English Clubs Liverpool FC- The Kop Talk 2011, Chelsea 1- 2 Liverpool - Maxi+Johnson!

led_zep_freak
post Oct 12 2011, 01:11 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ Oct 12 2011, 09:53 AM)
That would be quite unfair to the other clubs right? Look what it did to La Liga, it's dominated by Barca and Real every season.
led_zep_freak
post Oct 13 2011, 11:19 PM

5,231 posts

I would like ask, anybody been to Miri here? I'm here for a project and interested to know where's the best place to watch footie?

I've been to Cheerie Berries for the Merseyside Derby unfortunately they play music over the match. Kinda potong stim if you ask me.
led_zep_freak
post Oct 14 2011, 10:00 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(ahmar @ Oct 14 2011, 03:27 PM)
hey man, i was at miri last year doing my internship.. usually i watch at chili pepers (if not istaken) its a 24-7 tempat makan with two screens.. or maybe can go to chique..its like a bar.. but the songs cover up the game as well..
Is Chili Peppers at Miri Town?

Anybody else here happen to be in Miri as well? biggrin.gif
led_zep_freak
post Oct 21 2011, 11:01 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(RyanHo @ Oct 21 2011, 09:41 PM)
y are we worrying of lucas's absence when we got spearing as decent backup? i think spearing can fit into the slot anytime as long he's fit
I think this game would be the best chance to play Henderson and Adam in the middle. I'm actually quite impressed with what I've seen in Henderson so far, although not the finished article, he would benefit from playing in his natural position. Has a good vision and technique, not bad for a young English player. Though, we are far more likely to see him on the right (Kuyt on the bench), Gerrard & Adam in the middle.

Another player I would like to see tomorrow is Coates. Needs the PL exposure.
led_zep_freak
post Oct 30 2011, 01:04 PM

5,231 posts

Woy: "I think the 25,000 fans watching in the stadium..." Wtf is he trying to nick Rafa Benitez there?

QUOTE(hfi @ Oct 30 2011, 11:57 AM)
Is it just me or Skrtel looked a complete different player last night. He was immense besides Agger who was also outstanding. Skrtel looked a lot more confident and his tackles were well timed and tenacious. That's the best defensive display by our back 4 this season. Never once i was worried about West Brom doing us some damage.

On another note, was pleased to see Reina getting the armband. Oh and Suarez was brilliant as usual. So good that others looked a bit meh to his standard. Long it may continue.
Skrtel always look nervous when paired with Carra, Agger has this uncanny ability to put some kind of assurance to the defence. Agger to us is like Van Persie to Arsenal, injury-prone but important enough to start whenever fit.
led_zep_freak
post Oct 31 2011, 08:58 PM

5,231 posts

Sad to see Gerrard getting injured, must have been a frustrating year for him. Speedy recovery to him.

Speaking of the captain, I'm glad that King Kenny seems to share the view of fans when it comes to captaincy, having awarded it to Pepe & Lucas in absence of Stevie & Carra. Both of them have been the most consistent players for the past few seasons and have the leadership to carry the team.

QUOTE(bitebug @ Oct 31 2011, 05:05 PM)
Hahaha. I just want to see Liverpool back up there again. I've been watching the team since the Hamann era and this is one of the low point in the Liverpool team since then. I want to see a bright future for that 19th and 6th title and so far, I haven't seen it. I think some of you can understand this frustration. We didn't have a multi-million squad back then and we were the best in PL and probably in Europe.

And as for those three, they haven't proved that they are Liverpool quality. I don't know. Maybe Henderson can still improve since he's young and is lack of experience. But as for the other two? Well.....
When you're in a team as big as Liverpool, you are expected to wear the shirt, not let the shirt wear you.
By 3 players, are you referring to Carroll, Downing and Hendo? Give them time to gel and settle down eh? Not every player turns out to be a Suarez or Enrique. I, for one am happy what I've seen with Downing and Hendo so far.

Downing lost a bit steam since the Sunderland game, but we all know what he could do when on form. Somebody else pointed out that a lot of our attack came from the left this season, quite unsurprising as he links up pretty well with Enrique.
As for Henderson, what are his statistics like (Goals, assists etc.) so far? I think he was monumental in a few goals and even scored a cracker. I like what I see so far and judging from his attitude, he has what it takes to make it far.
led_zep_freak
post Oct 31 2011, 09:37 PM

5,231 posts

I'm starting to be pissed off my players throwing blatant baseline accusations at Suarez. It was a soft penalty no doubt, but the contact was there and it was far from being a dive:
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story/_/...-diving?cc=4716

Speaking of accusations, whatever happened to the Patrice Evra case? After weeks of investigations and there is still no outcome? No video evidence?
If this turns out to be a non-event, can Liverpool sue Evra for defamation?

