Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold and Platinum Cards V3, AMEX with Visa or MasterCard

hye
post Sep 27 2011, 11:51 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 27 2011, 11:19 PM)
LoL! so fast new version. I was ranting about my experience with maybank pizza hut promo earlier.
Sorry to hear you have a bad experience. Do keep us posted of the developments both from QSR and MBB.
Hopefully it's QSR's fault for not keeping their staff well informed.
hye
post Sep 29 2011, 06:53 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

@winner
Probably ... we need people to start talking about their actual transactions with hotel bookings as well (Website, actual transaction date and time) so that all of us could benefit and plan for best time to do hotel bookings.

I believe many of us (including myself) do quite a fair bit of hotel bookings online.

Just to get the ball rolling

Transaction Date & Time : 28th Sept 2011, 7.05am
Transaction Posted on : 29th Sept 2011
Card Used : MBB AMEX
Currency transacted : MYR (Sometimes other website will use USD or local currency and then converted to MYR. This info optional coz this may provide forex info and redundant coz we got an existing cc forex comparison thread)

This post has been edited by hye: Oct 1 2011, 07:23 AM
hye
post Sep 29 2011, 08:55 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 28 2011, 05:31 PM)
Updates. A person from QSR contacted me and confirmed that it is indeed a mistake from their side. I explained what happen and mentioned this is the second time I have filed a complaint on the same issue, same branch. I suggested that QSR should provide more training to its staffs, and always check with the branch manager if there is a query on promotional items (ie. dont be too stubborn). He agreed and offered a free meal. I just need to call him again on my next trip to any branch, and he will contact the branch for arrangement. Sounds okay to me  nod.gif .
Happy ending indeed. I am surprised that QSR even replied to you as I agree with the earlier statement from Gen-X that Malaysia CS has a long way to go in terms of matching what overseas companies CS standards.

This post has been edited by hye: Sep 29 2011, 08:56 AM
hye
post Sep 29 2011, 07:00 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

I believe in giving opportunity for everyone to Own and contribute healthily in the finance thread. I don't fancy threads with short term goals and visions coz they don't contribute much both in terms of content and opportunity for everyone.

Success of this section relies on everyone, I don't think I'm well versed in everything. Just doing my best. But if everyone wants me to consensually start (and none one out there offers), I'm OK to take up that role.

This post has been edited by hye: Sep 29 2011, 07:04 PM
hye
post Sep 30 2011, 01:07 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 30 2011, 12:25 PM)
We are kind of going off topic but I would like to comment - what is the point of one earning RM60K-RM100K and transact less that his income getting the Citi Premiles which gives one Airmiles and not points and most probably he won't get any returns for 2 or more years. Having said that, my wife got the PremierMiles just for the airport lounge and hardly transact with it and most probably have to give it up next year when they charge annual fees.
Well said. Guess a lot of people probably have their own idea (or agenda) what they want or blinded by the marketing people.
You probably understand what you want in your card, go for it and ignore all others which doesn't fit the bill.
hye
post Oct 4 2011, 03:48 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 4 2011, 03:11 PM)
Anyone wants to start a new thread - How Much Cash Back I Earned with my Maybankard 2 AMEx  tongue.gif And this rate with everybody reporting thier cash back, we will be in v4 soon, hahaha
We should talk about this card less and then Maybank will then sponsor this section which what Citibank did.
At our rate, we doing free advertising for them and getting nothing blush.gif
hye
post Oct 26 2011, 07:02 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(iamsteven @ Oct 25 2011, 10:12 PM)
too many posts on all versions, dont have time to read through all one by one tongue.gif thanks for explaining, will use my SG citibank then. no point to pay for 3% if can't guarantee of the 5% rebate
Many people like yourself who want quick answers but lazy to search has given similar excuses in many posts and in various ways but they all mean the same.
You are lucky coz some folks are still willing to answer repeated questions and there'll be a time where no one will tolerate it anymore.
hye
post Oct 28 2011, 11:11 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

