Credit Cards GST - Card issuers compensation, With certain minimum condition

Gen-X
post Oct 20 2011, 08:59 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(silverarrows @ Oct 20 2011, 02:27 PM)
Based on my experience, when near to 1-year anniversary date:

HSBC, HLB, MBB, PBB: Will not waive the GST even after called to ask for cancellation  vmad.gif

SCB, Citibank: High % they will apply retention & waive the RM50 if they think you are "loyal" customer to them  blush.gif

Unknown for me: UOB, RHB
2 years back I called up to cancel my HLB Plat and received a call from them offering me 3 years auto annual fee waiver and 20,000 rewards points. That year only needed 7000 points to offset GST and this year had to use 10,000 points, so got balance 3000 points. And I have not been using the HLB Plat since then (maybe max twice). Looks like next year I got to pay GST as points not enough doh.gif I kind of like HLB, ever since I got their Gold Card, they have been waiving my annual fees for years and happy with most of their CS.

As for Citi, I guess I'm not considered loyal customer (had the card like for more than 8 years and the CL had reached the Max level), when I called up CS last year to cancel my Citi Clear Card, CS said OK and did not receive any call from them. This year got the Citi Plat, got to wait and see what happen next year.

As for UOB, before I cancel my MC Plat 2 years back, they say cannot waive, after I cancel they want waive, told them forget it since the card useless. But kept the Plat Visa, that year they gave me some offer to waive GST but this year paid the GST as I did not bothered to ask for waiver, can't cancel this card because bought an insurance policy with it years ago and the policy is tied to it doh.gif **Edited** But UOB card not too bad, did get some benefit when in Singapore.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 20 2011, 09:54 PM
echoesian
post Oct 20 2011, 10:17 PM

3,294 posts

Citibank will waive if you use them for quite no. of years
cuebiz
post Oct 22 2011, 10:44 AM

992 posts

Called Citi CS to waive the annual fees and also got the GST rebate.
ronnie
post Oct 22 2011, 02:59 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(virgoguy @ Oct 19 2011, 05:23 PM)
Scenario: This year I manage to spend only up to RM8-9k.

Is it possible to ask for GST waived? Anyone tried this b4?
The spend must be done within your anniversary year (not calendar year)
i.e. from the first GST charge to the next GST charge
ronnie
post Oct 22 2011, 03:01 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Oct 20 2011, 08:35 PM)
I don't want to keep SCB card anymore. I am cancelling the card. I don't want RM50 nor Choice Points.
Remember to cancel all the SCB cards, hopefully you get the RM100 Free Cash (to retain you)
silverarrows
post Oct 24 2011, 12:17 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 22 2011, 03:01 PM)
Remember to cancel all the SCB cards, hopefully you get the RM100 Free Cash (to retain you)
I having 3 SCB cards now, Platinum, Business Plat. & World Master... wanted to cancel the old & dated Visa Platinum card due to coming GST but didn't make it...because SCB gave me RM100 for retention..gosh, I was thinking, if I having 3 cards, each card I would have 3 times of this kind of retention...hahaha untung lah tongue.gif
ronnie
post Oct 24 2011, 12:20 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(silverarrows @ Oct 24 2011, 12:17 PM)
I having 3 SCB cards now, Platinum, Business Plat. & World Master... wanted to cancel the old & dated Visa Platinum card due to coming GST but didn't make it...because SCB gave me RM100 for retention..gosh, I was thinking, if I having 3 cards, each card I would have 3 times of this kind of retention...hahaha untung lah tongue.gif
My theory: You must cancel ALL three cards at one go to get your retention bonus.

I cancelled 1 of my 3 and did not even get a call back from Price Solution
wadieq
post Oct 25 2011, 03:19 PM

Aku Senior, Hang Dupe
675 posts

I cancel my RHB card last two week and the reason is because of GST
Got call today that they will waived it and will send me a new card..
ruben7389
post Nov 3 2011, 07:59 AM

biology1168
1,137 posts

my HSBC signature they automatically cr my account rm50 without me asking also... Citi I called to cancel they cr my account 50 also and converted to better card

Im thinking want to go to maybank but since maybank dont waive/ credit bank maybe i dont want to loh
echoesian
post Nov 4 2011, 12:17 AM

3,294 posts

How about OCBC Titanium? They can waive the RM50 GST with the condition if we spent RM10,000 per year! Wondering if we can't meet the condition, can they waive it with just a call like Citibank?

This post has been edited by echoesian: Nov 4 2011, 12:18 AM
ronnie
post Nov 4 2011, 12:26 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Nov 4 2011, 12:17 AM)
How about OCBC Titanium? They can waive the RM50 GST with the condition if we spent RM10,000 per year! Wondering if we can't meet the condition, can they waive it with just a call like Citibank?
Try and let us know ok ?
chemistry
post Nov 4 2011, 01:12 AM

3,064 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 22 2011, 03:01 PM)
No I don't want that RM100 either.
I really want to cancel. cool2.gif
ronnie
post Nov 4 2011, 01:37 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Nov 4 2011, 01:12 AM)
No I don't want that RM100 either.
I really want to cancel.  cool2.gif
Free cash don't want ?
chemistry
post Nov 4 2011, 01:43 AM

3,064 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Nov 4 2011, 01:37 AM)
Free cash don't want ?
no thanks. rolleyes.gif
ruben7389
post Nov 4 2011, 10:29 PM

biology1168
1,137 posts

wah so bad ah their card?
fahrur_07
post Nov 5 2011, 05:13 PM

~unite against racism~
1,273 posts

anyone tried call OCBC to waive the GST?
rarely use OCBC Titanium since got MBB 2 Amex
ronnie
post Nov 5 2011, 06:41 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(fahrur_07 @ Nov 5 2011, 05:13 PM)
anyone tried call OCBC to waive the GST?
rarely use OCBC Titanium since got MBB 2 Amex
Didn't you manage to spend RM10000 per year using the OCBC ?
You should have cancel the card if under utilising it.
steventan85
post Nov 6 2011, 01:00 AM

6,447 posts

Called to cancel hlb card. Offered RM 50 rebate with the condition I need to hold the card for 1yr...lol ...
TSjack2
post Nov 8 2011, 08:03 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

My EON Bank cards were charged for GST last week. Gonna try to email them and ask for waiver.

Will update you guys if manage to get it!
ckuanglim
post Nov 8 2011, 08:54 AM

595 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Oct 19 2011, 08:53 AM)
QUOTE(muscaa @ Oct 20 2011 @  01:31 PM)
SCB - called them to terminate the card before service tax was charged and they offered me RM100

same here

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.90    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:44 PM