7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

HONDA CIVIC Club V11, My VTEC goes BWAAAAAHH!!!!

unitron
post Aug 29 2012, 08:20 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

[quote=sadako-chan,Aug 27 2012, 03:11 PM]
[quote=unitron,Aug 27 2012, 01:12 PM]
3. Disk brake warped --> I think common previously, dunno if Honda already fixed the problem
[quote]

TBH the disc brake warpage I think is mostly caused by driver habits rather than faulty design. I drive my card hard, and usually any vibration comes from failed joint or worn bushings, I've replaced the rotors only once in a decade, and it never warped even after repeated trips up and down genting. Other cars also same. Most people tend to use brakes instead of engine breaking on downhill, thus causing the discs to overheat and warp.

[/quote]

hmm.. hmm.gif I think you may be right, previously my friend who was working in Honda SC was saying that they have lots of customers complaints on the disc brakes, especially for larger rotors like Accord that they suspect manufacturing problem. But never heard any recall so far. Unless they do it quietly, any Accords owner receive letter to replace disc rotors?
unitron
post Aug 30 2012, 11:46 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Aug 30 2012, 11:07 AM)
silver color?
i guess chrome color rims most striking.
don't get the type-r replica's unless u can find the gun metal color.
white rims on silver car so weird
plus white rims are a chore to maintain.
unitron
post Aug 31 2012, 11:47 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(Arkaine @ Aug 30 2012, 01:29 PM)
demn... my power steering hose leaking.... have to do DIY patch... for the time being.... sleep.gif

wanna try my luck at tawau this weekend to source for parts... yawn.gif
Cannot use tape for the job??
unitron
post Sep 7 2012, 01:35 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(sadako-chan @ Sep 7 2012, 11:08 AM)
Oh, finally drove/rempit my friend's k20a eg yesterday. Out of VTEC, the car is disappointing.  Seems like it definitely needs to be tuned for part throttle. The gear ratio is short though. Needs a little getting used to
hmm.. should be a tuning issue. Anyway I haven't solved mine also, already 8 months, really disappointing. Planning to try out a new tuner new week.

QUOTE(zenix @ Sep 7 2012, 12:09 PM)
not having a family.
just feel that fd1 isn't as exciting as i thought.
laugh.gif luckily I did not get it last time when considering which car to get. Another friend of mine already changed to FN2R from FD1

QUOTE(zenix @ Sep 7 2012, 12:18 PM)
probably in a years time.
settling for a subdued city vtec for the moment.
You gonna be disappointed... shakehead.gif coz' I owned one previously and it was bleehh.... sad.gif
unitron
post Sep 7 2012, 09:39 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(sadako-chan @ Sep 7 2012, 06:25 PM)
Good luck, I have a feeling it's about the VTC, and frankly most of the tuners I've met cannot reasonably explain to me how they are going to set the VTC.
Which year? if the new 2011 model and up, the rear suspension is horrible. For a supposedly 'city' car, it doesn't take bumps well at the back.

My mom is driving one. Now regretting. I told her to get an older K20 Accord.. but nooooo.. she says it's too big. I would have secretly stuffed in K24 while she wasn't looking. Lololol
Dunno if anything wrong with the VTC settings, but it was tuned. Hopefully the 'new' tuner can sort it out properly.

My old City was a 2005 CVT VTEC... good for fuel economy and going up genting with the CVT but it's just a 'normal' 1.5L engine
unitron
post Sep 8 2012, 10:20 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

There's a supercharger kit available for the City L15A engine... For those who need more power.. Hint hint..
unitron
post Sep 10 2012, 09:55 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Sep 9 2012, 11:37 PM)

CVT can take it?

Probably not all the time.. dun rev so high all the time. nod.gif
Everyday WOT sure kong... tongue.gif
unitron
post Sep 10 2012, 11:53 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(SKY@All @ Sep 10 2012, 10:51 PM)
yo guys~ anyone have the lobang for the FB modulo kits?
You should ask in this forum..

2012 Civic
unitron
post Sep 12 2012, 06:21 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(sadako-chan @ Sep 11 2012, 04:24 PM)
You mileage almost same like mine, Mine is 320k km+, I changed mine to B20b, but now rebuilding the B16a up back again, but dunno what car to put it in yet, maybe if I can score a cheap EF.

I've a friend who wants to sell his EF... sure very cheap since condition is quite bad.. sweat.gif
A lot of work went into it to get it running like new, but I think he's using a workshop that is not capable of doing a proper job.

If you're really interested can take a look.

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 12 2012, 04:46 PM)
oooo P44... i guess theyre ok la.. if u trust them then just listen to them... though id recommend going to a good car wash first.. get an engine wash and then monitor the leaks from there.
Car wash normally dun wash the bottom of the engine...

This post has been edited by unitron: Sep 12 2012, 09:34 PM
unitron
post Sep 13 2012, 02:18 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Sep 13 2012, 09:48 AM)
okay.
today is the day.
gonna rid myself of a problematic FD brows.gif
So... in future when suddenly someone post on this forum he/she has a problem on a recently purchased 2nd hand FD it could be your car.. tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by unitron: Sep 13 2012, 02:18 PM
unitron
post Sep 18 2012, 10:28 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(sadako-chan @ Sep 18 2012, 04:37 PM)

buys k-tuned fuel filter. RM150

Spends close to 1K to install that said fuel filter.

