Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V2, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

tbheng
post Jan 3 2012, 12:16 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 2 2012, 09:58 PM)
LATEST!!  Deserve a post by itself.

OCBC Bank Fixed Deposit Promotion 1st January 2012 to 31 March 2012 - Minimum Fresh Fund RM10,000

3 Months 3.6%
9 Months 3.9%  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

I think above 9 months would be just perfect because if you study previous FD offers, best promotions in the 4th quarter.
p.s. @MGM, please read my previous edited post.
Thanks Gen-X for the timely info. notworthy.gif

I have found the OCBC promo link as follow. It says the 9-months FD is 3.8%. (But it is still good. thumbup.gif )
http://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/Pr...eal%20Deal.shtm

I will go for this as well. smile.gif
tbheng
post Jan 6 2012, 05:31 PM

1,188 posts

Okay, here is my encounter with OCBC...
This morning, I withdrawn from SCB eSaver and headed to OCBC with the intention on 5% & 3.8% FD promo. (As it is the best combo so far.) The RM said they just got a new memo yesterday that combo promo is not allowed as per clause "4.3. This Promotion is not valid with any other promotion or other promotions as specified by OCBC Bank from time to time". I told some friends got it, she said at end Jan, the backend will revalidate and rectify accordingly.

So I left with option of 5% & 2.95% for 3-month which give effective 3.98% p.a. Of course she tried promoting some investment plan with 4.5% guaranteed returns but no uplift for the next 5-year. Hmm, this does not suit me.
At the end, I decided on 9-month 3.8% promo just to avoid the frequent "musical chair" spin. tongue.gif

When the RM brought up the form, I was surprise to see the 12-month 4.0% Real Deals promo!!! drool.gif
I was like huh? Is this some kind of joke or what? This is NEW... I verified and confirmed it is the current promo. She says "Yes". Great! I know this is an Islamic product and based on indicative profit sharing concept. It is covered by PIDM. I have tried similar product in AmBank last year.

At the end I loaded all my fund onto this 12-month GIA-i for 4% p.a. Save me some energy to stare at the musical chair for the next 12 months. Of course I open multiple contracts just in case I uplift some as opportunity fund, there are interests paid as long as it is over 3-month. If not because of the RM took the wrong form, I din even know this existed.

I went home to search for this promo, but cant find it online. I scanned the form here for those who are interested. smile.gif
Attached File  OCBC_GIA_i_Real_Deal_Q1_2012.pdf ( 1.66mb ) Number of downloads: 352

tbheng
post Jan 6 2012, 05:43 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 6 2012, 05:35 PM)
Wow! Thank you for the pdf file. But, too long lah, too lazy to read, will just trust you on the 4% rate.
The pdf is only 2 page mah... tongue.gif
In fact the focus is at the top of page 1 that says:
3-month 3.6%
9-month 3.8%
12-month 4.00%.

tbheng
post Jan 6 2012, 06:27 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 6 2012, 05:50 PM)
The Bank Rakyat staff only told me that they were not under PIDM,
they did not mention their FD was insured by PIDM or not.

Added on January 6, 2012, 5:57 pm
Ouh...oh...    biggrin.gif

Now the new promo from OCBC is 4.00% rate for 12 months terms?

Any terms and conditions like need to bundle with OCBC's saving account
and current account?

Minimum FD placement is RM 10K?
Do you know what is the maximum bullet that allows us to hit?
No, no other bundle product required. I just opened the GIA-i acct only.
tbheng
post Jan 6 2012, 10:50 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 6 2012, 09:45 PM)
Seeing how the economy is doing now and most economists aren't so optimistic about the world's economy for the coming few years, this may actually turn out to be a very good deal. Besides, it is also higher than the 12-month FD interest (3.70%) pre-2008 credit crunch. Anyway, is this some kind of a structured product ? Do you still at least remember what the name is ?
I happen to "sapu" back the brochure, I have scanned it here. Attached File  OCBC_Credit_Link_Strutured_Investment.pdf ( 136.22k ) Number of downloads: 37

The 5-year lock-in period does not fit my financial goal.

