Discussion for Good Harddisk, Harddisk Discussion
Redundant
Jan 9 2006, 12:13 AM
im interested in buying the samsung SP0812N http://www.samsung.com/my/products/harddis...ive/sp0812n.aspis it good when compared to WD 80GB models? is there any draw back for ATA100 when im using intel motherboard when compared to ATA133?
Redundant
Jan 10 2006, 01:29 PM
hey guys, between these 2 hard disk, which one shud i get? i use it for torrents + a lil gaming + alot of internet surfing + some assignment works... samsung http://www.samsung.com/my/products/harddis...ive/sp0812n.aspor WD http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.as...=32&Language=eni need a larger hard disk coz my 30gb hard disk is running low and i dun even have 4.7gb free for my dvd burner's cache files... >< thanks in advance!
Redundant
Jan 12 2006, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(wKkaY @ Jan 12 2006, 12:00 PM) Oh really? On what basis are your statements made? Do you work in an environment where hard disks are handled in large quantities? BTW, if you buy hard disks from Samsung, take note that there's no RMA procedures. I'm learning this the hard way, after two SP0411Ns of mine failed. so do u still use samsung hdds? im interested in getting the P0812N, i've read many good user reviews on the P80 series here... http://forums.storagereview.net/index.php?...opic=13426&st=0there's a guy who bought 100 unit and none of them failed... =)
Redundant
Jan 12 2006, 12:56 PM
@super macgyver i've read it from the storage review's forum... a guy who's selling pc... he sold almost 100 unit with samsung hdds and so far no problems... =)
hey macgyver, u're linked with samsung right? so wut do u think of samsung hdds?
Redundant
Oct 15 2006, 12:08 PM
hi, would like to ask... hitachi 160gb and 250gb will hav the same performance rite? since it's the same model? and also, would the price drop alot during pc fair? if diff rm10+ oni then i wanna go lowyat n buy dy... my 30gb maxtor hdd cant last long dy =(
Redundant
Oct 15 2006, 02:13 PM
hey, thnx for the replies... the performance wont vary much rite since im still using PATA... old comp nia... for bt purpose oni...
Redundant
Oct 17 2006, 04:35 PM
aiya, the shop my fren is working in (winchance) dun hav hitachi 250gb PATA in stock... he recommend me WD... ok r?
Redundant
Oct 17 2006, 05:53 PM
QUOTE(super macgyver @ Oct 17 2006, 05:32 PM) at least better than maxtor.  hey, means hitachi is still better than WD rite? i think i'll go other shop and buy la... since price diff a lil oni...
Redundant
Oct 28 2006, 02:59 AM
juz got my 250gb hitachi hdd... very quiet... kindda hot though... 40 degrees nia compared to 35 degrees on my maxtor... now oni i noticed tat my old 30gb maxtor is half the thickness of the new hdd... the speed is fast... 2 minutes to transfer a 1.2gb file from my maxtor to the new hitachi... one problem now... one of the screw of my maxtor hdd is damaged... i cant remove it from my cpu now >< i wanna transfer it to my old old old comp to use it as a file server... =(
Redundant
Oct 28 2006, 03:28 PM
oh, urs is sata2 nia... mine is oni PATA =) plus the maxtor is an old old old drive... ><
Redundant
Oct 28 2006, 11:48 PM
got the screw out with the electric drill's screw driver dy =P phew! my maxtor came along with my desktop... 4 to 5 yrs old dy... ><
Redundant
Oct 29 2006, 11:11 AM
i find the maxtor's drive kindda cool eh... it's half the thickness of my new hitachi nia... all 30 to 40gb drive tat slim last time? it's lighter too... =)
Redundant
Nov 28 2006, 01:58 AM
250GB hitachi PATA @ 36°C =)
Redundant
Nov 28 2006, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(s[H]sIkuA @ Nov 28 2006, 04:00 AM) Got a 160GB samsung and 2x 320gb seagate, gotta say that Samsung produce the best hdd around , silent and fast  Seagate is good too with the 5 year warranty. I have bad experience with Maxtor , WD nv use before  yea, the shop (AllIT) keep recommending me samsung hdd... they say samsung is the oni company to use liquid bearing (lastest today) or sumthing like tat? it's quiet, fast and more reliable! but it'a a lil too pricey for me... hehe... rm30 more than hitachi's... one more thing, samsung is made in KOREA! hitachi made in thailand nia...