I feel so stupid doh.gif
why so expensive???
unitron
post Sep 20 2012, 09:55 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Sep 20 2012, 04:04 PM)
the ES also boleh tahan ma  blush.gif
QUOTE(zenix @ Sep 20 2012, 04:25 PM)
ES boleh tahan then FD is godly  laugh.gif
ES is crap, even the last batch, limited edition one RX2... It's my DD, I agree that it is crap. sad.gif

Previous DD was City VTEC, also crap. But not enough $$$ to afford anything better, what to do. cry.gif
unitron
post Sep 21 2012, 10:19 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Sep 20 2012, 11:03 PM)
shah alam?
i from shah alam never seen b4  hmm.gif
whats ur DD now?
DD now is the ES (actual code is ET1), limited edition RX2.
K20A3 block with Type-R internals and head

QUOTE(sadako-chan @ Sep 20 2012, 11:25 PM)
Your target too high for your budget.

Try like mine, old EG/EK chassis, brand new monotube suspension & bushes. Having new bushes and monotube suspension makes all the difference in the world. Heck the only time you'll find monotubes are in BMWs and most continental cars that are made by bilstein, this is why you find those conti's very comfortable at any speed. It's all in the suspension and of course, the weight, with civic chassis, it's lightweight means low speed damping is quite poor, not due to the shocks, but due to the car's weight.

A friend that drove my car says it drives like a new car, and steering also quite tight. You can't get distracted driving it, you move the steering a bit, the car turns, you move too much, oversteer.

Of course, this is not something people are easily convinced to do, since the price of monotubes is 10K thereabouts, with the cheapest being the locally made ones like titan and GAB.

Mine is also midrange brand made by Omnipower. I wish I could buy ohlins/motons/tein/bilstein/etc, but those brands are 10K plus plus, quite close to the amount I spent on engine.  doh.gif

As for compression, I can tell you that no matter what people tell you, below 12static compression is the best option for longetivity, you don't get much knock, you also don't purge bubbles through the gasket like most 12+compression engines do. My friend's B18C is making 200hp, but he's also having air purged out through the gasket, requiring him to run an air seperator tank (bubble tank)

After rempit with my friend's K, I'm still in love with my B20B low end torque. It's just fun when you have 60-80hp at 2-3K rpm.
I'm using Titan adjustable coilovers... ride still sucks, even after adjustment.

I've no complaint on the steering feel, just the ride, handling and soundproofing sucks.....
all the cheap plastic interior rattling... FD feels much better.
unitron
post Sep 21 2012, 10:45 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Sep 21 2012, 10:32 AM)
i feel for you.
my cousin got an ES once.
he was so disappointed then he bought an RX8
got disappointed some more then bought DC2R  sweat.gif
wat is so dissapointing with the RX8?? blink.gif blink.gif
unitron
post Sep 23 2012, 02:34 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(sadako-chan @ Sep 23 2012, 01:49 AM)
Ah too bad your experience is poor with monotubes, granted, there are negatives to mono-tubes compared to twin tubes. I find them more sensitive, but there is no jarring compared to when I am using twin tubes.  The heavier the car, the better it works from what I've tried. When I'm driving alone, the suspension feels a bit stiff, but when I carry passengers at back, it's really comfortable. Using my current one, comparing to my previous spoon twin tubes, the higher the speed, the more reactive the suspension is. The spoon twin tubes just rattles when on rough terrain at speed, unlike the mono-tube I'm using now.

yeah.. my main problem is the jarring actually. Especially going over those small sudden bumps in the road. e.g when they never tar properly, and it's a sudden sharp edge, or broken patch, or those idiot who make those small sharp speed bumps.

It feels like the car being hit and there is no suspension, i.e go-kart feel.

Adjusted the car higher, softer damping and even increased to 55 series tires which help but never eliminate the feel.
But since it's softer, the handling sucks big time. I just think the chassis design is bad.

The FD2R have even more super stiff suspension which make the right verrryyy bumpy, but dunno why dun have the jarring feel.

Was wondering if changing all the rubber bushes will help, but inspection of the bushes, they look in good condition. Dun want to burn $$$ moneyflies.gif moneyflies.gif unnecessarily by changing them and still same feeling.
unitron
post Sep 26 2012, 02:43 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

I think it stands for... Adjustables = (arrgghhh, just terrible)... laugh.gif
unitron
post Sep 26 2012, 11:54 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(ReidenLing @ Sep 26 2012, 10:47 PM)
.....spoon byk mahal la boss  cry.gif burn in deep pocket  sweat.gif
no nid use cable cable... individual ignition coil la... tongue.gif tongue.gif laugh.gif
unitron
post Sep 27 2012, 08:38 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

My mechanic and tuner told me that original stock standard Honda cables are the best for the B-series.

Anyway just sharing some info with you guys, you make your own decision.
unitron
post Sep 27 2012, 09:27 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 27 2012, 12:42 PM)
yeah just leave the stock cables... if theyre in good condition...no need to change

heres a plug cable comparison...done locally using dyno testing

http://www.vtec.net/articles/view-article?article_id=8680
wow... shocking.gif didn't know they actually tested it.... Great info to share with all my friends still driving B-series. thumbup.gif
unitron
post Oct 1 2012, 02:29 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

Just recently, my car developed problem idling.... dunno why, but the idiling is rough, rpm is very low, sometimes will 'mati engine'. It's even worse with the air cond on.

Most of the time, I've to keep my foot slightly on the accelerator pedal when at traffic lights to prevent the engine from dying.

What was recently done...
- new spark plugs, so shouldn't be plug problem
- valve clerance checked and within specifications

My suspect are faulty O2 sensor (since scan tool return funny readings) but there is no check engine light and if there is a problem with the sensor, it's not a new problem and should not be related to the idling problem. Next suspect is dirty fuel injectors, can the injector suddenly be dirty?

Any ideas anyone? Do give some technical reason why u suspect so and so part.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0600sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:24 AM