LYN Mazda 3 Owners/Fans Club V3.0, ~ZOOM ZOOM~

bmkia
post Jun 24 2012, 10:55 PM

18 posts

Guys,

Anyone can tell me where I can get the MP Style Front Lip, Side Skirt and Rear Lip in page 1 and how much it will cost? AM getting my car next week : biggrin.gif
bmkia
post Jul 2 2012, 06:28 PM

18 posts

Moderator,

Please add me. M3 1.6 Sedan white smile.gif

Anyone autofoamed their car? Feel that the car very loud on highways.
bmkia
post Jul 25 2012, 10:14 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(kinx @ Jul 15 2012, 07:31 PM)
you're right.  today drive on highway with new Mic PS3 on it.  The noise on the uneven really noisy when reaching 120 above.  i trying to do some sound proofing on the front tyre area

Have you soundproofed ur car already? I couldnt stand the road/ tyre noise also (my M3 sedan 1.6 is 3 weeks old). Went to KL auto, and did the 4 wheel arches (queit drive), autofoamed the chassis as well as well as the boot treatment all recommended to reduce the road/tyre noise. All in spend RM3k plus...

In the end, I don't feel much difference... just slight improvement only. The handling is better, goes over uneven patches and bumps better but road/ tyre sound still......

Anyone successfully managed to soundproof/ reduce the road/tyre noise succesfully? Please share ur experience. The KL Auto owner says changing tyres will really help, anyone changed their tyres already and find that there is much sound improvements? Please share as well.

bmkia
post Jul 25 2012, 10:47 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(ESP156 @ Jul 25 2012, 02:34 PM)
Bro can u explain more what product did u apply on the wheel arch ? coz i am tempted to go for STP magic for noise reduction.

for My case, i find changing to a good tyres really help, i replaced the stock toyo to Goodyear F1A2 and the cabin noise reduce tremendously.

2ndly i suggest to check the rims and balancing as well, for my case, i felt further noise reduction after fixing crooked rims (was told very minor) and ensuring all rims are in proper balancing.

For the benefit of members here, let me give share the details of what I have done and spent to try to cut the tyre/ road noise:-

Money Spent:-

1) Application of "QuietDrive" on all 4 wheel arches (grey thick paint stuff that deadens noise- apparently adopted from the US Navy stealthboat technology) - RM1,000ish
2) Boot Treatment (Same QuietDrive but in the form of sticker on the whole boot, boot lid as well as under the back seat) - RM1.2Kish
3) Autofoaming the chassis " Comfort Package", Autofoam the 2 A pillars and Dash Treatment (i.e. some cloth damping stuff put into the Dash) - RM1,000ish

Effects of the Above:-

1) Quietdrive on wheel arches - No difference IMHO
2) Boot Treatment - No difference IMHO
3) Autofoaming the chassis - Better ride over uneven roads, bumps. The Dash Treatment and A Pillars autofoam did reduce some road noise. (ard 10-15% IMHO)

Btw, all the treatments (in the order above) was recommended by the Autofoam boss. He said he will call me when the "Roar Buster" material is in stock (dont know will charge me or not) as I think he also realizes just minor improvement only when I went back to remove the foam and he drove the car.

Sigh sad.gif I was really hoping that KL Auto can at least reduce the tire/ road noise at least 40-50% . Looks like only left some hope on the Roar Buster and changing tyres maybe a year down the road. I travel long distance on the NSE frequently thats why I was willing to spend the $$$ to reduce the noise.

bmkia
post Jul 26 2012, 10:32 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(ESP156 @ Jul 26 2012, 06:50 PM)
Bro thanks for the detailed info. Look like have to reconsider the fender treatment after
reading your posting.
I share the same objective with u, hopefully we can reduce the tyres noise from M3.
I will update later once i tried mine.

May i know what tyres are u using now ?
Currently on the stock Continental Contact MC5.

Arrgggh, the Goodyear F1 A2 only come with 17inch and above..... mad.gif

Any other good (quiet) 16inch tyres out there that M3 owners changed to and managed to reduce the tyre noise significantly?

bmkia
post Jul 30 2012, 02:49 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(lil_chocobo @ Jul 30 2012, 09:26 AM)
join the m3club in fb https://www.facebook.com/groups/mazda3clubmy/ . they have the group buy thingy in there. or alternatively you can just order from speedworks

Added on July 30, 2012, 9:35 am

now this is what im looking for. i plan to do the quietdrive at KLdrive just like what desmond advised.  was hoping for improvement. after i read your review, i think im gonna change the wheels. any one use the C1S?
Bro,

Out of the treatments, the one that so far works is the "autofoam comfort package" and dash treatment. Handling does improve with more comfort (less vibration, shaking & sound) when you go over bumps, potholes and uneven roads. That will set u back ard 1K but imho I feel it is worth it.

