16 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Nokia N9 - V02 - [Fluidity King For Nokia], Let~~~ SWIPE~~~ all~~~ the~~~ way~~~

KennyKB
post Nov 28 2011, 07:08 PM

1,765 posts

Here's a tip increase the volume of your N9.
http://everythingn9.com/increase-the-volum...-your-nokia-n9/

However I was not able to complete the instruction as I could not get to PreDriv in terminal. Some Sifu may know better.
KennyKB
post Nov 29 2011, 07:52 AM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(AlOnE89 @ Nov 29 2011, 03:00 AM)
sometimes i've been thinking..
If only Elop did not declare Meego's officially "dead",how would this OS be today?
Perhaps it has already (at least) replacing symbian due to its flexibility and possibility and definitely put big challenges to android and ios when it grows enough..?

If Nokia had fully backed Meego and put in half the money they are using to promote WP7, the N9 will probably be more successful than Lumia. Even though Elop has killed off commercial developers' interest in Meego consumer interest is still high.
KennyKB
post Nov 29 2011, 02:49 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Nov 29 2011, 02:05 PM)
Imagine if they did it way before that; Today MeeGo will be very different.
WP7 is a closed system like ios with many user restrictions like no micro-SD card, opaque file system, file transfer only through Zune, no bluetooth file transfer, difficult to use as mass storage for personal files, no homescreens, no widgets, no internet tethering, no wi-fi hotspot. At present the os does not support dual core and is limited to 800x480 resolution. Microsoft copied a lot from Apple but some can and some can't.

Unlike Meego the closed WP7 os does not allow developers to access many os functions and features. Apps like call recorder, changing logo on lockscreen and putting 3rd party events in notification screen cannot be done in WP7. There is no terminal mode like Meego to access system parameters. Compared to its predecessor WinMobile, WP7 is a very dumbed down system.

Those who like simple, dumbed down os go for iphone with its huge appstore. Those who like to customize go for Android. Those who like the option of being simple or powerful go for N9. I don't know which segment WP7 attracts.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Nov 29 2011, 02:53 PM
KennyKB
post Nov 29 2011, 05:23 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(calmshot @ Nov 29 2011, 04:15 PM)

The UI and animation is top notch, the live tiles is incredible you can see any notification and updates directly from the tiles and it is animated too. i love the group tiles, where you can see all updates incl facebook, twitter, linkedin from your group (family, officemate, etc) and you can make individual contact tile also, this is a very nice feature if you want to know all status/news/update from your favorite person such as ur gf/wife etc.. tongue.gif
Live tiles? You can get the same effect using widgets in Android. The Meego notification screen is more elegant as you can see all notifications, messages, news feeds and twitter updates on one screen. It doesn't waste battery like widgets or do inane animation like tiles.
KennyKB
post Nov 29 2011, 06:43 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(calmshot @ Nov 29 2011, 05:26 PM)
yes i know, i own htc desire too before. just live tiles is something special with animation out of the box and refined smile.gif while android you have to download third party apps which is good for modders biggrin.gif

I don't know about special animation in WP7. I think splitting a photo into a few parts and rotating the parts endlessly is idiotic but that's just my opinion. If you want special effect try playing a video on the N9 and swipe partially. You'll see the video keep playing while the background screen appears. This is true multitasking. Try that in WP7 and it will probably explode. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Nov 29 2011, 06:44 PM
KennyKB
post Nov 29 2011, 07:02 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(calmshot @ Nov 29 2011, 07:00 PM)
ok ok cut the crap on comparing which is the best, it will never end lol. As long we love our n9 that just great.

btw i cant view some youtube video embed into a website, it only show a music note when in fullscreen, why eh?
No flash.
KennyKB
post Nov 30 2011, 08:02 AM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(nicholas1007 @ Nov 30 2011, 07:25 AM)
Anyone encounter while N9 use as wifi router, but Motorola Xoom cannot find / connect to it. Computer, laptop or N8 can find / connect.
Wat is the problem?
Try entering the SSID of your wi-fi manually into your Xoom and see if it can connect.
KennyKB
post Nov 30 2011, 08:07 AM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(AlOnE89 @ Nov 30 2011, 01:36 AM)

sigh.. Let's just hope that Nokia either go back with Maemo and dun freaking ever say something bad of it anymore or windows phone Apollo that's truely Nokia (as what Elop promised..)
at least give me back sd slot,fm transmitter,mass transferring,turned-off-working-alarm-clock,bluetooth transfer,usb OTG and many more symbian and meego goodies
The Windows phone hardware specs and os are controlled by Microsoft. The manufacturers are not even allowed to put their own UI layer to distinguish their products like Android manufacturers. Every WP7 phone works and feels the same. Microsoft can't treat Nokia special or nobody else will produce WP7 phones on an unlevel playing field.
KennyKB
post Nov 30 2011, 11:29 AM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(AlOnE89 @ Nov 30 2011, 10:44 AM)
Well talk about treating every OEMs equally.. what about google and motorola acquisition?
Until now Android still selling like hot cakes though (cuz there's no OS to shift atm? tongue.gif)
We consumer..can only wait and see what these big companies wanna do :/
Has Google given Motorola any special treatment compared to other manufacturers like giving them Android 4.0 first? Even though Motorola is bought over by Google they still have to treat all manufacturers equally unless they want to change the game plan. Some manufacturers are looking for backups just in case like Samsung-Tizen but no special treatment has emerged yet.

