Corsair Carbide 400R vs CM HAF 912 Advanced, Need to know ^^

TSghostcommand
post Oct 19 2011, 09:19 PM, updated 15y ago

671 posts

Hello,

I'm having trouble deciding which case is better, as posted in the topic smile.gif The Corsair Carbide 400R is RM295, while HAF 912 Advanced is RM268.

Which one has better airflow, cable management, etc.. I'm currently inclined to buy the HAF 912 Advanced because it comes with 2 200mm fans and 1 12cm fan, it also has 2 extra USB slots. Any advice is welcome biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ghostcommand: Oct 19 2011, 10:11 PM
RegentCid
post Oct 19 2011, 10:08 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

I like Corsair design more...Corsair Carbide 400R will be my choice
iaknesnah
post Oct 19 2011, 10:51 PM

just passing by
1,376 posts

u might wanna read this about 400r
QUOTE(em0ti0n @ Sep 29 2011, 05:22 PM)
i read here the sata port was blocked. Not all mobo will face this same problem right?
cmgan72
post Oct 20 2011, 12:32 AM

Daisyoix PC
1,340 posts

QUOTE(iaknesnah @ Oct 19 2011, 10:51 PM)
u might  wanna read this about 400r
not all motherboard will b blocked dude. if u have the money to get those motherboard then u will definitely have the money to get a bigger case isn't it ? juz my assumption. ignore if u feel tat is not reasonable. cheers. smile.gif
1qaz1qaz
post Oct 20 2011, 07:57 PM

What Are You Looking At???!
1,894 posts

i vote for 400r~
cos im go 2 get 1~
EricCYL
post Oct 20 2011, 08:08 PM

*My Cubicle*
1,133 posts

Go with Corsair Carbide 400R. HAF912 Advanced there's some issue when installing liquid cooler like Corsair H100 on it.
Jayi
post Oct 20 2011, 08:51 PM

Regular Lurker
985 posts

QUOTE(EricCYL @ Oct 20 2011, 08:08 PM)
Go with Corsair Carbide 400R. HAF912 Advanced there's some issue when installing liquid cooler like Corsair H100 on it.
But corsair 400R does look ugly for me at the two 120mm blowhole at front panel when the leds are on. While HAF 912 come with 2x mega flow which quite tempting for me (each unit cost around Rm40 rclxub.gif) and come with a see through window at side panel (I enjoy looking at those hardware through window laugh.gif ) which 400R doesnt have. Btw I noticed that you own a HAF 912. Hows the mega flow as intake ? Good airflow ?
EricCYL
post Oct 20 2011, 09:11 PM

*My Cubicle*
1,133 posts

At least it's better than Corsair 600T stock 200mm fan.
Jayi
post Oct 20 2011, 09:25 PM

Regular Lurker
985 posts

QUOTE(EricCYL @ Oct 20 2011, 09:11 PM)
At least it's better than Corsair 600T stock 200mm fan.
Ok great. Thanks bro. For TS , I personally prefer 500r more than 400r. But if choosing between 400r and HAF 912 , HAF 912 is definately my choise
TSghostcommand
post Oct 20 2011, 10:16 PM

671 posts

Yeah, that's what I thought... HAF 912 has 2 megaflow and sidewindow (albeit a little ugly) and the Carbide has space...

Lol, decisions. Screw these cases, I can't decide... Might go with cardboard box liao smile.gif
Jayi
post Oct 20 2011, 10:22 PM

Regular Lurker
985 posts

QUOTE(ghostcommand @ Oct 20 2011, 10:16 PM)
Yeah, that's what I thought... HAF 912 has 2 megaflow and sidewindow (albeit a little ugly) and the Carbide has space...

Lol, decisions. Screw these cases, I can't decide... Might go with cardboard box liao smile.gif
Space ? I guess both chassis are actually quite identical in term of dimension

400R - 20.5 x 8.1 x 19.8 inch
HAF 912 - 18.9 x 9.1 x 19.5 inch

amduser
post Oct 21 2011, 12:49 AM

5,542 posts

using corsair 400R now, very nice casing with smooth semi-gloss gun metal finished brows.gif

it got a handle at the top of the casing to let you carry the case easily, the only downside is that there is no transparent side panel, something which i dont need tongue.gif
iaknesnah
post Oct 21 2011, 12:56 AM

just passing by
1,376 posts

QUOTE(cmgan72 @ Oct 20 2011, 12:32 AM)
not all motherboard will b blocked dude. if u have the money to get those motherboard then u will definitely have the money to get a bigger case isn't it ? juz my assumption. ignore if u feel tat is not reasonable. cheers. smile.gif
thats my point. check your mobo before making decision.
EricCYL
post Oct 21 2011, 01:26 AM

*My Cubicle*
1,133 posts

I rather want my sidepanel with fan mount. Transparent not going to help for my case biggrin.gif
TSghostcommand
post Oct 21 2011, 12:02 PM

