Science Faster than the speed of Light, CERN's experiment

TSxenotzu
post Sep 25 2011, 05:53 PM, updated 15y ago

1,503 posts

BBC News:

"A meeting at Cern, the world's largest physics lab, has addressed results that suggest subatomic particles have gone faster than the speed of light.

The team presented its work so other scientists can determine if the approach contains any mistakes.

If it does not, one of the pillars of modern science will come tumbling down."

So, if this pans out. Anyone for faster than light spaceships and "Back to the Future"? I like the idea of time travel!
mgjg
post Sep 26 2011, 10:10 AM

734 posts

the guardian has produced several articles on the subject e.g:
Faster than light neutrinos – Q&A
and Those faster-than-light neutrinos. Four things to think about

judging from those, it's still good to say that time-travel is still improbable.

you can also view the original paper at arxiv: Measurement of the neutrino velocity with the OPERA detector in the CNGS beam

3dassets
post Sep 26 2011, 07:53 PM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

I still cannot grasp the idea of time can be traveled by mere speed as if it is recorded and can playback.
rockstar_
post Sep 27 2011, 08:25 PM

413 posts

we can only travel forward but not backward.. it is physically impossible..
peace230
post Sep 29 2011, 02:20 PM

475 posts

hahahaha.....long time tak masuk...got new topic...

time travel..what a imaginative/ creative thinking.

Dulu ppl also don't believe human can tranfer to a box Call TV. Then A signal create. (frekusi). Thefore we can received Fax.

I also saw & read ppl say (don't ask me who who who...) Human maybe TELETRANSPORTING. shocking.gif shocking.gif

Concept simply, like we saw at movie: isolate human to a form of zarah-zarah, then hantar this zarah to the destination & assmbley it. It happen in very duper fast way. The point r, in teori it may happen, but not now. The tech still in explorary.

Using the same concept: Also don't know who say or saw from what source:

If one object trave toooooo fast, the object will burn in air (gesaran udara), but if move in space, the zarah zarah will isolate then re-assemble again in the destination. All this must happen in Nano nano second with supreme force.

Or, use a gun that shot the supreme energy in nano nano second, then create "Portal". Here abit confuse?

Postal Must have 2 gate to travel, means point A & B. So, the space ship only can travel from station A to Station B.

If the Space ship sendiri use time travel, then the ship can determine the location. let say the ship want land at milky way, apabila mau sampai, tarik break, let the supreme force reduce & assemble begin to rebuild the molecule or zarah. But portal can't do this.

Btw, all this r teori for time travel.

But time travel does not mean u can travel to future or pass. y???

How can u determine the timing in Dimesional. If u say a distance, then can lah. Example: i wan go to milky way, need 2XXX supreme force, if u want half way, then 2X1/2X boleh sampai lah.

Past & future no only about timing, but it about dimesional. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
chiiupe
post Oct 23 2011, 03:04 PM

138 posts

It's only a neutrino leh, compared to even an atom, the mass difference is just too big for any transportation.

If you guys want your time travel*, better start building better power plants first, it's probably easier to figure out how to produce the energy needed to move 1kg of mass to 90% of the speed of light.
studilicious
post Dec 6 2011, 03:30 PM

Can we really alter our time? I don't think it is possible because we will be distort our dimension if we can.
SUSgtasaboss
post Feb 12 2012, 06:41 PM

Requiem
601 posts

why cant anything be faster then light? we see it everyday
kristal
post Mar 4 2012, 01:50 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(xenotzu @ Sep 25 2011, 05:53 PM)
BBC News:

"A meeting at Cern, the world's largest physics lab, has addressed results that suggest subatomic particles have gone faster than the speed of light.

The team presented its work so other scientists can determine if the approach contains any mistakes.

If it does not, one of the pillars of modern science will come tumbling down."

So, if this pans out.  Anyone for faster than light spaceships and "Back to the Future"?  I like the idea of time travel!
Sorry to disappoint you.
The GPS used in the experiment was problematic so they got this kind of results.
Qavs
post Mar 20 2012, 05:22 PM

355 posts

teleport = maybe
time travel = bull crap IMO.
If there's time travel, why until now we still don't see anyone from the "future" ?
Helping us to prevent somewhat global diseases or give military info to the "current" time for easy victorious ?

However, I do see the potential of teleporting. Travelling from Malaysia to USA take you just 1 second, NOW that's something.
Wild Tiger
post Apr 4 2012, 02:53 AM

13 posts

So there is something faster than light.

transhumanist92
post Apr 5 2012, 02:51 PM

255 posts

time is an illusion and so is time travel.
norther
post Apr 5 2012, 07:57 PM

226 posts

Hmmm....this is refreshing.....the distance between the neutrino source and the detectors was correct. The velocity of the Neutrinos appeared to violate the speed of light, based upon the relativistically slowed clocks on the surface. Time was faster for the Neutrinos because the time within a mass is fixed, and unaffected by velocity.
SUSslimey
post Apr 5 2012, 08:13 PM

6,914 posts

some people never update their knowledge eh......

http://news.discovery.com/space/faster-tha...ire-120222.html
http://news.discovery.com/space/faster-tha...est-120316.html
http://news.discovery.com/space/opera-lead...ote-120404.html
spiritualgambler
post Apr 8 2012, 01:51 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(transhumanist92 @ Apr 5 2012, 02:51 PM)
time is an illusion/mystery and so is time travel.

Maybe it can't be achieved physically but mentally and certainly possible in dreams. biggrin.gif

norther
post Apr 8 2012, 04:47 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(spiritualgambler @ Apr 8 2012, 01:51 PM)
Maybe it can't be achieved physically but mentally and certainly possible in dreams.  biggrin.gif
While it is the belief by many that mainstream scientists reject any notions of time travel, Michio Kaku is very unique. Not only does he believe it, he also lays down a framework possible of time travel and can't be avoid. open eyes...

This post has been edited by norther: Apr 8 2012, 04:48 PM
zrhrhd
post Apr 10 2012, 11:18 AM

14 posts

What is the objective of traveling forward?
SUSMrUbikeledek
post Apr 10 2012, 02:32 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(Qavs @ Mar 20 2012, 05:22 PM)
teleport = maybe
time travel = bull crap IMO.
If there's time travel, why until now we still don't see anyone from the "future" ?
Helping us to prevent somewhat global diseases or give military info to the "current" time for easy victorious ?

However, I do see the potential of teleporting. Travelling from Malaysia to USA take you just 1 second, NOW that's something.
The theory is, if someone from the future goes back and change the history, it'll not change the future. Instead it'll create new future branching from the original one. Theoratically there's alternate universe that occupy the smae space we are in right now, but on a different frequency. For example, there could be an alternate universe where the meteor missed the earth and the Dinosaur still walk the earth. Perhaps there's Dinosaur that walk right beside you right now but in alternate reality.
Wild Tiger
post Apr 10 2012, 08:31 PM

13 posts

Whenever a quantum event happens, a alternate universe is created
transhumanist92
post Apr 14 2012, 08:18 AM

255 posts

For one there was no big bang that created the universe, and time is an illusion and so is time travel. Mysterious beings from other worlds across the galaxy, those same beings that most if not all scientists don't believe in, and if they do will not be scientists for long, can make matter and humans too, move through dimensions of time. Like they said in the Sixties and Seventies, it's a trip man! cool2.gif

0.0181sec    0.80    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:36 AM