123 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V2, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

MGM
post Jan 3 2012, 11:17 AM

18,399 posts

Just check the SCB accounts, interests for both SalarySaver(31/12) & SaadiqSaver(2/1/12) are already in but not the bonus.
D-Zire
post Jan 3 2012, 11:19 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 3 2012, 11:17 AM)
Just check the SCB accounts, interests for both SalarySaver(31/12) & SaadiqSaver(2/1/12) are already in but not the bonus.
yeap..i wonder when they will credit in into our account? blink.gif
tifosi
post Jan 3 2012, 11:26 AM

Friend is someone to share last Cookie with!
5,155 posts

Normally they will credit on the 3rd based on my previous experience for the Nov and Dec month.
BoomChaCha
post Jan 3 2012, 11:31 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 3 2012, 10:13 AM)
Of course they do. It's a normal working day already.
Yes, they are open today..

Added on January 3, 2012, 11:39 am
QUOTE(D-Zire @ Jan 3 2012, 11:19 AM)
yeap..i wonder when they will credit in into our account?  blink.gif
I just called Standard & Chartered toll free 1 300 130 011,
they said it is advisable to withdraw all funds on this Friday,
because they will take 3 working days to credit the bonuses
into our accounts.

To withdraw a large portion of fund and to leave a small amount
of fund in the account before this Friday is not advisable either;
if we want to receive our full bonus on this Friday.

In fact, two SCB officers also told me the same thing few weeks ago...

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jan 3 2012, 11:39 AM
gnne84
post Jan 3 2012, 11:50 AM

276 posts

deleted...found out already shared blink.gif

This post has been edited by gnne84: Jan 3 2012, 11:52 AM
Kaka23
post Jan 3 2012, 11:54 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 3 2012, 12:31 PM)
Yes, they are open today..

Added on January 3, 2012, 11:39 am

I just called Standard & Chartered toll free 1 300 130 011,
they said it is advisable to withdraw all funds on this Friday,
because they will take 3 working days to credit the bonuses
into our accounts.

To withdraw a large portion of fund and to leave a small amount
of fund in the account before this Friday is not advisable either;
if we want to receive our full bonus on this Friday.

In fact, two SCB officers also told me the same thing few weeks ago...
Argh!!! Keep the money in SCB for almost 1 week with low interest!!!!!
BoomChaCha
post Jan 3 2012, 12:06 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 3 2012, 11:54 AM)
This is the safe way if we want to receive our full bonuses,
no choice... cry.gif

Or you can call Standard and Charted Bank to verify..
1 300 130 011 ---> when the phone line is connected,
choose to talk to customer service, then don't press any buttons
until somebody will pick up your call..

D-Zire
post Jan 3 2012, 01:02 PM

560 posts

thats lost of opportunity cost for us even though the amount might be small...money is still money...i tried to call SCB line but it keeps cutting me off....damn
aeiou228
post Jan 3 2012, 01:07 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 3 2012, 12:06 PM)
This is the safe way if we want to receive our full bonuses,
no choice...  cry.gif

Or you can call Standard and Charted Bank to verify..
1 300 130 011  ---> when the phone line is connected,
choose to talk to customer service, then don't press any buttons
until somebody will pick up your call..
When customer service said to you wait till friday, that is because you asked him something that he has no knowledge of. But telling you to wait till friday is the safest answer for him to say but at the expense of you.

Well, he maybe right but I don't remember seeing any such condition in the T&C. So I trust the black n white T&C and my instinct to withdraw the money today and placed it in OCBC. Let see whether I will get the bonus or not.

ascend
post Jan 3 2012, 01:19 PM

245 posts

I don't think this is correct. If you ADB is >RM3000 up until 31 Dec, the bonus is guaranteed even if you withdraw your money now.

Even if it isn't (which i doubt so), the normal interest of 0.6% (esaver) or 1.5%(supersalary) is still better than Singapore Dollar fix deposit interest which is less than 0.1%.

Anyone has any idea what to do with SGD deposits?
TSGen-X
post Jan 3 2012, 01:30 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Today went to SCB to withdraw my funds and was informed that they are going to offer 4% interest rate; but, my RM said she has yet to read the terms and conditions and therefore could not advise me.

Anyway, withdrew the funds from SCB and proceeded to OCBC and was surprised that they have promotion for new Premier Banking Account. So ended up opening a Premier Account with OCBC and getting 5% Interest Rate for my FD thumbup.gif Click here to read more about OCBC Premier Account which enjoy 5% Promotional Interest Rate for 3 months.

tifosi
post Jan 3 2012, 01:59 PM

5,155 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 3 2012, 01:30 PM)
Today went to SCB to withdraw my funds and was informed that they are going to offer 4% interest rate; but, my RM said she has yet to read the terms and conditions and therefore could not advise me.

