HTC Sensation with Sense 3.0 Official Thread V3, now with XE and Beats audio

Racerx
post Oct 21 2011, 12:46 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(ScOttY_PanG @ Oct 21 2011, 03:21 AM)
Hi Sensation and Sensation XE users..

Can i know comment of these phone??
Really really interested to get this phone..specially XE..
But looking forward if Maxis or Digi gonna come with their data plan will be better..I not sure they will release??

the XE really works fine and nice with the monster beat earphone...
There are better phones out there,as such i suggest waiting a bit more for them to arrive in Malaysia first [the Doid RAZR and Galaxy Nexus comes to mind].Prices might change by then.
QUOTE(xgnesh93 @ Oct 21 2011, 07:50 AM)
Good Morning Guys & Gals,,

Yesterday, i got myself MOMAX Battery which carries Li-Ion 1700 mAh and casing for my Sensation.. According to Salesman, this battery are good and can stand about a day and half for average user. I mentioned to him that my sensation std batery are poor only last half day only, he does suggested to me to use this Brand MOMAX which High Capacity. So far he have sold almost 9 pcs to his customer, no complain so far..

One more thing, I did a survey yesterday, asking few shops in Sunway Pyramid , that I trade my Sensation 2 week old SIS warranty and buy XE, guess what did the shops ask to top up..

Almost every shops that i asked, they are only taking my set at range of RM800 -900.00 only.. WOW thats very low for 2 week old set..

Anyway I not planing to change now as i m new to Android Platform, furthermore this is my high end phone for now as i just jumped ship to Android from Symbian..

Also, i just to know how to increase volume sound as quite low..
Why would you want to trade in anyway?Aside from the larger battery and Beats earphones it's basically the same thing,you can just flash a custom ROM in your phone and it'll become a Sensation XE as well.

Added on October 21, 2011, 12:47 pmRooting and flashing a new firmware is easy,just follow the steps on XDA one by one and you'll do fine.

This post has been edited by Racerx: Oct 21 2011, 12:47 PM
Racerx
post Oct 23 2011, 12:19 AM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

I don't know if this was mentioned before in the V2 thread but our Sensation has been supported officially by MIUI.US,the latest release for this phone is MIUI 1.10.14.
Racerx
post Oct 23 2011, 01:02 AM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Oct 23 2011, 12:41 AM)
As I said earlier, if u are comparing XE vs SGS2.

XE - 1.5Ghz dual core + 768MB RAM
SGS2 - 1.2Ghz dual core + 1GB RAM

I would prefer a faster processor than RAM. RAM is important if you are a multitasking fella.

But ask yourself, how often do u multitask? How often do u browsing + gaming + whatsapp + listen music all perform at the same time?

So, in the end, XE still faster than SGS2 especially in the gaming department bcos of faster processor.

and the extra 256RAM compare to SGS2 wont make much difference on performance.

This is why also iphone 4S decided only to increase CPU speed but maintain the same RAM of just 512MB RAM as iphone4.
The two ARM Cortex A9 cores in the SGS2 at 1.2GHz is similar or faster than the two 1.5GHz Scorpion cores in the XE as the IPC performance of the A9 core is higher than the Scorpion icon_idea.gif
Racerx
post Oct 23 2011, 01:21 AM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Oct 23 2011, 01:11 AM)
Sometimes IPC cant be 100% accurate and it is not fair also.

XE got Sense UI but SGS2 only got the boring Touchwiz. Sure XE needs more CPU to run which might lead to lower IPC performance.

You can only compare when both phones run 100% on vanilla Android.

If SGS2 can install Sense UI, I believe SGS2 will lag oso.
I compared based on Anandtech's SGS2 benchmark results here[Linpack Single and Multithreaded] against my own Sensation running MIUI / CM7 at 1.5GHz which averages 52 points on the single threaded test and 82 points on the multithreaded task.Even with Touchwiz on top the SGS2 still shows better benchmark scores than the Sensation.

This post has been edited by Racerx: Oct 23 2011, 01:23 AM
Racerx
post Oct 24 2011, 10:35 AM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(Octopus88 @ Oct 23 2011, 05:48 PM)
how come the owner list of XE so few...this phone no so popular in malaysia or what...may i ask is this phone the best performance in sound so far since its using dr dre  drool.gif
Nope,there are other phones that are better sound quality wise.It's just and equalizer setting anyway,plus the Beats earphones are far from being the best.
Racerx
post Oct 24 2011, 11:31 AM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Oct 24 2011, 11:26 AM)
at least better than iphone & SGS2 lo..
Sound quality wise the iPhone 4 is better than our Sensation [compared using the same headphones].
Of course,the Beats earphones bundled with the XE is better than the stock Apple buds but comparing sound quality based on different earphones/headphones isn't fair.