No profanities allowed in this area on my watch.
We are all civilsed people and there are ways to express your anger without using any profanities.
hye
post Oct 29 2011, 08:26 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 29 2011, 12:41 AM)
My best friend has this and she feels totally worth for it.
She was robbed last August and with just a call she managed to cancel all her CC plus her Aussie CC.
Something which she thinks worth to pay.
I don't have that by the way...
Agreed. It's rather subjective because it depends on your comfort level. One may have the opinion of needing it and the other No.
hye
post Nov 8 2011, 10:29 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(unknowmaster @ Nov 8 2011, 01:15 AM)
is it possible to visit maybankard regional centre to follow up with appeal. My card is appealing appeal now. I think this matter is getting out of hand. I personally think that I would like to speaking to someone knowledgeable at this matter.
You cannot walk in to the Maybank Regional Centre to appeal because they are not open to public.
Your best bet are to the bank itself. You get to talk to a person and you can file an appeal. Filing an appeal does not guarantee you an approval although you may have products with them.
hye
post Nov 8 2011, 06:43 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 8 2011, 06:12 PM)
Amex can  pay the mininum 5% or rm50 which ever is higher and the AE is a full payment charge card? why do ppl still wan the AE where u can just pay the minimum 5% on the Amex? rclxub.gif
If you ask the seniors in here then the answer would be to practice paying in full. One can swipe RM50-100K (or more or even RM450K which is the Citibank Plat max limit) and the bank can charge 38% or even 200% interest but don't need to care if pay in full every month. (No need to rclxub.gif about it)

So to the seniors here, they don't care whatever percentage the bank ask to pay from the due every month coz I'm almost sure they pay in full. (Congrats and thanks! rclxm9.gif )

Paying your credit card partially on a monthly basis potentially and/or overeagerness to EPPs opens up the problem of uncontrollable personal debt which we have many encounters in here. Many rants as to why the bank is sucking their blood dry whereas the actual problem is the consumer itself who choose to build debts the wrong way. Some readers get angry when we advised them on their spending / debt patterns.

This post has been edited by hye: Nov 8 2011, 06:45 PM
hye
post Dec 18 2011, 01:34 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(monara @ Dec 18 2011, 01:29 AM)
let say there is people who know ours, can they misuse it for buying..
In the first place, all banks T&C require cardholders to keep their card details a secret and known only to themselves.
If someone else knows your card number then there's something wrong already coz it's a matter of time before an abuse happens.
hye
post Dec 18 2011, 04:28 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(chyen @ Dec 18 2011, 04:16 PM)
hi..got a question.

My Amex is charged with Rm50 Service Tax but got credited automatically in the same day.

However my MasterCard got charged with RM50 Service Tax as well but not paid automatically in the system.

Can anyone explain what is this? I thought Maybank2 cards are have life time waived fees?

Sorry I am a newly credit card holder.
The waiver is for Annual Fees, Maybank never mentioned all fees are waived forever. They mention Annual Fees waived for lifetime. (Savings up to RM2,300 per annum) Service tax is payable but charged only for one card under the MBB2Cards. That's why you'll see Amex being charged and credited but not so for MasterCard.

You may check Maybank's website, agent and etc, should you don't believe. Next time, please read up carefully on what the promotion are and what is not.
hye
post Dec 28 2011, 11:39 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Dec 28 2011, 11:21 AM)
So based on u guys experience best time to buy online for amazon is sat evening right?

thnx
Not necessarily. Amazon will only charge your card when items are shipped. You can't guarantee that your timing will be 100% accurate. There are times when Amazon has good prices on items for a very limited time then is it still worthwhile to still chase the cashback ?
hye
post Dec 28 2011, 04:18 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(iAlien @ Dec 28 2011, 03:32 PM)
got my atm card= debit card smile.gif

just tat asking if there is anywhere to register creditcard...

if it doesn't then just leave it rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
wait more 2 years might increase till 3k fix salry rolleyes.gif
If you insist (coz you really want to find a way to get a credit card and can't accept a no) then you may try the roadshows, etc. But be prepared for possible rejection.
Don't come back here and rant about being rejected coz we told you so.

