20 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Rooting your Samsung Galaxy SII (I9100G), also updating/repairing a bricked one

creezalird
post Dec 2 2011, 08:10 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(kldoc @ Dec 2 2011, 08:56 PM)
C:\android>runme.bat
---------------------------------------------------------------
              Easy rooting toolkit (v3.0)
                  created by DooMLoRD
        using exploit zergRush (Revolutionary Team)
  Credits go to all those involved in making this possible!
[*] This script will:
    (1) root ur device using latest zergRush exploit (16 Nov)
    (2) install Busybox (1.18.4)
    (3) install SU files (binary: 3.0.3 and apk: 3.0.6)
[*] Before u begin:
    (1) make sure u have installed adb drivers for ur device
    (2) enable "USB DEBUGGING"
          from (Menu\Settings\Applications\Development)
    (3) enable "UNKNOWN SOURCES"
          from (Menu\Settings\Applications)
    (4) [OPTIONAL] increase screen timeout to 10 minutes
    (5) connect USB cable to PHONE and then connect to PC
    (6) skip "PC Companion Software" prompt on device
CONFIRM ALL THE ABOVE THEN
Appuyez sur une touche pour continuer...
--- STARTING ----
--- WAITING FOR DEVICE
* daemon not running. starting it now *
* daemon started successfully *
--- cleaning
--- pushing zergRush"
2814 KB/s (23056 bytes in 0.008s)
--- correcting permissions
--- executing zergRush

[**] Zerg rush - Android 2.2/2.3 local root
[**] © 2011 Revolutionary. All rights reserved.

[**] Parts of code from Gingerbreak, © 2010-2011 The Android Exploid Crew.

[+] Found a GingerBread ! 0x0002e118
[+] Found a Samsung, running Samsung mode
[*] Scooting ...
[*] Sleeping a bit (~40s)...
[*] Waking !
[*] Sending 149 zerglings ...
[*] Waking !
[*] Sending 189 zerglings ...
[+] Zerglings found a way to enter ! 0x18
[+] Overseer found a path ! 0x000305f0
[*] Waking !
[+] Overseer found a path ! 0x000306b8
[*] Waking !
[+] Zerglings caused crash (good news): 0x40322cd4 0x0074
[*] Researching Metabolic Boost ...
[+] Speedlings on the go ! 0xafd198cb 0xafd395cf
[*] Waking !
[*] Sending 181 zerglings ...

[+] Rush did it ! It's a GG, man !
[+] Killing ADB and restarting as root... enjoy!
--- WAITING FOR DEVICE TO RECONNECT
if it gets stuck over here for a long time then try:
  disconnect usb cable and reconnect it
  toggle "USB DEBUGGING" (first disable it then enable it)
--- DEVICE FOUND
--- pushing busybox
3499 KB/s (1075144 bytes in 0.300s)
--- remounting /system
--- copying busybox to /system/xbin/
2099+1 records in
2099+1 records out
1075144 bytes transferred in 0.058 secs (18536965 bytes/sec)
--- correcting ownership
--- installing busybox
--- pushing SU binary
3101 KB/s (22228 bytes in 0.007s)
--- correcting ownership
--- correcting symlinks
--- pushing Superuser app
2673 KB/s (785801 bytes in 0.287s)
--- cleaning
--- rebooting
ALL DONE!!!
I finaly did it !!!
And i found out the true reason why i made it work.
Some guy in the chinese most popular android forum did say that the results were really random depending on ram.
Zergrush is based on a ram exploit, since creezalird told us he installed a lot of things, i was thinking that maybe he didn't clean his phone ram, but i clean it all the time.
So i loaded 2 gameloft games in RAM, 3 making the phone crash because not enough memory, i did not close the games, just running in the background.
Then i ran doomlord's script, and it worked !

ZCKI1 kernel rooted !

