Rooting your Samsung Galaxy SII (I9100G), also updating/repairing a bricked one
RattleSnaKe
Jan 11 2012, 02:25 PM

@eddie, They dont light up, but sometimes the buttons go AWOL and I must turn on the lights for them to work again. Unfortunately I like the look of the White I9100G without the lights, it looks cleaner and less fussy.
*EDIT: Can you downgrade your firmware back to DZKJ2 after updating to newest one?
This post has been edited by RattleSnaKe: Jan 11 2012, 03:21 PM
RattleSnaKe
Jan 11 2012, 03:22 PM

The buttons not working. Can you downgrade your firmware back to DZKJ2 after updating to newest one?
RattleSnaKe
Jan 11 2012, 04:48 PM

So if I update using Kies, my all app and data will lost? I havent update through Kies before.
RattleSnaKe
Jan 11 2012, 06:13 PM

I havent update, still running DZKJ2 + superatmos v1.1 + Vertumus ICS.
RattleSnaKe
Jan 11 2012, 08:40 PM

I think we can flash those rooted kernel with new update DZKJ3 to set SU access but that will add our Binary counter.
RattleSnaKe
Jan 11 2012, 10:10 PM

I thought Superatmos kernel v1.1 support custom bootanimation but I dont seem to make it work.
RattleSnaKe
Jan 11 2012, 11:10 PM

I have alot of Jack Sparrow games and can report on compatbility oso:
my Asphalt 6 got some minor bugs RealRacing2 no problem Shadowgun runs fine Nova 2 works perfectly Dead Space from Samsung Apps is perfect Gangstar Miami is ok GTAIII no problems
RattleSnaKe
Jan 15 2012, 05:00 PM

Is it that I must flash Superatmos v2.0 to use those animation? Last time I copied some into the system/media folder but nothing come out when booting, btw I running v1.1.
RattleSnaKe
Jan 16 2012, 09:25 PM

Eh guys, is battery life good (idle 1-2% for 8 hours) with Superatmos kernel v2.0 and SuperROM 2.0? Last time i try superatmos kernel 2.0 very bad, so now use back v1.1 only.
RattleSnaKe
Jan 18 2012, 10:54 PM

Did they check the Binary Count?
RattleSnaKe
Jan 19 2012, 04:08 PM

Do you think the backup files from Titanum Backup work? I got them in my PC if you are interested. it is the stock camera from DZKJ2.
RattleSnaKe
Jan 20 2012, 02:52 PM

So you just flashed the kernel after updating through Kies? Could try this out. By the way, any early indication of battery life?
RattleSnaKe
Jan 20 2012, 09:48 PM

Rooting using doomlord, failed with new firmware. I guess I would flsah through Odin then.
This post has been edited by RattleSnaKe: Jan 20 2012, 09:49 PM
RattleSnaKe
Jan 20 2012, 10:25 PM

You just need to flash a rooted kernel ie: Superatmos or MyGKernel. It will add your binary count and could void your warranty. Asking sifus here, if I flash a stock kernel through kTool after flashing a modded kernel, will I still have SU permissions?
RattleSnaKe
Jan 20 2012, 11:05 PM

Another little problem I am facing now is that the bootanimation.zip file that I put into the Superatmos folder in the root of /sdcard automaticly disappear after I flashed the original kernel through ktool. Now my boot animation is a blank screen..
RattleSnaKe
Jan 20 2012, 11:44 PM

Flash ROM must use CWM. Put your ROM .zip file into your /sdcard and flash it through CWM. CWM can be accessed by pressing vol+, home, power buttons and releasing the power button when the screen with "Samsung Galaxy S II" appears.
RattleSnaKe
Jan 21 2012, 01:15 AM

I think i screwed up when trying to remove the yellow triangle. Now my phone is stuck with the image of an phone with a PC with a yellow triangle in the middle. Any help?
RattleSnaKe
Jan 21 2012, 01:21 AM

Now I sort of fixed it since my phone is actually stuck in download mode. I think the USB connection between my phone and my computer somehow got messed up. I flashed the stock ROM back in and it seems to work now.
RattleSnaKe
Jan 23 2012, 02:46 AM

If you buy it from the market it should work without doing anything. If you sideloaded it then you need to have the correct .apk file verison.