Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??

familyfirst
post Sep 10 2013, 04:02 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 10 2013, 11:30 PM)
Sorry, for this one year you are stuck with Pub-Mut. You can only transfer your PRS after one year.

Any fresh injection, go for hwangPRS.

Dump Pub-Mut-PRS.

Xuzen
QUOTE(xuzen @ Aug 30 2013, 07:53 AM)
Hwang-PRS growth and moderate for its zero sales charge. it is also coincidently offering the  highest return. To me, this above average return is a bonus to me as I am in for the tax relieve and zero sales charge.

Xuzen
Any good agents from Hwang to recommend? Or can I log in & buy online via PPA website?
familyfirst
post Sep 12 2013, 03:56 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Sep 12 2013, 10:08 AM)
You can go through financial planning firm like Standard Financial Firm Sdn Bhd, VKA Wealth Planners Sdn Bhd or Great Vision Planner Sdn Bhd, etc or if you like to DIY, then Fundsupermart would be an alternative.

Hwang is not like Public Mutual... their agency force is very small. They mainly go through their appointed distributors like those I mentioned above.

Xuzen
Oh i see, thanks.

It it compulsory to go thru agents for any of those PRS providers? Can I do it online & buy it myself via my PPA account?
familyfirst
post Sep 19 2013, 08:50 AM

1,311 posts

Huang Investment recently bought over by Affin???? Any chance those fund managers will jump ship? Hwang still bankable?
familyfirst
post Dec 14 2015, 04:51 PM

1,311 posts

Last minute (as usual) need to spend my 3k into PRS.

I have Pub Mutual and Affin Hwang. Shall i continue with Affin or find new PRS provider? If new, how to top up / open account?

Many thanks.
familyfirst
post Dec 16 2015, 09:14 AM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Dec 14 2015, 07:47 PM)
I was looking halfway but cimb seems okay. At least looks better than my hwang.
Can help show me a simplified graph of how all the PRS faired in 2015? Simple graph ada ka? I know PM is worse performing?
familyfirst
post Dec 16 2015, 01:12 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Dec 16 2015, 01:10 PM)
Wow thanks.

AmPRS Growth fund not bad eh!
familyfirst
post Dec 21 2015, 02:32 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(wing2010 @ Dec 21 2015, 02:24 PM)
Hi, mind to share your decision?
i'm totally new to this and just learned bout this "lubang“ for 2015 tax relief, but think it's too late now  cry.gif
You can still make it. Call an agent to come see you immediately. I just did mine with Affin Hwang last friday.
familyfirst
post Dec 21 2015, 04:27 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(wing2010 @ Dec 21 2015, 04:02 PM)
Thank you so much! I've been reading bout this since morning but still blur, like a crash course yet i got more confused  rclxub.gif
caz from faq i came across sth like application takes up to 14days to process so i thought no hope dy

well tbh my main purpose of this is for tax relief actually, so is it possible to say just dump 3k into an acc at this very last minute to maximize relief, and maybe just do the same for the next 10 years or so? i won't lose the money if i don't do anyth and just leave them in the acc right? keep seeing the term "high risk" in fsm worries me.. sorry if this sounded dumb  sweat.gif caz for now it's not likely for me to touch the fund as i don't know much bout investment (i'm only experienced in fd and investment-linked), hoping to learn more tho.. thanks to all sifus here
notworthy.gif
Im doing exactly that only. Me no sifu. Dont know much abt investment so for PRS, I just dump in 3k every mid December in order to claim the relief saja. Haha.
familyfirst
post Dec 21 2015, 04:31 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Dec 21 2015, 04:30 PM)
"i won't lose the money if i don't do anyth and just leave them in the acc for the next 10 years right?"
yes you may not lose if you done do anything...it will only shows when you want to redeem it .
leaving them for 10 years may not be a good idea as there are many risks involved...examples...
Returns Not Guaranteed
Investors should be aware that by investing in a unit trust fund, there is no guarantee of any income distribution, returns or capital appreciation.
Inflation risk
Inflation rate risk is the risk of potential loss in the purchasing power of your investment due to a general increase of consumer prices.
http://www.cimb-principal.com.my/Investor_...rust_Funds.aspx
Yes correct. The principal investment amount has risk. Forgot to read that sentence. Haha. So yes, invest with caution.
familyfirst
post Dec 21 2015, 05:06 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(wing2010 @ Dec 21 2015, 05:02 PM)
ahh.. thanks! just saw the 10years actually refers to 2012-2021  doh.gif
ohh in other words it's possible that the money i contributed become lesser by year?? if i just leave them in the acc till retirement
hmm.. then the term "pension scheme" doesn't really serve its purpose lidat  sweat.gif  i assume most ppl participate aiming to have more money during retirement kan.. firstly i thought it's like an alternative long-term saving plan with minimal return.. then now it seems the return not guaranteed pula lol
thanks for the info tho, u guys are so helpful  thumbup.gif
And can only withdraw upon retirement which is at 55 yrs now. May change to 60 yrs you never know.
familyfirst
post Jul 22 2016, 02:56 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(oxx_xx @ Jul 19 2016, 01:07 AM)
any affinhwang agent here?
AffinHwang dont have independent agents like Public Mutual. All of them are in-house sales agents directly attached to AffinHwang. May have to call their office to find one.
familyfirst
post Dec 15 2016, 01:18 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(MOFARKOR @ Dec 15 2016, 01:08 PM)
it's 15/12, do you think still in time to open a new account and invest into PRS ?