Thanks to everybody here for their feedback, i'll myself continue to post on this board since we all own the same phone, and it's always usefull to share experience.
congratz man, finally u found ur way in..so its the memory after all..
creezalird
post Dec 2 2011, 11:45 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(kldoc @ Dec 3 2011, 12:14 AM)
What i did was to try to make my phone memory full, so that the zergrush didn't have much memory to run, i am in 2.3.5.
Sorry if it took me 1 hour or more to give some feedback, but installing android market and google apps gave me hard time too hahaha !
i just tried the "memory crash" test myself again, flashing back to 2.3.6 and reset everything to stock.
now, install some app, in my case 2 GPS navigations (papago and copilot), ran as many apps as possible and close it using home button, not back button.

check with task manager, ram usage should be at least 500mb and above. i've tested with around 400mb but without luck.

now time to run the doomlord script. and it worked, twice for me. thanks kldoc for the explaination

i think if another people also succeed using this theory, OP should add this to the frontpage smile.gif

This post has been edited by creezalird: Dec 2 2011, 11:48 PM
creezalird
post Dec 2 2011, 11:49 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(YGstans @ Dec 3 2011, 12:48 AM)
err ...what is OTA? Sorry for asking noob question...im a newbie >.<
OTA : over the air , which means update directly using wifi from ur phone.
creezalird
post Dec 3 2011, 12:10 AM

504 posts

no need to re-ran or whatsoever , one time run only
make sure the ram is showing 500mb/0.91gb in task manager. then ran script. all other precautions like killing kies app is implemented

currently backing up my rom using CWM, i flashed over superatmos kernel to get the CWM recovery using ktool

This post has been edited by creezalird: Dec 3 2011, 12:11 AM
creezalird
post Dec 3 2011, 12:18 AM

504 posts

[quote=YGstans,Dec 3 2011, 01:13 AM]
your phone just bought?

[/quote]

just bought last 2 weeks =.=||

[/quote]

go download the JK2 firmware from the first page and also download odin and the pit file.

after that use the second method guide as reference, not fully follow, just as reference to update

basically make sure usb debug ticked, unknown sources ticked, adb driver installed
ran odin
select pit file
select firmware file as PDA ( here u need to extract the firmware zip first and get the *.tar.md5 file inside, select this md5 file)
start flashing.

after finish all that, u need to follow the first guide. but make sure memory usage are high like 500mb above
creezalird
post Dec 3 2011, 12:21 AM

504 posts

QUOTE(kldoc @ Dec 3 2011, 01:18 AM)
My phone was bought 10 days ago ^^ Coming from iphone world, i have everything to re-learn, that is why i really wanted google services enabled ... Since everything is blocked here ... I managed to install everything i wanted, except google goggles, says my device not compatible ...
we all can't live without GOOGLE ;P
creezalird
post Dec 3 2011, 12:29 AM

504 posts

[quote=hermanchb,Dec 3 2011, 01:25 AM]
I just checked my ram usage, its 500mb above when i do nothing now.

Added on December 3, 2011, 12:28 am

just bought last 2 weeks =.=||

[/quote]

make sure u hv registered for warranty otherwise no update available~

[/quote]

so basically u have already running many background apps, i think that should work. if not, run more apps till the usage is very high, because i've tried twice and it should worked
creezalird
post Dec 3 2011, 01:04 AM

504 posts

QUOTE(YGstans @ Dec 3 2011, 01:48 AM)
creezalird...so i nid to use odin to flash to latest firmware then only can root?
to update u can either use KIES or odin or OTA
because u said u cant update thru KIES/OTA, so i assumed u need to update through odin

dont worry, as flashing official firmware/kernel will not increase the binary counter.

after updated, u can use the doomlord method(1st method), with additional memory crash
creezalird
post Dec 3 2011, 01:55 AM

504 posts

QUOTE(YGstans @ Dec 3 2011, 02:27 AM)
OK..thx bro...so by using odin is just folow the ''old technique'' in 1st page rite?
not totally, just for updating firmware, dont flash the rooted kernel if i presumed, u want to keep the warranty.
for rooting still follow the 1st method
creezalird
post Dec 3 2011, 01:17 PM

504 posts

nope, i never use any antivirus as i usually just being cautious with my surfing habits, and even it is not proven working after all

i've tested with fresh stock firmware, just add 2 gps apps, as usually gps apps use high RAM. other than that, i just ran everything and close with HOME button.

