Discussion for Good Harddisk, Harddisk Discussion

super macgyver
post Feb 3 2006, 03:22 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(mfa333 @ Feb 3 2006, 01:03 AM)
when is the smart error will appear when our hdd gonna down soon?in bios before booting windows?
yes, in the bios screen but i think it will alert too in windows enviroment.

This post has been edited by super macgyver: Feb 3 2006, 03:25 PM
syke
post Feb 4 2006, 12:47 PM

443 posts

hi, i wanna ask if it is OK to mix HDD brands in a PC. Say, i have a WD drive and now i want a Seagate as a secondary, will it be ok?

thanx.
super macgyver
post Feb 4 2006, 01:15 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

also no problem with mixed lah.
syke
post Feb 4 2006, 03:51 PM

443 posts

ic, thanx man. My cousin was using WDs. His secondary WD fked up after only one year. Im telling him to get a Seagate replacement. Seagate rox!
Eden
post Feb 4 2006, 09:31 PM

GooD Is NoT GooD, BaD Is Not BaD
934 posts

wd hdd in my company pc die after just 1 year, all data gone, lucky i have backup sweat.gif doh.gif
Par@dox
post Feb 5 2006, 12:15 PM

Gantzer
1,222 posts

Personal experience.. for reliability, go with Seagate.. for performance, go with WD.

I would never buy Maxtor again.. two Maxtors died on me.. had one repaired since it was under warranty.. but it died again a year later.
super macgyver
post Feb 6 2006, 09:02 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(Par@dox @ Feb 5 2006, 12:15 PM)
Personal experience.. for reliability, go with Seagate.. for performance, go with WD.

I would never buy Maxtor again.. two Maxtors died on me.. had one repaired since it was under warranty.. but it died again a year later.
tat also same goes to my fren both seagate. sweat.gif
woopypooky
post Feb 7 2006, 07:24 PM

1,292 posts

what is NCQ? how will it affect performance? i hear winxp cant use NCQ but VIsta can? my 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax 10 SATA got NCQ or not?
Eden
post Feb 7 2006, 09:48 PM

GooD Is NoT GooD, BaD Is Not BaD
934 posts

now i got 3 hdd, 1 hitachi 40gb pata, 1 ibm 40gb pata, 1 wd 80gb sata, hitachi hdd is using more than 5 year still rock and fast thumbup.gif
tyssxp
post Feb 8 2006, 10:58 AM

Happy~~
863 posts

erm....failure rate for Maxtor quite high? erm my Maxtor still not yet fail me yet...have been using my 40GB Maxtor for quite a few years edi for gaming n apps..no prob so far
super macgyver
post Feb 8 2006, 04:41 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(tyssxp @ Feb 8 2006, 10:58 AM)
erm....failure rate for Maxtor quite high? erm my Maxtor still not yet fail me yet...have been using my 40GB Maxtor for quite a few years edi for gaming n apps..no prob so far
maxtor is famous of bad sector actually, better u just scan ur hdd more frequent.
pilotHans
post Feb 8 2006, 05:29 PM

scuderia ferrari pit crew (" ,)
2,525 posts

http://www.storagereview.com/php/benchmark..._1=313&devCnt=2

Samsung SpinPoint P120 no NCQ (250 GB SATA)

or

Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 with NCQ (250 GB SATA)

unsure.gif

currently using Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 (200 GB SATA bought April 2005) LYP guy said got NCQ already sweat.gif

This post has been edited by pilotHans: Feb 8 2006, 05:31 PM
woopypooky
post Feb 8 2006, 07:16 PM

1,292 posts

what is the function of ncq?
super macgyver
post Feb 9 2006, 06:10 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

here more on the durability on hdd than speed.
slash
post Feb 12 2006, 04:23 PM

Warcraft 3 Champion - Lan Party 2003
1,081 posts

im getting a lot of these errors in event viewer.

The device, \Device\Harddisk1\D, has a bad block.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

i have a feeling my wd is going to die soon. sleep.gif'
since seagate has a reputation for reliability, i'm thinking of getting one.
the 250gb sata2 seems the best bang for buck
super macgyver
post Feb 15 2006, 03:41 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(slash @ Feb 12 2006, 04:23 PM)
im getting a lot of these errors in event viewer.

The device, \Device\Harddisk1\D, has a bad block.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

i have a feeling my wd is going to die soon. sleep.gif'
since seagate has a reputation for reliability, i'm thinking of getting one.
the 250gb sata2 seems the best bang for buck
seagate hdd also facing a high failure like wd did but unlike maxtor tat terible yet.
Torniquet
post Feb 15 2006, 06:00 PM

Unable to think of one
1,443 posts

maxtor i think has the highest failing rate....
Sim (2)
post Feb 15 2006, 06:14 PM

¬¬ Wacha Luctking at?
2,360 posts

i hate maxtor HDD.. it always fail me on my old pc.. when u are having power failure or something.. it will kill your data inside..
Motorbaby
post Feb 16 2006, 05:03 PM

2,126 posts

QUOTE(Sim (2) @ Feb 15 2006, 06:14 PM)
i hate maxtor HDD.. it always fail me on my old pc.. when u are having power failure or something.. it will kill your data inside..
wat u mean by power failure?
rainmankl
post Feb 16 2006, 05:09 PM

478 posts

Talk to a person in the IT business.
Looks like Maxtor gave the biggest profit margin that is why you find Maxtor being push by all salesman in the PC industry.

He mention for the best quality\reliability is Hitachi follow by Seagate
For best perfomance select WD but noisy and more heat and is good for gaming.

I only use Hitachi and Seagate.

In case you do not know, Hitachi bought over the IBM HDD busineess
some years ago so basically you are buying IBM HDD.

Years ago, mention IBM and you shake your head because you cannot afford anything that is IBM branded.

But now ,IBM HDD and PC is so affordable and I wonder why no one ask for them anymore.

125 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.6400sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:30 AM