Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??
stevenkkh
Apr 3 2018, 11:04 AM
QUOTE(mephyll @ Apr 3 2018, 10:07 AM) sorry i cant answer you, no idea at all about switching. just curious why wanna switch fund? since it is super long term 20-30 years investment, by switching fund will help you earn more? Switching fund means you sell all existing fund, all the units you own? Is this possible by buying another fund with the current price unit?
MUM
Apr 3 2018, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(Kilohertz @ Apr 3 2018, 08:21 AM) How do you switch funds ya? I enrolled into cimb prs but not sure how to switch it to this fund while waiting for responses, I googled and found this in CIMB... http://www.cimb-principal.com.my/prs/FAQ-@...rdian3Tier.aspxif you had bought thru other intermediaries....contact them? QUOTE(stevenkkh @ Apr 3 2018, 11:04 AM) Switching fund means you sell all existing fund, all the units you own? Is this possible by buying another fund with the current price unit? you can switch out all or partial unit of your current holdings...subjected to the minimal number of units you must hold on in the current fund and the minimum money (units) you must buy into the "to switch to" fund..... some FH imposes a minimum holding period too... your switched out units will be converted to $$ then this $$ would be used to buy into your new fund....
SUSTham
Apr 3 2018, 06:32 PM
QUOTE(Kilohertz @ Apr 3 2018, 12:21 AM) How do you switch funds ya? I enrolled into cimb prs but not sure how to switch it to this fund If you contact CIMB Principal or PPA, they will instruct you. However, their customer service seems poor. CIMB never answered my query, and PPA just replied once, then no follow up. You had better go direct to CIMB's offices and see them in person. If you switch funds, they'll charge you $ 25 each time, I believe.
yfiona
Apr 3 2018, 11:38 PM
Are those over 55 years old eligible for the RM3k relief? Thanks
T231H
Apr 4 2018, 01:05 AM
QUOTE(yfiona @ Apr 3 2018, 11:38 PM) Are those over 55 years old eligible for the RM3k relief? Thanks did it mention about the max age to qualify? https://www.sc.com.my/home/special-incentiv...lief-incentive/that is actually a good age....can buy funds at 0% SC and invest to get tax relief then can withdraw anytime with no penalty....  (maybe there is a minimum holding period for new investment......) This post has been edited by T231H: Apr 4 2018, 01:06 AM
AtMostFear
Apr 4 2018, 01:20 AM
Election coming, good time to buy? Planning to put 1k
MUM
Apr 4 2018, 01:24 AM
QUOTE(AtMostFear @ Apr 4 2018, 01:20 AM) Election coming, good time to buy? Planning to put 1k  it depends on do you think which party will win? if normal than normal lor.....if abnormally happens, then abnormally will happens for it is a period of never happens before.....
Kilohertz
Apr 4 2018, 07:54 AM
QUOTE(Tham @ Apr 3 2018, 06:32 PM) If you contact CIMB Principal or PPA, they will instruct you. However, their customer service seems poor. CIMB never answered my query, and PPA just replied once, then no follow up. You had better go direct to CIMB's offices and see them in person. If you switch funds, they'll charge you $ 25 each time, I believe. Ok thanks for the pointers, yes..will find a day and go meet them in person to do the fund switching.
wongmunkeong
Apr 4 2018, 08:19 AM
Barista FIRE
QUOTE(T231H @ Apr 4 2018, 01:05 AM) did it mention about the max age to qualify? https://www.sc.com.my/home/special-incentiv...lief-incentive/that is actually a good age....can buy funds at 0% SC and invest to get tax relief then can withdraw anytime with no penalty....  (maybe there is a minimum holding period for new investment......) great loophole
Apr 4 2018, 08:26 AM
anyone have recommendation for public mutual prs fund?
MUM
Apr 4 2018, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(55665566 @ Apr 4 2018, 08:26 AM) anyone have recommendation for public mutual prs fund? if you want to see the fund performance...can use this tool https://www.publicmutual.com.my/prs/PRS-Pro...Performance-PRS
mephyll
Apr 4 2018, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(AtMostFear @ Apr 4 2018, 01:20 AM) Election coming, good time to buy? Planning to put 1k i never know it is related
xcxa23
Apr 4 2018, 09:58 AM
I'm a still confused about the prs thingy even after reading at ppa site
Now I already got acc with fsm for buying fund and from my understanding still nd to open prs account right? Open thru fsm or ppa site? And then buy prs fund thru fsm? Ppa? Fund hs?
