Data plan for ipad
TSaerozs
Sep 25 2011, 08:55 PM, updated 15y ago

Hi, noob question here. Hope sifu can help me.
1. Currently i'm use Celcom Instanet for my Ipad. How to topup it? Do i need to insert the sim card to hp then sms to top up it. 2. Why is too difficult to find prepaid Maxis Data Plan. Many MEP only got postpaid. Maxis data plan for ipad claim the speed up to 7.2mps. Is't truebecause celcom only up to 516kbs. 3. For the data usage, is't for both data sent and received? So if it limit up to 1.5gb, so the data calculated, sent + received?
SUSsuicai99
Sep 26 2011, 10:57 AM
1. if you have stock iOS, then that's the only way. i'm not sure if Celcom have 3rd party topup via postpaid, but u can try asking Celcom cust service. if your ipad is jailbroken, then you can install QueryUSSD from cydia, and you can use those starcodes (*118#, *100# those stuffs) for topup and purchase of data package.
2. what are you looking for? information for prepaid Maxis Data Plan or the actual internet prepaid simpack? if info, can just get from hotlink website. if you need the simpack, why not go to maxis centre itself?
3. yes, both sent and received.
TSaerozs
Sep 26 2011, 11:35 AM

Thanks for the answer.
1. Yup stock iOs with 4.3.3 but still didn't JB it because still under warranty. 2. I need to know, is't maxis speed can archieve 7.2mbs as per they claims? Because Streamyx also cannot archieve it when it test it using Speedtest.net
SUSsuicai99
Sep 26 2011, 01:37 PM
1. ipad1 or ipad2? kasi jailbreak lah!! very easy at jailbreakme.com. and after JB you can do many more things and you'll think twice before jumping over to Android or Win8.
2. If you subscribe streamyx 1mb package do you get 1 mb all the time? same story with maxis's 7.2mb claim. best effort basis + coverage + hardware. to simply answer your question, NO.