Silver as investment V2, Don't cry, buy now.

cruzzie73
post Nov 5 2011, 12:43 AM

174 posts

Hi Desvaro,

1) There are a few ways you can liquidate your silver. One is to sell it yourself via internet, ie FB groups (there are a few FB groups for silver investors), forums, eBay, mudah.com, etc. This way you can get the most value out of your silver.

Another way is to sell to the dealer you bought your silver from. Be prepared for a spread of 10-15%. Spread % for silver is higher because of its relatively lower value as compared to gold. I'm sure there will be dealers/buyers who can absorb all your silver if you sell at spot price.

2) If you read through from pages 1-58, there were several mentions about ETF and other paper products, very good insights about physical vs paper. The reason many of us go for physical is that we want to exchange our paper money with the real money, in other words, to get away from paper. Furthermore, with physical, we get to touch, hold, and appreciate the beauty of the real money. That's why the dragons are such hot topics here recently smile.gif

This post has been edited by cruzzie73: Nov 5 2011, 12:45 AM
cruzzie73
post Nov 17 2011, 10:25 AM

174 posts

Talking about hyperinflation, what would likely happen to the interest rate? Will it go up to 30-40%? If it will, how will that affect PM prices?

Share your comments?

This post has been edited by cruzzie73: Nov 17 2011, 03:32 PM
cruzzie73
post Nov 17 2011, 11:36 PM

174 posts

Chef, the reason i'm asking this is that many people were rushing into buying real estate and that constituted the price hike for the past 2 years. And, many of them are buying on mortgage. I believe that includes many of us forumers here.

By standard economic practice, interest hike is one of the mechanisms to counter inflation. So when hyperinflation hits, what will happen to interest rate.....30-40%? or even more? If that is the case, wouldn't it be wiser to convert some of our real estate (those under mortgage) into precious metals? As more people start worrying about the interest rates, precious metals would appear even more attractive as a safer place to keep the value of their money. And if that's the case, would real estate price drop?

So, the question is, where will interest rate go when hyperinflation hits?

This post has been edited by cruzzie73: Nov 17 2011, 11:38 PM
cruzzie73
post Nov 19 2011, 11:29 AM

174 posts

Chef, it's not always big boys' toys. Small money can always start with small properties (or other small investments), and upgrade when more capital becomes available.

Quality of investment is independant of the size of its capital. It's the return and its speed that matters.

Added on November 19, 2011, 11:35 amoh, and its consistency too.

This post has been edited by cruzzie73: Nov 19 2011, 11:35 AM
cruzzie73
post Nov 22 2011, 12:22 PM

174 posts

There are quite a lot of useful material and resources recommended by forumers here in previous posts. If you have gone through all recommended material, as well as reading the insights given by some of the sifus here, you'd probably have enough understanding to start already.

But if you want to attend some talks, i know some friends who give talks on precious metals, some free, some with door charges. If you are interested to attend, pm me.
cruzzie73
post Nov 24 2011, 10:33 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(chef @ Nov 24 2011, 09:30 AM)

Let's close this case shall we? I'm o.k. to continue our negotiation offline using PM, but for posting, let's move on to discuss about silver and well, why not gold...

chef

Hey guys and gals, anyone knows what's really happening to silver? and gold for that matter?

Nobody (not us retail investors) knows what exactly is happening to gold and silver but technical analysis tells that both metals are still trapped with the bear. The return of the bull can only be confirmed when their prices break the resistance at 1750 and 35 and able to stay beyond there for at least 2-3 days. Till then, we may be seeing further drop. For silver, if it does drop, next strong support will be at 29, if that's broken, it will test 25.5, and if that's broken, it will test the level where lots of silver investors have been longing for, 23.5 (this is the latest updated level from the earlier targetted 22.5).

Disclaimer: This is what I see from technical analysis, this does not serve as an investment advice. Do not make your investment decision based on this piece of opinion without further research on your own. As mentioned earlier, nobody really knows what's going to happen.

Just sharing,
Cheers.
cruzzie73
post Nov 25 2011, 12:09 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(property101 @ Nov 25 2011, 09:52 AM)
personally i believe in the fundamental of PM very strongly. especially silver. these expert opinions are short term projection and i consider them as noise in the market.
Yes, to become a profitable investor, and ever more important for paper/spot trader, one needs to be able to filter out the noise.