As for the incentive, my understanding is invest 1k get back 1k for those under 30 age and it will credited to the prs account? Can I withdraw the incentive or reinvest the 1k?
SUSDavid83
Apr 4 2018, 10:00 AM
QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Apr 4 2018, 09:58 AM) I'm a still confused about the prs thingy even after reading at ppa site Now I already got acc with fsm for buying fund and from my understanding still nd to open prs account right? Open thru fsm or ppa site? And then buy prs fund thru fsm? Ppa? Fund hs? As for the incentive, my understanding is invest 1k get back 1k for those under 30 age and it will credited to the prs account? Can I withdraw the incentive or reinvest the 1k? If your PPA account is created, you should have letter form PPA. Alternative, call/email to check on your account creation status. They're very friendly. I contacted them before. P/S: FSM is just a middlemen.
T231H
Apr 4 2018, 10:04 AM
QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Apr 4 2018, 09:58 AM) I'm a still confused about the prs thingy even after reading at ppa site Now I already got acc with fsm for buying fund and from my understanding still nd to open prs account right? you need to open a PPA a/c before you can buy PRS fundOpen thru fsm or ppa site? A nyone also can...currently if use PPA online to open the a/c....opening fees of 10.60 is free while with FSM it is not freeAnd then buy prs fund thru fsm? Ppa? Fund hs? anyone also can, but i think PPA can only do top up on existing PRS fund not buy new fundAs for the incentive, my understanding is invest 1k get back 1k for those under 30 age and it will credited to the prs account? Can I withdraw the incentive or reinvest the 1k? just hope this link to the PRS FAQs can provide you with the answers..https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/faq/1...cheme-PRS--8865 This post has been edited by T231H: Apr 4 2018, 10:08 AM
xcxa23
Apr 4 2018, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 4 2018, 10:00 AM) If your PPA account is created, you should have letter form PPA. Alternative, call/email to check on your account creation status. They're very friendly. I contacted them before. P/S: FSM is just a middlemen. Nope.. I haven't create any account related to prs as I only get to know it now So I have to create prs account at the ppa account rite? From here https://prsenrolment.ppa.my/After account created, login thru here https://www.prsmember.my/login/And then buy prs fund thru any middle/fund house? QUOTE(T231H @ Apr 4 2018, 10:04 AM) Damn the details is much more better at fsm than ppa Thanks.. will read thru later after work This post has been edited by xcxa23: Apr 4 2018, 10:09 AM
Ramjade
Apr 4 2018, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Apr 4 2018, 10:06 AM) Nope.. I haven't create any account related to prs as I only get to know it now So I have to create prs account at the ppa account rite? From here https://prsenrolment.ppa.my/After account created, login thru here https://www.prsmember.my/login/And then buy prs fund thru any middle/fund house? Damn the details is much more better at fsm than ppa Thanks.. will read thru later after work Just create using FSM. Fill up the form, mail it back to them. They will open all required account for you.
Apr 4 2018, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 4 2018, 09:47 AM) yea i know, just that i feel my current fund (PRS-IGRF) macam tak bagus. just ask around what others go into
netroais
Apr 23 2018, 05:09 PM
Hi, want to ask around other sifu. I open PRS account at FSM since April 2015 and select "CIMB Islamic PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity - Class C". so for every month put in RM250 to get the 3k tax relief. My question why since 2015, I don't get any dividend credited to my account? at FSM historical view, I only can see buy in statement, No dividend for my PRS. Compare to my eastspring investment, I can see the dividend credited to my account. Anyone can answers this question? How to know the fund performance? It is so bad that no dividend for PRS fund I selected?
cempedaklife
Apr 23 2018, 05:22 PM
QUOTE(netroais @ Apr 23 2018, 05:09 PM) Hi, want to ask around other sifu. I open PRS account at FSM since April 2015 and select "CIMB Islamic PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity - Class C". so for every month put in RM250 to get the 3k tax relief. My question why since 2015, I don't get any dividend credited to my account? at FSM historical view, I only can see buy in statement, No dividend for my PRS. Compare to my eastspring investment, I can see the dividend credited to my account. Anyone can answers this question? How to know the fund performance? It is so bad that no dividend for PRS fund I selected? CIMB PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity - Class C (non-islamic) stated they don't do dividend. all the earning is towards increase price, not paying the dividend and then reducing the price. i guess the same for islamic