Lawyer Fees., Overcharge.

TSspchon2
post Oct 12 2011, 11:12 AM, updated 15y ago

46 posts

i purchases a condo with amount of RM309k. the total spa cost from lawyer is RM11,315.78. is it reasonable? can i report this to lawyer bar council? the lawyer firm is from mutiara tropicana. i deal with one lady who claims she is one of the partner. her name is H*Y*T**.
Alvinyeo
post Oct 12 2011, 11:52 AM

Talk is Cheap
1,752 posts

Legal Fees

Sales & Purchase Agreement

Scale

Percentage

1)First RM150,000.00 1%
2)Next RM850,000.00 0.7%
3)Next RM2,000,000.00 0.6%
4)Next RM2,000,000.00 0.5%
5)Next RM2,000,000.00 0.4%
6)Excess of RM7,500,000.00 Negotiable on the excess but shall not excess 0.4% of such excess

Standard counting.

Sources : http://www.alvin.my/2011/07/buying-guide/

Added on October 12, 2011, 11:55 amYour SPA standard legal fee should be RM2613 only. You can always choose other lawyer and not go for 1 lawyer only. What i do is to get quotation for few lawyers to compare. Your cost is include the stamp duty ad is it ?

This post has been edited by Alvinyeo: Oct 12 2011, 11:55 AM
leongal
post Oct 12 2011, 11:56 AM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

use the calculator here: http://www.e-properties2u.com/loanlegal.html

don't know your loan amount...so can't calculate the legal fee for loan

but for s&p, it is about RM 8,900
michaellee
post Oct 12 2011, 11:57 AM

1,096 posts

QUOTE(Alvinyeo @ Oct 12 2011, 11:52 AM)
Legal Fees

Sales & Purchase Agreement

Scale

Percentage

1)First RM150,000.00        1%
2)Next RM850,000.00        0.7%
3)Next RM2,000,000.00 0.6%
4)Next RM2,000,000.00 0.5%
5)Next RM2,000,000.00 0.4%
6)Excess of RM7,500,000.00 Negotiable on the excess but shall not excess 0.4% of such excess

Standard counting.

Sources : http://www.alvin.my/2011/07/buying-guide/

Added on October 12, 2011, 11:55 amYour SPA standard legal fee should be RM2613 only. You can always choose other lawyer and not go for 1 lawyer only. What i do is to get quotation for few lawyers to compare. Your cost is include the stamp duty ad is it ?
I believe TS mentioned total bill. Even then, it is quite expensive. Unless it includes facilities agreements + costs. TS should be a lot clearer in presenting his/her case.
NaMyzarC
post Oct 12 2011, 11:57 AM

1,140 posts

why don't list down the detail for each charges instead of total sum
SUSjalsrix
post Oct 12 2011, 01:01 PM

1,927 posts

List down details like

lawyer fees

govt stamp duty

as these two are the largest.
airline
post Oct 12 2011, 01:02 PM

7 stars
7,923 posts

like this also want to report?
TSspchon2
post Oct 12 2011, 01:31 PM

46 posts

only spa. yeah, i think the lawyer charge too much. the details as below,

SPA Agreement: RM2,613
Memorandum of Transfer: RM300
Entry of Private Caveat: RM300
Withdrawal of Private Caveat: RM300
CKHT 2A: RM400
State Authority Consent: RM300

6% Government Tax: RM252.78

DISBURSEMENTS:
STAMPING OF SPA: RM40
STAMP DUTY ON TRANSFER: RM5,180
REGISTRATION FEE FOR TRANSFER: RM400
ENTRY OF PRIVATE CAVEAT: RM340
WITHDRAWAL OF PRIVATE CAVEAT: RM100
BANKRUPTCY SEARCH: RM50
LAND SEARCH: RM90
AFFIRMATION ON STATUTORY DECLARATION: RM50
CARIAN RASMI AND PROCESSING FEE FOR CONSENT: RM100
REGISTRATION FEES FOR CONSENT TO TRANSFER: RM100
STAMPING STATUTORY DECLARATION: RM50
PRINTING & PHOTOCOPYING CHARGES: RM150
TRANSPORT, TELEPHONE & FACSIMILE CHARGES: RM150
MISCELLANEOUS: RM50

TOTAL: 11,315.78

another blood sucker lawyer. guys, u all better watch out to get rid of this lawyer!
wunderbar
post Oct 12 2011, 01:39 PM

46 posts

if only SPA then yes, its a bit on the high side.
should be around 8-9k for your loan amount.

but if its including Stamp Duty (like you mentioned), then it is a reasonable amount.
if first house then can ask for further discount smile.gif

memang lidat wan la, always remember there is a small ++ tag attached to your house price smile.gif

This post has been edited by wunderbar: Oct 12 2011, 01:40 PM
Seremban_2
post Oct 12 2011, 02:15 PM

1,491 posts

Don't go through Real Estate Agent or Banker?

