Discussion for Good Harddisk, Harddisk Discussion

super macgyver
post Jul 19 2006, 01:49 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Jul 19 2006, 02:14 AM)
just installed my new samsung sata2 160gb.
it's really really queit.
performance?
i feel it's about the same with my previous seagate sata 160gb 7200.7
if compare with pata , got any significant different?
super macgyver
post Jul 20 2006, 06:04 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Jul 19 2006, 08:16 PM)
i changed from pata to sata last year.
not much different i should say.

between, samsung is quiet
but...it's hot !! sweat.gif
hotter than the seagate
both's degree is how much?
super macgyver
post Jul 22 2006, 04:00 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(freak @ Jul 22 2006, 12:47 PM)
better to get a reliable drive than to claim...loss of data is the worst.
so far my WD has served me well. No bad sector for 3 yrs ++.
Maxtor died on me twice.
i also got 1 40gb fail me before. sweat.gif
super macgyver
post Jul 22 2006, 09:41 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(blackamikaze @ Jul 22 2006, 08:28 PM)
u the only one u like maxtor n samsung here.. weird.. i guest ur so lucky...
we all avoid maxtor only. tongue.gif
super macgyver
post Jul 23 2006, 05:45 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

u can go for Hitachi 2.5 inch.
super macgyver
post Jul 23 2006, 08:29 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(coolblade @ Jul 23 2006, 06:35 PM)
u are welcome.

if u really have checked carefully in ur BIOS option but found no raid function, then ur mobo do not have RAID support.

maybe u have to buy PCI RAID card, if u really interested to setup a RAID harddisk.
thank for the information. by the way is WD and seagate also acceptable?
i am not experienced enough about notebook harddisk in term of durability and reliability.
my fren from kelang seagate 2.5inch just died last month after using 6 month. sweat.gif
super macgyver
post Jul 24 2006, 09:01 AM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(kbb2481 @ Jul 24 2006, 08:50 AM)
Current use Maxtor 120gb IDE (nearly 3 years - sept 2003) n WD 160 SATA (just start use). That maxtor got no prob at all. Before use maxtor 20gb, got burn chip. My fren also 20gb seagate.  My bro use 40gb maxtor for 4 years already. Got no prob.
QUOTE(kev_neville @ Jul 24 2006, 08:56 AM)
Most important is the cooling of the HDD is sufficient... Even though I heard many cases of Maxtor HDD not reliable and myself too felt it... But both my Maxtor still running after 2 years...
Running doesnt mean no bad sector, as maxtor famous of it quick generate bad sector. sweat.gif
super macgyver
post Jul 24 2006, 11:13 AM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(kev_neville @ Jul 24 2006, 09:05 AM)
But so far so good... no bad sector... Just that the HDD a abit noisy... thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
when is the last time u scan it?
super macgyver
post Jul 24 2006, 04:07 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 24 2006, 02:04 PM)
Just bought myself a new SATA II Seagate 250GB recently for my new rig.

I noticed something though, hopefully u guys can give some comments:

My old Seagate IDE HDD(20,40,80,120GB) were all made in Singapore.
However, my new HDD is Made in China and somemore it says there "for OEM"!!!!

Somehow, i've a feeling being screwed...sweat.gif

What about your HDD? Are they OEM or made in China???
Usually saw made in singapore, thailand, but no china yet. sweat.gif
super macgyver
post Jul 25 2006, 12:02 AM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jul 24 2006, 06:27 PM)
i dont have first hand experience with samsung hdd, but my friend died within 1 year.. not sure how intensive he BT in australia

edit : it's extremeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeely quiet
even died also quietly. i trying to looking for hitachi now.
super macgyver
post Jul 26 2006, 01:21 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(inma @ Jul 26 2006, 10:42 AM)
Can someone recommend me a quiet (sata)hard drive.

My current rig with the stock p4 fan, gc fan and hd noise... is like a mini disco going on everytime i on my machine  rclxub.gif

I'm trying to build my next machine with minimum noise pollution  tongue.gif
u can try the WD320gb scsi motor sata2 hdd in cycom RM348.
super macgyver
post Jul 26 2006, 03:34 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(inma @ Jul 26 2006, 02:29 PM)
Cheers super macgyver, any other option?
Will the WD 160gb sata2 be just as quiet?
i think is quiet too as nowadays sata hdd is build to be quiet.
super macgyver
post Jul 28 2006, 11:04 AM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(yupio @ Jul 28 2006, 10:02 AM)
I am using WD HDDs : One WD2500KS & One WD3200KS

Both are SATA II, 16Mb. Cache.

Performance is great, they are fast and really very very quiet. It is also very low on heat.

Previously using Maxtor 160Gb SATA I and another Maxtor 80Gb. IDE. The 80Gb. died after about 1 year. Sold off my Maxtor 160Gb. and got both WD...been very happy with it. I highly recommend WD.

But then I got a problem which I think is not due to HDD fault. U see, I am connecting the 250Gb. and 320Gb. on SATA and I transfer large files and large amount of files from one HDD to another (most of the time from 250Gb. to 320Gb.). After a while of transferring, there will be an error message popup somewhere at taskbar (near the clock at lowerright of the screen). The error is " Delayed Write Failed". The error is referring to my 320Gb. (destination drive of my copy). The 320Gb. will not be accessible anymore and the HDD light (LED on casing) will be 'on' all the way.

