Asus Transformer Prime TF201 Official Thread V1, Update with GPS Solution: GPS over BT

asdzxc
post Jan 26 2012, 09:26 PM

384 posts

I tested the prime at the Evernew center

Not bad but I don't find a reason to buy it, what it does differently from my laptop is
- runs android games?
- touch screen?

other than that, not much differentiation from my laptop, i don't think there is a selling point to it.

plus it's still laggy for a quad core, disappointment
asdzxc
post Jan 26 2012, 10:00 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(hseyrann00 @ Jan 26 2012, 09:57 PM)
You comparing tablet to laptop?
Sorry to disappoint you, please dont buy TP, it's totally a failure device.
Get ipad2, xbox360, ps3 instead, they got more fun.  rclxms.gif
I'll wait for Ipad 3 to see what is in store, but apple products literally are failure if there is no jailbreak

already had an xbox360 though smile.gif

asdzxc
post Jan 26 2012, 10:57 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(cyruz13 @ Jan 26 2012, 10:51 PM)
errr... how can u compare a tablet with a laptop?  hmm.gif
even now laptop also got touch screen laptop, also got lightweight (as light as TP?.. idk liao..) ... 

for me... my personal opinion for table is:
portable/ lightweight... able to take out for travel... hanging out at starbucks..,
browsing, facebook, twitter... forums... portable media... etc..
at night..before sleep.. i can take my tab... gulung gulung at my bed... surfweb, etc... laugh.gif (i can't did this with my Alienware.. doh.gif )

game wise.. i seldom play in tab as well...

i got PS3, i got Alienware, and i got a lenovo S10 netbook (battery sudah mati)
and i bought TP as well... because i separate them with different usage.. smile.gif and i see them all with different selling point as well.. smile.gif

in the end.. is base on your preference as well smile.gif
I still find it hard to justify RM2299 on it, for that price, I can push in another RM300 and get a brand new ASUS latest gaming laptop GeForce 555 (2GB) an 2nd gen i5 proc) :S

and I find the tablet was kind of heavy as well after weighing it with the keyboard dock. Although it's definitely much more lighter than my laptop which stands at 1.5 kg (with batt).

Perhaps I should wait for the review on the new Prime TF700T which feature the 1920x1200 resolution, maybe I would buy that to play back my 1080p movies smile.gif
asdzxc
post Jan 26 2012, 11:12 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(upmost systems @ Jan 26 2012, 11:09 PM)
at 1280 x 800 rm 2199 u said hard to justify...so just forget about Tf700t..which i believe with be slightly higher
Let's hope the price is still the same or maybe extra RM100

I'm surprised they can put a 1920x1200 res into such a small screen, I hope they don't disappoint when the reviews are out
asdzxc
post Jan 27 2012, 05:38 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(zack2381 @ Jan 27 2012, 05:23 PM)
are u referring to TP only or all tablets in the market when comparing TP with your laptop?

We like TP becoz TP is seems to be the best tablet available in the market so far, esp in term of specifications..

And there are reasons why people buy tablet or producer produces tablet despite laptop market has been in existence ages ago..

I seriously think that tablet is NOT a notebook replacement..

but i do agree about the laggy in TP but that becoz it does not run with new ICS yet..
If you compare Prime against all other tabs in the market, yes, it's the best right now but still can't win Apple's Ipad 2 in terms of amount of app & games availability.

But with the pricing of RM2199, plus prime features a dock keyboard right ?

So to put it simply, it is competing with netbooks and notebooks in the market in terms of functionality.

But if I were to buy a Prime, I would most probably treat it as an on the go entertainment media (video playback and short gaming, ebook, mail reader) but it would most probably be a hassle if I were to carry the dock together. Unless the weight is as slim and light as the Macbook Air. Then it would be a good buy
asdzxc
post Jan 31 2012, 04:52 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(r47z @ Jan 31 2012, 04:28 PM)
item B have to wait :S and you only can use it when you don't use the dock. Both have different usage IMHO

here's my review for http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2203198

it's a snug fit. quite snug actually. all ports and everything else is accessible. cause of how slim the tablet is, it feels like i'm carrying an organizer. material wise is nice. you need to readjust the position so that the camera is not covered my first time putting it requires some repositioning so that the camera is not blocked. The only issue i noticed is that the flip will block the camera so you need to hold the flip to take a picture. This is when using it without the keyboard dock. With the keyboard dock everything works fine altho it's quite difficult to slot the tablet into the dock cause the case slightly on the thicker side. Since TF201 is so new, it's difficult to find any sleeve/case and this is the only one available at the moment. Worth the RM100 tho.

It's quite thick with the dock btw. Here's a picture.
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/18239925/TF201/IMG...0131_163657.jpg
LOL! this is thicker than a netbook put together

0.0495sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:23 PM