8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??

xuzen
post Jun 26 2015, 11:28 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(sms2u @ Jun 26 2015, 10:47 AM)
Purchase PRS unit trust on dec is just 1 way to capitalize the cost.

But, he.she must ensure use the RM3000 to gain more.
Example, if he/she put the RM3000 in a normal CASA which did not earn much interestm no able to capitalize the cost

Other to consider purchase PRS unit trust when price is lower.
For PRS no need to nit-picking / split hair / time the market / or do asset allocation lar...

Just put a standing instruction to your bank to auto-debit RM 250.00/mth into PRS and tutup mata. (RM 250.00 x 12 = RM 3,000.00)

The tax savings already win all liao.

Xuzen

xuzen
post Jun 26 2015, 02:41 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(sms2u @ Jun 26 2015, 11:31 AM)
Cannot tutup mata, if CASA money, it will unable to top up PRS, need to check to ensure lar
If RM 250.00 also don't have in your CASA... you really pok-kai fellar!

Go back to Money Management Basic 101 before proceeding to Investing Basic 101!

Xuzen
xuzen
post Jun 26 2015, 02:56 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(sms2u @ Jun 26 2015, 02:53 PM)
Why must put money in CASA which did not give much interest / return?

U cannot advise other lar,  You really better and must go to study Money Management Basic 001.
cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif Xuzen merajuk... tak nak fren you anymore.

My point was CASA is the most basic banking service and the first banking instrument for transaction and / or remittance of money, if RM 250.00 pun tadak... doh.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

xuzen
post Nov 16 2015, 11:45 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(KopitiamTalk @ Nov 16 2015, 11:40 AM)
are UT companies the only ones offering PRS? or insurance companies as well?
You will realise that many some Insurance Company also have a UT division namely:

i) AIA offers PRS
ii) Manulife offers PRS
iii) AM Assuarance offers PRS

via their asset management division.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Nov 26 2015, 10:01 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(wkyrichie @ Nov 25 2015, 11:20 PM)
What is the interest rate per annum for PRS?
Ini orang pasti ASX / FD punya kaki.... interest rate LOL!

Xuzen
xuzen
post Nov 26 2015, 11:57 AM

4,436 posts

Is it me or do you all realise that this PRS thread is extra active during the end of the year?

xuzen
post Nov 28 2015, 11:12 AM

4,436 posts

Just some trivia:

I have just checked out Affin-Hwang PRS Growth Fund Interim Annual Report dated 1/1/2015 and there are 7 people holding 500,001 units and above.

These 7 pax are holding a total of 6,840,000 units. Based on 26/11/2015 NAV, this translate to RM 3,881,700; or equivalent to an average holding per pax of RM 554.5K.

Who in the FCUK wanna lock half a Million into PRS?

Mind boggling! rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Nov 28 2015, 11:13 AM
xuzen
post Nov 30 2015, 11:02 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Nov 28 2015, 09:55 PM)
Technically there is sales charge.
PRS will buy the UT with 2-5% sales charges, then resold it and package it as PRS.
It will able to fool ordinary people say that buy PRS is better compare to UT because of without sales charges.
Based on Affin Hwang PRS Growth Fund Annual Report dated 31st July 2015, page 11 of 41, I wish to highlight two expense items; namely:

I) Management fee: RM 17,103.00

II) Collective Investment Schemes Trade Settlement: RM 160,000.00. I believe the sales charge / transaction fees MNet mentioned is item (II).

Total number of units in circulation is 85,969,000 units. Based on NAV as of 27/11/2015 @ RM 0.5675/unit; the total asset value of the fund is 0.5675 x 85,969,000 = RM 48,787,407.50

The percentage of trade settlement = 160,000 / 48,787,407.50 x 100 = 0.3280% p.a.

How did you come out with 2 - 5% sales charge? You sound like another "suara-hebat feller"

Xuzen

p/s On page 27 of 41 under Note 4: Management fee, it is stated any management fee charged by the unit trust are fully refunded back to the PRS fund. Accordingly, there is no double charging of management fee.

This post has been edited by xuzen: Nov 30 2015, 11:08 AM
xuzen
post Nov 30 2015, 12:10 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Nov 30 2015, 11:47 AM)
thumbup.gif

I tried to find out on CIMB PRS as well
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/admin...tsMYCIPRS5C.pdf
Page 29 states that although the fund trust deeds say they can charge 3%, and their fact sheet say they will charge 1.4%, the management fee was actually waived by the PRS provider  icon_idea.gif

So for now it's not double charged
And from the 1 year return; ponzi 2.0 is 9.0% while AsiaPac PRS is 8.7%. I think the difference is the expenses, which worked out to be 0.54% last financial year. Should be safe to assume that there is no sales charge when PRS purchase the unit trust?
A quick glance on the Annual Statement and I believe there is no sales charge nor double charging of management fee levied on CIMB PRS Asia-Pac ex Japan fund.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Nov 30 2015, 12:18 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Nov 30 2015, 12:10 PM)
PM PRS is charging SC of 3%
Only PRS service provider that recalcitrantly charge a high 3% sales charge and yet, its return is mediocre only.

Real Sor-Hai lousy fund!

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Nov 30 2015, 03:03 PM
xuzen
post Nov 30 2015, 03:08 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Nov 30 2015, 02:05 PM)
They can just walk into a CIMB and they can buy CIMB PRS over the counter, no sales charge and most bankers recommend Asia Pac PRS this year
The difference between a product pusher i.e., bank front line wealth advisor who will push the best product to the customer versus a Lic Financial Planner who will first analyse the client first.

For example: The LFC will most probably not recommend the CIMB PRS Asia-Pac Ex Japan Fund to a client who already has high exposure to Ponzi 2.0. He / she would provide alternative.