More disgusting than the playacting and divings on the pitch are these whining and baseless accusations.
led_zep_freak
post Oct 31 2011, 11:03 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(Rotuham @ Oct 31 2011, 09:47 PM)
http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/media-watch...for-world-award

Just saw suarez is in the shortlist for Balon D'or along with aguero and silva.

Although i am a big fan of aguero,i will say suarez is a much better player all-round.Aguero might have scored more but suarez has more technical ability and more to his game than just goals.
Don't forget that he was best player in the Copa America, he's deserves to be in the finalist spot if not win it, but I won't be surprised if it goes to a Barca player. rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(bitebug @ Oct 31 2011, 10:12 PM)
I would love to agree with you there but IMO, Suarez still need to improve in his balance and finishing. Too many times I saw him slipped. Sure, Suarez has better football brain, tricks and slightly better technically; but in terms of finishing and balance, Aguero and Silva are better than him. Suarez also needs to learn be calmer and compose in the game. Stop complaining and cut the Barcelona style acting skills. But in the WBA game, he was more composed and calmer than usual. Even when he fell down in the penalty box, he kept going on instead of straight complain. If he keeps this up, no doubt he's gonna be one of the best strikers in PL, the world even.
But yeah so far, old Torres>Suarez.  rolleyes.gif

Now I better stop before someone flame me again  sweat.gif
They are different players man. Put it simply, Torres was a talented striker with the pace and finishing to create that moment of brilliance and win games.
Suarez, on the other hand, tears defenders a new a$$hole every single minute he gets the ball.

Weren't we clamouring for a classic number 7 when Torres was around? Now that he's here, let's enjoy while we can.
led_zep_freak
post Nov 3 2011, 09:09 AM

5,231 posts

Not sure if this is posted before but does anybody here listen to football podcast? Recently, I've been following the relatively new podcast The Anfield Wrap:
http://www.theanfieldwrap.com/2011/10/the-...isode-fourteen/

The show itself is not bad, where they invite a lot of guests to discuss all about LFC. The latest episode lasted about an hour but they have brought up interesting topics and points to keep the listeners going.

And I'm sure you're gonna love the Woy jokes and impersonation.
"After the West Brom game I was truly mad... because I was thinking WTF was that guy doing in Liverpool last year?" thumbup.gif
led_zep_freak
post Nov 3 2011, 10:29 AM

5,231 posts

On the other hand in the NextGen series, Molde has held Wolfsburg to a draw. Which means Liverpool are most likely to qualify for the knockout stages. (Molde could still beat Sporting and get level on points with us, but they have a -10 GD) thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

It's difficult to see us winning the tournament but it's a great experience for the players. thumbup.gif
led_zep_freak
post Nov 5 2011, 10:32 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(jason18689 @ Nov 5 2011, 10:12 PM)
Wth no Dirk Kuyt again????
Anyone enlighten me please? Anyone ringing bells why KK doesnt seem to start D.Kuyt???
His days in Liverpool are numbered. He will still play an important role in the team, but not a starter for every match. As good as Dirk Kuyt is, his technical abilities let him down too often enough to slow the team in attacking phases. Not ideal if you would like to play a pass and move game.

Plus, it's a good opportunity to field -no disrespect intended to Swansea- Henderson and build his experience. It's a home game against a newly promoted side, you're expected to win with or without Kuyt.
led_zep_freak
post Nov 5 2011, 10:46 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(manchurr @ Nov 5 2011, 10:37 PM)
any live streaming plz
Check out the following site:
http://www.streamlivesports.net/live-footb...occer-streaming

However the streaming has been slow for me here in Miri. Bummer, I'm sure the mamaks out there are showing the United match. =/
led_zep_freak
post Nov 6 2011, 01:18 AM

5,231 posts

It's back to where we were 2 seasons ago eh? Failing to break teams down in Anfield. I reckon it was worse today though, we couldn't even control the game and keep possession. Poor performance from the players. Henderson and Downing were sub-par, Suarez was giving away balls, Adam was... well Adam was as usual, decent for 10 minutes and idle for the other 80. Carroll was trying his best to hold the ball and win headers, but he could only do so much. Should have scored with that early chance but it seems that anything that Downing does is jinxed and bound to hit the bar.

Credits to Swansea though, defence was very well organized and at one point schooled us with their own pass and move. Had they were less wasteful, they would have beaten us.

