124 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Silver as investment V2, Don't cry, buy now.

JonYeap
post Oct 1 2011, 08:58 AM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

where can i see the list of silver coins? maybe just wanna try to get some for fun and to keep for future.
chef
post Oct 1 2011, 09:45 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(bigwolf @ Oct 1 2011, 02:19 AM)
ah but if we look at gold & silver consumption, we'll see that gold is mainly used for jewellery while silver is mainly for industrial

http://www.gold.org/investment/why_how_and...and_and_supply/

http://www.silverinstitute.org/supply_demand.php#supply

as such, much of the gold mined still exists in various forms such as gold necklace. but most of the silver is used in manufacturing and very little is used for investment. as to why i think silver has more long term potential than gold, if assuming there is a finite amount of silver and we are already consuming more than production, then in the long term silver would be more scarce than gold? hence my question, how much silver can we recycle back from industrial use? this is very important coz if for whatever reason we can't recycle back the silver used, then we are actually exhausting silver faster than gold.

between industrial demand and investment demand, which would you think will have far greater impact in the long run? which begets the next question, i always wonder what would silver be 10 - 20 years from now? would it be more expensive than gold or stay within the 40 - 50/1 ratio?  hmm.gif
True, we also must look at how fast the industry is consuming and how fast is nromal people like us is consuming.

Personal guess is, the ratio of silver and gold will narrow, then widen, depending on when people are demanding PM as safe haven, or when people realised silver is in shortage. Honestly, we who are into silver wished that silver will be recognised as an important PM soon, but it's not going to happen yet, as people see silver as an investment like gold, just a cheaper alternative.

Recent PM liquidation sees silver dropping more than gold, these people pulled out of silver (winning position) and covered their loss or margin call in their other stocks and share and forex, so it was more affected directly. And during this period, most asian saw this as a good time to pump in money to get physical goods, and silver is running out everywhere flowing into asia, thus supported. When the western realised this sooner or later (hopefully sooner) the silver price will jump back up when they liquidate their other position upon gain and pump it into silver (ETF or physical).

It could happen this coming week, so if we see a big drop monday, don't wait till thursday to buy o.k?

chef

my 2 oz worth...

Nidz
post Oct 1 2011, 10:11 AM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

QUOTE(JonYeap @ Oct 1 2011, 08:58 AM)
where can i see the list of silver coins? maybe just wanna try to get some for fun and to keep for future.
This are some of the known silver coins and bars.
Again, this list is not exhaustive. Commemorative coins and Proof coins are not listed here. You can check online at the mint or the dealers' websites.
Source: Silver Lot Shop FB Group

BULLION (coins sahaja)

1. PRIVATE MINTING
1.1 Engelhard
1.2 Pamp Suisse
1.3 Johnson Matthey

2. AUSTRALIA
2.1 Kookaburra (minted from 1990 onwards)
2.2 Koala (minted from 2007 onwards)
2.3 Lunar Series (minted from 1999 onwards)
2.4 Kangaroo (BU and Proof, minted 1993 onwards)

3. USA
3.1 Silver Eagle (Bullion, BU and Proof, minted 1986 onwards)
3.2 America the Beautiful (2010 onwards, only in 5ozt)

4. CANADA
4.1 Maple Leaf (1998 onwards)
4.2 Wildlife Series (2011 onwards; only six coins authorised; wolf, bear and cougar so far)

5. CHINA
5.1 Panda (1983 onwards, with exceptions)

6. UK
6.1 Britannia (1997 onwards, gold from 1987)

7. AUSTRIA
7.1 Vienna Philharmonic (2008 onwards)

8. MEXICO
8.1 Libertad (1982 onwards)

9. RUSSIA
9.1 St George the Victorious (NEW, from 2009 onwards)

10. SOMALIA
10.1 Elephant (Wildlife Series; quite RARE)

11. SOMALILAND
11.1 Lunar Series (VERY RARE)

12. ARMENIA
12.1 Noah's Ark (500 Dram; NEW)

13. NEW ZEALAND
13.1 Kiwi (BU and Proof)
12.2 Fern (BU and Proof)

14. ANDORRA
14.1 Eagle (2008 onwards?)

15. FIJI
15.1 Taku (2010 onwards?)

16. COOK ISLANDS
16.1 Bounty (2009 onwards)

17. MALAWI
17.1 Springbock (NEW, 2010 onwards)

18. RWANDA
18.1 African Wildlife (2008(gorilla), 2009(elephant), 2010(lion), zebra(2011), only 5000pcs every year)

19. ZAMBIA
19.1 Elephant (only minted in 2003, LIMITED)

20. GUERNSEY
20.1 8 Doubles (mintage unknown)

21. KAZAKHSTAN
21.1 Snow Leopard (2010)

BARS

1. Morgan Bar
2. US Flag
3. Silvertowne
4. Public Gold Silverbar
5: TnT Silverbar
6: TnT Silvermint bar - Medina series
7: Oneasia Gold Mint (OGM)
8. Sunshine silver
9. Kitco bar
10. Apmex
11. Lunar Tiger
12. Emirates
13. Pamp Suisse
14. Scottsdale
15. NTR
16. Silver bar Kasih
17. Pan American
18. heraeus silver bar
19. perth mint silver bar
20. Engelhard
21. Johnson Matthey
22. Academy Silver Bar