I will change the tyres down the road but my goal is to SP the M3 for the road noise to reach an acceptable level (that way once the tyres are changed it will be a bonus and much quieter). I found out that turning the music knob to 25 doesn't really help when you are doing 120 and above on the highway, on certain patches the road/ tyre noise actually overwhelms the cars music at 25. shocking.gif

Based on some readings and recent experience, it seems like SPing the M3 in the following order brings the most gain (noise reduction):-

Here is a good read up on Sound Proofing the M3:-

http://www.mazda3forums.com/index.php?topic=40664.30

1) Change tyres
2) SPing the 4 doors
3) SPing Hood
4) Trunk / Boot
5) Floor

LOL.... and I missed the top 3 doh.gif

Anyways, I will share more after I SP the doors and hood (most likely with dynamat) to see if there is a difference. Forget about the Quietdrive, that stuff doesnt work, am waiting for the "Roar Buster" from KL Auto to see if there is any difference.

bmkia
post Jul 31 2012, 07:57 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(kinx @ Jul 31 2012, 03:17 PM)
confirmed after you changed the tyres will help.  but please give feedback on F1 AS2.
i using Mic PS3, the noise quiet a lot too but compare with the stock DUNLOP alot better

The PS3 really louder than the stock Dunlop? Mind sharing which stock Dunlop specs that you were using? Bcoz my choice is PS3 for now based on online tyre reviews. The F1 A2 seems to be the best but it only comes with 17inch and above. Mine is 16inch only (unless change rims which is the last thing I wanna do).

About the autofoam comfort package, I cant really say how much sound improvement / reduction it really made bcoz I did all the 3 "treatments" together. What I really notice is after few days, after day 4 of autofoam application (for it to harden) travelling on the highways at high speed got noise reduction. Desmond from KL Auto will tell you that the high frequency from fast rolling tyres will be insulated from the autofoam. But seriously, go and do autofoam the M3 if of you have the $$$ together with the dash treatment (RM100 or less). Really less vibration and sound when u go over bumps and uneven roads. Just don't kena "poison" from the autofoam tauke on the 4 wheel arches etc.
bmkia
post Aug 1 2012, 10:33 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(kinx @ Jul 31 2012, 08:25 PM)
i mean PS3 alot better than Dunlop.  autofoam will void the warranty?  how much for the comfort package?

The autofoam should be slightly less than 1K for our ride. Don't think it will void the warranty as they inject foam into the lower chassis only. Doensn't mess with the operations (electonics, engine, etc) of the car.
bmkia
post Aug 13 2012, 09:16 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(kygan @ Aug 12 2012, 01:38 AM)
how is the conti MC5 goes on? saw the rating should be quite good but not sure what do u think? i am getting my M3 after ray due to bank loan issue.
Bro,

If possible skip the MC5. If yours is 16in try to get the Yokohama advan db 551. If yours in 17in then go for the goodyear F1 A2. MC5 performance is okay, just damned noisy and loud IMHO.
bmkia
post Aug 17 2012, 09:49 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(kygan @ Aug 14 2012, 10:28 PM)
noted. mine is 17" but still waiting for my car. T_T
i was thinking to distract myself with music in the car. I will be travel on highway more often, that's y i m concern on the road noise.

If i have an option to have lower noise, better or same traction and handling, why not? I am not into tyre much, that's y need your input and your review which is really valuable for me.
Guys,

I am finally happy with my M3's road noise after soundproofing my car as per below. Here is the solution, go to KK Lau Audio (google them, they have a website) in Ara Damansara and apply Dynamat Extreme to your M3:-

Here is what I did and I am damned happy with the results:-

1st Stage:- (Total RM1.7K -15 pieces of Dynamat Extreme and some insulation materials including workmanship)

1) Apply Dynamat Extreme to 2 front wheel wells (2 pieces of Dynamat & some insulation material)
2) Apply Dynamat Extreme to the Hood (2 pieces)
3) Apply Dynamat Extreme to the 4 doors (double layered) - 8 pieces
4) Apply Dynamat Extreme to sides of the trunks (3 pieces)

I was so impressed and amazed with the results and am still running on my stock MC5. IMHO, this alone managed to cut 40-50% of the road noise.

