Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V2, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

Kaka23
post Dec 30 2011, 11:07 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(justanovice @ Dec 30 2011, 01:14 AM)
i moved my funds from SCB eSaver to OCBC 3 month FD - the receipt that I got is "GIA-I Fund" something... and no where in the FD slip says 3.5%... even though the teller told me it is 3.5%. weird... it only has a nisbah stating 20-80 I guess...
anyone opened FD with OCBC? pls share if this is normal.. thx smile.gif
9 months ago, i put in OCBC FD for 3.6% pa. It 3.6% is stated in the slip wor...

Kaka23
post Dec 30 2011, 08:35 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(desmond_fantasy @ Dec 30 2011, 12:39 PM)
How come so high one? Any promotion?  hmm.gif
That was 9 months ago promo.. Now input in uob fd for 3.45% pa for 3 months
Kaka23
post Dec 31 2011, 11:34 AM

8,259 posts

Any good rate for fd in month of Jan 2012?
Kaka23
post Jan 3 2012, 01:16 AM

8,259 posts

Ah.. Tomorrow need to go to OCBC already!
Kaka23
post Jan 3 2012, 10:10 AM

8,259 posts

Anybody already went to OCBC for ask about the rate? Just want to confirm first before going there..
Kaka23
post Jan 3 2012, 10:51 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(D-Zire @ Jan 3 2012, 11:34 AM)
weird thing,

i've checked my SCB account but the bonus interest for the month of December is still not in my account yet.

anyone got theirs already? i need to withdraw all the money to be put somewhere else. aiyooo
huh.. izzit? I dont hv internet banking to check. But I also plan to move my cash out from SCB.
Kaka23
post Jan 3 2012, 11:54 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 3 2012, 12:31 PM)
Yes, they are open today..

Added on January 3, 2012, 11:39 am

I just called Standard & Chartered toll free 1 300 130 011,
they said it is advisable to withdraw all funds on this Friday,
because they will take 3 working days to credit the bonuses
into our accounts.

To withdraw a large portion of fund and to leave a small amount
of fund in the account before this Friday is not advisable either;
if we want to receive our full bonus on this Friday.

In fact, two SCB officers also told me the same thing few weeks ago...
Argh!!! Keep the money in SCB for almost 1 week with low interest!!!!!
Kaka23
post Jan 3 2012, 04:27 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(ultraman29 @ Jan 3 2012, 05:07 PM)
I was told this OCBC premier 5% FD is only applicable to 50% of the fresh funds. the other 50% will enjoy their normal 3.x rate.
huh... you got the information from who?

Kaka23
post Jan 7 2012, 02:14 PM

8,259 posts

OCBC open on weekdays this month only?
Kaka23
post Jan 7 2012, 04:12 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(tifosi @ Jan 7 2012, 03:27 PM)
Did you meant weekends?

They open on first Saturday and Sunday of the month throughout the whole year.
Thanks for the info....
Kaka23
post Jun 20 2012, 09:19 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(Xiong87 @ Jun 20 2012, 02:04 AM)
CITIBANK currently is offering 5% p.a. for time deposit (exclusive for new Citigold client) , no investment product tie up.

Kindly contact me for more detail.

Email - wei.xiong.liau@citi.com
what is requirement for gold client?

Added on June 20, 2012, 9:20 amwhy banks are lowering the FD rate?

This post has been edited by Kaka23: Jun 20 2012, 09:20 AM
Kaka23
post Jul 9 2012, 08:40 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(vinvon23 @ Jul 9 2012, 11:53 AM)
hi all ,

would like to ask opinion regarding fd and flexi home loan..
let say one home loan interest is 6.6-2.3= 4.3% interest...
with the flexi plan we 'earn' 4.3% by placing money in the current account..

Will you rather put your money in Fd for short term to get some extra 'real cash' for a 4.25% interest (OCBC combo) or would u rather put ur money in homeloan flexi acc to reduce the interest charged n more principle paid...
For me, I will put in HL. It will be a hassle to remember the matuarity date of the FD as I think once expire, the rate will go back to board rate. And there will be few days gap to bring out the $ and put back to them HL due to busy, work cannot take leave, etc. Sometimes may drag even weeks/months if you totally forgot about it.
Kaka23
post Jul 10 2012, 10:54 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(vinvon23 @ Jul 10 2012, 12:21 AM)
hemm at first i was thinking of is it better to keep the extra cash with myself.. as both way give me similar interest rate... the only difference is that 1 i can get the real extra money (ocbc fd) and if for hl acc ( paying more principle monthly)..

but when se4eing kaka23 said about the extra effort n time it seems it doesnt worth hehe....
you still can consider having that extra cash if you put in HL. you can take out anytime just using cheaque book, but need to wait for 2 days for clearing la. Still consider very liquidated cash..
Kaka23
post Jul 15 2012, 01:41 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 15 2012, 11:36 AM)
If we have RM1 million, we can get RM2465 a month of passive income brows.gif brows.gif
ah.. I wish I have 1 million!! tongue.gif

Kaka23
post Jul 15 2012, 10:08 PM

8,259 posts

I think percentage of ppl here in this Finance forum already having 500K in their investment...
Kaka23
post Jul 16 2012, 12:40 PM

8,259 posts

Anybody knows if I can take out my FD from another branch? Lets say I ut FD in SS2 branch and want to take out at Uptown branch, can it be done?
Kaka23
post Jul 16 2012, 01:07 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(lee9171 @ Jul 16 2012, 02:02 PM)
Not allowed for PBB, MBB and CIMB based on my experience, not sure about other bank.
Mine is Am Bank.. ah, I need to go ask like this.
Kaka23
post Jul 16 2012, 07:33 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jul 16 2012, 03:29 PM)
you can withdraw from your smart saver and yet the FD interest is still maintain. I was actually wanted to withdraw after a couple of days of opening the combo  but since RM has been very helpful, I take her advice to maintain for a month to get 3% first then see how the situation develops.

Added on July 16, 2012, 2:32 pm
Am bank allowed. most banks , no
thanks for the info bro!
Kaka23
post Jul 18 2012, 01:20 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(ascend @ Jul 18 2012, 02:16 PM)
HSBC New Branch FD promo (5%)

Did any of you receive a call from the branch you opened your new Advance account, inviting you to drop by and  pick up some gifts, and to perhaps be briefed on some investment products?
Which branch bro?

0.0431sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:57 PM