Xuzen

xuzen
post Dec 21 2015, 03:05 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Dec 21 2015, 08:59 AM)
My old insurance is from AIA, every year pay like RM2.5K. Last week went to their office and make yearly payment and ask them to check what is my "dividend". They told me inside got around 3.5K after paying for like 18 years...  cry.gif

Some more when the agent wants to sell the insurance that time said only need to pay 14 years and the policy can auto sustenance by itself with its cash value inside. Seems if I do not continue to pay from now on, it cannot even sustenance for more than 2 years. .
3.5k or 35K?

If 3.5K means you are an old geezer Insurance cost is eating up into your return lor....

xuzen
post Jan 6 2016, 02:02 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Dec 22 2015, 08:35 AM)
it is now stated as 55 for the threshold to withdraw without penalties  cry.gif

used to be 50 previously right?
if so.. urgh.. they doing to PRS like what they want to do to EPF (push the age further)
luckily 8% ok lar, let them whack BUT only can withdraw from A/C B which holds only 30%

http://www.ppa.my/prs/about-prs/prs-scheme-features/
screenshot:
[attachmentid=5594746]
It was 55 y/o since inception date. PRS never shifted the goal post...... "yet".

Xuzen

xuzen
post Jan 6 2016, 02:43 PM

4,436 posts

I glanced through the FSM thread and there was this discussion about putting into PRS versus regular UT versus EPF. I will post my thoughts in the PRS thread instead because the FSM thread is more cluttered.

My take as follows:

I)

EPF is mandatory by law. So it is no brainer, no need to think too much. What ever you decide also, the law says 11% from YOU! 12% from YOUR BOSS! Simple... no need to think so much.

If you are your own boss, then max it up to 19% on the Employer's side to reduce the company income tax. Period!

II)

PRS. The greatest benefit is the RM 3,000.00 tax incentive. Nothing more. Dump in RM 3K per annum to get your tax relief. Take advantage of those PRS that offer zero sales charge. Zero sales charge + tax relief = 4W3S0M3! Apa lagi lu mau?

As for my personal view, I dump in more than the RM 3K, coz I am those itchy hand type... see money must spend type. So I match the EPF account II into PRS to build the extra oomph for retirement. I decided not to go for Insurance based saving plans because those saving plans is mandatory i.e., mati-mati must pay, even when you are cash-flow tight. Whereas PRS is flexi, tight cash flow, can stop immediately or reduce the investment.

III) Regular UT

The greatest drawback abt regular UT is the sales charge although this can be mitigated by using online platform such as FSM and / or eUT. Another way is to get a UT license yourself to reduce the sales-charge.

Another way to reduce your incidental charges especially if you switch a lot is to use a wrap account. This wrap account is like the season pass of a theme park. You pay more upfront, but you get unlimited entries switching.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Jan 6 2016, 02:44 PM
xuzen
post Feb 3 2016, 12:21 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Feb 3 2016, 11:50 AM)
PRS Public Mutual did very badly over the last 6 months. I noted the positive returns in the prior period and the negative cumulative return for the periods.

Better to put in ASM or Wawasan 2020. More or less guaranteed positive yearly return and the brought forward balances will never be affected.
The biggest benefit of PRS is the the tax relief part. Taking that relief into calculation, the actual return is around 14.XX%. Read back few pages for the calculation working.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Feb 3 2016, 04:48 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Feb 3 2016, 02:06 PM)
Put alredi 3 years, 3 x 3000=9,000.

Balance now less than 9,000 hmm.gif
I did not use Public Mutual Berhad PRS service. My ROI is still
positive after three years.
xuzen
post Mar 7 2016, 11:21 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(kradun @ Mar 6 2016, 12:20 PM)
Do you mean the insurance annuity plan? Currently both are combined at max RM3k under same category.
Do be careful with these saving plans... they are not "annuity" per se for the purpose of LHDN tax relief purpose. These saving plans may behave like an annuity plan but for the purpose of LHDN tax relied purpose, they are to be put under the same category as the tax relief column for Life / KWSP column instead of the PRS / Annuity column.

LHDN recognised "real" annuity plan are very rare, it was created sometime back but it is no longer in production; consider it like the Proton Satria R3 Lotus Tuned Limited edition. One off collector's item.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Mar 11 2016, 04:22 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Mar 10 2016, 08:38 PM)
Actually 4 years...

2012 is the first year.
Should be actually 3 years; PRS was launched in Aug 2012. So 2012 not counted as it is not a full year.

2013, PRS concept is still in its infancy... only five fund house provide PRS. Number of PRS fund was around 15 - 20 only.

2014, slowly picked up, many firms start promoting to large corporation.

2015, more retail investor know about it...

2016, .....

Xuzen

p/s I started with Hwang in 2012, so for me I have been with them for four years already, each year RM 3K x 4 = RM 12K invested. My CAGR is around 7%. I use DDA method.

NB: Contrary to what ignorant people, I can state for a fact Hwang PRS is zero sales charge and its Management fee is around 0.5% p.a. and not 2.0% etc. Can verify with its annual report.

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 11 2016, 04:25 PM
xuzen
post Mar 14 2016, 11:02 AM

4,436 posts

deleted

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 14 2016, 11:05 AM
xuzen
post Mar 14 2016, 11:09 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(lukenn @ Mar 14 2016, 02:17 AM)
[attachmentid=6162915]
Theory versus reality.

In reference to page 33 of Affin Hwang PRS Moderate Fund Annual Report dated 31st Jul 2015:

I) The 2015 MER is 0.32%,

II The 2014 MER is 0.42%.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 14 2016, 11:15 AM

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0356sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:38 AM