671 posts

Yeah, I think I'll go with the Carbide. It's cable management is beautiful. And the handle is quite useful smile.gif
Jayi
post Oct 21 2011, 01:25 PM

Regular Lurker
985 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Oct 21 2011, 12:49 AM)
using corsair 400R now, very nice casing with smooth semi-gloss gun metal finished brows.gif

it got a handle at the top of the casing to let you carry the case easily, the only downside is that there is no transparent side panel, something which i dont need tongue.gif
Are you sure there is handle on top of 400r ? I dont see any shocking.gif
amduser
post Oct 21 2011, 01:48 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Jayi @ Oct 21 2011, 01:25 PM)
Are you sure there is handle on top of 400r ? I dont see any  shocking.gif
it is at the top, on top of the front panel where that part is slightly higher than the rest of the top part, that's the handle
Economics Crisis
post Oct 21 2011, 02:37 PM

587 posts

if i were u i'll go for corsair 400r coz i got bad experience in the past with cooler master casing the front led on off switch not working with no reason damm..!!
amirudin920927
post Oct 21 2011, 02:44 PM

///-| Kapten | Amirudin |-\\\
1,431 posts

i would prefer Corsair Carbide 400R coz its larger n longer. tongue.gif
iaknesnah
post Oct 21 2011, 04:03 PM

just passing by
1,376 posts

the way the make the handle kinda wierd... might slip if not held properly doh.gif
amduser
post Oct 21 2011, 10:14 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(iaknesnah @ Oct 21 2011, 04:03 PM)
the way the make the handle kinda wierd... might slip if not held properly doh.gif
400R you mean?

i dont find it easy to slip, unless you suddenly lost control of your hand

when you carry the case with only 1 hand, the casing will tilt to the back and thus it is quite hard to slip off your hand unless the handle broke laugh.gif
Unleashed
post Oct 21 2011, 11:00 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(Economics Crisis @ Oct 21 2011, 02:37 PM)
if i were u i'll go for corsair 400r coz i got bad experience in the past with cooler master casing the front led on off switch not working with no reason damm..!!
that's not a really bad experience..
check if the fan is connected to the toggle button, there should be a 2-pin connector to the button.
If you have already done the above, then you might have a bad fan, you should get it replaced.

This post has been edited by Unleashed: Oct 21 2011, 11:00 PM
Source96
post Oct 21 2011, 11:37 PM

TechSavvy!
2,640 posts

Corsair 400R all the way..I've notice the 400R is slightly bigger than the HAF..letting more space for squezzing in large cards.
Jayi
post Oct 22 2011, 12:08 AM

Regular Lurker
985 posts

QUOTE(Source96 @ Oct 21 2011, 11:37 PM)
Corsair 400R all the way..I've notice the 400R is slightly bigger than the HAF..letting more space for squezzing in large cards.
You forget that HAF 912 hav removable HDD rack which 400R doesnt hav laugh.gif
iaknesnah
post Oct 22 2011, 02:58 AM

just passing by
1,376 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Oct 21 2011, 10:14 PM)
400R you mean?

i dont find it easy to slip, unless you suddenly lost control of your hand

when you carry the case with only 1 hand, the casing will tilt to the back and thus it is quite hard to slip off your hand unless the handle broke laugh.gif
carrying with one hand is something u dont want to do. they way they made the handle so u have to hold it same direction with both hands. if u have slippery hands or somehow u accidentally hit something while carrying it for sure it will slip. unless u can find a way to hold it in opposite direction then it is much more secure, but that is not possible
amduser
post Oct 22 2011, 09:07 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(iaknesnah @ Oct 22 2011, 02:58 AM)
carrying with one hand is something u dont want to do. they way they made the handle so u have to hold it same direction with both hands. if u have slippery hands or somehow u accidentally hit something while carrying it for sure it will slip. unless u can find a way to hold it in opposite direction then it is much more secure, but that is not possible
dont know how you hold it, but i have been using 1 hand to carry it around since i bought it, i even carry it and put it on top of table, then bring it back down
iaknesnah
post Oct 22 2011, 10:54 AM

just passing by
1,376 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Oct 22 2011, 09:07 AM)
dont know how you hold it, but i have been using 1 hand to carry it around since i bought it, i even carry it and put it on top of table, then bring it back down
then good to know that it is actually secure to do so.
Axell
post Oct 24 2011, 02:43 PM

Looking for FL
920 posts

Carbide 400R interior > CM HAF 912 interior.... I also like the casing, might consider to get it next month... btw TS, if u want to buy carbide 400r... Cex is doing promotion for the casing (rm159) but need bulk with PSU biggrin.gif
DarkNite
post Oct 30 2011, 05:35 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(Axell @ Oct 24 2011, 02:43 PM)
Carbide 400R interior > CM HAF 912 interior.... I also like the casing, might consider to get it next month... btw TS, if u want to buy carbide 400r... Cex is doing promotion for the casing (rm159) but need bulk with PSU biggrin.gif
Good casing but dun la do LPPL bundle and screw up the casing reputation.
Ulysses
post Oct 30 2011, 05:56 PM

尤利西斯
2,822 posts

QUOTE(Jayi @ Oct 22 2011, 12:08 AM)
You forget that HAF 912 hav removable HDD rack which 400R doesnt hav  laugh.gif
yea...one of 912 best features. helps in air flow management too...

