Official Windows Phone 7 Discussion Thread! V2, Latest Updated : Internet Sharing Enable

jonchai
post Oct 5 2011, 11:16 AM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Oct 5 2011, 11:06 AM)
so far, WP7 have the most accurate voice command i ever use. droid one not really usable. its totally awesome when i am driving and i need to sme/call someone without a handsfree.

this is so funny at post #83. really feel like bang that fella with "do u know the different of sending your sms without tying on the virtual keybaord?"

lol
LOL. I have to agree. Droid one isn't usable. One thing I can see how it can improve voice to text is to filter out background noise.
jonchai
post Oct 18 2011, 12:12 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(syedakmal @ Oct 18 2011, 11:13 AM)
so many bugs la WP7. hmm.
What bugs?
jonchai
post Oct 18 2011, 12:41 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(blackjoker @ Oct 18 2011, 12:27 PM)
Some bug I encountered with Mango:-
1) Keyboard. In the middle of typing, the keyboard disappear.

2) Bing. I can only see 2 icons (Vison & Voice). Based on some screen capture, I can see 4 icons.

3) Battery. Charged my phone for more than an hour but the bar remained stagnant. Reboot my phone and it still show the same. Shut-down phone, remove battery and boot-up again. Battery bar show almost complete.
WhatsApp bug:-
1) When I tapped a contact under Chats, it tend to hang and kick you out to Home screen. 2nd attempt normally works.
Point 1, I noticed that sometimes with my Mozart. Not a major issue for me.

Point 2, it's based on region if I'm not mistaken.

Point 3, I've never encountered such problem.

As for whatsapp, yes, it's buggy but it's hardly MSFT's fault.
jonchai
post Oct 19 2011, 02:23 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

Guys, Ice Cream Sandwich has just been released over in the US. What do you think and how well does Mango fare against Android 4.0?

This post has been edited by jonchai: Oct 19 2011, 02:24 PM
jonchai
post Oct 20 2011, 10:45 AM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

Hmm, I have gone through ICS' features and that actually makes Mango look like a baby.

Yea, a lot of the concepts are borrowed from WP7, but undeniably, ICS has a lot more features and with the new hardware acceleration, the lag issue could finally be gone. Makes me wonder, when will Microsoft be able to catch up?

IOS5's main selling point is Siri, ICS has many, including hardware acceleration, face recognition and lot more. Mango is still catching up, only able to compete with Gingerbread and IOS4. We'll need to wait another year.

Microsoft's Tellme looks like an interesting competitor against Siri, but question is, when? They have many R&D projects, but so far, their products are still slightly behind.
jonchai
post Oct 20 2011, 11:15 AM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

Yes. I do hope that WP8 would finally close the gap instead of catching up yet again.
jonchai
post Oct 20 2011, 12:30 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

WP9 does not exist. It will simply be referred as Windows 9, a one OS to rule them all concept. But that's in 2015 or so. Hopefully WP8 can close the gap.
jonchai
post Oct 20 2011, 01:14 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(lidahkuterkelu @ Oct 20 2011, 01:07 PM)
anyone noticed in our foursquare, we can checked in as many as we want? as my previous experience, only 3 checkins per time and then have to wait for several hours.

in wp7, just now i checked in almost in 20 places at one time!
Nope, what is foursquare? LOL
jonchai
post Oct 20 2011, 05:25 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Oct 20 2011, 04:49 PM)
what kind of hardware acceleration r u refering to? WP's video display has always been hardware accelerated.
I meant UI hardware acceleration. UI's processing / load will be passed to GPU to handle instead.
jonchai
post Oct 21 2011, 01:43 AM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Oct 20 2011, 06:12 PM)
UI as in drawing the buttons, fading the UI, animation et etc.? Windows phone already does that. Its the reason why WP doesn't need dual core processors to be smooth
Yes I know. I was saying that ICS can do that which also means much of its lagginess would be gone.
jonchai
post Nov 1 2011, 04:57 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(jonrwg @ Nov 1 2011, 03:58 PM)
Hi everyone, just got my first windows phone yday, htc titan. Cmg from android and wp7 is not bad just quite many of the features that i missed in android. still i will get used to it. So far so good, hopefully there will be more apps in the marketplace.
Titan is a good phone actually. These "missing" features should come some time next year when MSFT rolls out Windows Phone 8.
jonchai
post Nov 4 2011, 04:37 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Nov 4 2011, 04:02 PM)
Here are a few questions i wud lyk 2 ask:

1) htc 7 trophy/mozart ori set available?