I was so impressed that I went back for 2nd stage the next day(RM1.5K for another 12 pieces of Dynamat Extreme and and some insulation materials including workmanship:-

1) Dynamat the floor (8 pieces)
2) Dynamat the roof (3 pieces)

Not so much improvement for stage 2. Just maybe another 5-10% reduction in my IMHO but I haven't tried it under heavy rain yet (for the roof Soundproofing).

I drove back on the federal highway (smiling all the way) with my music mute and for the 1st time ever, I really enjoyed the ambiance of the car and its low road noise all the way back to OKR.

Don't bother with Autofoam's soundproofing, the owner there oversells but does not deliver. Head to KK Lau, the owner there does not know how to sell or have the gift of the gab (his command of English is not good), but his humble nature, SP methods and products really work. I could have saved RM3.2k earlier if I just went to KK Lau instead thumbup.gif

IMHO, if you really want to cut down the M3's road noise to an acceptable level, pay RM1.7K and spend half a day in KK Lau. That is all it takes.

For me, I have spent almost RM6.5K and three half days as follows:-

1) Autofoam (RM3.2K - Waste of time & money (except the comfort autofoam (that isnt really SP anyways)
2) Stage 1 in KK Lau (RM1.7K)
3) Stage 2 in KK Lau - (RM1.5k)

This post has been edited by bmkia: Aug 17 2012, 09:52 PM
bmkia
post Aug 18 2012, 03:16 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(akasya @ Aug 18 2012, 10:50 AM)
really good reference for me... plan to get mine soundproof as well.. btw mind to share the add or any gps coor?
KK Lau Audio Specialist Sdn Bhd

http://www.kklau.com.my/Contact-Us/

K.K.Lau Audio Specialist Sdn. Bhd.

No: 1 Block I, Taipan Damansara II, Jalan PJU 1A/1, Ara Damansara, 47301, P.J, Malaysia

Tel: 603.7843 6890
Fax: 603.7843 6892

GPS Coordination:

Latitude: N0307'02 Longitude: E10134'46

The best part is they open on Sundays as well. thumbup.gif

Added on August 18, 2012, 3:17 pm
QUOTE(smabo @ Aug 18 2012, 01:42 AM)
hi all, my car got sound out from dashborard when pass bad road...it disappear when pass normal road...anyone here hv same prob as mine? and how to repair it?
What type of sound? Woo..woo rough sound when pass bad roads?

This post has been edited by bmkia: Aug 18 2012, 03:17 PM
bmkia
post Aug 19 2012, 01:20 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(smabo @ Aug 18 2012, 04:00 PM)
sound like got something jump in dashboard...
I have a slight rattling in my dashboard when the car vibrates over very uneven roads or potholes. But it doesnt annoy me so much as it doesnt rattle most of the time. I cant figure out where it is coming from though.

Added on August 19, 2012, 1:23 pm
QUOTE(smellypillow @ Aug 18 2012, 10:52 PM)
Thanks bro for the detailed info. Glad to know there is solution to our problem. I also wasted bout 2k with KL Auto. Not much difference.
Can't wait to try out KK Lau's work smile.gif
Go try bro, the 1.7K really makes a whole lot of difference. Im still using the stock MC5, imagine when I change my tyres to Yokohama AdvanDB 551...it will truly be quiet. drool.gif

This post has been edited by bmkia: Aug 19 2012, 01:23 PM
bmkia
post Aug 20 2012, 02:40 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(smellypillow @ Aug 19 2012, 02:34 PM)
Hey bro,
can you give more details on the sound proofing? where exactly they apply the dynamat....
I'm thinking of buying the dynamat and then DIY it myself.... can save some $$$
Thanks!