Added on October 24, 2011, 11:32 amCompared to the SGS2,our Sensation should be better [based on GSMarena's test] but i can't say for sure as i haven't tried comparing one side by side yet.

This post has been edited by Racerx: Oct 24 2011, 11:32 AM
Racerx
post Oct 26 2011, 05:26 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(xgnesh93 @ Oct 26 2011, 04:44 PM)
how to flash my stock rom of Sensation to Stock rom Sensation XE ?
One more is the our Sensation Rom is 2.3.4 latest, i heard there are new update 2.3.5.. Is this available ?
Just brought Patriot Micro SD Class 10 - 16gb at RM100 at lowyat plaza..
First you need to S-OFF your phone ,then you need to flash clockworkmod recovery into your phone ,then backup your phone and flash another ROM.All instructions are available on the front page.
Racerx
post Oct 29 2011, 04:48 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(queenc @ Oct 29 2011, 12:29 AM)
can u guys read his post

u agree..

make me even confuse to choose

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=46316458

I agree with what he said,Sense is a memory hogger.For example,i tried a custom Sense 3.5 ROM,after a fresh boot there's only around 130MB~ of free RAM while on CM7 there's more than 350MB of free RAM.To me this is a dealbreaker as i surf the internet a lot on the phone with multiple tabs ,if there's not much free RAM some of the tabs are not saved in RAM thus making me have to load them again.

That said,HTC's hardware certainly is solid and that's what made me buy the Sensation [aside from the fact that i got mine a lot cheaper than the asking price for an AP SGS2]

Added on October 29, 2011, 4:49 pm
QUOTE(queenc @ Oct 29 2011, 04:00 PM)
but..
the ui can change rit with custon rom?
AFAIK there's MIUI,CM7 and custom ROMs based on Samsung's ROM for the SGS2 but no Sense based ROMs.

This post has been edited by Racerx: Oct 29 2011, 04:49 PM
Racerx
post Nov 1 2011, 01:28 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(VictorKeong @ Oct 31 2011, 10:16 PM)
im aiming for HTC sensation
but im kinda cnfuse though
XD
should i spend extra for a better CPU n nice headset (HTC Sensation XE)??
plus can any1 tell me
do this phones have any problem so far??
rating out of 10??
TQ biggrin.gif
Personally i'd give it a 7.5/10
0.5 marks deducted for having no user accessible built in storage
1 mark deducted for the terrible speaker [it sounds crackled when fully cranked and yet the volume still isn't loud enough]
1 mark deducted for the fact that text flickers when scrolling [very obvious when scrolling white text on a dark background][should only happen on screens made by AUO,screens made by Sharp shouldn't have this problem]

Problems?If you hold the top part near the earpiece with your hand WIFI signal drops significantly.

This post has been edited by Racerx: Nov 1 2011, 01:29 PM
Racerx
post Nov 8 2011, 08:46 AM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(iamalif1990 @ Nov 8 2011, 01:46 AM)
how can you say not much difference? HTC Rezound got HD display not qHD. the processor is Qualcomm MSM8660 better than Qualcomm MSM8260. and it got 8 megapixel camera with f/2.2 sensor. apart from the internal storage and ram. and for your information HTC Rezound and HTC Vigor is the same phone  cool.gif
The difference between MSM8660 and MSM8260 is that MSM8660 supports CDMA while MSM8260 supports GSM,other than that they're the same.

Racerx
post Nov 16 2011, 02:17 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(E71s @ Nov 16 2011, 01:31 PM)
Was that basing on stock Rom to stock Rom?
Cause in actually there is no any hardware differences between xe and non xe other than the bigger battery,am I correct?
Even they use the same sound chip and what they call music enhance is just equalizer settings?
From what i can gather based on Engadget's review and XDA the XE and normal Sensation are exactly the same except for software and battery.
Anyway guys,what's the best Sense ROM with the best battery life?
Racerx
post Nov 17 2011, 12:55 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(E71s @ Nov 17 2011, 12:15 PM)
Mine's made by AUO and text seem to flicker while scrolling,how about you guys? hmm.gif
Racerx
post Nov 20 2011, 10:18 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(ChaosSixth @ Nov 20 2011, 01:07 PM)
hey im back for so long didnt join u all.. just wondering, mind all the members post what earphone/iem they use with their sensation to get more SENSATIONAL MUSIC biggrin.gif
When at home i use a pair of ATH-M50 + PowerAMP ,music as the way it's meant to be heard blush.gif
Racerx
post Nov 22 2011, 06:24 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(whitegoh @ Nov 22 2011, 05:56 PM)
hi, want to ask u all, if for performance, CM7 or MIUI or ARHD?
CM7 or MIUI would be faster and use less memory than ARHD.
That said,CM7 is not fully stable yet hence the Alpha status.
Racerx
post Nov 25 2011, 07:38 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(generalhwh @ Nov 25 2011, 03:16 PM)
guys,i juz got my normal Sensation a week ago...phone is still unrooted...