Anyway, withdrew the funds from SCB and proceeded to OCBC and was surprised that they have promotion for new Premier Banking Account. So ended up opening a Premier Account with OCBC and getting 5% Interest Rate for my FD  thumbup.gif Click here to read more about OCBC Premier Account which enjoy 5% Promotional Interest Rate for 3 months.
To get the 5% from OCBC, I need to open 3 accounts but do I need to open a premier account in order to do so? Can I just put into the normal FD, current and savings account? I don't have RM 300,120 spare change in hand unlike someone tongue.gif whistling.gif
TSGen-X
post Jan 3 2012, 02:01 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(tifosi @ Jan 3 2012, 01:59 PM)
To get the 5% from OCBC, I need to open 3 accounts but do I need to open a premier account in order to do so? Can I just put into the normal FD, current and savings account? I don't have RM 300,120 spare change in hand unlike someone tongue.gif   whistling.gif
Bro, reread my post, I mentioned "they have promotion for new Premier Banking Account" and you need RM301,020 tongue.gif Even current PB customers do not enjoy the promotional rate UNLESS they open another join account with someone else being the Principal.

Seriously, there is nothing good with OCBC Premier Account i.e. no Premier credit card that comes with the account.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 3 2012, 02:06 PM
BoomChaCha
post Jan 3 2012, 02:19 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 3 2012, 02:01 PM)
Bro, reread my post, I mentioned "they have promotion for new Premier Banking Account" and you need RM301,020  tongue.gif Even current PB customers do not enjoy the promotional rate UNLESS they open another join account with someone else being the Principal.

Seriously, there is nothing good with OCBC Premier Account i.e. no Premier credit card that comes with the account.
I just called OCBC, in order to get 5% per year for 3 months, we need to open
a new OCBC premier account. And in order to open a new OCBC premier account,
we will need to make a minimum deposit of RM 300K into OCBC premier current
account which the interest rate is only 0.5% per year.

Then any amount other than RM 300K can only put into 5% interest rate p.a. for 3 months.

OCBC phone number:
http://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/He...contact_us.shtm

TSGen-X
post Jan 3 2012, 02:22 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 3 2012, 02:19 PM)
I just called OCBC, in order to get 5% per year for 3 months, we need to open
a new OCBC premier account. And in order to open a new OCBC premier account,
we will need to make a minimum deposit of RM 300K into OCBC premier current
account
which the interest rate is only 0.5% per year.

Then any amount other than RM 300K can only put into 5% interest rate p.a. for 3 months.

OCBC phone number:
http://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/He...contact_us.shtm
You have been misinformed, I can confirm only need RM1K in new current account because my FD cert clearly states 5% Interest for 3 months.
BoomChaCha
post Jan 3 2012, 02:28 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 3 2012, 02:22 PM)
You have been misinformed, I can confirm only need RM1K in new current account because my FD cert clearly states 5% Interest for 3 months.
Captain, I have no doubt about your valuable and update FD information.
But just that I wanted to clarify only.

I will call OCBC again and post my update here.

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jan 3 2012, 02:34 PM
tifosi
post Jan 3 2012, 02:34 PM

5,155 posts

Bro, reread my post, I mentioned "they have promotion for new Premier Banking Account" and you need RM301,020  tongue.gif Even current PB customers do not enjoy the promotional rate UNLESS they open another join account with someone else being the Principal.

And currently the highest promotion FD Interest Rate is offered to NEW OCBC Premier Banking Accounts where the interest rate is 5% for 3 months tenure. To enjoy this promotional rate with the OCBC Premier Account, one needs to deposit RM300K in FD, minimum RM1K in a new Current Account and minimum RM20 in a new Savings Account. i.e. you need to open 3 new products with OCBC. When you open a new OCBC Premier Account, you also be entitled to a free gift. I chose the passport holder over some "golden peaches" which is framed up (may be nice in one needs something to display in his office). Good a free desktop calendar too.

Actually, I read your statement 3 TIMES before I commented. You made it sounds like we can get 5% with just opening 3 different products and by opening their Premier Banking Account, you get extra passport holder/"golden peaches" free gift only tongue.gif

Ahhhh, false hope for poor people like me sad.gif
BoomChaCha
post Jan 3 2012, 02:48 PM

2,490 posts

All right, after calling OCBC the 2nd time, this is their answer:

The minimum Ringgit to open a Premier account is RM 3000.00,
not RM 300K they stated previously.

MilesAndMore
post Jan 3 2012, 02:53 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 3 2012, 01:30 PM)

Anyway, withdrew the funds from SCB and proceeded to OCBC and was surprised that they have promotion for new Premier Banking Account. So ended up opening a Premier Account with OCBC and getting 5% Interest Rate for my FD  thumbup.gif Click here to read more about OCBC Premier Account which enjoy 5% Promotional Interest Rate for 3 months.
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 3 2012, 02:22 PM)
Bro, there probably is an even better deal from Citibank. I received the below sms about 40 minutes ago.

RM0.00 Citigold: Start the year with 6.28% p.a extra for 3 mths.

I totally agree with you that there is nothing good about OCBC Premier Account. It's like they are offering this product simply because some of their biggest rivals (UOB, HSBC, Citi, Standard Chartered etc.) in MY and SG have this kind of banking product.
ycs
post Jan 3 2012, 02:57 PM

4,221 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 3 2012, 02:53 PM)
Bro, there probably is an even better deal from Citibank. I received the below sms about 40 minutes ago.

RM0.00 Citigold: Start the year with 6.28% p.a extra for 3 mths.
I totally agree with you that there is nothing good about OCBC Premier Account. It's like they are offering this product simply because some of their biggest rivals (UOB, HSBC, Citi, Standard Chartered etc.) in MY and SG have this kind of banking product.
can reopen citigold account again?

123 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0197sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:09 AM