Rooting your Samsung Galaxy SII (I9100G), also updating/repairing a bricked one

superkingkong
post Mar 8 2012, 01:43 AM

467 posts

Hi guys,

i have a i9100g, bought it last year, now with DXKL3 firmware. I tried to root it using the zerberg method, first method, but failed. i flashed my sgs2 down to DXKJ2 firmware using odin and tried the method again, but still failed to root. i downloaded the firmware from sammobile.

Now, i'm thinking to try the second method. but the link is not working for downloading dxki1.

since i have dxkl3.. so called latest firmware, can i skip straight to flashing to insecure kernel zckh4? .. do i still need to include the pit file when flashing zckh4>

i also found original kernel for dxkl3. so, after flashing zckh4, can i flash this dxkl3 kernel to remove the triangle?

Thank you... i'm new in rooting. Hope to get some help.... thanks again.
superkingkong
post Mar 8 2012, 11:47 AM

467 posts

QUOTE(creezalird @ Mar 8 2012, 07:18 AM)
read my guide from my signature, the first page thread is outdated
Thank you sooo much. I will read through and try it out.

Thanks again.

Added on March 8, 2012, 1:17 pm
QUOTE(creezalird @ Mar 8 2012, 07:18 AM)
read my guide from my signature, the first page thread is outdated
I've managed to root. i'm on dzkl2. But i have the triangle at the boot screen.

Do u know where to get a original dzkl2 kernel to flash? so that i can remove the triangle? i tried googling but cannot find.

also, to flash kernal, i do the same thing, choosing PDA in odin, right?

Thanks and sorry for the stupid question.

This post has been edited by superkingkong: Mar 8 2012, 01:17 PM
superkingkong
post Mar 8 2012, 03:40 PM

467 posts

QUOTE(creezalird @ Mar 8 2012, 03:09 PM)

it is not a must the same stock kernel, as long as it is stock, it is sufficient

yes with PDA, no PIT, and the file must be in tar format.

if u read through, u will know what to do as i guide line per line in my pdf guide. even all advantages and disadvantages too.
Thanks so much for the reply. You're da best!

oh by the way, if i'm getting the jig to reset the binary counter, then i can skip the steps fixing the yellow triangle, right?
superkingkong
post Mar 8 2012, 03:48 PM

467 posts

QUOTE(creezalird @ Mar 8 2012, 03:45 PM)
usb jig will fix both, yellow and binary problem. but only on old bootloader (example KJ2 and lower), if u are on newer firmware, u need to downgrade the bootloader first and after that usb jig will work again. All in my guide.
Thanks creezalird. One more question.... if i flash future new stock firmware using mobile odin pro with everroot, does it mean my firmware and the kernal will be upgraded/updated? Thanks.
superkingkong
post Mar 9 2012, 08:37 AM

467 posts

QUOTE(creezalird @ Mar 8 2012, 03:52 PM)
of course la, whats the point in flashing new stock firmware then? lols
oh, sorry for the confusion. My question would be whether the kernel will be updated too if i flash future firmware with mobile odin pro. I know the fw will be updated, but will the kernel updated also?

cheers..
superkingkong
post Mar 10 2012, 07:39 AM

467 posts

hi creezalird,

after rooting, if i update my firmware through OTA or KIES to, eg, ICS, will i lose my rooting?

superkingkong
post Mar 11 2012, 11:30 AM

467 posts

Hi Creezalird,

Do you have an explanation on why some I9100G can be rooted with doomlord's kit and some cant? I'm using KL2 fw, but could not get rooted with doomlord's kit sad.gif
superkingkong
post Mar 13 2012, 04:56 AM

467 posts

Guys, what is the modem firmware for? sorry for noob question/
superkingkong
post Mar 16 2012, 04:57 AM

467 posts

i found an app, Voodoo RootKeeper. Will this help to back-up the root, then restore it after OTA update?
superkingkong
post Mar 19 2012, 06:08 AM

467 posts

read on sammobile website that samsung was also disappointed with ics update... so many bugs
superkingkong
post Mar 19 2012, 02:24 PM

467 posts

have to wait bro... no pain no gain biggrin.gif
superkingkong
post Mar 20 2012, 05:31 AM

467 posts

QUOTE(aronliew @ Mar 20 2012, 12:29 AM)
ICS Y U no come fast
ICS = I Come Slow rclxms.gif
superkingkong
post Mar 20 2012, 02:39 PM

467 posts

QUOTE(Wira_lover @ Mar 20 2012, 10:59 AM)
Hehehe good luck waitin . Everywhere I go I see ppl talkin bout ICS oni.
now it's the "IN" thing mah smile.gif
superkingkong
post Mar 29 2012, 10:23 AM

467 posts

QUOTE(ths1995 @ Mar 27 2012, 08:08 PM)
Just bought my SGS2, found this and notice that multiupload down. Anyone got any idea where i can find the files needed for rooting my SGS2 . XDA also uses multiupload.
Look for the user creezalird in this thread, click on the link on his signature "Rooting for Dummies" .. very useful smile.gif I downloaded it, tried it.. got rooted smile.gif

This post has been edited by superkingkong: Mar 29 2012, 10:24 AM
superkingkong
post Apr 2 2012, 01:53 AM

467 posts

QUOTE(hiro123 @ Apr 1 2012, 10:21 PM)
Hi all, im new to this forum and i think i could use some of ur help. im currently using Samsung Galaxy S II i9100G with the details below :

Android version : 2.3.6
Baseband version : i9100GDZKJ2
Kernal version : 2.6.35.7 se.infra@SEI-30 #2
Build number : GINGERBREAD.DZKJ2

So what should i do now,im completely lost wif the first page guide. Which method u recommend me to use?
1) Can u guide me step by step pls?
2) explain more detail
3) Im completely new
4) what should i do now with my phone to root it?
Thanks for any help given. <3 <3
You can download the rooting guide by creezalird here http://db.tt/BwlUTGIl

This post has been edited by superkingkong: Apr 2 2012, 09:52 PM
superkingkong
post Apr 7 2012, 03:50 AM

467 posts

QUOTE(cho @ Apr 7 2012, 02:54 AM)
On dzkl3 stock rom. No success using doomlord to root using v1 to v4... Any other way to root beside flash other kernel?
me too. In Creezalird rooting guide, try the alternate method. It worked for me.
superkingkong
post Apr 8 2012, 01:35 AM

467 posts

QUOTE(Zidhu @ Apr 8 2012, 01:27 AM)
superuser didnt appear, instead, I downloaded the app from the playstore and it was practically empty if you get what I mean.
ok, I'll try restarting my comp
make sure that you open your Device Manager and see that the Android Phone or ADB interface or something like that has no exclamation mark next to it after you have plugged in your phone. Then only start the odin.
superkingkong
post Apr 8 2012, 06:26 AM

467 posts

QUOTE(Zidhu @ Apr 8 2012, 02:49 AM)
and how do I factory reset the phone ?
Factory Reset Samsung Galaxy S2
superkingkong
post May 5 2012, 11:58 PM

467 posts

QUOTE(cloud97 @ May 5 2012, 11:35 PM)
Hi Pros, needed your guideline. Just got my S2 few days ago. Cannot tahan S2 poor battery life and I read forums from net claimed that custom ROM for S2 can increase/get better battery life and decided to root my phone. But I'm newbie/noob of android sweat.gif
I downloaded creezalird's S2 guide and read through carefully...

Questions:
1. Noob question sweat.gif Can I root the phone without external sd (using phone's internal storage)?
2. After doing some comparison, I decided to root my phone using method 2 (flashing using rooted kernel) with lucifr kernel. The author (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1506954) stated "Download--> flash with odin" means copy the file directly into phone internal storage or from external microsd card storage?
1. yes
2. flash with odin, meaning, download odin program and rooted kernel onto your pc. Then connect your phone to the pc, run odin program on the pc and follow the instruction on creezalird's guide. The link to download odin to your pc is also in the guide. for connecting your phone to the pc, the instruction is in the guide as well.

enjoy! smile.gif
superkingkong
post May 7 2012, 04:46 AM

467 posts

QUOTE(DreMAx @ May 7 2012, 02:34 AM)
Hi guys, I am totally new to this as I just got my SGS2 (GT-I9100G) just over 3 days ago.

I am using a baseband version of I9100GDZKL3. Can I still root according to the very first post considering that the very first post was since last year in October and now it's already May in 2012?

I am afraid of rooting but I really want to get the full potential of this phone. Is there anyone who can guide me?

Thank you in advance.
You can try to download the rooting guide by creezalird here
Since you are on KL3, probably flashing with rooted kernel will work.

This post has been edited by superkingkong: May 7 2012, 04:47 AM

0.0679sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:06 AM