Especially in the silver market, when some parties trying to supress its price, and when the banks have several reasons why they want to discourage people from exchanging their fiat currency with precious metals, lots of noise will be created to achieve such objectives, and to mask their movements in market manipulation.
cruzzie73
post Nov 25 2011, 06:37 PM

174 posts

Try to think silver as a currency. Keep converting your fiat currency into silver on a regular basis. Treat it like a savings plan like how you used to save your paper money. Can you save 5-10oz a month? Or even 1oz/month is good.

Then think back, when you were saving your RM every month, did your plan change when RM depreciated against USD? No? You continued to save RM500/month regardless of exchange rate?

So, when silver price drops to RM25, what do we do? Continue to save silver! Furthermore, it is the REAL money not just a currency.

People who are highly nervous about silver price movement are mostly speculators, trying to make some quick bucks from price fluctuation. They think about "profit" and "loss" in terms of fiat money. At a time when we foresee a collapse, or at least a massive devaluation of fiat currency, "profit" and "loss" should be viewed in terms of commodities (the real assets)....like i have just gained xxx amount of rice or xxx amount of silver, rather than i have just gained xxx amount of RM but i could buy less rice and silver with it now.

This post has been edited by cruzzie73: Nov 25 2011, 06:48 PM
cruzzie73
post Nov 25 2011, 07:05 PM

174 posts

Let them watch the videos in property101's website: http://silverinmalaysia.com/videos/
cruzzie73
post Nov 29 2011, 06:51 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(Kokolat @ Nov 29 2011, 01:11 PM)
Hi Nidz,

Thanks for your reply.  smile.gif

I dont understand why people buy coins and pay for the premium... because of the design and it looks better than bars?

At this moment I still prefer bars over coins as I think there is no reason to pay for the premium... unless someone can persuade me with strong reasons.

I am still looking for my way to buy silver directly from Perth Mint as I found it is very hard to find silver seller... (Poh Kong, Wah Chan, Tomei all selling gold only) tongue.gif
I believe not many people here in LYN will persuade you to go with a certain form of investment, they will rather share with you their view, experience, and knowledge so that you can make informed decision on what you want to invest in, and how to go about doing it. Better if you will do further research on your own to verify and compliment the information/opinion provided by forumers here, then contribute back by posting your research findings to share with us.

Don't limit yourself to just looking at banks and jewelry shops. Apart from discussion, many forumers here also trade and exchange silver bars/coins within this community and outside. Do check out the sell list and buy list at property101's website, these are silver buyers and sellers looking for buy/sell opportunities. You may get some good deals there. Here are the links:

Link to Sell list
Link to Buy list

Happy investing in silver smile.gif

This post has been edited by cruzzie73: Nov 29 2011, 06:55 PM
cruzzie73
post Nov 29 2011, 07:24 PM

174 posts

Recently saw some fellow silver investors posting (can't recall whether from FB groups or LYN) how much silver they have or how/where they keep their silver. Just a friendly reminder, try not to disclose too much of such personal information in public forums like this for safety reason.

It is different when traders tell potential buyers how much they have because buyers want to know if they have ex-stock, and if they have enough capacity to supply. But for individual investors, not advisable to do so.

Becareful how you share ideas with forumers on creative ways to keep silver, so that you do not leave any hint on how YOU keep your silver.

Like the old Chinese saying, keep your wealth away from the eyes of others. (unless when you are ready to share it out, eg. donating your wealth to charity, etc. even then, anonymous charity is preferred, just my humble opinion)

This post has been edited by cruzzie73: Nov 29 2011, 07:25 PM
cruzzie73
post Nov 30 2011, 06:52 PM

174 posts

I had no problem with Customs.
cruzzie73
post Dec 1 2011, 09:22 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(chef @ Dec 1 2011, 07:09 PM)
On the other hand, I bought a bar of silver at spot rate of about USD 31, (I think bought at RM 120) and now at current silver spot price USD 33.17, what's the selling price in SLS? RM 118 (I just checked). No way to make a profit even with the price moving 8% up.
I'm not trying to mislead newbie, who needs hand holding here, I think many newbies here already proven they can think and research and found the type of bars and size they want. I am just trying to say what I think, is all. share experience, facts, and perspective. So far I have not gun down anyone's point of view, and I hope nobody here will do that, so as to promote sharing and brainstorming of ideas, freedom of thoughts. It's tiring enough at the office with all the politics, we all just want a peaceful place to relax and chat. cool?  icon_idea.gif

chef

PEACE....  icon_rolleyes.gif
Chef, i had the same experience as you, guess we started collecting silver right about the same time. But what happened then was we were so new we did not know where to get the most competitive price.

