6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Build Your Own McLaren, are you collecting?

VincC454
post Oct 3 2011, 10:23 AM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

please keep ONLY discussion about the Magazine in here and NOT discussing about your other F1 collection in this thread...

theres already an existing F1 thread to show off your other F1 collection....

i will remove those unrelated to the "Build Your Own McLaren" Magazine talks after this

VincC454
post Oct 10 2011, 09:19 AM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

QUOTE(SHINS ALASTOR @ Oct 9 2011, 08:31 PM)
Just got my first issue  tongue.gif

Anyway, theres few question from a newbies to this like me :
1. If I subscribed and pay by credit card, will they send 1 issue per issue or you gona wait they send in few issue together with your freebies? Anyone had tried this?

2. Which one is the best way to subscribe? By the form provided or any online way?

3. Anyone had spotted Issue 3 on local bookstore?
1- one month they send 4 issues in one go - they will send it to you within that month...either early middle or end...depends
also sometimes you got your issues more faster than at shop...

2- form or call them

3- still issue 2

anyway...i been subscribing this kind of mag from allscript for few times now...build the titanic, build the solar system...and so far they never stop the issues in the middle, it always complete
VincC454
post Oct 12 2011, 12:09 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

the titanic i never really build till finish tongue.gif its kindda hard and messy

if you know the size of that ikea lack table..you know how long this ship is....

theres 2 types of those solar magazine if you check at bookshop....

one is already completed last july is called build a solar system (60 issues - start since may 2010 end july 2011)

motorize base so the orrery can turn it self

the one on going now that start after july is build a sun moon and earth (assume 60 issues also - start late july 2011 - present)

focus more on sun earth and moon...they claim you can predict eclipse with this....

This post has been edited by VincC454: Oct 12 2011, 12:20 PM
VincC454
post Oct 12 2011, 02:56 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

alr sub mine also...start from issues 3....

the orrery move? err...it just spin counter or clockwise orbiting the sun

This post has been edited by VincC454: Oct 12 2011, 02:57 PM
VincC454
post Oct 12 2011, 07:57 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

^ actually not always...

my previous sub also sometimes get more earlier than bookstore
VincC454
post Oct 12 2011, 08:48 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

^ rm21.90 per issue, total 100 issues

This post has been edited by VincC454: Oct 12 2011, 09:12 PM
VincC454
post Oct 12 2011, 11:05 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

That was in 2004 I think tongue.gif
VincC454
post Oct 18 2011, 12:04 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Oct 18 2011, 10:56 AM)
yes, I got the same email.

anyway guys, please calm down. They did request 28 days to process which I am sure we can accept. And the thing about waiting for hat is most likely true as I got the same excuse...and that was before I made payment.

I don't mind getting them through subscription since I don't have to worry about bookstores having no stock, stock coming in late, they don't sell it in this bookshop, etc. Just have to worry about condition of magazine & car parts when it arrives. But even if its damaged, Zurina did mention that we can request for a 1-to-1 change. So its not a problem.

VincC454 has been a customer of them for Titanic and the planetary magazine and he doesn't have any complaints...and we all know how big his Titanic are smile.gif
they do replace 1 to 1 if your magazine arrive with missing parts or damage...provide you send back the problem issue back to them
one thing about sub these magazine with allscript is that you guys need to be patient...first delivery especially those are new customer are always slow...give them some times...your magazine will surely arrive

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Oct 18 2011, 11:07 AM)
I gave them my cc number through phone

Added on October 18, 2011, 11:21 am

the moon sun orbitor, i cant find info in their website...
want to built that 1 leh....
moon orbitor can still find in local bookstore...i think kino still sell from 3rd issues
yes their website dont have this magazine...but if you contact them...they can sub for you
VincC454
post Oct 18 2011, 01:09 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Oct 18 2011, 12:56 PM)
Thanks Vince for the info, can u giv me the full name for the orbiter mag?

