Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V2, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

SUSPink Spider
post Jun 15 2012, 11:33 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jun 15 2012, 11:26 AM)
Thanks, dont understand but never mind..
The rates may look unreal but really as per quoted on AmBank website...

1 month | 33.73% p.a. | ~2.765% upon maturity (minimum RM5K)
3 months | 12.91% p.a. | ~3.175 upon maturity (minimum RM1K)
6 months | 7.81% p.a. | ~3.841 upon maturity (minimum RM1K)
9 months | 6.09% p.a. | ~4.923 upon maturity (minimum RM1K)
12 months | 5.61% p.a. (minimum RM1K)

E.g. place RM10,000 for 1 month, RM10,000 x 33.73% x 1/12 months = RM281.08

The catch is, u gotta buy RM10,000 worth of UT(s) icon_idea.gif
And u can sell off the UT(s) ANYTIME, cos bank charges the UT sales charge when u buy in, so it does't matter to them at all whether u hold for 1 week or 1 year. icon_idea.gif

Typical balanced/equity funds charge between 5-6%, so it'll be RM10,000 x 5% = RM500 of sales charge

So, if u main-main sell off b4 the UT(s) make money, u rugi tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jun 15 2012, 11:34 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 15 2012, 11:45 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jun 15 2012, 11:38 AM)
Assuming you have RM10K. Since you have to invest 1:1, RM5K goes into FD & another RM5K goes into the unit trust. Since your question touches on the FD, I'll ignore the RM5K that was channeled into the unit trust.

With RM5K for FD you have a few options:

If you place it into the 1 month FD duration, you're entitled for 33.73% per annum. Since the duration is only for 1 month, 33.73% divide by 366 days in a year times 30 days in a month equals to around 2.765% of return. This means that after 1 month, you can withdraw approximately RM5138.25.

However, if you decided to go for the 3 months duration with a single deposit of RM5K, then you'll have to divide the per annum percentage by 366 before multiplying it by 90 days (12.91% / 366 * 90 = 3.175%). Once the 3 months are up, you'll gain back a total of RM5158.75.

Feel free to question me. Who knows, I might miss out some vital points here that could have caused some flaw to my calculations. notworthy.gif
I answered earlier than u tongue.gif

Still, I'm curious whether there's a shortlist of funds that can be bought...cos there are bond funds with zero entry fee...surely the bank won't be that dumb hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jun 15 2012, 11:46 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 15 2012, 01:18 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jun 15 2012, 12:47 PM)
I'm a bit of a slowpoke. tongue.gif Anyway, why don't you pay Ambank a visit & tell us if those bonds with 0% entry fees are available for the InterestPlus FD package. thumbup.gif
Don't need lar, bazir wang petrol aje. I got friend in AmBank, tonight korek dia kat FB laugh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 15 2012, 02:58 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jun 15 2012, 02:48 PM)
All the bonds covered in AmDynamic Bond are AAA companies but with Malaysia being Malaysia, I guess it's not very wise to trust these triple-As alphabets especially with the GE looming near.
AmDynamic majority holding is NOT AAA, but AA. That's why it could deliver above average returns.

And they're mostly Corporate Bonds e.g. Maybank, CIMB, Public Bank, Sarawak Energy, PLUS etc etc etc, very little MGSs which offer very low yield
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 15 2012, 03:31 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jun 15 2012, 03:30 PM)
You are right. I searched around & came upon a much more updated information: http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/admin...eetMYAMDNMB.pdf

The previous document that I had clearly stated PLUS being the top holdings but based on the link above, it's no longer there. sweat.gif
AmInvestment should know better than u to have high exposure to GE-sensitive holdings at this times laugh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 15 2012, 03:45 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Jun 15 2012, 03:43 PM)
And thus with that statement of yours, the teh tarik agreement is now officially declared as null & void. smile.gif
kedekut dry.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 15 2012, 06:07 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 15 2012, 05:50 PM)
HSBC Amanah Kota Damansara need FRESH funds, right ?
I think it's worth trying... brows.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 16 2012, 09:24 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jun 15 2012, 11:38 PM)
most bank will take it as fresh fund as long as the cheque is not from the bank which you are going to deposit. HSBC should be the same or you can issue a cheque RM51k
nod.gif