Here is my questions:
1)Why is the browser can open max 4 windows only?
2)Is there any true multitasking in android?My browser kept shutting off when i switch to other apps.And when i reopen it.Only one window left but it gotta reload again. Any solutions?

Before this i used Nokia N900.Hopefully u guys got wat kind of multitasking im talking abt.thank you.
I experienced that as well using the stock Sense ROM but it's gone when i'm using CM7 / MIUI so i suspect is because Sense uses more RAM thus the pages are cleared from the RAM when you change to another app.
Racerx
post Nov 26 2011, 12:41 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(whitegoh @ Nov 26 2011, 01:28 AM)
and i want to ask those who are using MIUI, is there "internet pass through"?
and how much free ram for user???
coz sense eat up lots of ram and is kinda sucks when i'm multitasking.
On MIUI /CM7 there's no internet pass through,it's a Sense feature.
On my phone running MIUI upon boot there's around 370MB of free RAM.
Racerx
post Nov 27 2011, 05:55 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 27 2011, 05:23 PM)
Even on Digi if you do not have a plan and you use data network, it won't stop as well. A friend of mine hit more than 2k thanks to Digi staff forgetting to send in the application for data plan. doh.gif But if you have plan on Digi after exceeding, throttle speed. On Maxis, after exceeding charge at normal rate, that's why have to be very careful. Maxis only have one unlimited data plan but limited to Business registration only. RM99 a month unlimited. doh.gif
4GB internal is only for system files etc etc. 768mb RAM is more than sufficient. nod.gif
And no I guess. Doesn't hang. smile.gif
Do you know exactly where or how can i register for that plan?
Racerx
post Nov 27 2011, 08:43 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 27 2011, 06:44 PM)
You must be on their business Huan Xi line first then you have to fax in an official letter stating that you want to have that plan activated. Even that RM99 seems a little too much to ask from customers comparing to other operators.
So if i do that then the account will be under the company then?There's no way a private home user to get it?
AFAIK it's the only truly unlimited data plan ,right?If so then RM99 is cheap IMO,
Racerx
post Nov 27 2011, 11:55 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(whitegoh @ Nov 27 2011, 11:09 PM)
no much people are flashing rom addictor i guess  cry.gif
anyhow. anyone tried the hypersensation??
I'm currently using Hypersensation v1.0F,basically it's just a themed and slightly tweaked CM7 Alpha10 so performance is roughly the same on both.720p video recording is working fine but 1080p still doesn't work.

QUOTE(maxgenesis @ Nov 27 2011, 11:35 PM)
I working at Maxis before [quit this year at august]. They already implemented the unlimited data usage with quota of speed. Again as I said before, you can use but when it reach exceed 3GB quota, it would not charge you for extra but instead low down your downloading speed. If you got the case if you exceed 3GB quota and charge you for the extra usage this is because their blardy system SUX big time. They won't invest on better system but upgrading with SUPER lots of bugs and errors.

This also applied to Celcom but not the system as they already set the method long time ago unlike Maxis. So if you travel  a lot use Celcom (serious good) because the price and internet is balance. If you rich go ahead use Maxis which is much stable. But if you stay in KL or major town with low budget allocated for your call bills, use DIGI.

p/s: I not promoting Celcom although I just change from Maxis to Celcom for 3 months.  biggrin.gif
Oh,i thought that plan is still truly unlimited like last year.I've been eyeing it for some time as with Celcom right now i need to try connecting a lot of time until a can get an IP with HSPA speeds ,if i just connect straight away i'll only get UMTS speeds [using the Weekly Broadband with a postpaid line] sweat.gif
Is there any tips you can give on how to get HSPA speeds all the time? brows.gif
Racerx
post Nov 28 2011, 12:32 AM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(whitegoh @ Nov 28 2011, 12:14 AM)
so how was it if compare with MIUI?? Which u prefer??? and which one u feel is snappier???
I'd put it like this
Hypersensation>CM7>MIUI since the tweaks done are actually quite useful.
In terms of snappiness,the stock kernel isn't as snappy as the Bricked Kernel or faux123's Kernel.I downclocked my phone down to 1.0GHz using Bricked/faux123's kernel and it still is noticeably smoother than the stock CM7 kernel running at 1.2GHz.Compared to Insertcoin with the CPU at 1.5GHz it is still better while using less RAM. brows.gif

0.0253sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:01 PM