difficult to find any sleeve/case and this is the only one available at the moment. Worth the RM100 tho.

It's quite thick with the dock btw. Here's a picture.
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/18239925/TF201/IMG...0131_163657.jpg
Ya.. Dictionary tickness.. tongue.gif
ryanlaw.cs
post Jan 31 2012, 05:30 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Jan 31 2012, 05:27 PM)
have u tested it with a bluetooth mouse?  i'm planning to get the microsoft arc mouse if can use it on the TP Prime
Tested with V450 Nano Cordless Laser Mouse, work flawlessly biggrin.gif
ryanlaw.cs
post Feb 2 2012, 01:02 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(hseyrann00 @ Feb 1 2012, 07:20 PM)
I'm using the Asus original day Night livewallpaper.
I dont think any widget that make it lag, as i dint add any new widget the past few days.

Slight freeze while browsing using stock browser.
launcher not responding while flipping thru homescreen.
Age of Zombie will restart itself at certain level.

All the above mentioned only occur since yesterday. but luckily it's not frequent.
I think there is some minor bug/issue with [performance mode], now i'm in [balance mode] and haven't encounter any issue yet..  whistling.gif
Despite the issue above, overall experience is still enjoyable!   thumbup.gif
So I am not the one out there which have this issue, PERFORMANCE ON can make TFP very unstable.
Might shut off the whole tablet.

Added on February 2, 2012, 1:10 pmI purchase the TFP Yoobao case from Lelong, estimate 7-10 working days. Wait for my review biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ryanlaw.cs: Feb 2 2012, 01:10 PM
ryanlaw.cs
post Feb 2 2012, 04:30 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(hseyrann00 @ Feb 2 2012, 04:19 PM)
Thanks mate! cool job there .. Looking forward for more widgets from your team!  rclxms.gif
So i guess it's the performance mode that causes the problems.. hope there is a fix for this soon..
As cyruz said, wifi no problem. But the GPS ,  whistling.gif  , u can ignore the GPS function..  doh.gif
For those who having Wifi issue..
Any one would like to try on this?
http://www.mobiletechreview.com/ubbthreads...hp?Number=42071
ryanlaw.cs
post Feb 22 2012, 08:37 AM

150 posts

May I know all of your TFP's what Serial Number start with ???
ryanlaw.cs
post Feb 22 2012, 09:41 AM

150 posts

my unit start with C1OKAxxxxxxx

I am suspecting different batch might have different issue.
So far I only got 1 reboot,
others are just crash and shutdown(no splash screen), especially in PERFORMANCE MODE, heavy internet browsing, GLOW BALL THD Demo(Balanced Mode)

I just got to know .14 WW update went live, gonna update this evening when I get home, finger cross hope this will solve my issue.... sad.gif

ryanlaw.cs
post Feb 22 2012, 01:27 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(hseyrann00 @ Feb 22 2012, 11:15 AM)

C10KASxxxxxx
I do use performance mode last time before i found out about the unstable of it.
Currently only use balance or save mode. it suits me well also without the performance mode.
you having the same Prefix Serial Number as me, can you explain how unstable it is?

ryanlaw.cs
post Feb 23 2012, 09:10 AM

150 posts

well, at least the new firmware doesn't make my TFP hang, crash, shutdown, reboot, until now...

but I notice strange behavior on the CPU stepping or throttling...
when playing games... highly noticeable, sudden drop framerate(<1sec)... few second normal framerate... den sudden drop framerate(<1sec).... hahaha
ryanlaw.cs
post Feb 23 2012, 12:59 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(eye @ Feb 23 2012, 10:45 AM)
i find that the atf is a solid piece of hardware.

i dont understand why some of u have reboot and unstability issues .. just make sure that u do not install cracked apps ...

there are free versions of nearly all paid apps on the market .. even for paid apps, their pricing are reasonable ..

and the worst scenario i have seen .. some sellers at lowyat intentionally "badmouthed" the prime inorder to sell buyers the generation 1 transformer .. and there are gullible buyers who bought in .... aduiiiii  shakehead.gif
well most of my app are legit paid apps and cause my TFP crash... so your argument slightly invalid though... smile.gif

0.0524sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:11 PM