If you Planning to ask for discount then that is the bill.
leongal
post Oct 12 2011, 04:44 PM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(spchon2 @ Oct 12 2011, 01:31 PM)

DISBURSEMENTS:

another blood sucker lawyer. guys, u all better watch out to get rid of this lawyer!
well, for the price paid, did your lawyer performed his duty as expected?
yhtan
post Oct 12 2011, 06:32 PM

8,653 posts

DISBURSEMENTS:

No problem for the charges for my opinion since they follow the table given by lawyer association
If i'm not mistaken, SPA agreement fee is not negotiable according to the lawyer association, except for real estate above RM1mil.

Other expenses i got no comment, maybe u can negotiate with them in this matter.
Instead of complaining, i think the efficiency of work they conduct is much more important. Since you already pay for the fee, maybe u can try to ask seek legal advise on real estate to improve your knowledge.

TSspchon2
post Oct 12 2011, 08:29 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ Oct 12 2011, 04:44 PM)
well, for the price paid, did your lawyer performed his duty as expected?
not at all. hav u encounter that when u call the lawyer 10 times per day, not even answer call once. and she never call back or sms back. what can do abt this?
ruben7389
post Oct 12 2011, 10:01 PM

biology1168
1,137 posts

QUOTE(spchon2 @ Oct 12 2011, 08:29 PM)
not at all. hav u encounter that when u call the lawyer 10 times per day, not even answer call once. and she never call back or sms back. what can do abt this?
I have... I just went to their office the next day and stormed in. Made a lot of fuss but they were also delayed in many other things.

Have changed lawyers after that property
Alvinyeo
post Oct 12 2011, 10:30 PM

Talk is Cheap
1,752 posts

If is include Stamp duty than is really not that weird. Cause stamp duty very expansive. Usually you can ask the lawyer for discount at the disbursement part there. That is where they make the most.
yhtan
post Oct 12 2011, 11:46 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(spchon2 @ Oct 12 2011, 08:29 PM)
QUOTE(ruben7389 @ Oct 12 2011, 10:01 PM)
I have... I just went to their office the next day and stormed in.  Made  a  lot of fuss but they were also delayed in many other things.

Have changed lawyers after that property
this is far worse than my parent case

bought this house and paid for all expenses, including assessment for 2H 2010, end up still owing assessment for 2H 2010, call numerous time to lawyer and keep pushing here and there doh.gif
TSspchon2
post Oct 14 2011, 08:57 AM

46 posts

is there anything i can do abt the charges? because of this lawyer, i had read through the SRO. is the SRO still valid? coz it was from year 2005.
leongal
post Oct 14 2011, 11:04 AM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(spchon2 @ Oct 14 2011, 08:57 AM)
is there anything i can do abt the charges? because of this lawyer, i had read through the SRO. is the SRO still valid? coz it was from year 2005.
i would say, most likely, nothing can be done
ruben7389
post Oct 14 2011, 02:24 PM

biology1168
1,137 posts

I just got my invoice from my lawyer - preperty under master title so no caveats etc. purchase price 465K lawyer fee excluding stamp duty 3029.30. IMO she is quite good as she has done my previous purchase. Location Puchong so if you want PM me I'll pass you her contact
leongal
post Oct 14 2011, 03:11 PM

3,188 posts

also @ spchon2, did your lawyer perform his duties as expected? if so, you should feel "lucky"
cynthusc
post Oct 14 2011, 04:26 PM

503 posts

DISBURSEMENTS:

From the bill it looks like your property is with title, leasehold or purchase by foreigner and to be registered under two names. Where is the Property?
Private Caveat is optional but advisable if you do not trust the Seller.
Bankruptcy search on the Purchaser's status not necessary but it is necessary for the Seller
Land Search should only be RM30 unless there is more than one title
Affirmation is only RM4 per person so I am not sure why they are charging so high
Why do they need to stamp the Statutory Declaration? This is only necessary for the loan and not the SPA
Why are you paying for the State Authority's Consent? If the land is a leasehold land then the Seller should pay but if the consent is pertaining to the Purchaser buying as a foreign citizen then the Purchaser pays.

