> [RATING] on forumers, as requested by moderator

marquis
post Oct 13 2005, 12:16 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

use a point system?

for example,
if a seller follows through with a deal, he gets a point.
seller ffk, minus a lot of points.
if he was early, an extra point.
if he was late, minus a point.
product exactly as said, plus a point.
product defers from what was advertised minus a point.
good after sales service, plus a lot of points.
any problem caused by the seller in anyway, minus points too.
late delivery minus points

that way, the seller would have to be polite. not like some of the sellers here, selling items as though the buyers are the beggars.

for buyers should have a similar point system too.

if such a system could be implemented, i am sure half of the sellers here would have to change their attitudes. and the other half have better sales.

special commentes should also be in the first post for particularly rude sellers. it's time that malaysia get used to the idea that the customer is always right

special comments too really helpful sellers too. to name a few, i wld say hungary, blinky, auctionfan and enna. i dont buy anything from them, but from what i see, they seem to handle inquiries pretty well. the same cant be said about other sellers. (hey if i didn't mention you doesn't mean you're rude though-siapa termakan cili dia terasa pedas tongue.gif)

just my thoughts anyway biggrin.gif
marquis
post Oct 13 2005, 12:52 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(lordsapt @ Oct 13 2005, 12:19 AM)
marquis: NICE!!!!
haha tongue.gif thanks mate! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 13 2005, 12:20 AM)
I thought we already have a Successful Trade list for that purpose?

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=19575
QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Oct 13 2005, 12:30 AM)
actually, i dont see much reason to have this rating, besides those successfull trade list show us a bigger slice of what has been traded.

Because in forums, you cant have systematically RATING members profile. UNlike auction site which are meant to have rating for each members.

So its best to find a proper solution to deal with this rating.

Btw why create it on this section? Put it on Garage Sale for bigger views....
true the tradelist shows a trade history...but i was thinking more along the lines of good buyers. good in the sense that they are polite, provide good service, blah blah, the works basically.

coz sure, some dude can have a lot of trades, sell to this dude, that dude, blah blah...but this requires time for them to establish themselves. especially to newbies. when they dont already have a tradelist...they cant really do much to boost their sales right? apart from doing cod..

so what can actually help this newbies is the positive feedback from the customers. apart from giving them recognition, they can slowly build their status as a good and reliable seller.

besides, not all those sellers that have a wide buy/sell list are all tha reliable. they tend to ffk at times too. or be rude. thats the worst part of some of the traders. they know they got an extensive buy/sell list, they tend to get cocky. think they can throw their weight around. to me the number one rule of being a seller is to be courteous.

so although the tradelist is good for showing the bigger picture, i still think something on the small scale (potentially big scale) like this rating wld help sellers. special emphasis on the new sellers who have yet to establish a really big customer base.

the only thing that i feel needs to be done wld be the standardization of the rating system. that i leave in the hands of our helpful volunteer, digilife thumbup.gif jolly good of him to volunteer smile.gif

marquis
post Oct 13 2005, 06:12 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 13 2005, 03:10 PM)
there's some flaws in Marquis point system.

late also get deduct.......aiyoh. tongue.gif buyer late then the seller gets point as well? smile.gif IMO this +/- point thing is pointless. there's no black/white proof blablablabla.

furthermore, it hardly seems fair. you do 10x more deals than me, so you get 1000 points when i get only 100 points when both are equally good dealers?

get it? smile.gif

IMO what would be good is as long as the TRADE is satisfactory +1 point. if the trade not satisfactory. +0 points.

ratings will be based on total points / total trades - then you get % ratings. smile.gif but to implement it like such, LYN would need engines like those at Lelong.
aiyak! got flaw in my system! tongue.gif it's true though. i didn't really think about the part where if the person has done more sales then he or she would get more ratings...but then again, that is good right? tongue.gif

but the total points/total grades seems like a much better system thumbup.gif hmm..i'm just thinking aloud here..is it possible to just do the rating manually? i mean the seller do it him/herself. it wld be much simpler. no? but then again, need someone to cross reference properly in the event that there are those dishonest assholes.

