SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V16, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first
+Newbie+
Oct 21 2011, 10:10 AM
To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Oct 21 2011, 09:40 AM) i remember watching the livestream of the event and they ony said 1.2ghz processor, no mention abt what brand of processor It wasn't in the livestream?  Well it's been mentioned on the reports of the event. Maybe it was in the marketing material? QUOTE(soulseeker6187 @ Oct 21 2011, 09:47 AM) they use underclocked OMAP 4460, same as moto RAZR. Well hopefully that would mean better battery life and less heat.
iori57
Oct 21 2011, 10:10 AM
QUOTE(-Ax- @ Oct 21 2011, 10:07 AM) can someone answser me...is i9100 better than i9100g?im really confuse about d term..i try to search at #1 post..but cant find it... http://www.jayceooi.com/2011/10/17/samsung...9100-vs-i9100g/Summary » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I9100G Doesn’t overheat easily, better battery life. CPU seems to be capped at 1008 MHz. Poorer 3D performance. Can’t download apps / games developed for Samsung Galaxy S II I9100 in Samsung Apps / Android Market. Fonts in PAPAGO! very small. Not much custom firmware / modification
I9100 Overheat easily, poor battery life on Android 2.3.3. Android 2.3.5 fixed it. Fully use 1.2 GHz CPU. Better 3D performance. Anti-Aliasing (4xAA and 16xAA) support with Chainfire3D Pro. Lot of custom firmware, kernel, modification, tweaks…
Personally, I advise to get I9100 since price is the same for both models. Samsung improved I9100 I/O, 3D performance and battery life on latest firmware. Short battery life was my main concern but it was fixed on latest firmware. I can get 1 full day normal usage with 3G data connection turned on. Besides, I9100 has lot of unofficial custom firmware, kernel, modification and tweaks. This will make I9100 an even better smartphone.
if you're into rooting, flashing roms and customization, no need think, get the none G version
antt00
Oct 21 2011, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(rock4f3lla @ Oct 21 2011, 10:02 AM) huzzah!! p/s: where to dwld the kernel? cant find it one the xda forums site. only has 2.0 http://www.gokhanmoral.com/gm/public/
+Newbie+
Oct 21 2011, 10:12 AM
To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
QUOTE(antt00 @ Oct 21 2011, 10:08 AM) Actually if you google it, apple actually bought over intrinsity in 2010. Yet we have exynos now on SGS2 in 2011. I think samsung is still developing exynos just not with intrinsity. These things take years to develop. The Exynos might have been the last development under contract with Intrinsity.
-Ax-
Oct 21 2011, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(iori57 @ Oct 21 2011, 10:10 AM) http://www.jayceooi.com/2011/10/17/samsung...9100-vs-i9100g/Summary » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I9100G Doesn’t overheat easily, better battery life. CPU seems to be capped at 1008 MHz. Poorer 3D performance. Can’t download apps / games developed for Samsung Galaxy S II I9100 in Samsung Apps / Android Market. Fonts in PAPAGO! very small. Not much custom firmware / modification
I9100 Overheat easily, poor battery life on Android 2.3.3. Android 2.3.5 fixed it. Fully use 1.2 GHz CPU. Better 3D performance. Anti-Aliasing (4xAA and 16xAA) support with Chainfire3D Pro. Lot of custom firmware, kernel, modification, tweaks…
Personally, I advise to get I9100 since price is the same for both models. Samsung improved I9100 I/O, 3D performance and battery life on latest firmware. Short battery life was my main concern but it was fixed on latest firmware. I can get 1 full day normal usage with 3G data connection turned on. Besides, I9100 has lot of unofficial custom firmware, kernel, modification and tweaks. This will make I9100 an even better smartphone.
if you're into rooting, flashing roms and customization, no need think, get the none G version Thanks iori...really helpfull
ashwin1234
Oct 21 2011, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(alg @ Oct 21 2011, 07:34 AM) the only i get is my home screen being captured..i tried 'clear memory' in task manager,but it doesnt work,i can't transfer my apps to phone's usb storage..  Your phone has to be off to use that button combo...make sure it is fully off then hold down the vol and home button then power button
del_Piero10
Oct 21 2011, 10:15 AM
QUOTE(antt00 @ Oct 21 2011, 10:11 AM) need user id and password to download..