Added on November 30, 2011, 11:37 am
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Nov 30 2011, 09:36 AM)

Now the question is, can Nokia catch up? They're emphasizing on WP7, and some on Symbian; For those who still like/prefer Symbian, may still support Symbian, especially for those who have invested on apps on Symbian OS. If future Symbian is no longer supported or when they want to switch, the question is, how should Nokia convince these people to switch over to WP7 (or WP8)? Why should they not go for Android instead? It's obvious which is the more popular and preferred OS right now, although we're not sure of the future, and for the apps they invested in Symbian, since it's under Nokia OVI account, can the similar apps which is available for WP available to them without re-purchase again (provided they're using Nokia phone and MS have worked something with their market for support of Nokia OVI account).

Finally, as of current, I think if the Symbian users were to choose to switch, I think many would choose to go for Android instead? I think Nokia need to seriously consider and take into account of this.
The tragedy is that Nokia is going to wind down Symbian even though it is still selling well in developing countries. As N9 is the last Meego phone according to Elop this means Nokia will focus exclusively on WP7 phones after 2015. This is a very risky strategy as Nokia is tying its fate to WP7 which has practically flopped in the market (Global share 1.5% in Q32011).

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Nov 30 2011, 11:37 AM
KennyKB
post Nov 30 2011, 12:22 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Nov 30 2011, 12:04 PM)
Not to mention that other brands are also offering  WP device and possibly much better specs, price and appealing design.

With only WP OS, what will be the unique selling point? And how to capture customer's attention, especially when most people are looking at Android. Moreover, most Nokia Customers are actually from their Symbian devices; they need to think carefully else they may loose their a lot of their customer. Even now, many already switch to Android or iOS. Can the Mango changes everything like the Apple?
The only unique selling point of Lumia 800 right now is the attractive physical look stolen from N9. On the software side Nokia tried to distinguish with Drive and Ovi music store but both have been hacked and can be installed on all WP7 phones. Lumia will suffer from having no front camera unlike other WP7 models from Samsung, HTC and LG.

Symbian customers are more likely to go to Android than WP7 which is a dumbed down os. Symbian users are used to having home screens, widgets, Java apps, USB mass storage, micro-SD card, internet tethering, wi-fi hotspot, etc which are not available in WP7 due to os restriction.

Mango is just playing catch up with ios 4 and Android 2.3. It has not even caught up fully with these old os but they have already moved to ios5 and Android 4.0. The chance for a big Mango success is very slim. Its worse limitation is no micro-SD card support (copied from ios). Giving free cloud storage doesn't work in many countries where data charges are high.
KennyKB
post Nov 30 2011, 02:48 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(Upsilon @ Nov 30 2011, 02:25 PM)
video playback for certain codec (and profile) is not optimized just yet
you might have to wait
Wasn't it discussed previously that this is a hardware limitation? Our N9 can only play baseline 720p video and not mainline or highline. Andrekua knows a lot about this. He says it is inferior hardware.

KennyKB
post Nov 30 2011, 02:57 PM

1,765 posts

Folders have come to N9 via an app. Check this out:

http://www.my-meego.com/software/applicati...Auto=737&faq=13

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Nov 30 2011, 03:04 PM
KennyKB
post Nov 30 2011, 03:12 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(eaglehelang @ Nov 30 2011, 03:02 PM)
well, in addition to all the negatives already stated abt lumia 800, battery life also is a problem. Lots of complaints in nokia support forums.

me more glad n9 is released in Msia, the mat sallehs in US,Europe no choice, unless they import.
Denying consumers in major markets from N9 is Elop's strategy for Lumia's success. If Lumia is good why can't it compete fairly instead of using this desperate tactic?
KennyKB
post Dec 1 2011, 12:47 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(eaglehelang @ Dec 1 2011, 12:08 PM)
calmshot, they are sellilng the silicon case at the nokia dealers. Cyan is going for RM69. I read a few pages back there's promotion at KL side,RM59.
A reasonable price. The silicon cases are beautiful. They fit so well that it doesn't look as if the phone is wearing any casing. Without the casing the phone is quite slippery so better not use without it.
KennyKB
post Dec 1 2011, 01:17 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(tctham @ Dec 1 2011, 12:47 PM)
Hi guys, wanna ask if you all know/think about meego has any further plans to upgrade the OS? because based on the meego website, in their roadmaps, they only state up to meego 1.3 which should is scheduled to release on Oct '11. Is there a meego 1.4 in the pipeline?

sorry i'm really fresh at meego, am interested in the N9 phone and currently trying to understand more.
PR1.1 has been released. PR 1.2 and PR 1.3 are confirmed coming. Beyond that I wouldn't worry if there is going to be a PR1.4. Ask yourself, if you have an Android phone how many updates can you expect? Usually only 1 and if you are lucky, 2. After that either the hardware is too old or the manufacturer cannot be bothered to upgrade their old models.

