Enterprise Networking Mikrotik Routers (RouterBoard & RouterOS), User and owner discussion group
Apr 3 2012, 05:47 PM
376 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
hi all sifus here, i have a question. i just got a RB750. i want to setup it to be a router at my school's computer lab. now my school use maxis's vsat, which which are connected to a 24 ports switch. now every computer need to configure ip address before can connect to internet. now i want to make the rb750 to be a dhcp server, that'll give automatic ip to all pc connected to it. my setup will be vsat gateway => rb750 => 24ports switch =>pcs/ap/wireless routers. how to setup it? ive looked in the wiki and cant seem to find the answer.....i didnt know that mikrotik is very hard to configure...i bought it because my friend said its high quality......hope any sifu can point me to the right direction...tq..
Apr 3 2012, 07:08 PM
QUOTE(asellus @ Apr 3 2012, 06:49 PM) How did the Maxis vsat device works? Is that a router by itself? thank you for replying in the first place Assuming that the answer is yes, and that the Maxis STB has its own IP (for example 192.168.1.1). Connect the decoder to port 1 of the RB750. Connect the 24-port switch (I assume it is unmanaged) to port 2 of RB750. Configure the port 1 of RB750 to have the IP of 192.168.1.2/24. Make a srcnat masquerade NAT rule with port 1 being the Output Interface. Create a DHCP server running on port 2 of RB750. If the said port is part of a bridge, run the DHCP server on the bridge. If a bridge exist, port 1 must not be part of it. Configure the computers to use DHCP, and then connect them to the unmanaged switch. At this time, the computers should be able to connect to the Internet already. the maxis vsat stb has static ip range (10.193.10.200-250) (i have no way to set it to be dhcp enabled) so in a common router i'll have to set the wan to one of the static ip in the range. so here i have to 1. configure the port 1 of rb750 to have the ip in the range of (10.193.10.200-250)? what is the /24 suppose to mean? how to make a srcnat masquerade nat rule with port 1 being the output interface? very sorry im extremely noob in this, hope you will be patient with me... |
Apr 4 2012, 12:40 PM
QUOTE(asellus @ Apr 3 2012, 07:18 PM) Ok then, as of now, how did you configure static IP for a computer that will connect to the Internet via the STB? IP Address: 10.121.192.205IP Address: Subnet Mask: Default Gateway: Fill the info above, and we can go from there. Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.192 Default Gateway: 10.121.194.193 can you help me? |
Apr 4 2012, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(asellus @ Apr 4 2012, 01:26 PM) The default gateway isn't even in the same /26 subnet as the example IP address is. Plus, it isn't what you have said earlier, where you claim that the Maxis STB used static IP addresses between 10.193.10.200-250. sorry, the 10.193.10.200-250. i mention earlier is wrong, i confused with the schoolnet adsl modem setting. the one i posted above is the maxis vsat setting. A question, if you configure the computer this setting:- IP Address: 10.121.194.205 Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.192 Default Gateway: 10.121.194.193 can the computer connects to the Internet? here' a screen shot: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Apr 7 2012, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(asellus @ Apr 4 2012, 01:59 PM) So the setting I mentioned works then? If yes, below is what you should do. hi, im very sorry if i kinda annoys you, but, how exactly do i do the steps that you mention above using winbox? i manage to get in the rb750, but i have no idea where to click to do steps 3-6. can u help me here? or point me to where i should read to get going? thank you 1. Connect the decoder to port 1 of the RB750. 2. Connect the 24-port switch (I assume it is unmanaged) to port 2 of RB750. 3. Configure the port 1 of RB750 to have the IP of 10.121.194.205/32, and the network to use 10.121.194.193. 4. Make a srcnat masquerade NAT rule with port 1 being the Output Interface. 5. Make a new static route entry where the destination address is 0.0.0.0/0, gateway being 10.121.194.193, and the distance being 1. 6. Create a DHCP server running on port 2 of RB750. If the said port is part of a bridge, run the DHCP server on the bridge. If a bridge exist, port 1 must not be part of it. 7. Configure the computers to use DHCP, and then connect them to the unmanaged switch. After that, from one of the computers, try pinging 8.8.8.8 |
Apr 15 2012, 11:18 AM
QUOTE(asellus @ Apr 8 2012, 01:21 AM) Step 3 is done at IP -> Addresses. here's the interface printStep 4 is done at IP -> Firewall, in the NAT tab. Step 5 is done at IP -> Routes. Step 6 is done at IP -> DHCP Server. In Winbox, click the 'New Terminal' button, run the command '/interface print' and put them here. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « and it worked!! thank you very2 much!! |
Apr 16 2012, 09:18 PM
QUOTE(asellus @ Apr 15 2012, 11:27 PM) So it works then, actually I forgot to tell you to specify the DNS servers too. Did you manually set the DNS servers on the computers? all pcs now set to auto, i set the dns server to use google dns in the rb750, everything runs smoothly now, my setup right now is vsat to rb750. from rb750 i connect 1 24port switch, and 2 aps for distributing wifi to whole school. currently running for more than 96 hours already non stop, since at night teachers who live in the quarters will use it too, so cannot turn off leh....is this safe anyway? |
Apr 16 2012, 11:02 PM
QUOTE(JinXXX @ Apr 16 2012, 10:40 PM) networking equipment is ment to run 24/7 just make sure there is adequate cooling.. yup the room is air-conditioned 24/7, all the equipment inside the rack (vsat stb, rb750, switch) are connected to an rackmount apc smart-ups, ive tried cutting power, the whole setup could survive for around 15mins, very short but i think its enough because black out is rare here....my rb750 + vdsl is running more than 50 days with 50 days of connection uptime stable and smooth all the way.. if your electrical is stable should be no problem if not get a ups or what to protect the equipment |
May 31 2014, 03:53 PM
Hi all sifus!
The problem is that all traffic goes thru WAN1 no matter how much load or users gets online. Once i plug out the the WAN1 then all traffic goes to WAN2. It seemed like it has become failover. Here's the export: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « pls help meeee |
| Change to: | 0.0274sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:05 AM |