Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??

wongmunkeong
post Apr 16 2019, 02:53 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 16 2019, 02:48 PM)
It's called don't put all eggs into a single basket.  bruce.gif
... and make sure your baskets are not in the same site/building too tongue.gif
risk management / business continuity planning 101 laugh.gif
wongmunkeong
post May 31 2019, 10:27 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(voyage23 @ May 31 2019, 10:24 AM)
I think you totally were not well informed by your agent on the benefits of PRS. Do you even know what fund he chose for your PRS?

One of the most important benefit of PRS is TAX RELIEF.

If you have earned enough to pay tax, the returns you get from LDHN you must consider also. But of cos if you don't pay tax then don't bother with PRS.
yup - some folks use wrong tool for wrong goals, then say useless tool laugh.gif

i've seen the enemy (of growing wealth), it is i (fear, greed, laziness to learn/fact check)
wongmunkeong
post Mar 16 2020, 09:35 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Mar 16 2020, 05:20 AM)
Dear PRS Member,

Effective 15 March 2020, PRS Members can make pre-retirement withdrawals from PRS for the purposes of housing and healthcare without tax penalty, as announced in Budget 2020.

This move will help Malaysians to use a portion of their retirement savings for their needs. Withdrawals will come from Sub Account B, which holds 30 percent of PRS Members’ savings.

In recognition of rising healthcare cost, withdrawal for immediate family members is also allowed and can be used to cover 91 types of illnesses, including the cost of medical equipment or medication for the approved illnesses.

For housing, withdrawals can be made to buy or build a house as well as to reduce or redeem a housing loan.

Below is a list of forms, guides and documents which you can download to facilitate your withdrawal application. If you have a question that is not answered in the FAQ, you can call PPA at 1300-131-772 for further assistance on this withdrawal measure.
thank U for the useful info sharing GrumpyNooby,

wongmunkeong
post Apr 8 2020, 12:13 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Apr 8 2020, 12:09 PM)
anyone here plan to withdrawl the RM1500 from your account B with each PRS provider?
not me - i'd rather rob my EPF AC2 via LESTARI

PRS = investment, thus.. buy high (earlier), sell low (now)?
nah unless really need the cash flow
wongmunkeong
post Apr 8 2020, 12:48 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Apr 8 2020, 12:23 PM)
i did a brief calculation of how much my account has made (pure profit for 2019), since don't have the actual official numbers on my profit.

The recent market tumbles wiped out all of my profits made for 2019. despite that, when you withdraw, you are merely withdrawing your past years' profit and you still let your capital run in it. at least for my case lah. Yes, now is really a buy high and sell low situation, but my own argument is, look back at the main reason for me to invest into PRS and that is the tax relief of 3k each year.

Now that you're able to withdraw at least some money back at no penalty, why not take this chance and cash it out a little.

so the cash out from account B is merely withdrawing some of the profits that you have made in your past years.

Minus the investment concept, letting the monies remain in your account, be it, EPF or PRS, is because you want to let the magic of compounding to work for your future retirement pot. i assume your EPF will certainly has much bigger pot of money and the compounding effect can definitely works better than your money does in the PRS right? (let's just assume, say 5% p.a. for each).

So let's say you have 2 providers and both also more than RM1500 in your account, won't you withdraw RM3k from PRS instead of EPF?
"Now that you're able to withdraw at least some money back at no penalty, why not take this chance and cash it out a little."
this is not a sure thing yet - LHDN has yet said anything

"so the cash out from account B is merely withdrawing some of the profits that you have made in your past years. "
my POV doesnt jive with such logic,
i simplify to "buy high, sell low"

"Minus the investment concept, letting the monies remain in your account, be it, EPF or PRS, is because you want to let the magic of compounding to work for your future retirement pot. i assume your EPF will certainly has much bigger pot of money and the compounding effect can definitely works better than your money does in the PRS right? (let's just assume, say 5% p.a. for each). "
my POV doesnt jive with such logic too.
what has EPF's bigger pot has anything to do with PRS smaller pot, in context of removing/selling down EPF or PRS?
ie. assuming both same returns as U said, so why would amount in EPF matter to amount in PRS?
logic = ?
5%pa is 5%pa loss on amount taken/sold out, whether or not i took out from EPF or sold PRS $1.5K

In addition - for sure EPF out doesnt impact my tax relief, thus my views on taking/not taking out PRS. It'll be my last card - after robbing:
1. EPF A/C2 via LESTARI & monthly mortgage withdrawal
2. flexi-mortgage prepayments
3. SSPNs

no ultimate right/wrong ya - it depends on one's situation and one's access to tools/knowledge. Best we can do is to make sure the logic & maths is sound.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Apr 8 2020, 12:50 PM
wongmunkeong
post Apr 8 2020, 02:07 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Apr 8 2020, 01:16 PM)
ok got your concept.
additional question, i get confused after reading your post or some other posts. Withdrawing from PRS is not equivalent to income right? you're not gonna add this 1.5k into your tax return as income right? it has no more tax implication, right?
hmm..
is it current offer of RM1.5k withdrawal offer?
OR
"usual withdrawal", where if below retirement 55, we have to "pay back" 8%. as cost of withdrawal?

other than the above possibility,
i havent read anything on similar on "equivalent to additional income, thus impact total tax of 2020, filed in 2021 Mar/Apr".

