File manager!, Copy files from internal storage!

TSfeelfree
post Sep 21 2011, 11:56 AM, updated 15y ago

174 posts

Hi, I have downloaded a few movies from PPS apps and causing my ipad 2 memory running low, so thinking to copy those movies out from ipad 2 and save in my external hdd. But the problem is I can't find a good file manager that will allow me to access deep into the apps files, which all the movies are stored I think. My ipad 2 is running the latest ios 4.5, so jail breaking is impossible at the moment. Please help!!!!
abubin
post Sep 21 2011, 12:59 PM

10,429 posts

without jailbreak, it is not possible.

BTW, what pps apps you are using to download? I didn't know can download the movie..all this while using streaming.
TSfeelfree
post Sep 21 2011, 01:03 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Sep 21 2011, 12:59 PM)
without jailbreak, it is not possible.

BTW, what pps apps you are using to download? I didn't know can download the movie..all this while using streaming.
Just type PPS in the apps store and it will come out one app only for PPS, and select any movie and you can choose to watch, or download, but it eats up a lot of space, that's why i want to copy the file out from my ipad 2.
Damonzero
post Sep 21 2011, 01:06 PM

✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪
1,467 posts

I use USB Sharp to manage my files.

This post has been edited by Damonzero: Sep 21 2011, 01:06 PM
TSfeelfree
post Sep 21 2011, 02:16 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(Damonzero @ Sep 21 2011, 01:06 PM)
I use USB Sharp to manage my files.
This USB Sharp is just a normal file manager with very limited access, so it can't access to the file system.
abubin
post Sep 21 2011, 02:25 PM

10,429 posts

you can try ifunbox. It is some sort of GUI for managing your idevices. It can browse the whole idevice file system. Not sure if you need to jailbreak in order to do that. You can give it a try.
TSfeelfree
post Sep 21 2011, 03:09 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Sep 21 2011, 02:25 PM)
you can try ifunbox. It is some sort of GUI for managing your idevices. It can browse the whole idevice file system. Not sure if you need to jailbreak in order to do that. You can give it a try.
Tried this before, but sorry to say it, it still need to jailbreak to be able to access to the system files sad.gif
sugen
post Sep 21 2011, 04:55 PM

1,358 posts

Yeah.. ifunbox if the faster way to copy out file from system but only for jailbreak ipad..
abubin
post Sep 21 2011, 08:12 PM

10,429 posts

I am sorry but I can't find the place to download the whole movie/show in pps. Can you please show me where is the option? I can't read Chinese.
andrekua
post Sep 21 2011, 09:20 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

You try this and see if it works. It works for me with downloading files through Dolphin HD browser. Im pretty sure it will work for you too. Cos like you, I find iPad most annoying feature is the lack of a file manager for whatever reason Apple think its too DANGEROUS to have one.

Cut the crap... go and download this program for your windows pc... iBackUpBot for iTunes...

Next sync your iPad to your iTunes... kao tim...

Finally, run iBackUpBot for iTunes... it will show your iTunes backup. Explore that and it will be full of text. Just browse and search for one with a description related to PPS. Then to the window pane on your right, you will see a list of related files including those that you downloaded (Im assuming only cos that is how Dolphin HD works, for PPS, too slow to try over here.). Right click and check selected... then goto File>Export>Export only checked file(s)... Ta Da

Include a screenshot for your reference.

** p.s. Teh tarik on you if it works okay? laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by andrekua: Sep 21 2011, 09:23 PM
TSfeelfree
post Sep 24 2011, 10:54 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Sep 21 2011, 09:20 PM)
You try this and see if it works. It works for me with downloading files through Dolphin HD browser. Im pretty sure it will work for you too. Cos like you, I find iPad most annoying feature is the lack of a file manager for whatever reason Apple think its too DANGEROUS to have one.

Cut the crap... go and download this program for your windows pc... iBackUpBot for iTunes...

Finally, run iBackUpBot for iTunes... it will show your iTunes backup. Explore that and it will be full of text. Just browse and search for one with a description related to PPS. Then to the window pane on your right, you will see a list of related files including those that you downloaded (Im assuming only cos that is how Dolphin HD works, for PPS, too slow to try over here.). Right click and check selected... then goto File>Export>Export only checked file(s)... Ta Da

** p.s. Teh tarik on you if it works okay?  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Hi, your method is worked, but too pity, the pps downloaded movie is under .pfv which until now no other media player able to play, you can only use PPS to playback the video.