2) the availability of apps i know it's nt much yet. but i juz took a look at de amount of games in marketplace(i checked thru internet and i dun bother bout apps, juz bother bout games) and although nt much.....but it seems enough unlike android market where there r full of junk/p*rn apps and the same kind of games over n over. But wp7 paid apps r kinda expensive sweat.gif so android wins in the paid segment. so all in all i wud lyk 2 know bout the games availibility n quality in wp7 ok or not. perhaps compare wif android n ios?

3) microsoft office available in wp7 rite? if save in file can transfer to com n de file can be used in com oso rite?

4) currently using sam galaxy ace wit android but de prob is de internal memory kinda small so cant customize tat much wit widgets/launchers n all tat(but can delete old widgets/launchers n dl new ones....i admit it's kinda fun biggrin.gif ).....also, it's a bit laggy and cant play higher end games. So if upgrade to trophy/mozart....gud choice or not?

5) windows phone marketplace available in malaysia?

6) now de prob for me 2 enter wp7 is the customization segment as i lyk customizing.....wud lyk 2 know wat r de drawbacks of wp7 other than apps and customization?

7) windows 7.5/8 can be supported in trophy/mozart?

8) juz saw above, sum1 nt satisfied wit mozart batt n it is nt exchangeable.....is it de same wit trophy?

i think dis is all i wanna ask smile.gif
1. Yes. But you're advised to get 2nd gen WP7 phones instead, like Omnia W and HTC Radar.

2. Games are good, especially games. WP7 is made for it.

3. Yes, but it is running on mobile 2010 version, meaning it will only take OpenXML formats like .xlsx and .docx (2007 - 2010)

4. Lagginess has little to do with lack of RAM and more with processing power, GPU and the OS itself. I can play games smoothly on my WP7 Mozart. Unfortunately you cannot upgrade your storage space without some hacks. Look at post #3 for more info.

5. There's no native Malaysian marketplace. However, you can always set your region to Singapore, US or Australia.

6. No customizations.

7. Not sure about Apollo (8) but Mango (7.5) can run on every Windows Phone around.

8. Yea, Mozart's battery sucks. However, you can get 3rd party or get yourself a car charger
jonchai
post Nov 4 2011, 05:00 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Nov 4 2011, 04:51 PM)
1) why?

2) thanks

3) im a noob in the formats stuff sweat.gif ...my com running on office 2003, so can work ah? wat is XML formats?

4) my ace lacks space to store apps.....i juz checked on the specs of mozart and it is written there 8gb storage space....is that the space to store apps?

5) thanx

6) thanx

7) mango gud enough?

8) u mean 3rd party batt? but i tot nt exchangeable wor. Btw, how bout trophy? batt ok? how come i cant find ori trophy?
1. 2nd Gen runs faster as they are using a more advanced and faster CPU. GPU remains unchanged.

2. Welcome.

3. No. Mobile Office is not compatible with Office 2003 (or before) formats, unfortunate, but I guess we must look forward right?

4. Yes, 8GB for you to store apps. You have additional 25GB on SkyDrive (Hotmail) for you to store documents, photos and videos. Check Post #3 on first page for more info on how to enlarge it up to 32GB.

5. No problem.

6. Welcome.

7. Yes, Mango is good. In fact, if you were to wait for Nokia Lumia series, it'd be even better with all the goodies (apps) bundled.

8. Check out Mugen battery for Mozart. Not sure about Trophy as I own a Mozart.
jonchai
post Nov 5 2011, 07:47 AM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(makymickey @ Nov 5 2011, 03:17 AM)
cn do internet setting with phone tat doesnt hav 3g ar?

N one more thing, cn u buy apps using microsoft point? If cnt, cn anybody tell me how to buy app in marketplace except using credit card? Im stillbdidnt work
If not mistaken, points are for Zune Pass which we won't have access to.
jonchai
post Nov 17 2011, 12:03 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

What HTC Driver? For tethering? Try to go airplane mode and update.

0.0218sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:21 AM