Debit Card V3

deejay220989
post Jun 13 2012, 01:26 PM

1,141 posts

Hi guys,

May I know which debit card allows me to perform online transactions such as buying from Amazon.com?

I've seen few people asking here but no answer so far. I just changed my CIMB ATM card to debit card..and disappointed that it cannot be used to perform online transactions -.-

So..any suggestions? What about Maybank or RHB debit card?

EDIT: It seems that Maybank Cherry debit card can be used for online transactions..is it?

This post has been edited by deejay220989: Jun 13 2012, 01:30 PM
deejay220989
post Jun 14 2012, 07:40 AM

1,141 posts

QUOTE(yiyibrowers @ Jun 13 2012, 03:23 PM)
You can use PBB D2D card or Maybank Cherry also can use for online transaction... No worries
Hmmm..so far I see there are two. Maybankard Visa Debit and Maybankard MasterCard Platinum Debit.

Any difference between these two besides one is Visa and one is Mastercard?
deejay220989
post Jun 14 2012, 04:28 PM

1,141 posts

QUOTE(yiyibrowers @ Jun 14 2012, 10:57 AM)
The function are same but visa is for saving account while MasterCard is current account....
QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jun 14 2012, 02:28 PM)
also please note that while you can link your savings and current account to your visa dc, you cannot link savings to the plat master dc
plat master dc only for those accounts starting with premier only
QUOTE(yiyibrowers @ Jun 14 2012, 02:50 PM)
Yes... There is a cheapest way to apply for the Premier Basic Current A/c... Also not every Maybank branch staff know regarding it... I previously ask a manager before... He know the difference but he say very less people apply for it...
Its okay..I just went to Maybank..told them I want the Cherry Mastercard DC, so they tried registering my savings account with the Cherry Mastercard DC and no problems! biggrin.gif

They said I'm the first to do this lol..coz I told them I'm doing frequent online transaction and Mastercard offers lower exchange rate..
deejay220989
post Jun 15 2012, 11:01 AM

1,141 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jun 14 2012, 11:05 PM)
ic, good for you then
which branch?
QUOTE(yiyibrowers @ Jun 15 2012, 12:28 AM)
Meaning you aren't open any current account? Is good to hear that.... Which branch you are doing it??? I also wanted the Mastercard de....
I did it at Penang, Jelutong. The officer in charge of the cards allow the worker to try..so we just try and it works.

I told them the main point is to get Mastercard..so I dun mind if I register current account. I will be buying stuff anyway..its not going to be a savings account so I dun care the interest laugh.gif
Then I told them that if I must register current account, I dun wan use cheque..coz my main purpose it Mastercard Debit Card.

I guess they understood what I really want..so they just tried associating the Platinum Cherry with my Savings Account. Anyways, since both cards are the same and its just the name Platinum to indicate that you're having a Premier account, nothing should go wrong. Its just the damn name laugh.gif

I asked the officer..she said that for debit card, there is no admin charges for overseas online transaction like credit card..just based on exchange rate then deduct from account. Is it true?
deejay220989
post Jun 15 2012, 01:00 PM

1,141 posts

QUOTE(yiyibrowers @ Jun 15 2012, 11:57 AM)
So you were having current account? Actually maybank say no admin charges but then after few transaction, i realize that there is a charges...
No, I was not having any account with them, just that if I MUST have a current account for the card, then I will register for a current account smile.gif

According to this link: http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards

Maybankard MasterCard Platinum Debit
Open to all Premier Account and any Current/Savings Account open.
Expire after 7 years.
Set your own purchase limit.
Hmm..means Savings account also can la..right?

0.0262sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:50 AM