Added on September 24, 2011, 10:56 pm
QUOTE(abubin @ Sep 21 2011, 08:12 PM)
I am sorry but I can't find the place to download the whole movie/show in pps. Can you please show me where is the option? I can't read Chinese.
Dude, when you choose a movie to watch, please look for 下载 button, click it and choose the episode you want to download.

This post has been edited by feelfree: Sep 24 2011, 10:56 PM
abubin
post Sep 26 2011, 12:16 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(feelfree @ Sep 24 2011, 10:54 PM)
Hi, your method is worked, but too pity, the pps downloaded movie is under .pfv which until now no other media player able to play, you can only use PPS to playback the video.

Dude, when you choose a movie to watch, please look for 下载 button, click it and choose the episode you want to download.
i found it in PPTV apps. But don't see it in PPS.tv apps. What are the difference between the two apps? How come some shows, I can see in PPTV but can't find in PPS.tv?
sifuconman
post May 20 2012, 10:50 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(feelfree @ Sep 24 2011, 10:54 PM)

Hi All the sifu out there

Can some one fell me how to play the downloaded .pfv file on pc ? I had tried using a number of media player but to no avail !

hjh87
post Jul 2 2012, 02:38 PM

794 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Sep 21 2011, 09:20 PM)

** p.s. Teh tarik on you if it works okay?  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Hi andrekua,

I did try your method, it does not work. Let say the movie is 300mb in my new ipad, when I open the ibackupbot to extract the file it only show like 77kb only. What wrong?? I'm using new ipad (5.1.1) and did not jailbreak. Any idea what the problem?
Hope to hear from you soon. Thanks.
OCMAX
post Jul 2 2012, 04:37 PM

858 posts

you can use ifile to copy out the .pfv file to a download manager doc folder than after sync with itune. you can copy out the .pfv to laptop/pc. but the problem are even you do that it won't work after you put back the file into ppstv apps. I tried before and is just me.

Until now I couldn't find a mac or window version video player that can play the .pfv format. anyone have any info?

This post has been edited by OCMAX: Jul 2 2012, 04:39 PM
hjh87
post Jul 2 2012, 05:05 PM

794 posts

QUOTE(OCMAX @ Jul 2 2012, 04:37 PM)
you can use ifile to copy out the .pfv file to a download manager doc folder than after sync with itune. you can copy out the .pfv to laptop/pc. but the problem are even you do that it won't work after you put back the file into ppstv apps. I tried before and is just me.

Until now I couldn't find a mac or window version video player that can play the .pfv format. anyone have any info?
Hi OCMAX,

ifile for ipad which is jailbroken? I've not jailbreak my ipad yet. I can extract the pps.pfv file but in a strange file size. I encounter the same problem which the pfv file wont play in the ppstv in the window (maybe due to the file size??).
OCMAX
post Jul 2 2012, 08:51 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(hjh87 @ Jul 2 2012, 05:05 PM)
Hi OCMAX,

ifile for ipad which is jailbroken? I've not jailbreak my ipad yet. I can extract the pps.pfv file but in a strange file size. I encounter the same problem which the pfv file wont play in the ppstv in the window (maybe due to the file size??).
what I know is there are NO video player can play these pfv format yet. you can transfer the file without JB if you have macbook by using DiskAid. it is like a window explorer application.

btw! the video file size are around 4++ to 6++mb. not kb.

This post has been edited by OCMAX: Jul 2 2012, 08:52 PM
hjh87
post Jul 2 2012, 09:20 PM

794 posts

QUOTE(OCMAX @ Jul 2 2012, 08:51 PM)
what I know is there are NO video player can play these pfv format yet. you can transfer the file without JB if you have macbook by using DiskAid. it is like a window explorer application.

I've downloaded quite number of movie through pps in my ipad, lazy to download again. I won't mind to use back my desktop's pps to watch back the movie.

That my problem, the movie in my ipad is 300mb but when I use ibackupbot it only stated 70kb. sad.gif

Added on July 3, 2012, 8:51 am
QUOTE(OCMAX @ Jul 2 2012, 08:51 PM)

I try the DiskAid, it work smoothly smile.gif . I can extract the rmvb and rm movie file and play it at another pps device. Thanks for the info. Pfv format still does not work.

This post has been edited by hjh87: Jul 3 2012, 09:21 AM
OCMAX
post Jul 3 2012, 08:51 PM

858 posts

you are welcome smile.gif
uniquexme
post Sep 16 2012, 04:53 PM

839 posts

i just install DiskAid, but i couldn't find the exact location of where those PPS movie are saved. could anyone be kind enough to advise pls, coz i can't use the search function within DiskAid.

0.0237sec    1.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 05:21 AM