SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V16, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

Eiraku
post Oct 12 2011, 03:05 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Oct 12 2011, 02:48 PM)
plse understand sometimes we are dealing with baby. wink.gif

update1: ok, plse dun get started abt this baby thingy meaning something else... i still remember that stupid discussion a few V back... lol...
The Bayi - Baby - Bad word fiasco you mean lol?

Anyways, about batteries:

1) For SURE the note batt is THICKER. It just doesn't look it.

2) The ori samsung 2000mah batt is NOT the same size as our 1650mah batt. It's thicker and needs a new cover.

3) IMHO, batt tech is largely dead now, not much percentage per square inch development in AGES. Waiting for the next big thing after li-po.

4) If you disassemble a battery (I did, got bored and tore open my Spider-Foot), you'll see that at least for some batts, the cell is NOT the size of the batt itself, it's considerably smaller, and buffered by foam. I don't know if it's different for ori cells, but that space can be filled with higher cap cells and bigger batts for the same size MIGHT be possible.
Eiraku
post Oct 12 2011, 11:22 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(alg @ Oct 12 2011, 11:19 PM)
-ƗƗɐƗƗɐƗƗɐ
-Ӄ∂Ɲ
-✗

This is the fancy font used by blackberry user in facebook,that i mentioned before,did anyone know why we can't read these font in our android?how to fix it?
Ehhh, it's a stylized A right? I can read it fine ma?

Just google samsung flipfonts try out some different fonts.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 12 2011, 11:23 PM
Eiraku
post Oct 13 2011, 10:29 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Anybody has ANY idea what this port does?

@prescott: yeah the pink spot still there. It's not as serious as you may think though.

Blergh, people make so much fuss over the pink spot, the yellow display and the heat - the iPhone 4 has similar problems also people just stay quiet (green spot in cam, yellow display, overheating)?

Maybe Android users are slightly more... uhm... attentive lol.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 13 2011, 10:31 AM
Eiraku
post Oct 13 2011, 07:51 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Oct 13 2011, 07:16 PM)
i also got it too! thanks eiraku! dam i am satisfied!! matte+crystal clear! the best of both worlds!  rclxms.gif
Later do review lar.

My estoc now over a month old and surviving like a champ, got some microscratches though, nothing I can't live with considering how hard I treat it.
Eiraku
post Oct 13 2011, 11:10 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Luwk @ Oct 13 2011, 10:57 PM)
anyone experienced screen burn in problem , especially in notification bar?
Don't worry, that's not burn in, just the "phantom effect" as AMOLED screens have some refresh issues regarding certain, long display UI elements. No idea why. It's not permenant though.

BTW, there's so many people in here I'm quickly losing track of what everyone is talking about nowadays.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 13 2011, 11:11 PM
Eiraku
post Oct 15 2011, 01:06 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 15 2011, 01:03 AM)
Looks like you had to wait for custom roms sifus to ask about camera. And yes certain custom roms fix that problem
Actually, BECAUSE we do not have a BSI sensor like the iP4 and the Arc, it's to be expected. The cam's a wonder when there's enough light though.
Eiraku
post Oct 15 2011, 02:23 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 15 2011, 02:12 AM)
yeah but we paid for the screen already not foc. Beside that new screen also suppose to be covered against defect when the tech install it. Somemore, other component of the phone (minus the screen) should still be covered by SME up to one year.
~~ Ini tidak adil.!!! ~~lololol~~
Plus the fact that some guy calculated before (right here in this thread) and stated that with heavy use, our screens would be lucky if it would last a year before the oleds start to die. Emphasis on START TO though.

