175 Pages « < 153 154 155 156 157 > » Bottom

Enterprise Networking Mikrotik Routers (RouterBoard & RouterOS), User and owner discussion group

OlgaC4
post Jan 13 2024, 01:18 PM

5,292 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Jan 13 2024, 12:27 PM)
Cat8 is insanely hard to terminate, and buying premade means you will always have extra length.

Just get Cat6a and terminate it and it’ll still do 10Gbps
It depends on your application. If you are a gamer best of to get premade Cat8. Extra length is better if you know how to
conceal it.

If you want nice and connection cat6a and you are not a gamer then cat6a is the best choice.

But if you want to enjoy internet to the fullest speed and respond cat8 is your bet.

1ms vs 3ms is very big diffrent for gamer.

This post has been edited by OlgaC4: Jan 13 2024, 01:39 PM
go626201
post Jan 13 2024, 01:43 PM

1,882 posts

Cat6A is enough for next 5-10 years. (The standard longevity for standard quality ethernet cable is around 8-10year)
When the time higher speed release for public, the cable is out of tech already.
And Cat8 cable is super thick.

And Remember to test the cable before fully finishing renovation to ensure the cable is okay to be use.
I had bought a short Cat8 Ugreen cable in few years ago,and the cable seems like having some issue,that will flip the speed rate and sudden disconnect and reconnect.
OlgaC4
post Jan 13 2024, 01:54 PM

5,292 posts

QUOTE(go626201 @ Jan 13 2024, 01:43 PM)
Cat6A is enough for next 5-10 years. (The standard longevity for standard quality ethernet cable is around 8-10year)
When the time higher speed release for public, the cable is out of tech already.
And Cat8 cable is super thick.

And Remember to test the cable before fully finishing renovation to ensure the cable is okay to be use.
I had bought a short Cat8 Ugreen cable in few years ago,and the cable seems like having some issue,that will flip the speed rate and sudden disconnect and reconnect.
8-10 years you still have not finish your house installment. Time to move out? dig again and change to cat9 or cat 20
yenchenje
post Jan 13 2024, 02:00 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Jan 13 2024, 01:18 PM)
It depends on your application. If you are a gamer best of to get premade Cat8. Extra length is better if you know how to
conceal it.

If you want nice and connection cat6a and you are not a gamer then cat6a is the best choice.

But if you want to enjoy internet to the fullest speed and respond cat8 is your bet.

1ms vs 3ms is very big diffrent for gamer.
Please show something to back up that Cat8 is more "gamer" suited compared to Cat6a?

If you are saying to conceal, how would you expect a contractor to conceal extra cable length other than to cut it to length? If you are running the cables by yourself, then sure, but how many people here exactly can do hacking work if they were to conceal cables and not just surface mount the casing?

Cat6a is designed to run up to 10Gbps at up to 100M, Cat8 is designed to run up to 25Gbps at less than 30M.
If you are saying that you have 25Gbps equipment in your own network, why not just run DAC/SFP+ fibre?

Do the quick math, Subtel's Cat8 is RM55.5 for 10M, 306M (Standard length for a spool) Cat8 would cost about RM1698.3 if you just buy without bulk pricing

For that price, I can buy a spool of Cat6 CMR from UBT for RM1020 and another spool of Cat6 from Schneider Electric for RM550, not exactly Cat6a but it can still run 10G up to 55M. How many people here have houses that has a vertical length of 55M?

Yes Cat6a can only do 500Mhz and Cat8 can do 2GHz. Does that make a difference in normal consumer usage? I beg to differ as I run just normal Cat6a cables for my 10GBe uplink to my switch, and I still get the same 20ms in games such as Valo/Apex

Sure, few Cat8 cables here or there is fine, but if you're telling me to conceal 100M+ of Cat8? That's just a waste of money in general unsure.gif
OlgaC4
post Jan 13 2024, 02:55 PM

5,292 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Jan 13 2024, 02:00 PM)
Please show something to back up that Cat8 is more "gamer" suited compared to Cat6a?

If you are saying to conceal, how would you expect a contractor to conceal extra cable length other than to cut it to length? If you are running the cables by yourself, then sure, but how many people here exactly can do hacking work if they were to conceal cables and not just surface mount the casing?

Cat6a is designed to run up to 10Gbps at up to 100M, Cat8 is designed to run up to 25Gbps at less than 30M.
If you are saying that you have 25Gbps equipment in your own network, why not just run DAC/SFP+ fibre?

Do the quick math, Subtel's Cat8 is RM55.5 for 10M, 306M (Standard length for a spool) Cat8 would cost about RM1698.3 if you just buy without bulk pricing

For that price, I can buy a spool of Cat6 CMR from UBT for RM1020 and another spool of Cat6 from Schneider Electric for RM550, not exactly Cat6a but it can still run 10G up to 55M. How many people here have houses that has a vertical length of 55M?

