Paint for metal, or refurbishing old ceiling fan

TSxecton
post Sep 30 2011, 12:59 AM, updated 15y ago

The Reverend
734 posts

My subsale house comes with those old 3 bladed ceiling fans.
Seems to be working fine so a pity to throw them away.

However, I would like to repaint them.
What do I need to do?

1) Take them down from the ceiling (obviously smile.gif)
2) Give a good scrubbing.
3) Sand them (is this needed?)
4) Apply paint (any special type of paint needed?)
5) Install back

Anyone done this before?
radioactive
post Sep 30 2011, 01:13 AM

1,857 posts

take them down with care, its old and heavy.

scrub carefully. blades can bend out of shape.

Apply paint and install back.

don't take the blades off the rotor though. There's a chance that you bend the blades slightly and cause the fan to lose its balance and you get a wobbly fan

Added on September 30, 2011, 1:15 amohh, paint....spray paint is better. more gloss, thinner and more uniform layer and minimize chances of paint on one blade thicker than the other.

choose any color you want. could ever be red if you fancy it.

This post has been edited by radioactive: Sep 30 2011, 01:15 AM
Jo_da48
post Sep 30 2011, 09:05 AM

1,529 posts

I didn't see why need to scrub and just paint on top.

TSxecton
post Sep 30 2011, 05:17 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(radioactive @ Sep 30 2011, 01:13 AM)
take them down with care, its old and heavy.

scrub carefully. blades can bend out of shape.

Apply paint and install back.

don't take the blades off the rotor though. There's a chance that you bend the blades slightly and cause the fan to lose its balance and you get a wobbly fan

Added on September 30, 2011, 1:15 amohh, paint....spray paint is better. more gloss, thinner and more uniform layer and minimize chances of paint on one blade thicker than the other.

choose any color you want. could ever be red if you fancy it.
I was thinking of taking the blades off for an easier painting work. But yeah, your concerns are valid.

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Sep 30 2011, 09:05 AM)
I thought it's a standard thing that when painting anything, it must be clean. Hence, scrub.

Anyone ever done this before? Or all just buy new fans / upgrade to air-con?
SUSceo684
post Oct 1 2011, 05:59 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

can refurbish, then consider as DIY project cos spray paint only costs $10 compared to $250++/fan.. if the motor is not making gawk gawk gawk sounds no need to waste money to replace lah.. just take down, clean it, if rusty abit then sand off the rust, wrap up center "bomb" with newspaper and kasi spray 2 coats

it is important to match the blades to where they were previously. just like car tyre balancing - the little lead weight is only 5-20g but if u put it at the wrong place, the whole thing is very shaky at high speed

Added on October 1, 2011, 6:00 pm
QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Sep 30 2011, 09:05 AM)
Later got additional spotty effect from the dust, paint wont stick to loose surfaces wat..

This post has been edited by ceo684: Oct 1 2011, 06:00 PM

0.0160sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:44 PM