QUOTE(yklooi @ Apr 8 2020, 01:48 PM)
while waiting for further news/info from the authority ...
I bet/think is, one need to put in RM3000 + what ever that had been withdrawn under this special perks, to qualify for the max tax relief of RM3k claim in next year April tax submission.

my reason is being,
that is current non tax penalty withdrawal of RM1500 is to help those in need of money to tie over the cash flow problem due to the impact of Covid19,
since if one can have "surplus money" to put into PRS, then it just shown that one did not have cash flow problem anymore,....thus they need to put back that withdrawn money back too  devil.gif  biggrin.gif
yeah - i betting that too since LHDN learned from their earlier SSPN loop-hole (now closed off)
wongmunkeong
post Nov 24 2020, 07:47 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(AnasM @ Nov 24 2020, 07:28 PM)
why u wan buy reit?
it no performing
yup - should buy currently performing ones only, buy high sell higher rclxm9.gif
bestest ever now = tech & health right? if only have combination - sure win!

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Nov 24 2020, 07:48 PM
wongmunkeong
post Nov 24 2020, 09:00 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Nov 24 2020, 08:56 PM)
Come'on, its PRS, cannot suka-suka sell anytime.  sweat.gif
can - from A/C 2 or B, just take a hit of 8%
OR if 55 & still working (ie. taxed)... cycle it laugh.gif

Anyhow - my response earlier was tongue-in-cheek tongue.gif
wongmunkeong
post Jan 24 2021, 02:43 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Jan 23 2021, 09:20 PM)
thumbsup.gif  thumbsup.gif  thumbsup.gif

Affin moderate          IRR 8.01%  ROI  31.37%  (almost 4 year )

Principal Asia Pacific ex Japan        IRR 12.83%    ROI 38.67%  (3 year )

Am Reits              ROI  3.82% (6 month)
Overall  :  IRR  9.94%  ROI  23.97%
hehe coz good processes/logic will get results long term - repeatable.
remember your post below + some others questioning you? heheh

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Nov 24 2020, 11:13 PM)
EPF how many % i dont know .... sweat.gif

the Reits PRS is special one bcoz i purposely wanna buy at low (current situation), wanna see can fly in future or not.... thumbup.gif  nvm, 3k only
havent reach 3k yet.....still waiting dip , will reach 3k this week or next week ......then stop .
wongmunkeong
post May 16 2021, 11:50 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 16 2021, 11:45 AM)
A word of advise. FSM statement is not recognised by LHDN as buying PRS. How I know? Was queried by LHDN and give them my FSM statement. Told me, we don't recognised FSM statement.

Told me I owe them RM2k instead. Now in process of reversing
the debt afterr giving them statement from fund house.

Make sure to get your yearly statement from your fund house.
Ramjade, U reached out to FSM to get the statement from the fund house
OR
you manage to set the fund house to send to U directly?

<nervous laughter> heheh.. knowing my luck with LHDN... preparing in advance

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 16 2021, 11:51 AM
wongmunkeong
post Dec 23 2022, 12:34 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 23 2022, 12:29 PM)
Think long term. The time to make money is when market is red. No when it's green.
laugh.gif Funny when there's a Shopee or Lazada 11.11 or Black Friday discount sale, lots of people wanna buy
BUT
when shares in good businesses go on discount sale, people run away or sell their existing holdings

Good la, more FEAR to feed our Yellow Lantern brows.gif

In Blackest Day, in brightest night;
Beware your fears made into light.
Let those who try to stop what's right,
Burn like his powers...Sinestro's MIGHT! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Dec 23 2022, 12:34 PM
wongmunkeong
post Dec 24 2022, 09:48 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(onthefly @ Dec 24 2022, 02:17 AM)
In my view,
Items are tangible. They are bought for consumption or to be used. They have "fair value" or normal price
On the other hand, piece of business or shares are intangible and are owned as investment.

I get the idea, just that its a bad comparison if think objectively.
Tangible.. hm.. U think $ is tangible or just an "idea of value" backed by the $'s Government? Thus "fair value" paid for consumption is > than buying lelong investments?
Of course, invest only if U dont need the $ for tens of years unless one thinks PRS is for trading in/out bangwall.gif

hehe - no worries, that's your PoV, mine differs. Different strokes for different folks
i do hope more people sell investments in fear AND chase investments up /s laugh.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Dec 24 2022, 10:05 AM
wongmunkeong
post Feb 23 2023, 06:36 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Feb 23 2023, 06:32 PM)
Open to abuse for tax incentive
oh, i thought EPF also tax incentivized. hm..

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Feb 23 2023, 06:38 PM

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0275sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:14 PM