I wouldnt recommend you DIY the Dynamat Extreme itself bcoz its not easy unless you are very familiar with cars. Firstly, make sure u get the original Dynamat Extreme. The original Dynamat (not Dynamat Extreme) itself have been known to have melting issues in our hot climate whereas the Dynamat Extreme operating temperature is 54°C to +149°C.

http://www.dynamat.com/technical_specs_dynamat_xtreme.html

Anyways, I will pose up some pics which I took during installation (also shows how bare our Mazda is under the carpets, door panels) when I get back my phone cable from office:-

In short, from experience (expensive ones sweat.gif ) our M3 will benefit the SP in this order:-

1) Stick Dynamat Extreme under our ori hoodliner (Very easy, cut & paste to fit) esp for the underpowered whiny 1.6 engine sound on sudden accelarations.
2) Front Wheel Well (take out the black protective thingy and stick the Dynamat Extreme on the metal parts of the car between the black protective thingy. There is a bit kung fu here also besides the Dynamat Extreme, a layer of rubbery sound proofing material is also applied between the Dynamat and hollow points between wheel well and door as well as the A pillar.
3) Doors - I dont even know where to start, its not easy to remove our door panels (double layered) and stick Dynamat & insulation SP material to both layers of our door. The installer guys took very long (2 hours plus) for the 4 doors.
4) The side of the trunks, this is easy as well, open the trunk and remove the carper on the right and left. Stick ur hand as far in as u can and stick small pieces of dynamat there until the side internal surface is fully covered with Dynamat.

Anyways.... I rather have experience installers stripping and then putting back my car piece by piece. The worst thing that can happen is you have loose part sounds when u drive doh.gif

Added on August 20, 2012, 2:43 pm
QUOTE(ahhon83 @ Aug 19 2012, 02:02 AM)
It stated 3 yrs, and i believe at least 2 yrs. The main objective of the TRIBOS treatment is to protect the gloss and to reduce colour fade (http://www.triboscoatingsautomotive.com/warranty-registration/warranty-terms-and-conditions/)

Is Meguiars shampoo is low alkaline shampoo? I will just follow the recommendation from the Tribos website, no wax and polishing, just clean with shampoo. Now is, try to find which shampoo to use. I call Bermaz PJ, they said SC close one week, no one knows the Tribos Shampoo price... blink.gif
Tribos sounds very much like aftermarket products available here such as PPS Teflon coating or the Sierra Glow.

This post has been edited by bmkia: Aug 20 2012, 02:43 PM
bmkia
post Aug 23 2012, 02:08 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(davinlicious @ Aug 20 2012, 10:19 PM)
Tyre sound will disappear when u drove 150-160 km/j
No it doesn't. It gets crazily loud on certain bad stretches of the NSE highway where music at 26 will also be overwhelmed.
bmkia
post Aug 25 2012, 12:54 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(smellypillow @ Aug 24 2012, 11:54 PM)
Hey bro, thanks for the detailed info.
I couldn't wait, I already went to KK Lau to do my sound proofing. I told him a friend did it and was very happy with it.
Well, i'm happy with the results so far. The only thing not so happy is the price. He seems to charge me more expensive compare to yours. I paid 1.2k for front and back (a bit on the firewall) except the 4 doors sad.gif
He ran out of stock for dynamat even if i wanted to do it. I really hope that he didnt potong me. Yours 1.7k together with 4doors seem to be much better deal. I was really rushing that day, couldn't bargain much, sigh sad.gifsad.gif

So far the noise really reduce especially at the back. But even KK Lau himself says that your car's over SP is better than mine, most probably due to the doors. I think i will jt buy the dynamat and install it myself on the doors. Manage to find a dealer here that is selling for RM80 per piece.

How many piece he use for your doors? You said double layer what do u mean by that? Is it one layer at the outer most of the door and then another layer at the plastic cover (which houses the power window) where the speaker sits on it? Give me a rough estimation on the front & back doors, so that i can order the correct amount...

Thanks again bro for this sharing.
Bro,

Let KK Lau do the doors. Trust me, the doors are the one that will give you the most results (cut down the road noise most) and really make you happy.

As for the pricing, it should be less than RM110 per piece of Dynamat Extreme x 8 mats (2 for each doors) plus maybe another hundred for the insulation material.. Like I share before, the doors are the hardest to open and double layer the Dynamat + Insulation material. I do not know your background here, but if you know how to open the doors and do it, go right ahead (you still also need the insulation material). But if this is your 1st time opeing door panels, just don't. There are wires, the doors are double paneled and you even got to hold up your side windows using tape when removing your door panels.

Btw, forumers here that are interested in soundproofing our Mazda 3, another M3 hatchback driver, myself and other soundproofing enthuist are comparing and discussing on the best ways of soundproofing (KL Auto vs KK Lau methods, products and cost). We will also be doing a drive test comparison hopefully end of Sept. LOL... I think the KL Auto owner is pissed with me. Please read the following link in autoworld if you are interested in soundproofing:-

http://forum.autoworld.com.my/index.php?showtopic=103133

0.0469sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:51 AM