What I do is, I have to shutdown the PC and start again and its back to normal until I do large file / large amount of file copy again. If i just normal use the PC without large copy, it will be OK.

I have checked the drive for errors or bad sectors and everything is fine. I also googled around for the error and found some known issues from microsoft WinXp but followed and solution and it still happens. There are also some forums that discussed this error but there's no one managed to solve it.

You can refer :

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=330174&sd=RMVP

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/870894/en-us

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?...kb;en-us;839490

Any ideas fellow members?? Pls. help, this is annoying me.
Try check with ur ram first. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(adrian0229 @ Jul 28 2006, 10:19 AM)
using maxtor 80GB for 4yrs lo...alread yhv bad sector n hv sound lik helicopter liao...gonna buy new HDD...

any recommendation?seagate or WD is better?both of this hdd is 3yrs warranty?TQ
U can consider hitachi as i saw startec is selling it now.

This post has been edited by lex: Jul 28 2006, 04:25 PM
super macgyver
post Jul 28 2006, 12:15 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(yupio @ Jul 28 2006, 12:10 PM)
super macgyver, thanks for replying....no prob with my ram...i wonder whether it could be due to the mainboard..maybe the chipset is not so good....i m using a MSI nforce 6150/430 mobo for AMD S939...running 512Mb. DDR400 Kingston and AMD Athlon 64 3800+
u sure or not? else, u try change the ram to another slot & check first.

This post has been edited by lex: Jul 28 2006, 04:24 PM
super macgyver
post Jul 28 2006, 04:11 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

dun talk so much lah, try check ur ram first, action talk lounder than words. doh.gif:
super macgyver
post Jul 30 2006, 01:58 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(coolblade @ Jul 30 2006, 12:44 PM)
yupio, please try other good RAM modules?

by the way i must say that copying a large file from one location to another location, that the size of file exceed the RAM capacity, is not practical.

eg: move a 1 GB of file instead the RAM is 512 MB can result in slowdown.

try to move smaller file or group of file, not exceeding the total RAM u got, at a time. Better move one after one than move a very large file at once.

in 2 GB machines, if u move a 1 GB file, it is more responsive than the 512 MB machines.

Please think this a good rule to be followed.
sweat.gif but if use ghosting usually over 30gb mar. wink.gif
super macgyver
post Jul 30 2006, 04:44 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(haylui @ Jul 30 2006, 04:25 PM)
i had a seagate 4GB model hard disk. Medalist 4340 series 3.2GB hard disk has been servicing me for 5 years and then I had it service for other people until today. I bought it on year 1999.
So far that hard disk has no problem at all. Even once I had pull my cd-rom molex connection when operating and killed one hard disk but that seagate still remain save.
I have 3 hard disk which is Maxtor 80GB, Western Digital 80GB and Maxtor 200GB but they seem to have some unstable issues.
wat is the manufacturer date of ur wd80gb? 2mb or 8mb cache?
btw any1 try hitachi 80gb yet?
super macgyver
post Aug 1 2006, 11:37 AM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(daruma @ Aug 1 2006, 10:56 AM)
Seagate Notebook HDD got 5years warranty or not?
yes, it is 5yr warty, but wonder y they now dun want to show in their price list the wrty period tis yr. sweat.gif
super macgyver
post Aug 2 2006, 04:42 AM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(dav668 @ Aug 1 2006, 12:26 PM)

I wonder where to get the Hitachi HDD (IBM). Seagate compares to Hitachi HDD, which one better??

only startec is selling it now.
super macgyver
post Aug 18 2006, 07:50 AM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(cherokee @ Aug 16 2006, 12:33 PM)
Before this i use Maxtor 40GB PATA for three years already and no problem at all. You must also need to take care of the temperature or ram timing also.

If you all exciting to get raid setting, yes go on, the performance is great but in real application or real world its not worth to make raid. Ok to explain why go to this link Do you really need raid?

Now i like to get the HItachi one. This drive also great perfromance actually. The most important is the lowest seek time compare to all drives. I'm using sinle 250GB Hitachi Deskstar, in benchmark its average but in real app benchies, this is the better one.
How about the warranty? send to who? how much u bought it?

QUOTE(yehlai @ Aug 16 2006, 11:12 PM)
I think W.D and seagate is equaly good in trem of spining life and inovation but i definately go 4 seagate cos 5 yrs warranty.. superb after sales service.. just need sent to summit P.J... i heard that they only take less than 1 week for RMA. latter i put that web site to share with u guys.
here u go laugh.gif
http://www.mytechforum.net/forum/index.php?topic=75.0

*currently using seagate barracuda 160GB*
i just bought a segate 160 pata too 2 week ago from lowyat. tongue.gif

QUOTE(yehlai @ Aug 16 2006, 11:49 PM)
oh ya guys.. im sure many of u are using portable hdd now (2.5" or 3.5") can share some tips how to avoid damage to portable hdd cos i always bring it outstation lolzz
remember to safe remove in windows, dun drop it. sweat.gif

15 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0186sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:29 PM