They won't be so free to trace your flow of funds in and out of HSBC lar laugh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 16 2012, 10:30 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(alvinfks78 @ Jun 16 2012, 10:11 AM)
If I bank into Savings --------> then open FD is NOT fresh funds right? sad.gif
Read the FULL T&C, like for AmBank, they define "Fresh Funds" as funds transferred into the bank not longer than 10 days before

C'mon, u can't be carrying a bag load of cash into the bank to place FD, right? Gotta be T/T, cheque, draft, etc...and it's not reasonable to expect ppl to remit and place on the same day what doh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 27 2012, 08:16 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Jun 27 2012, 06:16 AM)
Erm I mean who doesn't like extra money right ? RM 1 also is extra BUT .. question is worth the "risk" or not ... If i really had to withdraw the money on the 364th day or something .. I still end up with only RM 50K right ? Not even 1 cent gained ?

Btw besides Maybank, what other bank got e-FD ?
AmBank also got. EON Bank also got...until the damn HLB took over. doh.gif

Added on June 27, 2012, 8:17 am
QUOTE(dewVP @ Jun 26 2012, 08:07 PM)
i tried. but they said i dont have a FD account. need go branch open only can manage online, no?
eFD and FD are not related. eFDs can only be placed and managed online.

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jun 27 2012, 08:17 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 27 2012, 03:05 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jun 27 2012, 02:57 PM)
For MBB, eFD need to use old FD account number added with i , if not mistaken, thats why without previous FD account number has to go to bank to open.
i dun think so...my ex did not hv FD with MBB b4, and she can just place eFD over M2U hmm.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 18 2012, 10:08 PM

16,872 posts

thumbup.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 19 2012, 12:00 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jul 19 2012, 10:24 AM)
UOB latest promotion till end of Aug

1 mth 3.2% (better than  kept in Ocbc saving combo)
3 mth 3.5%
12 mth 3.6 %

Added on July 19, 2012, 10:25 am
UOB never post their promos on website doh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 21 2012, 11:03 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jul 21 2012, 01:08 AM)
No. You can't. I tried this before and upliftment of FD done online can only be done through the same channel.

Somehow i missed this reply of yours when i made the reply to you post. Anyway, I tried to withdraw my e-FD through my home branch last time but it was not possible. This was 2  or 3 years ago. Yeah. A long time ago  sweat.gif  Let us know if you can withdraw your e-FD at your home branch.

By the way, home branch refers to your account holding branch. Just go back to the branch where you opened your savings or current account at.
Yes, most if not all banks have this rule.

U could have just uplift online at home then go to the branch to buy Cashier's Order...apa susah sangat? doh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 30 2012, 10:15 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Macrusin @ Jul 30 2012, 10:10 AM)
Guys, I have called HSBC in Taman Maluri, but nobody answer.
That's why i request help from here.
According to page 1, HSBC is offering Promotion 5% FD for 3months (particular branch only).

Is that mean when i put in RM10,000, i will get back RM 500 after 3months?
correct me if i was wrong
RM10,000 x 5% x 3 / 12 = RM125

FD rate is USUALLY quoted in per annum terms
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 30 2012, 10:39 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Macrusin @ Jul 30 2012, 10:21 AM)
OMG, didn't notice "per annum"
So the maturity date will be ended after 3months?
What if I want to continue, the rate will back to normal isn't it??
marketing ploy

1st, attract u to deposit with them with wonderful rates BUT for short term e.g. 3-6 months

After that, if other banks also no give FD promos i.e. FD rates among banks are similar, u will lazy to move ur FDs rolleyes.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jul 30 2012, 10:47 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Macrusin @ Jul 30 2012, 10:43 AM)
Ya,you pointed out the main point  rclxms.gif
What if I got 10k on hand, which bank you will highly recommended?
Any precious opinion you can suggest?
no particular bank tongue.gif

for me, chasing those short-term FD promos are not worth the trouble shakehead.gif
cos u won't know what would be the FD rates available after the maturity of your 3-6 month FDs...what u gained during those 3-6 months, might be offset by ur opportunity cost after that doh.gif

just hunt for the best 12-M FD u can find, end of story icon_rolleyes.gif

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0441sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:07 PM