TSspchon2
post Oct 14 2011, 10:20 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(ruben7389 @ Oct 14 2011, 02:24 PM)
I just got my invoice from my lawyer - preperty under master title so no caveats etc. purchase price 465K lawyer fee excluding stamp duty 3029.30.  IMO she is quite good as she has done my previous purchase.  Location Puchong so if you want PM me I'll pass you her contact
thanks for ur suggestion. but my spa stamped.

Added on October 14, 2011, 10:30 pm
QUOTE(cynthusc @ Oct 14 2011, 04:26 PM)
From the bill it looks like your property is with title, leasehold or purchase by foreigner and to be registered under two names. Where is the Property?
Private Caveat is optional but advisable if you do not trust the Seller.
Bankruptcy search on the Purchaser's status not necessary but it is necessary for the Seller
Land Search should only be RM30 unless there is more than one title
Affirmation is only RM4 per person so I am not sure why they are charging so high
Why do they need to stamp the Statutory Declaration? This is only necessary for the loan and not the SPA
Why are you paying for the State Authority's Consent? If the land is a leasehold land then the Seller should pay but if the consent is pertaining to the Purchaser buying as a foreign citizen then the Purchaser pays.
hi cynthusc,

the property is freehold with strata title. i am msian. it is under 2 names.

do i still need the state authority consent?

the spa stamped already. anything i can do?

This post has been edited by spchon2: Oct 14 2011, 10:30 PM
CherryLady
post Oct 15 2011, 04:50 AM

Hi spchon, perhaps the attached link (enabling you to download the SRO) may be of assistance. You can refer to the First Schedule for the details on the legal fees on the SPA, the quoted fee is correct, but I doubt certain items here:-

PROFESSIONAL FEES
1) Legal Fee on MOT - As far as I am concerned, in subsale case, once legal fee has been charged on the SPA, automatically legal fee on the MOT for RM300 should be waived.
2) Entry of Private Caveat should be RM200 (not RM300) & Withdrawal should be RM150 (not RM300 as per quoted). Refer to Item (h) and (i) respectively of The Fifth Schedule of SRO. However, this is at your option. You may elect not to lodge caveat but in order to better protect your interest, please proceed with the caveat.
3) CKHT 2A - Should be RM200 (not RM400 as per quoted) - Item (e) of the Fifth Schedule SRO.
4) State Consent (Legal fee of RM300) - For freehold property & since you're Malaysian, no need leh!!

DISBURSEMENTS
1) Withdrawal of Private Caveat - Is it Selangor property?The fee should only be RM60.
2) Land Search - Correct, RM30 per search. Normally lawyers charged RM60 (RM30 at the stage of opening the file & RM30 prior to presentation).
3) Affirmation on SD - Correct, RM4 or RM5 per affirmation. If they charge RM20/RM30 should be sufficient already.
4) Carian Rasmi & Processing Fee AND registration fee on consent to transfer - What the heck?This is freehold kan?No such charges unless there is restriction in title!
5) Stamping SD - Minimal stamping per SD is RM10, if they charged RM20/RM30 is already enough.

The rest might involved minimal mark-up (in case of urgency/any necessities). However, you may negotiate further on printing/transport charges. However, if they cannot give on that two items, not really a big issue. But the rest...Dude, you may check with that lawyer again! Bring the SRO, it is still valid & applicable, no amendments made as of to date. Scrutinize the item 1 by 1. Good luck! rclxms.gif

Anyway, disbursement can be negotiated, only legal fees are not allowed as already set under the SRO.

Added on October 15, 2011, 4:51 amSorry, missed out the link.

http://www.malaysianbar.org.my/index.php?I...ask=doc_details

SPA stamped?But have you paid the fees?Though fees paid you can ask for the refund.

Added on October 15, 2011, 4:59 amOh yes. For SPA, SDs for bankruptcy & own occupation are not required. Those are only for loan. You may discuss on that part too.