Yes Cat6a can only do 500Mhz and Cat8 can do 2GHz. Does that make a difference in normal consumer usage? I beg to differ as I run just normal Cat6a cables for my 10GBe uplink to my switch, and I still get the same 20ms in games such as Valo/Apex

Sure, few Cat8 cables here or there is fine, but if you're telling me to conceal 100M+ of Cat8? That's just a waste of money in general  unsure.gif
Cat8 can be bought in pre-lenght. More then 30meter is already defit if purpose.
The connecting part of the cat6a is the weakest point not the cable that is why i prefer end to end. In the connecting part data may have error or not reach and have to resent.
Gaming is not all about 20ms is about your data reach the gaming server as fast as possible without any error or missing. (Respond time)
I game better with my LTE compared to my cable. My Lte is 38ms my cable 10ms. Why i game better in LTE?
If you are using unfi fiber to game then you don't know what is seamless gaming.

Just my 2 cents of comment
go626201
post Jan 13 2024, 03:01 PM

1,882 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Jan 13 2024, 01:54 PM)
8-10 years you still have not finish your house installment. Time to move out? dig again and change to cat9 or cat 20
I am just saying Cat8 is not worth at current stage,and the longevity is just a estimate for the worst situation.
And also at the time when it start having issue,most people might already plan to move or re-renovation again. (like 12-14years or more)
Secondly,10G is good enough for 99% of device for next 5-10years.

Cat6A is still the better choice that considering money cost + tech level ,as current time - most installer does not crimp Cat8 properly, which might causing more issue.
OlgaC4
post Jan 13 2024, 03:21 PM

5,292 posts

QUOTE(go626201 @ Jan 13 2024, 03:01 PM)
I am just saying Cat8 is not worth at current stage,and the longevity is just a estimate for the worst situation.
And also at the time when it start having issue,most people might already plan to move or re-renovation again. (like 12-14years or more)
Secondly,10G is good enough for 99% of device for next 5-10years.

Cat6A is still the better choice that considering money cost + tech level ,as current time - most installer does not crimp Cat8 properly, which might causing more issue.
I concur but if you want to know what is seemless internet then go for point to point. No inter connecting.

OlgaC4
post Jan 13 2024, 03:26 PM

5,292 posts

i notice you are using unfi. If you have the best computer and using unfi that is a waste of resource.

Gaming. If you download a lot unfi is the best.

This post has been edited by OlgaC4: Jan 13 2024, 03:29 PM
kwss
post Jan 13 2024, 03:31 PM

1,207 posts

Let me tell you all about future proof: It doesn't exist.
My experience with network are from Frame Relay to 800G Ethernet.

Just put a conduit and replace whatever cable down the road as need.

There is no RJ45 standard for anything above 10Gbps, so whatever CAT after 6A is irrelevant. Which 25G or 40G use RJ45? None!

Even for Single Mode Fiber, you have different connectors. 400G and 800G all requires MPO. You are going to rip everything out if you need that speed some day.
MPO connector don't work for lower speed module anyway so you cannot install it today, unless 400G / 800G is what you need right now.

Then there is the upcoming 224G SerDes for 1.6Tbps link. How future-proof you want?

This post has been edited by kwss: Jan 13 2024, 03:32 PM
OlgaC4
post Jan 13 2024, 03:38 PM

5,292 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Jan 13 2024, 03:31 PM)
Let me tell you all about future proof: It doesn't exist.
My experience with network are from Frame Relay to 800G Ethernet.

Just put a conduit and replace whatever cable down the road as need.

There is no RJ45 standard for anything above 10Gbps, so whatever CAT after 6A is irrelevant. Which 25G or 40G use RJ45? None!

Even for Single Mode Fiber, you have different connectors. 400G and 800G all requires MPO. You are going to rip everything out if you need that speed some day.
MPO connector don't work for lower speed module anyway so you cannot install it today, unless 400G / 800G is what you need right now.

Then there is the upcoming 224G SerDes for 1.6Tbps link. How future-proof you want?
You future prove untill how long you want to stay in the house. 20-50years for me. Landed

Wifi 7 is out may be wifi 20 is out then. As good as cable

This post has been edited by OlgaC4: Jan 13 2024, 03:40 PM
kwss
post Jan 13 2024, 03:50 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Jan 13 2024, 03:38 PM)
You future prove untill how long you want to stay in the house. 20-50years for me. Landed

Wifi 7 is out may be wifi 20 is out then. As  good as cable
Conduit is the most future-proof. You can put anything inside it.
New mesh system starts having SFP+ port.
Some telcos have Fiber To The Room (FTTR) offering.

