Wireless Speed Wheel, Gallery added

TSgundamalpha
post Oct 5 2011, 03:16 PM, updated 15y ago

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Any idea when is this coming out? Does it need Kinect to work? Can't find much info on this product

http://www.xbox.com/en-US/Xbox360/Accessor...ess-Speed-Wheel

This post has been edited by gundamalpha: Oct 14 2011, 03:17 PM
Kidicarus
post Oct 5 2011, 03:48 PM

727 posts

It's supposed to be out this month, more precisely to coincide with the launch of forza 4. You won't need kinect because i imagine that sensitivity will be controlled through the use of accelerometers and whatnot. Don't ask me for sources because I'm recalling all this from various articles I've read in the last couple of months.
TSgundamalpha
post Oct 5 2011, 04:01 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

I wonder how sensitive is the wheel since I hardly sit straight playing games.
mhdazrol
post Oct 5 2011, 08:33 PM

26 posts

I worder how it work, cost about 350 hkd need to wait until the forza 4 out firts than i will but and try it..
rkoviper
post Oct 9 2011, 08:27 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Oct 5 2011, 03:16 PM)
Any idea when is this coming out? Does it need Kinect to work? Can't find much info on this product

http://www.xbox.com/en-US/Xbox360/Accessor...ess-Speed-Wheel

stunning laaa..biggrin.gif
like the design rclxms.gif
awan
post Oct 13 2011, 11:22 PM

36 posts

Its already avalaible at bestbuy .com for usd59.90...quite cheap i think..
TSgundamalpha
post Oct 13 2011, 11:29 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Waiting for it to arrive, hopefully tomorrow
awan
post Oct 14 2011, 12:19 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Oct 13 2011, 11:29 PM)
Waiting for it to arrive, hopefully tomorrow
May i know from where u get it and how much the total cost?

TSgundamalpha
post Oct 14 2011, 12:47 AM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(awan @ Oct 14 2011, 12:19 AM)
May i know from where u get it and how much the total cost?
RM300+shipping with Forza 4 from Playzone cool2.gif

Added on October 14, 2011, 10:58 amReceived it, hope tonight has the time to enjoy it and may be do a mini review on it smile.gif

This post has been edited by gundamalpha: Oct 14 2011, 10:58 AM
terranova
post Oct 14 2011, 12:18 PM

1,161 posts

no disrespect .... but for me personally, i am sceptical that this "suspended in the air" wheel can be effective, or even fun, over a prolonged racing session. would require some serious paradigm shift as most gamers would have grown up using wheels + pedals that are affixed to a solid anchor and can withstand the robust handling. guess this is aimed at a different category of users.

@ gundam - i look forward to your review bro. and photos too hopefully. smile.gif
Edison83
post Oct 14 2011, 02:00 PM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

the wheel looks cool
but I was thinking... tangan tak lenguh ke?
TSgundamalpha
post Oct 14 2011, 03:13 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Haven't opened it yet, but here's a quick glimpse

Front packaging

Back packaging

Size comparison with "regular" controller

Family photo
y3ivan
post Oct 14 2011, 03:21 PM

502 posts

gundamalpha you must be a true Fan
TSgundamalpha
post Oct 14 2011, 03:27 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Actually I don't consider myself a racing sim fan, my favourite racer is still Shutokou series but I'll pick up racing sim for a break in which there's only Forza left in this category. The mechanism in this series is all the same after so many years, however the system changes making me come back again and again and again, unlike certain other racing sim where claimed to be real simulation and yet the mechanism changes everytime with a new release. The last time I checked, the earth gravity force hasn't changed one bit for the past millenias nod.gif
y3ivan
post Oct 14 2011, 03:50 PM

502 posts

good point with earth gravity, but i think the revised "mechanism" refers to dynamics. Those things are harder to simulate
elasticote
post Oct 14 2011, 03:58 PM

20 posts

have u ever see somebody playing racing game using controller, but move his hand and body when take corner? i believe this item suit them well.. biggrin.gif
TSgundamalpha
post Oct 14 2011, 03:59 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

At least I feel Forza is realistic enough to keep the mechanism/dynamics the same, and I can perform the same manouver with the same car/track over the first 3 instalments. The "other" series I had to change the driving style in every instalment, up to 4 because I had completely lost interest on the 5th one since they are always altering "realism" which can't be altered in the first place.

But anyway, I'm looking forward to test this thing out. Hope it changes the racing experience enough to keep me interested in racing game further biggrin.gif

Added on October 14, 2011, 4:00 pm
QUOTE(elasticote @ Oct 14 2011, 03:58 PM)
have u ever see somebody playing racing game using controller, but move his hand and body when take corner? i believe this item suit them well.. biggrin.gif
Who dares to say he/she haven't done that before? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by gundamalpha: Oct 14 2011, 04:00 PM
EatMe
post Oct 14 2011, 08:28 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(elasticote @ Oct 14 2011, 03:58 PM)
i even do that on shooter game (time lompat lompat) smile.gif

Added on October 14, 2011, 8:39 pm
QUOTE(Edison83 @ Oct 14 2011, 02:00 PM)
but I was thinking... tangan tak lenguh ke?
ok what, cut gaming time. gf will be more happy.