Added on October 30, 2011, 6:13 pmbtw, 400R didnt comes with window side panel rite?

This post has been edited by Ulysses: Oct 30 2011, 06:13 PM
Jayi
post Oct 30 2011, 07:15 PM

Regular Lurker
985 posts

QUOTE(Ulysses @ Oct 30 2011, 05:56 PM)
yea...one of 912 best features.   helps in air flow management too...

Added on October 30, 2011, 6:13 pmbtw, 400R didnt comes with window side panel rite?
Yeah bro. Window panel is one of my criteria for casing but too bad 400r doesnt hav it cry.gif . But tbh I'm more interested with carbide 500r compare to 400r but the price is sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Jayi: Oct 30 2011, 07:16 PM
Economics Crisis
post Oct 30 2011, 11:23 PM

587 posts

yea agree with you 400r and 500r don't have window side panel..
haf 912 interior not in black colour
so no vote for me biggrin.gif
Jayi
post Oct 31 2011, 12:50 AM

Regular Lurker
985 posts

QUOTE(Economics Crisis @ Oct 30 2011, 11:23 PM)
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

QUOTE(ghostcommand @ Oct 19 2011, 09:19 PM)
Hello,

I'm having trouble deciding which case is better, as posted in the topic smile.gif The Corsair Carbide 400R is RM295, while HAF 912 Advanced is RM268.

Which one has better airflow, cable management, etc.. I'm currently inclined to buy the HAF 912 Advanced because it comes with 2 200mm fans and 1 12cm fan, it also has 2 extra USB slots. Any advice is welcome biggrin.gif
Google Haf 912 Advanced before you post. Cheers icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Jayi: Oct 31 2011, 10:13 PM
Ulysses
post Oct 31 2011, 01:01 AM

尤利西斯
2,822 posts

QUOTE(Economics Crisis @ Oct 30 2011, 11:23 PM)
haf912 advance is painted all black... all-black coated. biggrin.gif

Economics Crisis
post Oct 31 2011, 10:54 AM

587 posts

im thought u guys were talking about haf 912 sweat.gif was my fault sry guys laugh.gif

KMA212
post Nov 8 2011, 10:49 PM

I think corsair 500r is better in interior feature but no nice as HAF when come to exterior. I own a HAF 912 advance and the problem I think is too small which will lead some issue with >ATX board. No internal rad support. I really like H100. And also the big top fan need to be remove if H80 is installed.

This post has been edited by KMA212: Nov 8 2011, 10:52 PM
iSean
post Nov 8 2011, 11:06 PM

iz old liao.
4,498 posts

QUOTE(ghostcommand @ Oct 19 2011, 09:19 PM)
Hello,

Well. 400R Case is much better as you can get an awesome cooling with 5 x 120mm fans. Smaller the faster the RPM = Quick Air Access.
Plus. 400R Case give in nice Accessories like USB 3.0 to USB 2.0 not all case has it , I'm not sure about HAF 912 for more value use HAF X smile.gif
Racerx
post Nov 10 2011, 11:36 AM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

Guys,any idea where can I get the corsair 400r at Lowyat Plaza?
de|phantom
post Nov 10 2011, 11:51 AM

▣⌇▣ Rest In Peace ▣⌇▣
891 posts

my choice, corsair carbide 400r..
Clem1982
post Nov 10 2011, 02:40 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(Racerx @ Nov 10 2011, 11:36 AM)
Guys,any idea where can I get the corsair 400r at Lowyat Plaza?
Cycom has it wink.gif
Jayi
post Nov 10 2011, 06:57 PM

Regular Lurker
985 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Nov 8 2011, 11:06 PM)
Well. 400R Case is much better as you can get an awesome cooling with 5 x 120mm fans. Smaller the faster the RPM = Quick Air Access.
Plus. 400R Case give in nice Accessories like USB 3.0 to USB 2.0 not all case has it , I'm not sure about HAF 912 for more value use HAF X smile.gif
Smaller the fan and faster the rpm ? It make more noise than the air flow it produce. Unlike the megaflow at front intake and top exhaust of HAF 912 which will certainly make good air flow at low noise.
FYI, HAF 912 does come with usb 3.0 port as well sweat.gif
Allentiew
post Nov 12 2011, 12:33 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(Jayi @ Nov 10 2011, 06:57 PM)
Smaller the fan and faster the rpm ? It make more noise than the air flow it produce. Unlike the megaflow at front intake and top exhaust of HAF 912 which will certainly make good air flow at low noise.
FYI,  HAF 912 does come with usb 3.0 port as well  sweat.gif
yup bro agree with u... rclxms.gif

0.0272sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:22 PM