This post has been edited by Nidz: Oct 1 2011, 10:12 AM
OneBuck
post Oct 1 2011, 10:48 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(SGKSY @ Oct 1 2011, 06:01 AM)
closing price is 29.9. No winner, chef is the closer one. But still have consolation prize. Next time, if got jb gathering, i treat you roti canai and teh tarik. hehe

Added on October 1, 2011, 6:21 am
but dragon was created by china man de ler. He no points to steal the dragon, haha. dragon minted by china will be 2 or 3 times higher than perth mint one. No doubt.
Woit…. Version 2….. congratulation…!!!

Hoping that silver price will keep lower before jumping to the sky... tongue.gif

May all the silverian will be prosper and rich with silver....

All the best....!

P/s: paiseh, yesterday busy watching movie with wife, don’t know about offer SGKSY gave. Since there is no winner, can you make second offer…? tongue.gif

cruzzie73
post Oct 1 2011, 10:56 AM

174 posts

Looks like chef won his barley and roti canai. And wow, just 0.04 away from that ASE. Should have "bao" 4 numbers above.
SUSbuysell
post Oct 1 2011, 12:11 PM

592 posts

Don't cry, buy now.

You sure? What if buy now drop price, cry like hell? hmm.gif
Nidz
post Oct 1 2011, 12:55 PM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

QUOTE(buysell @ Oct 1 2011, 12:11 PM)
You sure? What if buy now drop price, cry like hell? hmm.gif
if drop, buy summore thumbup.gif
chef
post Oct 1 2011, 02:46 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(cruzzie73 @ Oct 1 2011, 10:56 AM)
Looks like chef won his barley and roti canai.  And wow, just 0.04 away from that ASE. Should have "bao" 4 numbers above.
Sigh.... this 0.04 will haunt me for the rest of my life as long as I am collecting silver.... I will be forever 1 ASE short.... sad.gif I was creating my 88th dupe account when moderator found out and chopped off all my dupe account... cry.gif else.... icon_idea.gif

o.k. so I'm ready to collect my barley and 1 request, where's the biggest roti canai in KL enyone has ever eaten? I mean if I'm gonna be eating 1 canai, I want the biggest and most expensive one!! haa haa..... rclxms.gif

chef
marcusboy
post Oct 1 2011, 03:49 PM

93 posts

I am a newbie and like some advice from all you sifus.

Does it matter whether you just buy one type of silver coin for investment like maple instead of different ones like panda, eagle etc. I am assuming it is better to buy 1 oz because easy to trade? I read in the threads that some but 1 kilo bars - where do they store these?

Also I note from Gainsville website need to pay $75 for international delivery orders. I guess only worth it for suppliers and big time buyers?

chef
post Oct 1 2011, 04:26 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(marcusboy @ Oct 1 2011, 03:49 PM)
I am a newbie and like some advice from all you sifus.

Does it matter whether you just buy one type of silver coin for investment like maple instead of different ones like panda, eagle etc. I am assuming it is better to buy 1 oz because easy to trade? I read in the threads that some but 1 kilo bars - where do they store these?

Also I note from Gainsville website need to pay $75 for international delivery orders. I guess only worth it for suppliers  and big time buyers?
Hi Marcus, seen your post around sometimes, but not much...

Yup, 1oz easier to trade and sell off, kilo bar for future use, keep for at least years. Your kilo bar? keep at home under your pillow lah, then you dream of silver everyday, swimming in flowing silver river. If you upgrade to gold, well....you get what I mean...

For gainsville, yeah, it's for people who are buying a lot, willing to risk shipment lost, pay the tax (argue with custom sometimes), can't find anyone else here selling below 15% markup. For me? If I buy from them, it's because they have some special bars not available locally. But I have not, not yet....

chef
mingophoria
post Oct 1 2011, 04:40 PM

128 posts

i see many people collecting diffrent kinds of bars, however i wanna ask.

between all the bars above listed, which bars is deemed the most sought after by people ?

and why do you say so?
cruzzie73
post Oct 1 2011, 05:17 PM

174 posts

The answer to which bars are the most sought after is quite subjective. You have to look at the target markets. The answer may even depend on what is your objective of knowing which is the most sought after, whether you're preparing for future liquidation of your bars, or whether you intend to become a silver trader, what type of investors/collectors you may want to target, etc etc.

Go around the internet look at what is being offered and what is being sold at trading websites, talk to collectors and dealers, try to sell some bars yourself, you'll get a feel of what's being sought after. Some dealers may tell you a certain brands are the most sought after, from their experience, the other dealers may say a different brand. Buyers also buy on different objectives, some buy for real silver value (lowest premium possible), some buy lowest spread items, some buy minting quality, some buy artistic designs, some buy brand perception, certificates, numismatics, etc etc.