tbheng
post Jan 7 2012, 02:21 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Jan 7 2012, 01:27 AM)
I also noticed there is a 'board rate' next to the 'promotional profit rate' on the pdf provided by tbheng.
what does board rate means?
have u put money in this kind of product before?
HSBC Amanah TD-i, the TD meant Term Deposit. So this is a FD.
I also want to find out! if it fluctuates i might as well go for bank rakyat's 4.01% (12 mth)
u tried islamic FD before? can share ur experience?
As mentioned in my earlier post, I have personnally tried similar product in AmBank in Dec 2010, where the AmBank Islamic having promo for 11-month tenure with indicative 3.321% p.a. (The calculation is based on 54:46 profit sharing, I work it out it is based on 6.15% being shared). I din know about Affin Bank 3.6% back then. sad.gif Upon maturity in Nov 2011. I get exactly the mentioned interest at 3.321% p.a. no more no less. biggrin.gif I was skeptical at first back then, but the AmBank teller told me that the Islamic products always having slighly higher rate than convensional products. (I remember seeing ronnie also pointed out the same a couple of page back). Due to this past experience, that's why I have the confidence in taking up the OCBC GIA-i product now. smile.gif I had looked at Bank Rakyat 4.01%, but someone here said it is not really a bank and not covered by PIDM, and I had no prior experience with them before, hence I backed off. Now this OCBC GIA-i is covered PIDM, and I had FD with them before, so personally feel more confortable. biggrin.gif
tbheng
post Jan 18 2012, 07:39 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 17 2012, 06:21 PM)
Yah SCB is RM2.15, I forgot about that.

Once I wanted to shift my funds to another bank from RHB, so asked them to write the cheque and got charged for it (didn't know until I got the cheque). The joke is that I should have asked them to transfer the funds into my RHB current account (which will be instantly credited) and I then write a new cheque to the other bank thus saving me money, really a fool doh.gif

To add, OCBC, when you go withdraw your FD, ask them to write more than 1 cheque (e.g. 2 cheques) in your name also FOC  thumbup.gif
But, if transfer fund for new FD promo in another bank, most banks do not accept personal cheque. sad.gif
tbheng
post Jan 19 2012, 07:35 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 18 2012, 11:13 AM)
you mentioned Most banks, you must have tried many banks and they don't accept it haven't you ? so what is the reason the banks don't accept your cheque ?
Hmm, what I meant was to take part for the FD promo that says required fresh fund, the term & condition always go like this one from OCBC: " Cheques issued in the name of the customer from another bank in Malaysia other than OCBC Bank and OCBC Al-Amin Bank Berhad". There after when I read the T&C for any FD promo, no mention of accepting personal cheque. sad.gif

My experiences were from OCBC, AmBank, where over the counter the teller says no to personal cheque. Maybe the reason is the bank could not verify the cheque on the spot to open the new FD acct. So far I always use Banker's Cheque. Unless someone can share their experience that they were accepted by bank on this type of promo before.

tbheng
post Jan 19 2012, 08:57 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 19 2012, 08:26 AM)
Use personal cheques for FD at CIMB, MBB, HLB, OCBC, UOB, SCB, PBB and CITIBank without problem.
Good to hear that. I'll ask the next time when taking up new FD promo. smile.gif
Seems like my encounters were faced with picky tellers. Since I used Banker's Cheque, so far no real issue to me. smile.gif
tbheng
post Jan 20 2012, 04:56 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 20 2012, 11:13 AM)
There is no such thing as interest in Islamic banking.
I guess you have a similar doubt here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=48357788
And you want 100% accurate and reliable answer to your question, otherwise you would:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=48363828

Well, people are sharing their real life banking experience here, believe it or not is entirely up to you and you can always take it with a pinch of salt.
Yes... Just sharing my own real life experience of similar Islamic product in AmBank back in Dec 2010, where the AmIslamic Bank having promo for 11-month tenure with indicative 3.321% p.a. return. Upon maturity in Nov 2011. I get exactly the indicative 3.321% p.a. up to the 3rd decimal places, no more no less, no surprises. smile.gif Been there, done that, tested.
tbheng
post Mar 21 2012, 12:55 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(lkcheng @ Mar 21 2012, 12:06 PM)
Last time I read in HLB site and they give their special preferential rate for AUD FD, this special preferential rate is even more than 2.5% of spread.

For the forex, as you say, no one should trade forex in Malaysia.

Scam money?

I was actually talking about those real and licensed Forex brokers in US that we can open an account through the Internet. These forex brokers were regulated by a US organisation just like share brokers here were regulated by KLSE. They are reputable. No the types of forex scams you think of.
Hi guys, just want to voice my 2 cents on this... icon_rolleyes.gif
ya I personally tried FX before but no more...didn't know it is illegal...if so, will invest on something else.. sweat.gif

Frankly, before I go for 4% FD with ocbc in Jan this year, I was toying the idea to place my money into AUD FD, but after counting the spread, not much gain as compare to local FD...(of course if your timing is right, then diff story). If there is a separate thread talks about this, please put a link here, I am interested too. Can diversify my investment a bit. nod.gif

I am in PCI (Premier Currency Investment) for the past 3 years with SCB, similar like DCI cherroy mentioned, it is an interesting product which yield rather well, but it is OT to discuss here... tongue.gif Is there a thread on this?
tbheng
post Jun 15 2012, 07:45 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(machogirl @ Jun 11 2012, 01:07 PM)
hsbc amanah kota damansara new branch promo: 5% for 3 months

http://www.hsbc.com.my/1/2/amanah/latest-p...EW_BRANCH_PROMO
Hi all, this one seems very attractive. drool.gif Anyone tried? Planning to give it a try when my current FD matured at end July.
tbheng
post Jun 15 2012, 11:11 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 15 2012, 09:04 AM)
But you need to open an HSBC Premier Account-i or HSBC Amanah Advance Account-i at HSBC Amanah Kota Damansara for the purposes of crediting the profit, to enjoy the 5% for 3-month