Later call them to subscribe
Build A Model Earth, Moon & Sun Orbiter

QUOTE(Cinta Laura @ Oct 18 2011, 01:02 PM)
ahhahaa. yeah, if buy slowly issue by issue, might cant feel the money go away  rclxms.gif

so, how long does it take to finish the issue?
at least a year

VincC454
post Oct 19 2011, 08:44 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

my new shipment for moon issues already arrive yesterday

still no mclaren shipment arrive since i start the sub...
VincC454
post Oct 22 2011, 10:08 AM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

registered parcel...
VincC454
post Oct 28 2011, 12:31 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

just follow the tips from the magazine...its the proper ways alr

super glue never damage the model paint but leave those white residue if applied too much (follow the tips then you be fine)

cement/tamiya cement do damage the paint or decal if you not careful

the best tips is to applied these glue tiny bit only...cement/super glue just need a tiny drop to make them stick together.

This post has been edited by VincC454: Oct 28 2011, 01:06 PM
VincC454
post Oct 28 2011, 09:36 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

QUOTE(mfazlan @ Oct 28 2011, 04:50 PM)
im use gundam/model kit cement.  Not really strong but i think should be fine  sweat.gif
tamiya or mrhobby cement are the same...they both strip paint as they are thinner base
they are not strong for metal or wood...but they do strong on plastic

for the metal parts, cement are not suitable for it as it wont really stick or even if it stick it wont last

QUOTE(XP750 @ Oct 28 2011, 07:48 PM)
erm..can we use super glue on all the parts?
my tamiya abs cement isn't really that strong, accidentally nudge it a bit and it will come off  rclxub.gif
can actually even that the instruction ask you to use both
super glue and cement

if you read the instruction...metal parts they asked you to use super glue and plastic are asked to use cement

im not trying to scared or sound so stress about this but try to have fun building it...

im a modeller....i understand most of these glues, paints and thinners...if you be careful, follow the instruction and tips from the book and never over applied the glues...then you should be fine....

VincC454
post Nov 1 2011, 03:19 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

note that not only tamiya cement can use...mr hobby cement also are the same....which is more easy to find compare to tamiya one

as i nowk only 1u tamiya got bring?
mr hobby cement can be found in most model shop that sell gundam especially around time square
VincC454
post Nov 1 2011, 05:05 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

QUOTE(matmoto5125 @ Nov 1 2011, 04:04 PM)
In term of price, which one is cheaper? Hehehe..
Good for you. Don't know when they're going to send next batch of shipment. hmm.gif
QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Nov 1 2011, 04:10 PM)
should ask about quality also smile.gif
as i mention......

both are the same
price and quality
VincC454
post Nov 1 2011, 05:15 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

havent get mine yet up till now...dunno what they do with my sub....
still stuck with issue 2 now :s

VincC454
post Nov 2 2011, 08:47 AM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

no...

if they bundle all up like that means they bundle all free gift together....
if they bundle means they delayed in sending your magazine on time so most of the time they will send all your free gift according to your issues number
VincC454
post Nov 2 2011, 02:08 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

welll base on my experience no mid-sub freebies already for our local

free dvd maybe later....or maybe some special issues they force u to buy one tongue.gif

VincC454
post Nov 3 2011, 05:15 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

selling not allowed in here...u will get ur post remove if you asking to sell your stuff

garage sales is the forum section name where place for selling your stuff

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=SF&s=&f=11
VincC454
post Nov 6 2011, 11:01 AM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

QUOTE(satriakid @ Nov 5 2011, 10:44 PM)

And, with some superglue bought at those cheap china stuff shop, it damaged part of it.

I ish no happy!  vmad.gif Damn superglue so powerful compared to the cement!  doh.gif

Owh well, least the tyre keeps me happy cause its so bouncy  rclxms.gif
this is why i remind to applied just a tiny bit of super glue...
(squeeze super glue a bit on some paper and use toothpick to dap on the super glue and applied it to the kit surface)

super glue is NOT the same as cement
super glue are made for heavy duty while cement are for those plastic hobby

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0355sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:59 PM