But overall, there are only a few brands that are repeatedly mentioned and being offered and sold, you can pretty much safely say these brands are being sought after.

This post has been edited by cruzzie73: Oct 1 2011, 05:23 PM
paogeh
post Oct 1 2011, 08:08 PM

1,678 posts

I'm from Penang,
anyone has 2012 Dragon silver stock ?

Please PM me the
1.price
2.minimum purchase amount

By the way,
between APMEX and gainville
what is the main different ?

anyone has problems with custom before ?

and if order GOLD coin, 15% tax still apply ?
thank you

JonYeap
post Oct 1 2011, 08:50 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

i might wanna start small if so. just get some collections to keep. i dunno where to keep as i am renting room in sg. oh damn... hahahaa...

my hometown is sitiawan , perak. i doubt i can find silver coins sold there. hmmm...
SGKSY
post Oct 1 2011, 09:32 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(JonYeap @ Oct 1 2011, 08:50 PM)
i might wanna start small if so. just get some collections to keep. i dunno where to keep as i am renting room in sg. oh damn... hahahaa...

my hometown is sitiawan , perak. i doubt i can find silver coins sold there. hmmm...
rent a safe deposit box in singapore loh.

Added on October 1, 2011, 9:35 pm
QUOTE(chef @ Oct 1 2011, 04:26 PM)
Hi Marcus, seen your post around sometimes, but not much...

Yup, 1oz easier to trade and sell off, kilo bar for future use, keep for at least years. Your kilo bar? keep at home under your pillow lah, then you dream of silver everyday, swimming in flowing silver river. If you upgrade to gold, well....you get what I mean...

For gainsville, yeah, it's for people who are buying a lot, willing to risk shipment lost, pay the tax (argue with custom sometimes), can't find anyone else here selling below 15% markup. For me? If I buy from them, it's because they have some special bars not available locally. But I have not, not yet....

chef
if want to buy 1 kg silver for collection purpose , i recommend 1kg dragon. cheaper than pamp 1kg bar sold by 1stopgold. hehe. with capsule and have numismatic value. if want to buy and trade later when the price go higher, then buy bar better.

This post has been edited by SGKSY: Oct 1 2011, 09:35 PM
tanmat
post Oct 1 2011, 09:37 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(paogeh @ Oct 1 2011, 08:08 PM)
I'm from Penang,
anyone has 2012 Dragon silver stock ?

Please PM me the
1.price
2.minimum purchase amount
By the way,
between APMEX and gainville
what is the main different ?

anyone has problems with custom before ?
and if order GOLD coin, 15% tax still apply ?
thank you
Actually have the same question. Anyone order from apmex? If got tax how will they bill you? Via the shipper or hv to go somewhere to collect? Any other problems?
SGKSY
post Oct 1 2011, 09:41 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(tanmat @ Oct 1 2011, 09:37 PM)
Actually have the same question. Anyone order from apmex? If got tax how will they bill you? Via the shipper or hv to go somewhere to collect? Any other problems?
the main difference is price and variety. you go take a look on both website, then you will know. apmex shipped by fedex.
chef
post Oct 1 2011, 10:24 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(JonYeap @ Oct 1 2011, 08:50 PM)

There are quite a lot of safe box and normal box option in singapore, you are not looking hard enough, simple storage which is quite secure can be rented at very low price in singapore, you have access to it 24/7. with CCTV and security key etc..

chef
SGKSY
post Oct 1 2011, 10:31 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(chef @ Oct 1 2011, 10:24 PM)
There are quite a lot of safe box and normal box option in singapore, you are not looking hard enough, simple storage which is quite secure can be rented at very low price in singapore, you have access to it 24/7. with CCTV and security key etc..

chef

chef, tell me which company have 24/7 access ? bank ? i use certis cisco one, only 9am -9pm ler.
chef
post Oct 1 2011, 10:37 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(SGKSY @ Oct 1 2011, 10:31 PM)
chef, tell me which company have 24/7 access ? bank ? i use certis cisco one, only 9am -9pm ler.
Wow, bank is not cheap, but they are secure. If you store gold, better stay with them, if silver, o.k lah, don't tell anyone you put silver bar inside.

To all fellow friend working or staying in singapore, check out :

here's one : http://www.extraspace.com.sg/
another : http://www.storhub.com.sg/
many more... but I've never use them, visit before, quite a good idea. you can store your other barang which you will not want to see for next 5 years inside. just keep paying the rent and it will remain closed to everyone else.

many many around, just do a search in google and you can find them, even in malaysia, but I will not put my reputation on those storage space, many times it's the security personnel who are the one. sad.gif

chef

By the way, SGKSY, where did you find the 1 kilo coin cheaper than 1 kilo bar? it's always more expensive. Let me know can?

This post has been edited by chef: Oct 1 2011, 10:44 PM

124 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:07 PM