ashwin1234
Oct 21 2011, 10:16 AM
To everyone who wants to know how my little battery test went with GPS and Wifi switched on the whole night:
Initially had 17% left, after 9 hours, the battery dropped to 12%. SO everyone can leave their GPS and Wifi on without worrying...at most battery life will be a little shorter
annoymous1234
Oct 21 2011, 10:17 AM
waveweaver
Oct 21 2011, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(mydragoon @ Oct 21 2011, 09:55 AM) let's talk pink spot again...   can see the pink spot? actually, that photo is taken using Galaxy Nexus... Also by Samsung. aiyoh... samsung should do sth abt it.  photo was from: http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_nex...eview-663p4.phpmydragoon., better sent the picture at Samsung website. Who knows maybe can get reward for highlight them :-)
Fallenangelz
Oct 21 2011, 10:18 AM
QUOTE(ashwin1234 @ Oct 21 2011, 10:16 AM) To everyone who wants to know how my little battery test went with GPS and Wifi switched on the whole night: Initially had 17% left, after 9 hours, the battery dropped to 12%. SO everyone can leave their GPS and Wifi on without worrying...at most battery life will be a little shorter those having rogue apps running background= die big time
Leo the Lion
Oct 21 2011, 10:19 AM
QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Oct 21 2011, 10:52 AM) GG. another EFS folder lost case. did u do a nandroid backup/ efs folder backup before? just restore it back. otherwise no choice but take to SSC. not sure how long though QUOTE(antt00 @ Oct 21 2011, 10:53 AM) Sounds like you lost your EFS. Are you on stock rom or custom rom? If you have a backup of it you can just try and restore it. Otherwise like you said, to the service center. Not sure how long though. i made backup through titanium backup, will I able to restore it?
mydragoon
Oct 21 2011, 10:19 AM
QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 21 2011, 10:17 AM) mydragoon., better sent the picture at Samsung website. Who knows maybe can get reward for highlight them :-) hahaha... after they give me voucher for eye test. i closed my FB account already... else i'd share the photo on their FB and ask them for opinion...lol...
Fallenangelz
Oct 21 2011, 10:20 AM
QUOTE(del_Piero10 @ Oct 21 2011, 10:15 AM) need user id and password to download.. nani???????? i jz right click>download, done.  Added on October 21, 2011, 10:20 amQUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 21 2011, 10:19 AM) i made backup through titanium backup, will I able to restore it? titanum dun have backup for EFS if not mistaken. did u done any nandroid backup before? This post has been edited by Fallenangelz: Oct 21 2011, 10:20 AM
del_Piero10
Oct 21 2011, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Oct 21 2011, 10:20 AM) nani???????? i jz right click>download, done.  Added on October 21, 2011, 10:20 amtitanum dun have backup for EFS if not mistaken. did u done any nandroid backup before? Attached thumbnail(s)
TheLaptopDudeGuy
QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Oct 21 2011, 10:20 AM) nani???????? i jz right click>download, done.  Added on October 21, 2011, 10:20 amtitanum dun have backup for EFS if not mistaken. did u done any nandroid backup before? nandroid backups save efs?
waveweaver
QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Oct 21 2011, 10:18 AM) those having rogue apps running background= die big time  ya..ya., the roque apps will keep on running using data network or wifi, happily ever after :-P
Leo the Lion
Oct 21 2011, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Oct 21 2011, 11:20 AM) nani???????? i jz right click>download, done.  Added on October 21, 2011, 10:20 amtitanum dun have backup for EFS if not mistaken. did u done any nandroid backup before? No So I had to send my phone to Samsung Service Center....
ashwin1234
Oct 21 2011, 10:26 AM
Is the CheckROM of any good? Now stuck between CM 7.1 and CheckROM and Batista70Foxhound...
But then again, all also is 2.3.5, same as my KI3....but CM7 has so many more options!!
del_Piero10
Oct 21 2011, 10:27 AM
can use this to try siyah kernel 2.1 beta 5 http://www.multiupload.com/1BSVQGNM86