Basically, at the minimum, you need RM500 for the  HSBC Amanah Advance Account-i + RM10,000 for the Term Deposit-i (5% for 3-month)

* HSBC Amanah Advance Account-i has a monthly fee of RM10 per month BUT waive 12-month for this promotion *
Hmmm, even with the RM500 in HSBC Amanah Advance Account-i, it still yield higher than other bank at the moment.
E.g. 10k with 5% interest after 3 month = RM10,125, hence effective interest rate = 4.76%.
If 50k with 5% interest after 3 month = RM50,625, hence effective interest rate = 4.95%.

Seems the highest among all current promotional FD, right? drool.gif
tbheng
post Jun 16 2012, 10:07 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jun 15 2012, 11:38 PM)
most bank will take it as fresh fund as long as the cheque is not from the bank which you are going to deposit. HSBC should be the same or you can issue a cheque RM51k
Does anyone know if HSBC accept personal cheque (instead of Banker's Cheque) for opening new FD?
Hope they don't ask to go and collect the FD cert a few day later (like what I read here for Bank Rakyat's FD).
Not sure if the reason is to ensure cheque is cleared and then dated the FD start from cheque cleared date. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by tbheng: Jun 16 2012, 10:07 AM
tbheng
post Jun 25 2012, 02:01 PM

1,188 posts

Hi all, just for sharing....

I've just returned from HSBC Amanah Kota Damansara.
Took their new branch opening offers: 5% 3 month TD-i for non-premier category. rclxm9.gif
The requirements and process seems rather straight forward.

Required the following 2 products to be openned:
1. Term Deposit-i: min RM5k, max RM50k.
2. Amanah Advance Acct-i: min RM100. rclxms.gif
(I have highlighted about the T&C said min RM500, the teller said RM100 is enough. RM500 is for Amanah Advance Acct-i alone.).
She said the TD-i slips will be ready when my cheque cleared. I requested her to mail it to me instead of collecting at branch.
I also requested for internet banking. It is FOC.
I was given a big golf umbrella and recycle bag as welcome gifts. biggrin.gif

This should be the highest FD rate for the moment. Highly recommended. nod.gif

This post has been edited by tbheng: Jun 25 2012, 02:05 PM
tbheng
post Jun 25 2012, 03:18 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 25 2012, 02:14 PM)
How much is the cost for Cashier's Order/Bank Draft to take the FD money out of HSBC after 3 months ?
Hmm...didn't ask about that just now.
If bank draft is too costly, I may consider interbank GIRO (which is the standard RM2 I guess).
tbheng
post Jun 25 2012, 05:41 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jun 25 2012, 04:54 PM)
Hi thanks for sharing.

I plan to do it tomorrow but before that, may I know if I entitle any charges to cancel the Amanah Advance Acct-i account and withdraw the FD on the 4th month?
I asked the same, the teller said no charges. It is no charge for the entire 12 months from the date of opening. No penalty to close it after I uplifted the TD-i.
Share your experience as well when you returned.
tbheng
post Jun 25 2012, 09:37 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jun 25 2012, 07:16 PM)
thanks for sharing. The offer only applies to that particular branch?
Somehow I was not able to find the promo from the hsbc amanah site. (It only promotes the premier category.)
But thanks to all the sifu here that share the promo link notworthy.gif
Should be for the 3 new branches as detailed in the promo.
I have been eyeing for this until my previous FDs matured.
According to the teller, the Kota Damansara branch is < 1 month old.

This post has been edited by tbheng: Jun 25 2012, 09:38 PM
tbheng
post Jun 26 2012, 06:59 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jun 25 2012, 10:03 PM)
I read every post and it seems only applies to that new branch. Just wanted to confirm as I am from Penang....
It is for these 3 branches in KL/PJ:
1. HSBC Amanah Maluri New Branch Opening Promotion
2. HSBC Amanah City Centre New Branch Opening Promotion
3. HSBC Amanah Kota Damansara New Branch Opening Promotion
Please click the link I provided above to read more.
tbheng
post Jun 27 2012, 07:05 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jun 26 2012, 09:34 PM)
thanks for your detail and kind help....I am staying in Penang and hence wont be able to enjoy these benefits. Nevertheless, other people can make use the info. provided here.
You are welcome. It is the whole purpose of this forum. Info sharing. Knowledge is power. flex.gif
I gained from reading here, and I hope my experience/sharing benefits others too. smile.gif

0.0450sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:27 AM