QUOTE(eugene_tan6 @ Nov 6 2011, 12:55 AM)
I quit as a liverpool fan. Adios mates. smile.gif
Yeah, please leave. Nobody needs you here. Go buy your new Newcastle jersey.
led_zep_freak
post Nov 6 2011, 01:19 AM

5,231 posts

Oh, one more thing. We rarely win when John Henry is in the stadium eh? Somebody bar him from watching our matches please. tongue.gif
led_zep_freak
post Nov 6 2011, 08:57 AM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(jason18689 @ Nov 6 2011, 01:22 AM)
HAHAHA are you suree?
Meaning he is at Anfield watching during our Sunderland, Norwich, ManUtd game too? laugh.gif  laugh.gif
If yes then really, got to bar him! Watch the game at 108" TV yo ~
I remember somebody pointing that out during the United game, so maybe there's truth in there. tongue.gif

QUOTE(skeleton202 @ Nov 6 2011, 01:24 AM)
and john henry is also another scapegoat too???  sweat.gif
Oh yeah, in fact I blame the female linesman who flagged Kuyt for offside too. rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 6 2011, 01:29 AM)
They nearly score 3 as well (one open goal in front of 12 yard, one spill by Reina, and one Reina nearly let Swansea player to tackle just 1-2 yards out, sand make Liv lose.

It is a poor game and no urgency, linked on final third is poor, passing is not good.
Lack of leadership and control in midfield, Adam is really disappointed, I taught he is more like playmaker, but most of the time missing in midfield.

One thing to mentioned, this is another consecutive match hitting the woodwork.
If count the hitting woodwork number, Liv is on top of the league hitting woodwork, and so far none is going in after hitting the woodwork.  doh.gif
They knew that with Kenny we try to pass from the back and hoof less, hence they pressed our defenders and try to force a mistake. Reina was casual too but I guess he didn't expect that kind of pressing from Swansea.
led_zep_freak
post Nov 6 2011, 07:10 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Nov 6 2011, 11:18 AM)
It may be unfair to single out certain players, but while Jordan Henderson (still very young) and Andy Carroll (still finding his feet (literally!)) can be given the benefit of the doubt for a few more games, the same cannot be said of Stewart Downing. Downing has more than enough Premier League and International experience to have "hit the ground running" and should have delivered much more than he has so far. No goals and no assists in 11 starts is just not acceptable from a player of Stewart Downing's caliber. Perhaps a run in the side for Craig Bellamy may be a better option for the games against Chelsea and Manchester City.
But how many times has he hit the woodwork? Twice at least this season? And how many times has he delivered a good cross but our players were not up for it? And what about Carroll's chance yesterday? One question I have though is, why are our wingers keep switching positions? Downing is limited on the right and neither Henderson nor Kuyt could play on the left.

QUOTE(hfi @ Nov 6 2011, 12:54 PM)
We had some good moments, but so did Swansea. At the end i thought it was a decent open game but that is only because we allowed Swansea time and space to play their own game. I actually feel that Swansea had the better use of possession than us. We were quite dire at times last night. For the most part, Swansea were mobile and fluid in their build up, and we were the total opposite of that. We looked lethargic and off pace. You know that typical hyde form i always speak about; unpredictable, rash and sluggish. I looked at the Swansea players making intricate runs deceiving our players to the point of stretching our backline and midfield, and all we could do to respond was to lump the ball forward to Suarez to make things happen. Obviously Kenny has his own gameplan, but last night screams for a CM to slow down the game so we could dictate the tempo, but instead players like Adam were hurrying the game and trying too hard to make things happen. As a result, our passes went astray or gifting Swansea the possession in which they made good use of it. Slowing down and pacing up the game, making probing runs as well as passes, all the stuff you would expect from us. They were the better side if we can be honest.
I remember during Rafa's tenure and how he kept emphasizing on 'controlling the game' even if it meant playing with a lone striker against Stoke at home. However. this isn't the first time we're seeing the lack of control, is it? We were overwhelmed by Spur's midfield and coincidently we fielded the same front 6. By putting a bit of pressure and restrict space, our CMs lacks the composure or versatility to get out of trouble. I hate to pinpoint a player, but Adam is limited in this sense.

Having that said though, we weren't playing Spurs last night. It was Swansea at home! Our front 4 were uncharacteristically poor and wasn't threatening in the final third. As time goes, their players were growing in confidence and started to impose their game. That should never be allowed to happen in the first place. We need to start games at Anfield like how we ended the last 10 minutes. We've done it against Norwich and there is no reason why we couldn't repeat that, plus we've had a full week's rest and preparation.
led_zep_freak
post Nov 6 2011, 07:45 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(REDShaun @ Nov 6 2011, 07:22 PM)
We bought Big Andy at the price of 35m is because we sold Torres for 50m

the explanation was sometimes back a couple of months ago. And he was not a panic buy.