The nature of Meego being an open os means that developers can access the os to customize and add features which cannot be done in closed os like ios or WP7. So you can expect the os to keep improving.

Added on December 1, 2011, 1:18 pm
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Dec 1 2011, 01:03 PM)
N9 is running different variant/version of MeeGo; N9 is running MeeGo Harmattan, which is sort of Maemo6 evolution to MeeGo. This variant/version is maintained by Nokia.

You can check out YouTube for the actual MeeGo UI, there're differences. The N900 is capable to run the actual MeeGo.
Andy, he's asking about os updates, not os versions.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Dec 1 2011, 01:18 PM
KennyKB
post Dec 1 2011, 02:21 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(tctham @ Dec 1 2011, 02:02 PM)
Thanks a lot for the answers guys.. i am not doubting the meego nor the phone.. i am slightly paranoid because I am currently using a phone whose OS (Symbian s60v5) had been discontinued (i think) and support for it is almost all-time low.. I bought this phone less than a year ago, and its price has taken a plummet to almost 50% of the price now (perhaps i had been ripped)..

those weren't the major issues, the major issues is the phone requires to be send back to the factory twice in less than a year (1 sent back, 1 scheduled to send back) with the touch screen issue and internal speaker issue. This 2 issues are consider major issues because it gives me alot of problem to actually use a phone as a phone (make phone calls or send sms)..

so i am currently looking for a new phone to save me from these miseries.. from what I read, N9 seems to be a pretty good phone? for now i don't have much question except for the OS updates that I was asking because I really not that familiar with meego. as a matter of fact, it's the 1st time I heard of it when i read about this phone.. (my apologies, i didn't research a lot on phone OS.. very out of date). sad.gif will spend some time lurking in this thread to see more about this N9. smile.gif
Let me guess, is it the Nokia N8?

I'm surprised you didn't ask about Meego apps because that is what most people are worried about. If you are not an app centric person or you can wait then N9 will suit you. There's no Whatsapp but eBuddy is in development. Video call will also be available soon. What's available now is not bad but still not complete. If you want an idea of what's available now go here: http://www.my-meego.com/software/index.php

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Dec 1 2011, 02:25 PM
KennyKB
post Dec 1 2011, 02:53 PM

1,765 posts

tctham, there are plenty of stopwatch and timer apps for N9 to let you count up count down, lap times, group times, etc but they are 3rd party apps which have to be downloaded and installed. Which is very simple by downloading from Ovi store straight to your phone.

If you want a data plan with N9, check out Celcom and Digi. You can get a cheaper price with their N9 package.

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Dec 1 2011, 03:03 PM
KennyKB
post Dec 1 2011, 03:08 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(tctham @ Dec 1 2011, 02:58 PM)
thanks a lot people!! smile.gif truly appreciated it. smile.gif

now what's left is to ask maxis:

"maxis, y u no have nokia data plan for N9?"

note: i did ask them, will they have it? and if they do, when? smile.gif

You really want a Maxis data plan? They are the only telco which charge RM10 per MB when you exceed the quota. Other telcos just slow down your speed. The frightening thing is that when you want to check how much data you have used they will say, cannot check until billing cycle ends. So many users in iphone forum got i-shock when bill arrive loh!

KennyKB
post Dec 1 2011, 03:36 PM

1,765 posts

Music playback quality is also excellent!

Btw, firefox 11 is out for N9.
http://romaxa.bolshe.net/fennec/mozi...0~a1_armel.deb

KennyKB
post Dec 1 2011, 05:37 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(eaglehelang @ Dec 1 2011, 04:38 PM)

for me, main disadvantage of n9 is no sd card slot,battery not user removable, cannot play rmvbvideo with stock player, not compatible with certain ebooks that i use. They support symbian but not meego. N9 has a ebook reader app that can read in epub format, so no prob for most commercial ebooks.

Added on December 1, 2011, 4:43 pmaspire, maxis mobile internet got 100MB per month kah? 100MB for 2 weeks got lah.
You can use Calibre to convert your ebooks from other formats to epub.
http://calibre-ebook.com/download_windows

There is also FBReader for N9 which can read fb2, epub and txt.
http://www.fbreader.org/meego/

16 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0515sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:34 PM