tongue.gif obviously just wanted to get the tax relief deduction for year2016.....
I think you can. There is still 15 more days to go. Wont take that long to open an account.
familyfirst
post Dec 23 2016, 09:07 AM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Dec 22 2016, 09:52 PM)
I placed in prs with public mutual. Every year top up 3k for tax relief. The damn thing is 3% charge (RM90)just for depositing my chèque. If I deposit 30k, they would have taken RM900. No wonder after 3 years still negative. Only consolation is 750 tax savings per year.
PM's PRS is not performing. I did it first year then subsequent years buy into other funds. You can top up into other funds directly via logging on to your own PPA account. Try it. Forget PM for this prs fund.
familyfirst
post Feb 3 2017, 04:58 PM

1,311 posts

I believe most investors if not all, only contribute Rm3k a year. Its worth as a investment option to diversify into many baskets. Even collaps, also dont loose out all Rm3k a year since already earned tax relief.
familyfirst
post Feb 6 2017, 02:11 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 6 2017, 11:47 AM)
AIA suxs!

PM PRS suxs!
Agree with PM PRS sucks. First year bought it. After that cabut kuat kuat.
familyfirst
post Feb 6 2017, 02:42 PM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(Eddy924 @ Feb 6 2017, 02:23 PM)
How about AIA? My agent told me they (AIA) just got the approval to sell PRS recently.

My normal insurance investment link funds perform quite well. Not sure how is their PRS funds.
For me, I will stick to investment firms for PRS since its unit trust investment as well. If insurance then I go to AIA la. I dont prefer to mix mix investment, savings, insurance, education fund all in one. I prefer going to the experts for specific jobs rolleyes.gif
familyfirst
post Mar 17 2017, 10:59 AM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ Mar 17 2017, 10:48 AM)
who is the guarantor for PRS ? it is more like buying mutual fund?
No guarantee. Yes like mutual fund.
familyfirst
post Nov 2 2017, 09:12 AM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(gu~wak_zhai @ Nov 1 2017, 11:12 AM)
I was waiting for the Budget to announce the increase in Youth incentive, seems like no changes?
Does this mean there is no change to the tax incentive for PRS overall? No extension?
familyfirst
post Nov 2 2017, 09:14 AM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Nov 2 2017, 09:13 AM)
Until YA 2021 if not mistaken. If there is any extension they will announce it in Budget 2020 / 2021.
Perfect, thanks.
familyfirst
post Nov 21 2017, 09:39 AM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(petit @ Nov 21 2017, 08:07 AM)
You're right, CIMB PRS APAC ex-JPN Equity is the best performing fund available under PRS currently from the article below

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...ober-2017--9012
Sincere question : How risky would it be for those above 40yo to invest in a growth fund ie this particular fund? Example, has another 15 yrs to go before can withdraw PRS/retire? its a 3k investment only.

This post has been edited by familyfirst: Nov 21 2017, 09:41 AM

0.0250sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:52 AM