i know he isn't scoring yet for us but he is improving in games but we all have to agree the match last nite has some of the worst misplaced passes from our midfield. and seriously OMG... can we please not troll on the dumb mancs thread. they are dumb and arrogant for a reason because they are always delusionally right while the rest of lowyat is wrong. so trying to improve them or teach them any form of humility is pure wasted effort. let them stew in their own filth as we all already know scums belong in the sewers.

and please if you wanna be a liverpool supporter, be above that. if not, by all means troll like them if you think it helps.  cool.gif

oh and YNWA!!!
Nothing against Carroll but don't you think that explanation is flawed? Andy was injured when he came in and only managed 7 appearance for us. Now I ask you, what difference would it make if he held off buying Carroll then until the summer? Newcastle will not have the upper hand in the deal and we will have more time to evaluate other strikers available. Wouldn't that be more sensible? John Henry has indirectly attributed the purchase was done partly as a damage control over Torres' sale and to reassure fans that there will be investment in the club. But that doesn't make the deal any less overpriced. I for one think that we could have better options in the summer.

Having that said, what is done is done already. Obviously, Dalglish has seen the potential in Carroll to push the deal through and has the confidence to develop Carroll into a world class player. Give him another season or 2.

On a side note, don't forget that a certain other team has a 30m half-season wonder striker sitting on the bench too. Didn't see them complaining, eh? rolleyes.gif
led_zep_freak
post Nov 12 2011, 07:21 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Nov 12 2011, 05:45 PM)
I love Alonso interviews, his understanding and knowledge of the game is impeccable for a footballer. Some interesting points he made:
Tackling and the fact that it has always been seen as sufficiently important in English football for it to become a specialised job - the ball-winner - has always bemused Alonso. 'Tackling is not really a quality, it's more something you are forced to resort to when you don't have the ball,' he says.

To underline his point he recalls experiences at Liverpool reading programme profiles. 'You would come across an interview with a lad from the youth team and they've asked him his age, his heroes as a kid, and his strong points. And he would say things like shooting and tackling. I can't get into my head that footballing development would educate tackling as a quality.

'What players should aspire to is that understanding of the game. We have players like  Sergio Busquets, Xavi, Santi Cazorla, Silva and Mata. They can play in tight spaces and they know how to interpret the pattern of a game. They know when to dribble and when to play a short pass. And for me that intelligence is fundamental and needs to be developed from the kids' level.'
I still remember the interview he had with Jan Molby, which I enjoyed very much:
Alonso:   And sometimes you need to know not to try the most spectacular, but the easiest thing, because that`s what most benefits the team.

Mølby:    People always assume that players like us, like Hoddle, make ten to fifteen 60-yard passes in a game. We don`t. Most passes are just to keep things moving. I talk to people now and they think all I did was make 60-yard passes! When I started playing, midfielders were all‑rounders.

http://www.guillembalague.com/interview_de...n%20Molby&id=59

Can we bring him back? cry.gif
led_zep_freak
post Nov 13 2011, 02:32 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Nov 13 2011, 01:10 PM)
On Suarez's act in WC, I know it's a bit of disgracing but looking from another prospective, such player would be invaluable asset to any club. If he loves the club as much as he loves the country that he is willing to bend the rules, get himself banned, just to ensure his team doesn't lose out, I would take him any day.It's hard to find players playing with hearts for the team. He did so for his country and I think he will do the same for our club. Admirable efforts , not an good example to others though.
So Suarez is a cheat and something like this is lauded as heroic?

As he walked towards the tunnel at Old Trafford, David Beckham ran over to give him a pat on the back. Solskjaer shrugged, “I had to do it,” he said.

He sacrificed himself for the sake of the team, which sums up his character entirely. Manchester United always came first to him.

Solskjaer walked off the field that day to a standing ovation of rapturous applause… and not for the last time either!
http://bleacherreport.com/articles/43369-s...rd-vs-newcastle

And how about Maradona's Hand of God?

It pisses me enough hearing the media calling Suarez a cheat, let alone a so-called lifelong fan. Suarez's antics is always due to high expectations from himself. It was never a frustration at the manager or the team. Look at his face whenever he misses a sitter. He's a winner and he won't accept anything less than the best. And how often does he dive anyway? Compared to the number of times he was fouled only to be ignored by the referee?
led_zep_freak
post Nov 13 2011, 11:31 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(my_username @ Nov 13 2011, 08:05 PM)
torres when he joined us from la liga, had the similiar tendency to go down even when he is not touched. but he improved the next season, and see how effective he was.

as for a random poster earlier, its not a shameful thing to expect your players to be honest despite everyone else is cheating their ass off . if u think this is wrong/stupid/immature/etc , i guess everyone is entitled to their own opinions....
It's not wrong to expect your players to be honest, I never said otherwise. But it's a whole different thing when you call your player a Class A Cheater.

0.0476sec    1.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:50 AM