This post has been edited by CherryLady: Oct 15 2011, 04:59 AM
TSspchon2
post Oct 18 2011, 09:56 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(CherryLady @ Oct 15 2011, 04:50 AM)
Hi spchon, perhaps the attached link (enabling you to download the SRO) may be of assistance. You can refer to the First Schedule for the details on the legal fees on the SPA, the quoted fee is correct, but I doubt certain items here:-

PROFESSIONAL FEES
1) Legal Fee on MOT - As far as I am concerned, in subsale case, once legal fee has been charged on the SPA, automatically legal fee on the MOT for RM300 should be waived.
2) Entry of Private Caveat should be RM200 (not RM300) & Withdrawal should be RM150 (not RM300 as per quoted). Refer to Item (h) and (i) respectively of The Fifth Schedule of  SRO. However, this is at your option. You may elect not to lodge caveat but in order to better protect your interest, please proceed with the caveat.
3) CKHT 2A - Should be RM200 (not RM400 as per quoted) - Item (e) of the Fifth Schedule SRO.
4) State Consent (Legal fee of RM300) - For freehold property & since you're Malaysian, no need leh!!

DISBURSEMENTS
1) Withdrawal of Private Caveat - Is it Selangor property?The fee should only be RM60.
2) Land Search - Correct, RM30 per search. Normally lawyers charged RM60 (RM30 at the stage of opening the file & RM30 prior to presentation).
3) Affirmation on SD - Correct, RM4 or RM5 per affirmation. If they charge RM20/RM30 should be sufficient already.
4) Carian Rasmi & Processing Fee AND registration fee on consent to transfer - What the heck?This is freehold kan?No such charges unless there is restriction in title!
5) Stamping SD - Minimal stamping per SD is RM10, if they charged RM20/RM30 is already enough.

The rest might involved minimal mark-up (in case of urgency/any necessities). However, you may negotiate further on printing/transport charges. However, if they cannot give on that two items, not really a big issue. But the rest...Dude, you may check with that lawyer again! Bring the SRO, it is still valid & applicable, no amendments made as of to date. Scrutinize the item 1 by 1. Good luck! rclxms.gif

Anyway, disbursement can be negotiated, only legal fees are not allowed as already set under the SRO.

Added on October 15, 2011, 4:51 amSorry, missed out the link.

http://www.malaysianbar.org.my/index.php?I...ask=doc_details

SPA stamped?But have you paid the fees?Though fees paid you can ask for the refund.

Added on October 15, 2011, 4:59 amOh yes. For SPA, SDs for bankruptcy & own occupation are not required. Those are only for loan. You may discuss on that part too.
hi CherryLady,

thanks for ur clarification. there are few things need ur help for more details.

if the buyer got 2 ppl, CKHT 2A of RM200 is per person?
For the Withdrawal of Private Caveat under disbursement, if the property @ KL, it is same as RM60?
SDs for bankruptcy & own occupation is charged on 'stamping statutory declaration'?

beside, i havent paid the legal fees. the spa stamped on 21/9/11.

Added on October 18, 2011, 9:58 amguys and gals, may i ask u all, for part of the 10% downpayment, i should write a cheaque to my lawyer firm or the seller?

This post has been edited by spchon2: Oct 18 2011, 09:58 AM
starship1
post Dec 6 2011, 03:53 PM

1,207 posts

any feedback is appreciated

i am about to dispose my property which is more than 10 years old and believe i am not liable for RPGT.

however, i wish to know the procedures for Vendors to file the form and was it CHKT2 or CHKT3 .

how much is the lawyer fee for discharge of charge thingy and other related incidentals and if all is not too complicated , is it advisable for Vendors to do it on its own.

thanks in advance
SUSjalsrix
post Dec 6 2011, 06:15 PM

1,927 posts

QUOTE(cynthusc @ Oct 14 2011, 04:26 PM)

can u explain more why one party is necessary but not the other ?
techman007
post May 19 2023, 11:06 AM

205 posts

Hi there,

Any recommendation for law firms, who have expertise (experienced in winning) financial cases of investments in KL ? Specifically, looking for setting public investment scheme of RPS shares with high profits for 2 years monthly, which is stopped because of investigation by govt. on sister company and later covid escuse. And later they settled with govt. out of court and accounts unfrozen, but still they are asking for re-invest for another 5 years with new t&c (lock-in, cannot take out before 5 years). Not responding, if don't agree to reinvest and asking to return the principal atleast. Profit discontinuted after 2 months of payment and now alerady tenure expired 2years.

Chanzeryl
post May 20 2023, 04:11 PM

646 posts

Lawyers should do work for free, like how doctors should also save patients' lives first, then eat grass and only collect fees during afterlife rolleyes.gif

0.0269sec    1.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:42 AM