i must insist on one thing though. if the seller was particularly polite/good/friendly, a special mention should be made somewhere. like a hall of fame and a hall of shame or something. coz i just can't get it out of my head that the sellers should be more courteous biggrin.gif
marquis
post Oct 14 2005, 10:58 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

so you're saying that use this thread as the rating thingy is it?

if thats the case, then it wld be cool biggrin.gif but only one problem though..newbies hardly look at the pinned threads..they tend to glance through them..at least thats what i feel tongue.gif

but it wld be good to have it on this thread. on the first page. like a quick info on who is good and who is not. with a link to the succesful trade list biggrin.gif

two thumbs up for digilife thumbup.gif
marquis
post Oct 14 2005, 11:35 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Oct 14 2005, 11:22 AM)
i will propose to Mod to pin up this thread once i compile those good and not so good ppl
if newbie dont read it too bad, he cant blame anyone for being careless
haha tongue.gif true also..

well all the best then! i think we need more ppl participating in this thread la..i think bcoz garage sales got no post count, ppl dont bother coming in to spam ( i mean "contribute" their knowledge)
marquis
post Oct 22 2005, 01:25 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

the best thing to do i believe is to just to do cod. until the seller has built enough reputation then can go post or whatever.

i agree with the submitting of ic thing can backfire. any tom, d*** or harry cld just take another tom, d*** or harry's ic and use it as their own.

i think the only way can rate a person is by doing cod a first then judge the book by its cover
marquis
post Oct 22 2005, 06:16 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(Zer0 c00L @ Oct 22 2005, 05:48 PM)
K then,forget bout my previous idea...y not make COD a must for ppl below a certain number of post/reputation/recomendation from other ppl,then only sellers wif the required credentials will be able 2 post their items 2 other states/country in deals.Conclusion,COD is a muz for newbies....
thats a sound idea. the only problem is, how bout ppl from different states? it will sort of limit the potential buyers no?

but i guess that's the price you have to pay for safety
marquis
post Oct 23 2005, 02:28 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(Zer0 c00L @ Oct 23 2005, 02:14 PM)
Newbie sellers from other states can have their deals verified by established sellers at their states or even established sellers can do COD for their buyers,but this would involve 3 parties,then a bit troublesome...
hmm..good idea. the problem is that if the third part, vouch for the person, than suddenly the person run, the verrified dude will kena.

but a good idea nontheless
marquis
post Nov 21 2005, 02:04 PM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

What compilation work are we talking about here? I might be able to help, provided that my schedule ins't too tight smile.gif
marquis
post Oct 29 2007, 09:56 AM

Flower Power!
2,479 posts

QUOTE(cre8tif @ Oct 14 2007, 12:56 PM)
just follow lar the www.lelong.com.my rating/feedback system
By chance I clicked on this thread and wow, you quoted something I said TWO years ago! I find that rather ammusing laugh.gif

Anyway, to those saying that the mods/admin aren't taking a more active role etc etc blah blah blah, do note that this is a TECH forum to discus TECH-y things with the purpose of sharing/discussing information. The garage sales is just a side thingy. Let us not lose track of the main purpose of this forum. LYN is not Lelong, not eBay or whatever other online auction/buy sell site.

We're an online community that love techie stuff and discuss techie stuff. From the computer and it's peripherals to the mobile phones and it's many accessories. So yes, I reiterate by saying "Let us not forget what LYN stands for".

Considering what the mods and admins have done to keep trade safe here, we should be congratulating and thanking them instead. Most of those in charge don't even get payed to do all this. They're just lending a helping hand. What do we repay them with? Saying they're not doing their job and calling them names. I notice one particular attention whore who posts useless crap in the forum (with the pretense of "sharing" information) and berates the moderator for enforcing the rules which he violated. Show some manners people!

But I digress. It's cool to discuss ideas, but let's not tax the mods/admins/staff eh? They've done a great job as it is. Let's discuss constructive things. Don't just diss them.

Then again, I'm sure my post would neither be read nor acknowledge but instead be pushed up by ignorant spams of

"Lelong is better!"
"Why don't the mods do something!"
"Let's just do away with the forum concept and start a lelong-look-alike!"

etc etc.

Sigh. What happened to this forum?

0.0216sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:11 PM