Discussion for Good Harddisk, Harddisk Discussion

super macgyver
post Aug 23 2006, 09:57 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(minyee2006 @ Aug 21 2006, 12:26 AM)
raid is super troublesome la... not everyone can make it work easily... and the performance really not much difference if not doing a lot of multitasking like 3d graphic processing.. RAID 0 some more is danger ler.. one hard disk spoilt data on another also boom! no more... I would go for a hard disk with sata2 setting lo.. i read in a few mag saying samsung spinpoint series is good wo performance not really top notch but also no.2 or 3 like that compared to fast harddisk like raptor, hitachi, maxtor diamondmax11 etc.... dono real or not.. so cheap some more.. any user of that here? hitachi deckstar also seems quite good.. the samsung one got one thing confirm.. the samsung one i think is p120.. maybe old liao.. not sure. the cache only 8mb..
u can go for raid 1+0
super macgyver
post Aug 26 2006, 12:18 AM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(Criptonox89 @ Aug 24 2006, 03:22 PM)
hello guys....

i owned a Maxtor 160GB hdd(sata)....it work as a external hdd(slave) ad keep it nicely into a vantec ext. hdd. case....so far so good...no problem at all.....until today...i switch on the power on the plug....and i smeel some odd smell....something like scorched food.....i thought there's somebody cooking.....never bother about that....out of my mind...my com can't recognize my hdd anymore.....i take a look on the ext hdd case.....it's like never been activated....no LED lid on.....take out the hdd and check it.....one of a chip on the back had burned....obviously burned......it's not even enough half year.....brought it from my home town and currently at malacca......i still got the receipt stated 3 years warranty given......wanna ask u guys whether the warranty do cover burned hdd or not? i should bring back to the place where i bought it or just send it to my nearest com. service centre?

sorry, maxtor if burn chip mean warranty void. sweat.gif
super macgyver
post Aug 29 2006, 12:00 AM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

seagate 160gb pata very cool in my ring, just 31c.

This post has been edited by super macgyver: Aug 29 2006, 12:01 AM
super macgyver
post Aug 31 2006, 05:40 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

saw winchance got lot hitachi hdd, dun know which 1 to choose as my current seagte backup purpose spare hdd. sweat.gif
super macgyver
post Sep 2 2006, 08:57 AM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(6GDominator @ Sep 2 2006, 04:08 AM)
ic but i read some reviews in the magazine, it said it is a good HDD with good performance and good budget too. i think all the people got different thinking eh? laugh.gif
2.5 or 3.5 inch?
super macgyver
post Sep 3 2006, 05:22 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(victorboy @ Sep 2 2006, 11:37 AM)
what about reliability?
i am extremely worry the SMART error happen by using the hdd not more than a year.

both of mine hdd got bad sector.....  doh.gif
wat hdd u using? maxtor? sweat.gif
super macgyver
post Sep 5 2006, 10:50 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Sep 5 2006, 09:25 PM)
Eventhough your mobo doesn't support SATA II, you still can use SATA II HDDs, it will transfer at normal SATA speeds. So the 16MB SATA II is still usable smile.gif
i prefer upgrade to normasl pata hdd
super macgyver
post Sep 5 2006, 11:21 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Sep 5 2006, 11:15 PM)
PATA is IDE drives
SATA II is like a version 2 which has twice the transfer rate than SATA 1
super mcgyver : Well, my 320GB SATA II works well as a backup drive, its even way faster eventhough tested at ATA-100 speeds then my other ATA-100 IDE drives plus its cheaper for the 250GB/320GB models than PATAs
well, i dun need too fast, as long it is portable on other fren pc to exchange drama is my first priority.
super macgyver
post Sep 5 2006, 11:54 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(radmaszeal @ Sep 5 2006, 11:32 PM)
if i'm not mistaken pata max speed 133mbps, sata 150mbps, sata2 300mbps.
my samsung is the primary while the maxtor is secondary. but the transfer rates on the samsung is wierd. up and down. while the maxtor gradually going down..

