Tp Link TL-MR3420 3G/3.75G router owner club V1

HexPhoenix
post May 16 2012, 04:03 AM

537 posts

hi,

i want to ask, I'm planning to purchase a 3G router use with my Huawei UMG1831.

Plus, later on, I want to increase the WiFi coverage of this router around 100m radius, covering as high as 2 1/2 storey apartment by purchasing another router as Wireless Repeater or equip with yet-to-buy JJCorp JJ24BTA Wireless Booster.

Sharing with max. 8 people.

Does this router (Tp Link TL-MR3420) suits my purpose?
HexPhoenix
post Jul 3 2012, 02:24 PM

537 posts

hi

wanna ask you guys opinion.

i'm already planning to buy Tl-MR3420 + some cooling fan.

Yet, I also wanna buy an Wifi Signal Amplifier to amplify MR3420's signal up to 1KM radius. Since install it will bring me more hassle, I thought to give this (Wifi Amplifier) a go. The one i'm gonna purchase is JJCorp brand, so I thought want to ask some opinion, whether is there anybody have doing the same.

HexPhoenix
post Jul 3 2012, 03:19 PM

537 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Jul 3 2012, 02:59 PM)
Product link?

Also, do you need 1KM radius or just 1KM direct point-to-point link?
1KM radius. Cater about 10-30 people, high stressed condition (all massdownloading/youtube/etc)

Here is the link:

JJ24BTB

or something like this.
HexPhoenix
post Jul 5 2012, 12:27 AM

537 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Jul 4 2012, 04:18 PM)
Not familiar with the product but it looks like other similar signal amplifiers.

10-30 users is a lot for heavy downloading.
Do you have enough bandwidth?

Lastly, you have to take into account your surroundings.
Are there buildings or trees between you and the end-users?
Are you in a low lying area?
The 1KM radius is only in open space.

Don't forget rain will also degrade your signal strength too.
i planned so that about at max 10 PCs/laptops. Another maybe 20-30 smartphones.

Bandwidth and quota is never a problem.

But I now still not very sure how well wifi signal amplifier works. If its only can expand through at max 100m, I don't mind as long the signal is strong enough to penetrate building. I have 5 buildings, 3 storey each, side by side, and I want to put this at the highest position, (3rd storey). The signal must penetrate all rooms in all buildings listed. Since I thought 1KM is VERY strong signal, so definitely it can penetrate these building.

Wireless repeaters is quite a cost for me, plus there will be technical problems if I want to install it in many locations due to different ownership of those houses.
HexPhoenix
post Jul 7 2012, 03:34 AM

537 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Jul 5 2012, 09:41 PM)
Have you considered putting your AP across from the five buildings so that you blast the signal through the front of the buildings?
You also want QOS so that the user with the strongest signal don't suck up all the bandwidth.
i thought of that before, but i only want to establish this wifi temporarily, about 1 year, and my current budget is the biggest limitation besides technical problems of installing those APs in different buildings.

just want to confirm, i guess is that even the strongest amplifiers will only work in line of sight, and might not work when been blocked with various obstacles (walls, furnitures, glass windows, etc), right?
HexPhoenix
post Aug 28 2012, 01:32 PM

537 posts

hi guys,

I want to ask, how do I enable QoS (Quality of Service) in TL-MR3420; all people who connect to the router wirelessly get the same share of speed and bandwidth, regardless their position from the router.

Since I don't want a person hogs all the bandwidth when he sitting right beside the router while another person who sitting at more distant proximity get slower speed since he can't get signal strength at full bar.

is it enabling WMM at Wireless Advance setting?
HexPhoenix
post Aug 29 2012, 05:37 PM

537 posts

QUOTE(kaisam @ Aug 28 2012, 05:17 PM)
u can try Bandwidth Control Settings.

Thank you.    biggrin.gif
Thanks. smile.gif

Btw, I want to limit the connection of WiFi to 15 connections; means that only 15 people can have access to my WiFi, through MAC address filtering. Is it only to set up the MAC address filtering and all is set? What about people who trying to connect and try and try and try... since they will see the network is left without password, do their attempt of connecting to the network will make the network congested?

Since I'm about to set up a connection using this router like the situation above, I'm worried about the heat generated by the router during the peak hours... plus it will be equipped with a signal booster and metteor yagi 3g antenna. Do they affect my network setup?

p/s: sounds impossible for those devices to interrupt the connection, but I'm preparing for the worst.

HexPhoenix
post Sep 14 2012, 08:23 AM

537 posts

morning all sifus...

i'm currently using this router with maxis unlimited, sharing it between 5-7 people.

the problem is, about two people who sharing the same router loves youtube and they hogging all the bandwidth from the router.

since we friends shared this router for leisure purpose, blogwalking, little facebook and such, things like hogging youtube is very annoying.

i guess in this modem there are settings that can allow us control bandwidth of certain sites, inside rules list of bandwidth control + IP & MAC binding.

the problem is, I don't know how to configure it.

I hope sifus here don't mind to share the knowledge of how to do it.

Thank you. smile.gif

0.0530sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:53 PM