Nobody sells RJ45 above CAT6A, except cable manufacturer. It is fact.

RJ45 is only mandatory for PoE but guess what, now there's Power over Fiber (PoF) on the market.
RJ45 for anything faster than 10Gbps don't exist today, won't exist tomorrow.
OlgaC4
post Jan 13 2024, 04:38 PM

5,292 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Jan 13 2024, 03:50 PM)
Conduit is the most future-proof. You can put anything inside it.
New mesh system starts having SFP+ port.
Some telcos have Fiber To The Room (FTTR) offering.

Nobody sells RJ45 above CAT6A, except cable manufacturer. It is fact.

RJ45 is only mandatory for PoE but guess what, now there's Power over Fiber (PoF) on the market.
RJ45 for anything faster than 10Gbps don't exist today, won't exist tomorrow.
cable manufacturer RJ45 for cat8 is only 10Gbps?
kwss
post Jan 13 2024, 04:47 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Jan 13 2024, 04:38 PM)
cable manufacturer RJ45 for cat8 is only 10Gbps?
Name me one hardware that has RJ45 port faster than 10Gbps.
Apa yang you tak faham ni...
You having buyer's remorse or what
yenchenje
post Jan 13 2024, 05:06 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Jan 13 2024, 04:47 PM)
Idk this guy rlly, he has the most whackiest of takes ALL the time, feels like arguing with a wall when you’re making perfect sense laugh.gif
OlgaC4
post Jan 13 2024, 05:37 PM

5,292 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Jan 13 2024, 04:47 PM)
I am confuse you said RJ45 now you said RJ45 port
kwss
post Jan 13 2024, 06:00 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Jan 13 2024, 05:37 PM)
I am confuse you said RJ45 now you said RJ45 port
Jeez...
There's no IEEE standard for RJ45 products faster than 10Gbps.
All cable manufacturers are just selling you thin air. SCAM

Their whole 40Gbps and 2000 Mhz claim make no sense because it's something that don't exist today, never exist before. Tak pernah wujud!

Your CAT8 cable has zero performance difference compare to CAT6A. Just way more expensive, heavy, thick, ugly and impossible to crimp.

It's the same scam they pulled with CAT7. What does "better shielding" even mean?

If their stuff works then nobody want DAC cable. Same thick and ugly shit.
OlgaC4
post Jan 13 2024, 07:37 PM

5,292 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Jan 13 2024, 06:00 PM)
Jeez...
There's no IEEE standard for RJ45 products faster than 10Gbps.
All cable manufacturers are just selling you thin air. SCAM

Their whole 40Gbps and 2000 Mhz claim make no sense because it's something that don't exist today, never exist before. Tak pernah wujud!

Your CAT8 cable has zero performance difference compare to CAT6A. Just way more expensive, heavy, thick, ugly and impossible to crimp.

It's the same scam they pulled with CAT7. What does "better shielding" even mean?

If their stuff works then nobody want DAC cable. Same thick and ugly shit.
Go tell the world cat8 is fake. I will tell you after 10years later.

This post has been edited by OlgaC4: Jan 13 2024, 07:38 PM
soonwai
post Jan 13 2024, 07:48 PM

11,455 posts

Me cat5e 1Gbps only. simmarjit yours link at 10, get about 8?
yenchenje
post Jan 13 2024, 08:06 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Jan 13 2024, 07:37 PM)
Go tell the world cat8 is fake. I will tell you after 10years later.
RJ45 max transmission rate is literally only 10Gbps

Anything beyond is all SFP+ and DAC, you literally can just save like 70% of the cost by just going Cat6a

SFP+, SFP28, QSFP and all is used for 10Gbps and beyond

If you can find a motherboard or a PCIe card, that supports RJ45 past 10Gbps, I will puke out my breakfast, lunch and dinner and eat it again and puke it out again for you laugh.gif
OlgaC4
post Jan 13 2024, 08:34 PM

5,292 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Jan 13 2024, 08:06 PM)
RJ45 max transmission rate is literally only 10Gbps

Anything beyond is all SFP+ and DAC, you literally can just save like 70% of the cost by just going Cat6a

SFP+, SFP28, QSFP and all is used for 10Gbps and beyond

If you can find a motherboard or a PCIe card, that supports RJ45 past 10Gbps, I will puke out my breakfast, lunch and dinner and eat it again and puke it out again for you laugh.gif
10 years down the road. We don't know how far RJ45 will go. I don't want to heck my house wall again. I learn a lesson with cat5.

175 Pages « < 153 154 155 156 157 > » Top

0.0190sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:53 AM