This post has been edited by EatMe: Oct 14 2011, 08:39 PM
TSgundamalpha
post Oct 14 2011, 10:39 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Initial impression:

Design: this thing is a beauty, even my wife who hardly shown any interest on my games feel impressed with it. I just realised there was this device coming right before I created this thread, moments after seeing it on PA, it was love at first sight. 10/10

Built: standard affair here, while it won't win anything from it it is certainly built to last. The materials used feel solid enough for nominal abuse when you are having a bad race. In terms of weight it is perfectly balanced to give you a solid feel as well holding it comfortably for, well, I played for 2 hours without putting it down. 8/10

Feel: perhaps the second most important aspect when reviewing this item. This thing certainly needs time to get used to, or may be it's just me. I haven't had any good experience before using a dedicated control device for racing games, not even with proper racing wheel nor arcade racing wheel. It still couldn't give me an actual driving feel with it, a game is still a game I guess. The vibration feedback is a little too soft to my liking as well. The triggers are very well placed and deep enough to keep the sensitivity up, much better than standard controllers. Button layouts are easily accessed, except the XBox, select and start buttons. This is a concern as I could hardly stay playing a whole race these days without interruption. 6/10

Accuracy: very sensitive as shown when I was in the menu, it kept scrolling thinking something went wrong but it was in fact I placed it a bit diagonally, very tiny bit. During racing it gave me major headache as I was too cautious exiting every turn worrying understeering thus twisting my hands all the time causing major oversteer. I hope practice can overcome this problem in the future. 8/10

Conclusion: I will still use this wheel for a while, hoping it's just me who's having trouble getting used to. The hope is fading fast though, as I achieved consetive perfect races once I shifted back to the standard controller.

This post has been edited by gundamalpha: Oct 14 2011, 10:48 PM
Kidicarus
post Oct 15 2011, 12:10 AM

727 posts

It certainly is a beautiful controller. I'm quite keen on getting it myself and i'm wondering if it will work on daytona usa as well which is out on oct 26 on xbla.
TSgundamalpha
post Oct 15 2011, 12:17 AM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

It should work with any game that requires only left and right left stick directions minus the right stick, LB & RB buttons.. Basically just for racing games. Unless you can control up & down via the D-pad on flight sims.. I should try hmm.gif
terranova
post Oct 15 2011, 03:51 PM

1,161 posts

thanks for the review bro.
y3ivan
post Oct 15 2011, 07:05 PM

502 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Oct 15 2011, 12:10 AM)
It certainly is a beautiful controller.  I'm quite keen on getting it myself and i'm wondering if it will work on daytona usa as well which is out on oct 26 on xbla.
Isn't daytona USA an arcade driving than a sim
3rotor
post Oct 17 2011, 12:12 PM

27 posts

Thanks for the review Dato, its about time to renew your XBLG and race with me!
SUSMatrix
post Oct 21 2011, 07:06 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Stupid air wheel...i want a real force feedback wheel with pedals! I don't see the point of this thing. Kinect already can do invisble air wheel.
TSgundamalpha
post Oct 21 2011, 07:08 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Oct 21 2011, 07:06 PM)
Stupid air wheel...i want a real force feedback wheel with pedals! I don't see the point of this thing. Kinect already can do invisble air wheel.
I don't have Kinect nor interested in actual gaming wheel, so this is the next best thing besides normal controller for me biggrin.gif
Evirober
post Oct 25 2011, 03:41 PM

636 posts

gundamalpha: dude, thanks for the review..i think its a fun device to play.
anthonyhins
post Oct 26 2011, 10:08 PM

opss....mana LB and RB button??
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zPcd6d7oH3g
samsk
post Oct 27 2011, 10:19 AM

68 posts

I though forza 4 can be controlled using Kinect?????
TSgundamalpha
post Oct 27 2011, 10:26 AM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(anthonyhins @ Oct 26 2011, 10:08 PM)
opss....mana LB and RB button??
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zPcd6d7oH3g
It doesn't have those buttons, limiting its usage for other games

QUOTE(samsk @ Oct 27 2011, 10:19 AM)
I though forza 4 can be controlled using Kinect?????
Yes, and there's an achievement to it, but that's not the topic here
samsk
post Oct 27 2011, 10:58 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Oct 27 2011, 11:26 AM)
It doesn't have those buttons, limiting its usage for other games
Yes, and there's an achievement to it, but that's not the topic here
How much you buy and where to get it?
anthonyhins
post Oct 27 2011, 06:08 PM

you can get it from heavy. the price is 210

0.0276sec    1.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:29 PM