just try it, it wont kill u..LOLS

This post has been edited by creezalird: Dec 3 2011, 01:18 PM
creezalird
post Dec 3 2011, 02:15 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(hermanchb @ Dec 3 2011, 03:04 PM)
Dear Friend~! I Succeed to root as "Memory Crash", Thank you very much for your concern and sharing, I didn't un-install Antivirus, but proven your (kldoc included) method worked..... I LOVE YOU All ~!!!!!
congratz fren, at last.. so we can conclude that "memory crash" theory is supposed to work out right.
i9100G, do add to the frontpage please

hermanchb, go flash rooted kernel using ktool and backup your EFS and also rom. after that, what ever u want..lols

This post has been edited by creezalird: Dec 3 2011, 02:15 PM
creezalird
post Dec 3 2011, 02:45 PM

504 posts

lols,
CWM : clockworkmod recovery, usually used to flash custom rom and also make backup rom, get from rooted kernel such as superatmos or mygkernel

ktool : a tool developed by Hellcat(maybe), used for flashing kernel and also for backup EFS, get from market

EFS : it is a folder where sensitive information like IMEI number are stored, a backup should be done to prevent if worse case somehow u lost the data

setcpu or no-frills cpu : get from market or xda, from xda u can get setcpu full version.

This post has been edited by creezalird: Dec 3 2011, 02:47 PM
creezalird
post Dec 3 2011, 03:02 PM

504 posts

EFS is inside ur phone..lols..use ktool to back up the folder..

yep,fasterfix and gps status or gpsfix, because samsung s2 is super duper slow on locking gps compared to my old htc magic T_T
creezalird
post Dec 3 2011, 06:51 PM

504 posts

superatmos rom released !
SuperROM by superatmos
creezalird
post Dec 3 2011, 07:13 PM

504 posts

i think no one except superatmos himself and maybe some beta testers..LOLS
creezalird
post Dec 3 2011, 07:15 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(fauzi_91 @ Dec 3 2011, 08:13 PM)
hve u tried it?hahaa brows.gif
sure not. it just released like less than hour ago..haha..
currently downloading with my snail speed internet.. T_T
creezalird
post Dec 3 2011, 07:35 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(fauzi_91 @ Dec 3 2011, 08:20 PM)
lol..do we need to change to the superatmos kernel?or can i just use myGkernel to flash that rom? hmm.gif
no need lah..as long as u have CWM..just flash the rom..everything is included oledi.. smile.gif
creezalird
post Dec 3 2011, 07:51 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(fauzi_91 @ Dec 3 2011, 08:38 PM)
orite2..u try it first ok?hahaha tongue.gif
yep why not, i've been testing rom since ages...haha
just need to wait about 10hours more for the download to complete T_T
somebody lives around kota bharu, please download it for me..lols
creezalird
post Dec 3 2011, 08:42 PM

504 posts

QUOTE(fauzi_91 @ Dec 3 2011, 09:35 PM)
i think juffo's rom is better..=.='
haha, everyone has their own opinions, i prefer superatmos as he seems to emphasize on perfomance and reliability instead of appearance. but of course i will try it first and tell u all later like 8 hours, but tomorrow morning got some stuff to do.. T_T

Added on December 3, 2011, 8:45 pm
QUOTE(hermanchb @ Dec 3 2011, 09:25 PM)
Absolutely agree ~  rclxms.gif

Added on December 3, 2011, 8:31 pm
I have installed Ktool, then I can use it to flash superatmos or mygkernel, from superatmos or mygkernel I can get CWM, Finally my phone can flashes ROM with CWM. Am i right? hmm.gif

Added on December 3, 2011, 8:32 pm

Sorry~! I am living in Seremban...  sad.gif
u are totally right with the steps, but please do your own rom backup first with CWM before flashing another rom

haha, i am currently jumping around, currently at my parents house in kelantan, sometimes at my sisters Semenyih or Gombak. My internet here sucks, but so long internet is present, more than enufff..lols

This post has been edited by creezalird: Dec 3 2011, 08:45 PM
creezalird
post Dec 3 2011, 09:54 PM

504 posts

hermanchb and others who are wondering and questioning,

do read this article and it will give u better view smile.gif

CWM complete guide

20 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0425sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled