Rooting your Samsung Galaxy SII (I9100G), also updating/repairing a bricked one

Travaller
post Jan 28 2012, 02:04 AM

269 posts

rooting my tab to overcome was easy until some blady snatch thief stole it away from me few months ago.

After some saving i got my new S2 and bricked my 1 day old i9100G yesterday and lucky i was able to get restock at Samsung center at Lowyat today. I think i miss a step or two or i insert a wrong file to flash. Dont dare to try it again =.= .. saw so many ICS type ROM at XDA .. soo tempting !!. Any expert wanna do it for me ... i spend u TT after that ... lolz ... biggrin.gif
Travaller
post Jan 28 2012, 11:25 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(hermanchb @ Jan 28 2012, 07:05 AM)
You can refer to Creezalird's Guide ~
i will try again later again but not now .. no confident scare bricked again.

QUOTE(metfan @ Jan 28 2012, 10:08 AM)
U sure u used the right ROM for g version? Only two ROMs that I know of can be used for g version. Lucky u can get replacement..
yeah i was lucky they do it for me biggrin.gif

Added on January 28, 2012, 11:29 pm
QUOTE(creezalird @ Jan 27 2012, 10:58 AM)
u have made the right assumption, of coz i am using G version too..lols, i even made a comprehensive guide for it..lols

not differs too much, both are still 2.3.6, only small minor bugfixes.

for easy rooting without voiding warranty, upgrade to KJ2. because KL3 cant be rooted with doomlord (refer my guide)
then after rooting i can use all thoese CM9 ICS rom which was post at xda right ?
Do i need to update to KL3 after that ? or should i update to any firmware update after that ?

This post has been edited by Travaller: Jan 28 2012, 11:31 PM
Travaller
post Jan 29 2012, 12:21 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(creezalird @ Jan 28 2012, 11:54 PM)
plz read more. it seems like u dont even understand the differences between the non G and G version. that was why u bricked ur phone before

cm9 ics is only for non g version.
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jan 29 2012, 12:11 AM)
Yours is i9100G. They is 2 Galaxy S II in market, one with G (i9100G) another without (i9100). All ROM at XDA 99.99% is for non G version. If you flash it in G version, your phone will bricked anytime any soon.
alright .. thanks to both sifus ... looks like its more complicated then doing it on my TAB .. biggrin.gif
Will check out ur guide creezalird biggrin.gif

0.0407sec    1.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:21 AM