samsung

maxtor

is this normal?
dun share the same ide cable loh on both devices.
super macgyver
post Sep 9 2006, 12:45 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(radmaszeal @ Sep 8 2006, 12:58 AM)
there were some background programs running. is that why the samsung has ups and downs in its benchmark?

sata and pata hdds cables. shouldnt have any interference.
i thought serrirel only work on nvidia chipset mb?
super macgyver
post Sep 9 2006, 05:29 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

seagate is still ot stable, but wd lose to seagate now coz lot rma. doh.gif:
super macgyver
post Sep 9 2006, 09:02 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(miloy2k @ Sep 9 2006, 07:27 PM)
IMO all brand have their pro and cons sweat.gif juz make sure u backup ur data often smile.gif
how do u backup ur data? come share with us ur way. smile.gif
super macgyver
post Sep 10 2006, 09:09 AM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Sep 10 2006, 08:59 AM)
buy from bulk dont forget to ask warranty..

but actually personal warranty r not so useful so its better u go check on-line with the hdd manufacture for the waranty validation immidiately after u buy hdd from bulk. in case got prob u still can go RMA.

but i noe tht some bulk dont have manufacture warranty one cos they took OEM hdd to sell.. so its a bit risky.
siggy is all ur hdd? drool.gif
super macgyver
post Sep 10 2006, 02:06 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

mean u got all tis 3 type hdd fujitsu, toshiba & hitachi in ur rig?
super macgyver
post Sep 12 2006, 10:13 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(victorboy @ Sep 12 2006, 03:51 PM)
ic...
if i am not mistaken, long long time ago they did gave me screws...

or maybe not...
should be come with the casing...
no screws how to tighten up the hdd!!  doh.gif
i can give u screw if they dun give u,okie? thumbup.gif
super macgyver
post Sep 14 2006, 10:30 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(peachmonkey @ Sep 14 2006, 01:47 AM)
Hi all!!

I need some advise on laptop external hardisk. Not really sure where to post so I thought of trying my luck here. If this isn't the correct place, admins please move the post  blush.gif

For external laptop hardisk what brands should I be looking at? And I understand that not all casings support every hardisk capacity. Meaning a casing that can support 30GB may not be able to support a 80GB hardisk right?
Any other things I should be wary of?

Thanks!
u can take the hitachi as speed very fast.
super macgyver
post Sep 16 2006, 12:05 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(mzms @ Sep 15 2006, 12:08 PM)
wah... all these posts about maxtor dying make me worried cos i just bought a brand new maxtor sataII 160gb. it says it's manufactured in august in china. am weary about these china mari goods. but my hdd is cool, only around 32-35C. also have an older seagate 40GB 5400rpm which is 38C. i bought a brand new hitachi deskstar 80GB which can hit 40C!

i really hope my drive will last at least its full warranty period.

my bro's three disks all died recently, really weird, all about the same time... seagate 2.5" and samsung and then the maxtor also showing signs of going out.

IMO, all hdds give out, just donno sooner or later... maybe depend on luck also huh? like buying car... just keep fingers crossed we get a good one.
samsung is 2.5 too? how the maxtor u been using it how long?
super macgyver
post Sep 17 2006, 01:54 AM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(victorboy @ Sep 17 2006, 01:23 AM)
speaking of the fans for hdd...
does it help the SMART errors?

and what is the purpose to adding the hdd fans onto the hdd beside cooling it down?
perhaps, maybe it can say to reduce the chipset burn down?
hdd cooler is only bring advantages, if it heat can generate more heat inside ur ring, hw sure lifespan will be shorter mar.
super macgyver
post Sep 17 2006, 01:58 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

u can use hdtune to c the temp, my seagate is now from 34 to 37, since like 8cm fan evercool is not as strong as my hec fan but the noise db is just DB16.
super macgyver
post Sep 17 2006, 09:29 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(mzms @ Sep 17 2006, 04:33 PM)
oops actually it's toshiba on his mac, i think i typed seagate. the samsung is a 2.5" yes. the maxtor that died's only about 1 year old.

what software do u guys use? i am using HDD Thermometer.
ur samsung when bought it as i m no wworry coz i m using samsung 2.5 hdd too. sad.gif bought it 2004

15 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0334sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:20 AM