This post has been edited by hye: Dec 28 2011, 04:19 PM
hye
post Dec 28 2011, 10:40 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(jian5481 @ Dec 28 2011, 07:52 PM)
I remembered reading somewhere in this forum that Maybank offers the lowest exchange rate. How true is that? And how much extra does AMEX charges?
Yes ... it is true. If you don't believe then search the finance section for postings of forex difference. This should also give you the answer for difference in AMEX charges vs. MC & VISA.
hye
post Dec 28 2011, 10:52 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Dec 28 2011, 10:31 PM)
So wat is the best way to save when want to buy from amazon? because if use the mastercard will still lose to exchange rate and get 1X pts only sad.gif
Goodness ...
How best to save from Amazon ?

- Always monitor prices and use price tracker. That way you'll maximise your savings if you are price sensitive and willing to wait for best prices offering from Amazon. Would not work if you are chasing after a particular item or collector's item.

(I'm trying not to be sarcastic)

- If you don't want to lose forex exchanges then work in the US, open a bank account and use cash to pay for your purchases in Amazon. Otherwise if you are working and living in Malaysia then the only way is to use a debit or credit card to pay for your purchases.
- Forget about winning all the time. If you get best prices then no way you can control when Amazon will charge your card unless you are an Amazon staff who control the credit card charging system.
- Use MBB VISA / MC as they offer the best exchange rate among all other cc providers in Malaysia. You may lose points but you pay less. You want points then use AMEX but pay more for overseas forex transactions fees. You cannot win all the time.
- All other card providers who offers % discounts are date sensitive .... again unless you can control when Amazon charges you then forget it.
- You still want points ? And get best forex rates ? Then be a PB member or if your earnings per annum qualifies with Maybank and get yourself the elite credit cards which is the VI and WMC. Pay a hefty fee for the annual fee or make sure you spend RM60K with VI or RM120K per year with WMC. You'll get the best forex rates + plenty of points (5x for overseas purchases)

I think the above should be crystal clear if anyone want the best and the best to buy from Amazon.

This post has been edited by hye: Dec 28 2011, 10:56 PM
hye
post Dec 28 2011, 11:03 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 28 2011, 10:57 PM)
Got, get MBB VI or WMC as hye mentioned  tongue.gif

hye, you in South Korean now? Using Starwood card by any chance to get free internet access?
Erkkk ... yes. I'm in South Korea now.
Yes ... it depends on Starwood promos on their rooms and there's a promo in Seoul D Cube with Starwood till end of this year. But Starwood rooms are freaking expensive at this time of the year. The Seoul D Cube are like double the prices from regular days. Walker Hill are probably cheaper but they are very far away from Central Seoul.
hye
post Dec 28 2011, 11:26 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 28 2011, 11:08 PM)
Thanks but I kind of lost as got no idea about Seoul, last time was there years ago, stayed at Lotte (on company expense). Next time I go Korea, will ask you and Miles and ben83 where is the most convenient place to stay. I know OT lah, but since you took the trouble to reply and read the posts here from Korea, might as while make full use of the FREE internet access, hehe
Agreed. Can take the conversation offline if you want to ask.
Using a credit card here is rather mainstream .... you can even use it at 7-11 and similar convenience stores. Some taxis accept them but I'm not sure whether got any extra fees or not coz never use it. I'm surprised can even buy bus ticket with credit card. (Not to mention McDonalds, BK and the likes) Transaction approval is also quick ... take just a few seconds.
hye
post Dec 29 2011, 09:52 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Dec 29 2011, 09:43 AM)
then no choice la. Where to check the forex rate for MC and Amex? wannna see which more worth. if difference abit then ok la.. get 5X pts and 5% cash more worth
OK then ... up to you since you are still considering AMEX for overseas online use.

Maybank does not reveal their forex rate for their cc. You can go to their website but that's the general forex info. And forex rates fluctuates within the day.

0.0338sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:32 AM