Also, there weren't that many silver sellers then, so the traders could command higher profits. However, the past 2 months have seen a surge in the number of traders, especially notable in SLS. Naturally the sellers had to reduced their profit margin to stay competitive, thus we are seeing silver price becoming lower now. This reduction in price is merely reduction in traders' profits, not reduction in the value of silver.

Gold is different, its market is a lot more matured than silver. Profit margins 12 months ago is not much different from profit margins today. So you see the nett effect of gold price hike when spot goes up.

Personally i think silver market in Malaysia now has come so much nearer to spot, that if we buy today and sell in future, any increase in silver spot price would be converted in full (minus the small profit you paid to the seller earlier) into "profit" in fiat money terms.

Added on December 1, 2011, 9:29 pm
QUOTE(cruzzie73 @ Dec 1 2011, 09:22 PM)

What i'm saying is that 12 months ago, traders selling at 15-20% profit. Today in SLS, traders selling at 3-5% profit. That is already a 10-15% reduction in selling price (assuming spot remained the same today as in 12 months ago).

This post has been edited by cruzzie73: Dec 1 2011, 09:31 PM
cruzzie73
post Dec 3 2011, 03:52 AM

174 posts

We are converting our paper money to get silver for some reasons. And most of these reasons are related to "profit", "value hedge", "financial collapse / social insecurity". But don't forget the fundamental reason behind all these reasons is that we are trying to preserve or increase our ability to get the goods and services we want in future.

And we all make our own decision and form our own strategy. In the end some of us will do better than the other. There may be the best strategy that would eventually proven to give the best results, but as long as we achieved what we want to achieve, and are happy with it, it may not be the best result that we could possibly achieve, it's still mission accomplished.

So just relax and enjoy the journey in our silver investment.

cruzzie73
post Dec 4 2011, 12:27 AM

174 posts

I've got Dr. Kong's book, haven't had the chance to read it yet but a friend already borrowed it from me tongue.gif

Taurusbull and Chef, I would like to request both of you to cool, or take your verbal fights outside this public forum. Not sure about others but i feel that your disagreeing viewpoints are becoming personal and it may be making some forumers here feeling uncomfortable. I'm not the admin of this forum and i can't tell you what to do. It's just a request.
cruzzie73
post Dec 4 2011, 11:03 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(property101 @ Dec 4 2011, 01:08 AM)

@cruzzie, do you mind borrow me the book also? we come out talk silver, i buy u drink and i will write a review of the book on my website tongue.gif
Sure can, since i still have a couple of books that i'm reading, wont be reading this one till some time later. But let me get it back from my friend first. Maybe we can meet end of next week?
cruzzie73
post Dec 8 2011, 11:46 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Dec 8 2011, 11:18 AM)
for me i didn't manage to convince any single person be it relative or friends.
I been talking to them since gold is RM3000/oz and silver RM80/oz. but I doubt they brought any.
maybe some gold by now, silver i really doubt it.
All we can do is to give them information, recommend them audio/visual materials, and bring them to talks and seminars and let them hear from the experts. No matter how much we know about precious metals, our friends and family are not going to listen to us as much as they listen to a third party "expert". It's hard for us to convince them, we just do what we need to do and let them convince themselves.

There's no point to keep trying to convince them yourself without success and start wondering whether they are not smart enough to understand, or you are not good enough to convince. Neither is true. It's just human nature.
cruzzie73
post Dec 8 2011, 01:47 PM

174 posts

Did not pay much attention to Platinum, Palladium, and Rhodium but the impression is that their prices are less volatile than gold and silver. The issue about these metals is their liquidity, who are we going to sell to when we want to dispose them off? At the moment, the only choice i know is to buy from Kitco, and sell back to Kitco. If you have other channels to sell these precious metals, please share.
cruzzie73
post Dec 8 2011, 05:30 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(potenza10 @ Dec 8 2011, 02:25 PM)
Keep thinking...hmmm...
Think some more......
We become what we think most.

Like this:

Or this?

This post has been edited by cruzzie73: Dec 8 2011, 05:42 PM
cruzzie73
post Dec 9 2011, 11:49 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(mingophoria @ Dec 9 2011, 11:29 AM)
SIlver price in weeks/USD
[attachmentid=2576458]

Looks similiar...so is it bear trap???
haha it does look terribly similar and looks like we're in bull trap waiting to be slaughtered.
But these phases usually last 3-5 years each, or even longer.
If that is true, then we are still at late stealth phase / early institutional investor phase. Or at most, we are at bear trap. Look at institutional investors, have they really come in to the silver market yet?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0541sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:46 PM