Hopefully that's covered under warranty weh.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 15 2011, 02:24 AM
Eiraku
post Oct 15 2011, 02:44 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Oct 15 2011, 01:40 PM)
I have always use old market. New market have always been buggy. Some app can download. Others will be stuck at download. doh.gif
Same here, old market faithful. But supposedly the new ICS market is better?
Eiraku
post Oct 15 2011, 06:02 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Just played with the N9... Oh DAT SCREEN!
Eiraku
post Oct 15 2011, 06:15 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(studwo @ Oct 15 2011, 06:08 PM)
what upnp streaming video app you people use ? qloud server dont seem to work well for me
Try emit, seems to be the only "Airvideo" alternative working for me.
Eiraku
post Oct 15 2011, 08:50 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Oct 15 2011, 08:05 PM)
I planning yo buu andina 2000mah battery. same size as original batery so dont need to change cover
Not really 2000mah tho. More like 1450ish. But its cheap and cheerful, so who cares really. Just don't expect it to outperform the stock batt lar.

Droidax? I can bring in if there's interest. Already bought one for lolz. Myself happy with my full day's worth of heavy use thanks to my Momax Expowers.

40% loss with 2 hours screen on time on auto brightness? Good nuff for me.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 15 2011, 09:02 PM
Eiraku
post Oct 15 2011, 09:03 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(ashwin1234 @ Oct 15 2011, 09:02 PM)
How do you guys check out the actual capacity of a battery? Is there like a program or something?
Some guys at xda have access to battery testing rigs (which is about 1k-2k each IINM). That's why.
Eiraku
post Oct 16 2011, 12:49 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Oct 16 2011, 12:27 AM)
items seem double the price there and ive never dealt with them before. their free shipping dunno using what service, while sunsky uses DHL which is quite fast and reliable. plus i deal with them before and they are very responsive to queries.

Ive organised bulk d whoever wanna join

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2071910&st=

expected price per individual should be less than RM50 excluding pos laju. more people = cheaper. for a less than 50 bucks 3500mah cant go wrong, compared to a couple hundred for the branded items. im getting one myself
Before you go anywhere with this, lemme give you a couple of info tidbits, seeing that yes I have those batteries AS WELL (but I bought mine from Spider-Foot.com, but trust me, all these OEMs are the very same). Just so you know.

1) Those batteries have a TRUE rating of about 2400mah. Yes, it's bloody advertised at 3200, but it's tested (with a proper battery testing rig) to only hold about 2400mah - after conditioning of course (running it through a few cycles, bla bla bla...).

Same thing with the adinda batts. Advertised at 2000mah. Real cap should be considerably less (nobody tested yet though).

But they're still RM50 vs the Momax's RM160 (or Mugen's almost ridiculous RM300). So value wise, they win actually. Similarly with the adinda batts. Cheap and cheerful. Which brings us to point No. 2.

2) We really don't know anything about the CELL DURABILITY of those batts (how many recharge cycles it can go through without dying), especially vs normal samsung stock batts, but heck, they're cheap. You can easily replace them if they die and go flat.

And they shouldn't give you much trouble (in the exploding sense), I've opened one up before (out of sheer boredom) and they seem to have the required anti-overcharge/regulator IC inside, so they should be perfectly safe.

3) If it's the "full back cover" (vs the boxy back cover) version, the back is somewhat BETTER in design compared to the momax and the plastic feels batter too. Though the momax wins in tested cap (at 2680mah and prolly in cell durability too but I digress, nobody really knows).

If anybody's interested in getting the Momax Expower extended batts, I can hook you up.

But I warn you, while the battery is VERY GOOD (as a couple of weeks of personal use has proven), the cover they give you is absolutely hideous, both in design and in the flimsy material they used. If you can live with that, come PM me.

If not, I reccomend you go buy the original Samsung 2000mah batts hitting the market right now - the cap's a little less but the battery cover is wonderful, both in design and material used.

And the droidax? I ordered it for someone else. It's not for me.

Mugens I can't speak for because I have never used their extended BIG batts. I've only had experince with their BL-4L same size extendeds and, lets just say I wasn't quite as impressed as the rest of the internet.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 16 2011, 01:35 AM
Eiraku
post Oct 16 2011, 01:16 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(del_Piero10 @ Oct 16 2011, 01:10 AM)
Yes THAT momax battery. I have TWO actually, one in use and one for spare. I've had them since they literally came out (about a month or so).

While the batt is great and the pouch given is nice, the cover design is so-so bordering on criminally hideous.

And the dealextreme/spider-foot/whatever cover that feels so much better wouldn't fit the Momax either (size is different, the momax is thicker). Sigh.

Another thing, with bulge extended batts like these, your case choice is narrowed down to bumpers only, unlike the ori Samsung 2000mah batt (it still fits some cases like the Casemate Tough). Another thing to ponder if you wanna go bulged up.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 16 2011, 01:24 AM
Eiraku
post Oct 16 2011, 01:27 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(del_Piero10 @ Oct 16 2011, 01:18 AM)
how much do you pay for this momax 2700mAH? do you bought it online also?

Added on October 16, 2011, 1:19 amsome testing done on usage of external battery pack on SGS2 phone:

http://androidforums.com/samsung-galaxy-s2...ttery-pack.html
Yep, I got it direct from Momax with their absolutely brilliant battery/microUSB combo travel charger (U charger IINM).

Oh and I got it for about RM160. IINM, local stores like to sell them (or at least expower packs for different phonr models) for RM200++.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 16 2011, 01:36 AM
Eiraku
post Oct 16 2011, 01:56 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Last batt post before I hit the charger:

Momax Expower 2700mah + VR 2.4.2 + Ninpo 2.0.5 + Auto-Brightness, Kaiten Push, Tasker Network off while screen off, SetCPU sleep 200-500mhz profile, whatsapp and viber. No facebook/twitter app notifications but social hub is running in the background. No BLN.

Okaylah I guess, although I think I CAN tweak a few hours more out of this setup if I try harder lol.

And yes, Xscope kills the batt. Shame it's also the best browser for android bar none IMHO.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 16 2011, 02:00 AM
Eiraku
post Oct 16 2011, 02:49 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(xpresside @ Oct 16 2011, 02:27 AM)
tried my casemate tough with this new battery..wont fit really nicely..
the upper and lower part got gaps..cant fit it tight..
It's still a 1mm difference. At least it fits at all eh?

Eiraku
post Oct 16 2011, 05:33 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(babycry123 @ Oct 16 2011, 04:57 AM)
nice info...but still dont get it..which version is better then?
Uhm...

i9100G - Better STOCK power management (perks of running 2.3.5?), better compatibility with games, less overall performance, less tweakability/mod potential (due to immature current modding base).

i9100 - Crap STOCK power management (maybe because it's running 2.3.3), crap compatibility with games (can be mitigated with Chainfire3d - but not solved), more overall performance, more tweakability/mod potential (for now).

Consensus?

If you don't wanna mod stuff or run custom kernels (ROMs are really not as important really), the "G" is more then sufficient. Plus the stock firmware/SOC combo is better optimised power wise (it seems like). Actually, normal users should be happier with a "G" in this case.

Hardcore tweakers might not be, at least until the "G" becomes as mod-viable as the normal SGS2. When it does, though, things will start looking pretty interesting in SGS2 land.

P.S - Even the non-G doesn't get excessively hot when artificially limited to 1Ghz using setCPU. AND things don't feel laggy either. Makes you wonder what the eff that extra 0.2ghz was for in the first place if all it does is add A LOT of heat for A LITTLE performance hike. Benchmarking? Bragging rights? Come on Sammy...

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 16 2011, 05:37 AM
Eiraku
post Oct 16 2011, 07:19 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Engadget's iP4S review comment section is hilarious. There's more mention of the SGS2 over there (both by fandroids and ifags alike) then there is actual talk of the 4S.

Just lol.
Eiraku
post Oct 16 2011, 02:46 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Oct 16 2011, 02:39 PM)
Looks like mine doesn't like to go to sleep biggrin.gif
Insomnia? Maybe it needs some Ice Cream... lol.

0.0213sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:11 PM